Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Large Private Pool & Spa,Tropical Oasis-Walk to Beach-

Owner

Member since: 2002
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps13
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Owner
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 25, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Large Private Pool & Spa,Tropical Oasis-Walk to Beach-

Sleeps13
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

Crystal Beach House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 9-13)

This charming cottage is located on a quiet street away the condo complexes within a short stroll of the beach (1 and a half blocks). Sun and swim in our 15x24 gunite swimming pool [or relax in the 5 X 8 outdoor spa] Pool is set up for volleyball(3ft on each end and 5ft in the middle), it is great for teens and adults alike. Younger kids can stand on both ends. Enjoy the view of natural surroundings to the south and the large landscaped rear brick pool deck area. All bedrooms are tastefully furnished and are decorated with their own theme.

With two full kitchens, two large living areas, and two sunrooms overlooking the pool, this home is ideal for multi-family vacations. The second floor has its own family room, sunroom and wraparound deck in front. Also, there is a small back deck that overlooks the pool area. There is one king-size bed, two bedrooms have queen beds, while the fourth bedroom has a full-size bed and a single bunk. Two sleeper sofas (one in each living area) for additional sleeping arrangements.

Keywords: Two-Story Beach House

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Owner
Member since: 2002
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 25, 2015

Why HomeAway

Sleeps13
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.2
based on 6 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Large Private Pool & Spa,Tropical Oasis-Walk to Beach-
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 6 reviews
1

WOULD NOT STAY HERE AGAIN

  • 1 of 5

Based on the condition of the house (cleaning, bugs and safety issues) and the lack of follow-up by the owner, we would NOT RECOMMEND this house. The house is very run down (as described below), but more concerning, the owners were very unresponsive to issues concerning the house/pool during our stay.

From the beginning, the house was not clean. Dishes were dirty, the carpet was in horrible condition, the pool had not been cleaned, and the house was infested with bugs. I understand it's Florida (we lived in Destin for 5 years), but ants were a major issue. Upon arriving, ants had gathered on food left in the downstairs bathroom and continued to be an issue throughout our stay. The house was not stocked well. There were no hand towels in the bathrooms and no dish towels in the kitchen. And the worst, sheets had not been changed, totally unacceptable.

Most concerning, there are several safety issues throughout the house. The deck railing is pulling away on the upstairs deck. Someone could potentially fall. There are electrical wires exposed out back. Several chairs are unusable. At one point, my son sat down in a chair an fell through to the deck. There was broken glass in the front yard. And, I am not sure why, one of the beds was on blocks.

The pool and spa were the reason we chose to stay at the Blue Heron Hideaway. The pool was dirty upon arrival, broken toys were scattered throughout the yard, and the net is in poor condition. The spa, one of the major selling points of the home, NEVER worked.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have always worked hard to make sure our home, pool and grounds are kept up so families can enjoy their visit. We were shocked that this guest did not have a good experience while at our home and subsequently decided to take liberty in a public forum to assert extremely unfair and highly skewed criticism. We have rented this home for over four years with very satisfied customers. We have had return guests year after year. We wish we had asked for reviews from our many satisfied guests. Our policy is to have our housekeeper take care of any housekeeping issues (if any) at the time of arrival. Some of our response to the awful comments include the following: Our berber carpet is cleaned regularly – one time a month—it only 1 ½ years old. Someone made a pull at the seam—that is all we saw after you left with the carpeting We have the pool cleaned and checked every FRIDAY—our tech provides us his LOG. We have our pest control come regularly and this is a terrible thing to say in a review. They come over whenever we need for a re-spray. We have everything you need for cooking – we stay often and have everything we need to live there. We buy new towels and supplies every year for guest to use and always reimburse guests that have to purchase towels and such. Housekeeping does change sheets after each guest and we replace sheets as needed and before the summer season. We have our contractor/maintenance check the decks before each season. We check all furniture before the season and replace any that need replacing. We have new air conditioning – a new unit 2 years ago. We had another full cleaning this winter and went through the whole house completely to make sure things are right for our guests. Also, we have maintenance help and service people on contract if there is a ever a problem. Please call us for any further details about the house. It is the most beautiful, private setting you will ever enjoy – we only wish we could stay there more often, ourselves. It is a truly unique and wonderful place to stay while in Destin.
Pevely, MO.
5

Awesome Property

  • 5 of 5

Don and Liz were great in accommodating all of our needs for our lodging. The house was spectacular! There was plenty enough living space and privacy from neighbors! The pool was by far the best part of the house! It was large enough to swim around and play volleyball! It was also only 2 short blocks away from the Beach Access. We will definitely rent this house again when we are vacationing in Destin!

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Pevely, MO.
5

Awesome Property

  • 5 of 5

The owners were great in accommodating all of our needs for our lodging. The house was spectacular! There was plenty enough living space and privacy from neighbors! The pool was by far the best part of the house! It was large enough to swim around and play volleyball! It was also only 2 short blocks away from the Beach Access. We will definitely rent this house again when we are vacationing in Destin!

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Great time in Destin!

  • 5 of 5

Would like to take this time to say thank you Don and Liz for the use of your home, we had a wonderful time while there with no major problems at the house just wish we could have had the better weather but that is something we cannot control. Again thank you and I will surely be making another trip to stay in the area again and hope that one of your properties is available!!! Family fun for sure stay here!!

Don was quick to answer any questions I had prior to our stay via email. Fun in the Sun :)

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Chattanooga, TN
4

Location, Location, Location!!

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time at the Blue Heron Hideaway!! We had 6 adults & 1 child and there was plenty of room for us all! The house is located a short walk to the beach and we were able to do so comfortably with beach chairs and coolers.

We didn't really use the extra kitchen however having the extra refridgerator was a VERY nice perk.

The pool isn't quite as large as it looks in the picture but it was still VERY nice! Pool guy came on Friday to clean it too which was an added bonus. We played lots of volleyball and there were plenty of chairs for lounging. We also ate most of our meals at the large umbrella'd table out there. The pool area is nice and private. We never figured out how to turn on the heat in the hot tub and there were some lights around the perimeter that we couldn't figure out how to turn on but we still very much enjoyed it anyway!!

The house was pretty clean with the exception of some of the dishes and some ants in the upstairs shower but I'm not sure if anyone was there before us and could be the cause. Nothing that we couldn't handle.

This house is also very close to everything Destin has to offer! We parasailed with Just Chute Me...they are great and were the best bargain around. We dined at the Crab Trap, Back Porch, 790 and McGuires. If you want a GREAT steak... McGuires is THE place to go!!

I'd recommend this property and would definitely consider returning for our next family vacation.

Thanks Don!

  • Submitted: May 31, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Burlington, Ky
5

Wonderful vacation!!

  • 5 of 5

This was our first trip to Destin and we loved it! The home was clean and located close enough to the beach for walking. We had lots of kids in our group and they loved the pool when we were not at the beach. The rooms were nicely decorated with comfortable beds in each bedroom. There is lots to do in town if you're not the "just hang out and relax" type. My wife and I have already talked about going back next year! Thank you Don for the use of your lovely home...

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $200 Per night

Crystal Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Early Summer
May 22 2015 - Jul 4 2015
7 night minimum stay
$2,350
 
 
Summer
Jul 5 2015 - Aug 8 2015
7 night minimum stay
$2,675
 
 
Fall
Sep 5 2015 - Nov 1 2015
3 night minimum stay
$200
$975
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,975
$2,975
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500.00
Cleaning Fee $250.00 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Crystal Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) Queen sized sleeper sofa, Bunk Beds (1) Double Bed on Bottem
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
6 TV's, 3 DVDs, 2 VCRs, 2 Full Kitchens, 2 Microwaves, 2 Dishwashers, 2 Refrigerators, Private Spa, Private Pool w/Pool Volleyball set (Pool depths are 3 foot on either end and 5 in the middle)

Other Vacation Properties

$910 - $2,590 per week
3 - 7 night min stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 11
$1,500 - $4,500 per week
3 - 7 night min stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 4 BA,
  • Sleeps 12
$1,950 per week
3 - 7 night min stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 10

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote