Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Beach Front House located with view of Battery Point Lighthouse

Patt Wardlaw

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Patt Wardlaw

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
May 4, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Beach Front House located with view of Battery Point Lighthouse

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Crescent City House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-7)

Only the Battery Point Beach House vacation rental offers a spectacular view of the Lighthouse and such easy access to beach combing. You can walk all the way down and on out to the lighthouse (at low tide). This 3 bedroom house is the perfect vacation rental for couples and family vacation. It is the only house on the ocean side of a cul-de-sac and despite being within city limits, offers a definite feeling of privacy.

The Battery Point Lighthouse dominates the landscape and is the primary view from the living room and deck. Walking or beachcombing on 'Pebble Beach' is a few steps from your doorstep of the Battery Point Beach House. Only minutes away are the famous California Redwoods.

Your pacific panorama will unfold from the Deck, or from the privacy of the open, cedar paneled living room, kitchen and dining areas. Sunset Magazine rated Battery Point the number one lighthouse beach (The West's 40 Best Beaches, July 1997). Enjoy a short walk down the beach and on out to the lighthouse (at low tide) to take in sensational vistas and museum (in season).

Keywords: Beach front location with easy access to the beach.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Patt Wardlaw (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
May 4, 2015

About Patt Wardlaw

I first came to the area in the 1960s to fly fish for salmon in the Smith River and fell in love with the view from the deck and the closeness to the Ocean, Smith River and the Redwoods.

Patt Wardlaw purchased this house in 1976

Why Patt Wardlaw chose Crescent City

Best view in the County and right on the water!

What makes this house unique

The house is close to town but has a definite feeling of privacy. Everyone agrees how cozy and comfortable it is; decorated for enjoyment, not for show.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.4
based on 14 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Beach Front House located with view of Battery Point Lighthouse
average rating of 4.428571 based on 14 reviews
Redding, CA
5

Another great family vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Had another great week at this wonderful vacation home. Our family loves coming here, year after year. Have never met the owner, Patt, but he has been so easy to communicate with and really is concerned about our experience and comfort in his home. This is our home away from home, and having a choice (which we do), we would not stay anywhere else. Thanks again for having your home available for us! Location can not be beat! Oh, and FYI; being an ocean front home, there is always going to be some moisture :)

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Kenwood, CA
5

Best location in Crescent City

  • 5 of 5

I have stayed at Patt's beach-front house for 3 or 4 weeks every year for almost 10 years now, and feel it is my second home. It is extremely comfortable and well-maintaned, and is always neat and clean whenever I have arrived. The panoramic, ocean views are spectacular and, depending on the time of year, you can watch whales migrating north or south. And when there is a storm raging outside, one feels cozy and protected in this beautiful home and location. Thanks, Patt !! Ben

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Sacramento, CA
5

Great scenery, lovely accommodations and good neighbors!

  • 5 of 5

Was at the cottage for a week in October for the umpteenth time. As usual, my visit was relaxing and memorable. The owner is constantly upgrading both furnishings and facilities... Cannot improve the lighthouse views or those of the sunsets. They are simply incomparable.

Restaurants are generally good in Crescent City, but there is a place near the high school that makes exceptional cheeses. Check it out through the Chamber of Commerce because I have forgotten its name.

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Sacramento
1

Dissapointing

  • 1 of 5

The location is fabulous, but the house is run down, outdated, and in poor maintenance. Relatives of ours stayed at this location 15 years ago and nothing has changed inside the house since then. The owner hasn't done any upgrades to this poor house. My suggestion is to look elsewhere for similar locations without the mold, mildew, or outdated appliances and thread bare furniture.

  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: November, 2014 To state that no upgrades to the property have been done in 15 years is absurdly untrue. Construction and repairs have always been completed on an ongoing basis. Fall of 2012 a new heating and fuel storage system was installed at a cost of more than $7,000.00. The new furnace is a four-speed Trane. An extensive weather proofing contract was let that year, including window and door caulking and painting of the entire exterior along with roof work. The living room couch was new of leather in late 2011 and all three chairs were given a first class re-upholstering, better than original. I have photos. Also in 2012 the entertainment center was upgraded to a Sony 42 inch LCD HD set, new DVD player and Sony stereo. Non indigenous high plants must be expensively cut back all along the beach front or our fabulous view becomes blocked. Maintenance on the beach is ongoing and costlyl. Fall is the only time I can do upgrades because of full rentals in late spring and summer. In 2012 some other issues could be seen developing. The steel front door was showing signs of rust that we were having trouble getting repainting to hold as was the steel garage door. The deck was beginning to need some repairs in addition to the annual maintenance already being done. That was all planned for 2013. In 2013, unfortunately, I had to have Quadruple Bypass surgery, which left me unable to travel to deal with these issues. I would normally do as part of the annual fall upgrades. Being only 85 I was able to handle everything I could do remotely. I could not physically get to the house. During the past summer, 2014, the stove/oven was replaced with a new Amana Glass Top unit. I have now been at the house since October, 2014, already having upgraded the remaining guest room from a double to a queen. A contract has been placed with Home Depot for the new aluminum garage door to be completed shortly and a new fiberglass front door is ordered. I have already begun to work out the details of a major upgrade to the deck, including replacement of the redwood flooring. A Sony Blue Ray player has just now been added to the TV center and the cable service has already been upgraded to “Charter TV Silver” with many more HD channels, music channels and the HBO, Cinemax and other Pay Channels. You may have seen their “Spectrum” ads. The new Charter wireless is now much faster that the DSL wireless it replaced. Please note all previous reviews JPWardlaw, owner
Scottsdale AZ
5

Best Views!

  • 5 of 5

We spent a week at this cute place on the ocean. It was perfect for my son, husband and self. The deck is so nice to spend time enjoying the beachfront below. There are unbelievable views of a spectacular coastline. We experienced beautiful weather and incredible sunsets. The house is nicely stocked with everything you need. The homeowner is a charming lady and very nice to work with. There was also a local person available if needed during your stay. Thumbs up!

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Boise, ID
5

You're going to LOVE this place!

  • 5 of 5

This was our fabulous family vacation to the Redwoods and the coast! Patt was so easy to work with and the location of his home is incredible. Where else can you walk from your vacation home to a lighthouse? The home is clean, comfortable, and filled with good memories. The views are spectacular and the close proximity to the beach allowed our children, and us, endless hours on the beach exploring the tide pools. Several visits were made to the magestic Redwoods which are just minutes away. Thank you Patt for sharing your home with the rest of us!

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Map

Nearest Beach
House is right on the beach just steps from sand.
Car: recommended

Jedidiah Smith Redwood Park very close to this Northernmost City in California. Nearby Smith River is the only remaining undammed Wild and Scenic River in CA. Trails and Sightseeing abound with relatively milder climate than other cities along the North Coast.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $250 Per night

Crescent City House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,375
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleanining Deposit $125.00
Tax Rate 10.0%
Notes Personal check for reservation deposit of 20%, balance 90 days in advance of occupancy (60 days in Winter/Spring).
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Crescent City House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1650 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , The 'purple' bathroom!
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Very close to bedrooms.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom1 - 1 queen , This Master also has a sitting area with couch and tables.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , the larger of two guest rooms.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Window to Wendall Street.
  • Queen size Beds (3), all very close to bathrooms.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
There are only a small number of rentals right on the beach and most of the others are high up from the water. The sand is just steps from the house and one can walk down the beach and out to the Lighthouse (at low tide).

Other Vacation Properties

$200 per night
2 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$750 - $900 per week
2 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$750 - $900 per week
3 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 7

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote