Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Beautiful 2 Master Bedroom 2800 Sq Ft House

Property Manager

Member since: 2008
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Contact the Manager

Property Manager
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
April 20, 2015
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Beautiful 2 Master Bedroom 2800 Sq Ft House

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

Mal Pais House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Looking for a house that has Costa Rica’s deep green forest canopy as a backdrop and views of the Pacific in front? Then you’ve found it. This house offers a truly wonderful Costa Rican experience.

Listen for the monkeys in the near distance and watch the parrots from the hanging balcony beds as they return to their nests each afternoon. Swim in the in-ground swimming pool or simply relax in the hammocks and take in the tranquility of the ocean’s song. This is the Real Costa Rica!

Nestled in a tropical paradise, you will find all the amenities you expect with the privacy, convenience and luxury you want. Just minutes from the town areas of Mal Pais and Santa Theresa, you will find the following all at local rates - world class sport fishing, surfing, scuba, snorkeling, tide pools, horse tours, ATV rentals, spas, souvenirs, and restaurants. Diverse and exquisite white sand beaches are easily available for surfing or just sun bathing.

Nature lovers and outdoor types will LOVE this tranquil area.

This house features 2 master bedrooms, 2 full baths, and 2 additional half baths. It can sleep up to 8 (6 in beds plus a convertible sofa). This three-story floor plan is spacious 2,800 sq ft. with air conditioning on the 1st and 2nd floors and the 3rd being entirely open covered balcony (lanai) equipped with ceiling fans. All linens and a fully equipped kitchen are provided. Maid service is available. The house has a gated entry and sits on 2 fully fenced acres of land rich in fruit trees and native flora.

The picture is near complete... all that is missing is you & your guests. Lets plan your Costa Rican Adventure.

Our only disclaimers are as Owners' we are not responsible for situations outside of our control... late arrivals, early departures, weather, local power outages, and renter's personal property.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Property Manager
Member since: 2008
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
April 20, 2015

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.5
based on 8 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Beautiful 2 Master Bedroom 2800 Sq Ft House
average rating of 4.5 based on 8 reviews
Vancouver, BC
5

Loved every minute

  • 5 of 5

My dream came true - always wanted to visit Costa Rica and for my 40th my husband arranged everything. We spent 2 weeks in paradise. Our first week was by the Arenal volcano then to the beach area of Mal Pais. We spent 6 nights in this beautiful house - the house and property was just breathtaking. We absolutely enjoyed staying there, the property was so lush with tropical plants and so many trees - I am not a "pool" person, but the saltwater pool surrounded by the palm trees changed my way of thinking! We loved how the whole house could be opened up to feel the breezes, view the scenery and hear the wildlife (could hear some howler monkeys and saw them 3 times). The area was perfect for us, not too close and not too far from anything. The beach is about a 5 minute drive, there are great restaurants and 2 nights we used the the grill to cook fish we caught, and we even had breakfast 3 of the mornings at the house - grocery stores close by and the kitchen had everything we needed. One of my favorite parts of the trip and what I will truly miss is how beautiful the night sky is there. Stargazing there is amazing, especially from the 3rd floor open balcony on those unique hanging beds! For me this trip was a dream come true and this house, area, people did not disappoint. Also, have to mention that Jose the caretaker was so pleasant and helpful, we were unfortunately were a little late on arrival and he was so gracious about that.

  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
McKenzie Bridge, Oregon, USA
1

Dusty Road

  • 1 of 5

We love many things about the design and comfort of this house. Unfortunately we reserved it for two weeks during the dry season, we checked out after 3 days. The road is 50 ft from the house and is a dust pit. It is hard to breath with so much dust everywhere in and out of the house. The house has double locked doors and steel bar shutters on all the windows and doors, plus a security guard with a dog in the yard from 6pm to 5am, so no privacy for late swims or much else. We were locked in from the outside at night and during the day everything closed tight anyway to block out the dust. The hired help were very sweet, but no one speaks English, so it was hard to communicate. When we told the owner that we wanted to cancel our second week, because we had gotten sick from the road dust, he was very rude and threatened to evict us that day. He hasn't responded concerning the status on our security deposit.

Mal Pais and Santa Teresa could really be cool spots if it weren't for the ATV's driving at breakneck speeds along the dusty roads.

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry about your experience, as you can see from our other reviews we work very hard to make our renters happy. I truly believed that we were on the same page after our talks, emails & ultimately the contract you requested to rent with us Jan. 6-16. Only your initial pymt of half the bal was ever rec’d. The remainder was due 1 month prior to your arrival, as discussed & on indicated on this website. I made many attempts to reach you & when I did just days prior to your arrival, you informed me that you forgot. At that time you were in Mexico & agreed to pay the bal in cash to our caretaker at arrival, you reneged. After 2 nights in our house I reached you by phone again to ask that you immediately pay the bal owed & you declined. You informed me that your wife grew ill 2 days prior to your arrival at our house and that you were starting to feel ill as well & you would stay 4 more nights w/o further pymt. I reminded you of the terms of our contract that was est. in November, which secured these dates for you & your wife. I also learned that you had a 3rd person (a friend) stay which was not mentioned prior or incl’d in our contract, to which I was fine with if you paid the bal, but you refused. You chose to leave the house after 3 nights. I would also, just like to point out again, as stated on this site, “Our only disclaimers as Owners ’ are-we are not responsible for situations, out of our control: late arrivals, early departures, weather, local power outages, and renter’s personal property.” I appreciate all your favorable comments as well as the issues.There is a dirt road that provides the access & runs vertically-100 ft away. My opinion on this public seldom used dirt road is that a dirt road is better than no road & preferred over a paved one. The main road is 500 ft below the face of the house. I would also like to note the VRBO description states tropical forest w/pics +++. We make every effort to keep our house maintained & we employ a lovely Spanish speaking lady. Regarding your comments on the provided security guard this was optional @/no fee. We offer this service to make our renters feel safe, so they are able to keep the windows open during the night with peace of mind. Using the house’s many security features are also the renter’s option. Like yourself a rental property owner, I wish you success with your own rental,going forward I will certainly keep in mind this experience & learn from it what I can. Thank you for your feedback.
5

Beach Paradise

  • 5 of 5

We had a fabulous time at Mal Pais, and loved this house! The listing is very accurate. We visited during the Christmas holidays, and were able to keep the doors and windows in the bedrooms open at night, so we could hear the surf and enjoy the cool breezes, without worrying about mosquitoes. It was delightful! We loved having a well maintained pool to take dips in, before and after going to the most amazing beach (Playa Carmen), 5 minutes away by car. THis was definitely one of the highlights of our stay in Costa Rica. Jose, the property manager was great (though limited english), and there is maid service, every other day--very nice touch! The house is clean and well maintained. If we ever have the privilege to travel to Costa Rica again, we will be staying here...5 days was not long enough!

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Canada
5

Our Personal Castle

  • 5 of 5

This was the best part of our Costa Rica trip - my only wish is that we had more time to stay at the house in Mal Pais.

Everything is exactly as shown and described in the listing. Probably the nicest accommodation I have ever stayed in. I can try to further describe it here, but won't be able to do it justice - you have to see it for yourself.

The owners are very helpful with answering questions and ensuring you have a great stay.

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
San Anselmo, CA
5

Good Friends, Amazing House, Perfect Reunion In Mal Pais Costa Rica

  • 5 of 5

We are a group of 6 very close friends that chose Costa Rica as our reunion spot. We absolutely loved this house from the moment we arrived. Jose came and met us at the Monkey Bar just down the road where we were feasting on great fish tacos and margaritas. Our Spanish is poor but we managed with the few words we know and gestures. He was so patient and gracious. After the tour of the house we all headed for the salt water pool that was unbelievably soft, no chlorine and sparkling. We are late 40's to mid 50's and we felt like kids again not wanting to get out of pool till dinner. Mary's is close by and we ate there twice. They prepared the fish that we took to them along with great sides for an very reasonable dinner. Jose hooked us up with his relative for our deep sea fishing charter. We saw underwater volcanic activity and we all caught a fish or two. Nearby Playa Carmen and Santa Theresa were great beach/surf spots. We went to Montazuma another day and after walking around and having lunch in this artsy hippie town, we hiked down to the waterfalls. Beautiful.

The house was perfect, very spacious and we all had our own space. The king beds were very comfortable and the swinging beds on the top floor were a huge hit! After dinner we would all retreat to the 3rd floor for a nite cap an chat about our day and plan the next day's adventure. We accidently locked ourselves outside on the 3rd floor but miraculously Jose just happened to be there checking up on the property.We always felt very safe and taken care of with him close by. Please Peter thank him again for us. We highly recommend this house to those that want a true Costa Rican experience. We hope to return and are even talking about retiring in Costa Rica. Pura Vida!

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
North Jersey
5

Pura Vida indeed!

  • 5 of 5

First of all this was my first visit to Costa Rica and it could not have been more perfect. I stayed for just under 2 weeks with family and friends and it was pure bliss. From the moment we arrived until the day we left it was wonderful. Arriving as we did in June there was some apprehension because of the rainy season but at most it rained for half hour or so and then the perfect weather again came.

The house as one other here stated is not done justice by the pictures. It is amazing. Beautifully appointed and perfectly situated it's just a stones throw from the beach. One of the coolest things about it was the 3rd floor outdoor lanai with the hanging beds. We all absolutely loved it. Ended up having to take turns bc it was so popular. You wake up to amazing wildlife seemingly at arms reach. It was one of my favorite things about my stay.

The food is certainly worth talking about. Burger Rancho ended up being the consensus favorite but it wasn't a burger place (didn't seem at least). Perfect little roadside eatery with amazing fresh fish,chicken and other delights. Definitely try the homemade guacamole. I still drool over the thought. There was also a falafel joint nearby that made possibly the best falafel I have ever had ,and I've had them all over the US and the world. I have to say that there was not a bad meal had by our group of 7.

As for activities - we kayaks,sunfish and scooters which we used to explore the nearby towns of Tambor,Santa Teresa and Montezuma.

Santa Teresa is well known for its amazing surf and the guy in the surf shop from where we took lessons informed us that some well known celebrities own homes very nearby (i'm a Giant fan so I didn't get the chance to laugh at Tom Brady out riding the surf) .

Montezuma was the perfect little hippie community mellow and fun and Tambor has an amazing wildlife reserve that was a big hit with the kids.

Oh the other thing I wanted to mention was Jose the caretaker. A wonderfully genial and helpful man who met us out on the ave when we arrived late at night and helped immensely with suggestions and insight (of course one of us was pretty fluent in spanish).

All in all this was just about as perfect a stay as we possibly could have imagined and I have already informed the owner that we most certainly would be back next year.

Thanks for a wonderful stay

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Map

World class fishing & surfing at local prices.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $250 Per night

Mal Pais House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter Getaway
Apr 12 2015 - Apr 30 2015
2 night minimum stay
$300
$2,000
 
 
Spring & Summer Rates
May 1 2015 - Aug 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,700
 
 
Holiday
Dec 20 2015 - Jan 10 2016
7 night minimum stay
$3,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75
Refundable damage deposit $500
Notes -After making reservation half balance is due with in 7 days and the remainder is due 1 month prior to your arrival date.
-If your reservation is within the 30 days prior to your arrival date full payment is due within 7 days from reservation date.
-Please inquire by phone to make last minute reservations
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Mal Pais House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (2) Linens provided, please keep on premise., Twin or Single Beds (2) Linens provided, please keep on premise., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Linens provided, please keep on premise.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Outdoor shower - ground level. 3rd floor lanai (covered balcony), has 2 twin size hanging beds that can be used year round, also, 1/2 bath, table seating, wrap around counter space, outdoor shower, sink w/cabinets & electrical outlets. *Safe located on premise for the convenience and protection of renter's personal belongings. Owners' are not responsible for the loss, theft or damage of renter's personal belongings.

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$1,800 per week
3 night min stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 7
$8,050 per week
3 - 7 night min stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$1,750 - $3,150 per week
2 - 7 night min stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 4

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote