Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Imagine Your Vacation in a Treehouse | Visit the Forest Canopy at the Woodlands

Brea Gratia

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Brea Gratia

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
May 21, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Imagine Your Vacation in a Treehouse | Visit the Forest Canopy at the Woodlands

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

Asheville Chalet Rental Photos and Description

Chalet, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Feel the lush green forest when you have breakfast on the deck. Be comforted and relaxed. Leave city life behind. Come home from adventure and enjoy dinner and a soak under the stars.

The chalet-styled cabin is comfortable and cozy and decorated for comfort. Plenty of windows to view the natural beauty of the surrounding forest. 13 miles from downtown.

Quiet, relaxing and peaceful. Spend time in the hot tub, enjoy, relax and take a deep breath. In no time, you will wish you had a few extra days to continue unwinding at this woodland beauty.

Features of Woodlands Chalet are two distinct living areas. One has the wood burning fireplace/stove. The upper living area is wide open to a beautiful year round view. Enjoy cooking your favorit mean in the fully stocked kitchen. The chalet has an upper and lower deck. The upper deck wraps around more than half of the chalet. The meandering stairs to the entrance are lighted and offer a safe and beautiful decent to the front door.

The chalet is spacious and you will most certainly enjoy the large indoor tub where you can bathe or shower in this extra large tub. The lower level full bath has a tub/shower combination as well.

The furnishings were all chosen to provide the utmost in comfort and relaxation. The two living areas have sofas and chairs positioned for conversation and TV viewing. The master bedroom is located on the main floor and offers luxurious linens on the king bed. The loft has twin beds with luxurious euro-style pillow top mattresses. The lower bedroom also has luxurious linens on the king bed and a sliding door to the lower deck. The living area has a day bed with a trundle below for extra sleeping capacity. Wake up every day relaxed and ready for adventures in the Asheville area.

The 3 flat panel TV's have built in DVD players for viewing your favorite DVD's. A telephone and answering machine is available for your personal local calls and your family/friends may leave messages for you while you are out on adventures. (Please - no long distance calls from the house phone).

The kitchen has everything you need to prepare a gourmet meal including beautiful dishes, placemats and fine stainless steel flatware. Seating for 6 (or 8 with folding chairs) at the dining table where everyone has a view. The dining room is flanked on two sides by large 'picture' windows and enjoying breakfast, lunch or early dinner here is stunning.

We know you will enjoy your time here and look forward to hearing from you.

Keywords: Cabin, chalet, vacation rental, mountain views, hot tub, private, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, Blue Ridge Parkway, Blue Ridge Mountains, golf, hiking, white water rafting

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Brea Gratia (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
May 21, 2015

About Brea Gratia

I, David, discovered Asheville when I first met Brea. She was very interested in living in Asheville and after knowing her for one month, she invited me to visit Asheville with her for the New Year. Even during the winter, we were hiking, visiting the Biltmore Estate and enjoying many outdoor activities. Brea achieved her goal - I did fall for the beauty of Asheville. After Brea's success in renting her Chalet Quietude, it seemed like the best way to invest and have a connection to Asheville. It's hard to travel anywhere when Asheville is calling. Brea manages my property and is very personable; making sure she establishes a quick relationship with each of our guests.

Brea Gratia purchased this chalet in 2008

Why Brea Gratia chose Asheville

I wanted a property that was open with many windows, had great views and was located on a pristine mountain. When I first found the property, it needed some updating and TLC. After renovations, the Woodlands Chalet became a reality. One of the many reasons I fell for this property was the location and the forest. It is not far from downtown Asheville, yet located in a forest setting. The chalet is located at about 3400 feet altitude so summer's are cool and refreshing. It is a great place to sit on the deck and enjoy the sounds of nature.

What makes this chalet unique

The woods - the forest...hence the name Woodlands Chalet. Open dining room with forest views on two sides is a great dining experience. Relaxing or dining on the deck in spring, summer and fall is the very best way to enjoy the Woodlands Chalet. The view and serenity is priceless. Enjoying the view from inside or out is refreshing and relaxing. The drive into Asheville is easy as well as going to get groceries. The chalet is also perfect for two families because of the two distinct living areas which provides for privacy of each family.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.9
based on 10 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Imagine Your Vacation in a Treehouse | Visit the Forest Canopy at the Woodlands
average rating of 4.9 based on 10 reviews
5

Great Place for Girl's Weekend Celebration!

  • 5 of 5

Six friends from Philly, NY and NJ were visiting me for a girl's weekend celebration of my birthday so I knew I had to make it special for them too. The Woodlands Chalet was the perfect place to stay and was extremely easy for us to venture into downtown Asheville. If you're looking for serenity yet lots of laughs, beautiful views with a relaxing soak in a hot tub and the ability make some delicious meals with an easy drive to Asheville and other sites, then the Woodlands Chalet is a must!

  • Submitted: May 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Paula - we were so delighted to have you and the other ladies for a weekend birthday celebration. What a great idea to gather everyone in the mountains and at this time of year - it is so lovely on the mountain with spring springing. We hope you had plenty of time to relax and enjoy the views, the hot tub and a little exploring in Asheville. David and I look forward to another visit from you and the girls. We are grateful - Brea (& David)
5

Serene, Cozy, Romantic = Perfect.

  • 5 of 5

We really loved our stay here. Just what we needed to recharge a bit and enjoy the mountains and each other on our anniversary. Wish we could have stayed longer. It really is close to downtown Asheville, but feels like it's away from everything. Even with the leaves fallen, it's pretty private. And the view is astounding. I can't imagine you're going to find a better cabin situation than this one, and thankfully, the decor is not the cheesy "bears & quilts" stuff you find in a lot of places. It's kinda "modern rustic," and none of it feels like 15 year old rejects that came from the owner's personal house (you know what I'm talking about). The cabin is very clean. Dishes are quality. The bed and sheets were amazing. The fireplace and hot tub were so worth the extra $. The manager, Brea, was great, too. Only downside I suppose is the drive up and down the mountain. It's a really steep haul without many switchbacks, but I guess that's to be expected. I don't think a 4wd would even have much luck on those grades in icy conditions, so get the travel insurance if you're staying in the winter. BTW, the restaurant suggestions in the book are outdated. There are WAY better places in Asheville now. Try Bull & Beggar, Table, The Admiral, Curate, Rhubarb, Red Stag ($$$) or Zambra, Strada, Salsa, Nine Mile ($$). But Barley's is still a great choice for pizza & beer. And don't miss the French Broad Chocolate Lounge for coffee & dessert.

Last thing to know, we considered coming back with our kids (9 & 7), but there's not much space for unstructured play outside given that it's situated on the side of a mountain. Just FYI. Beautiful nonetheless.

  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! So glad you experienced a serene cozy and romantic anniversary. The Woodlands is fondly called “a treehouse” because it is built on the side of the mountain. It is amazing how tall the trees are – towering above the chalet. Stunning views from the windows and/or the deck provide relief from the hustle of a busy city life. We hope you were able to enjoy some of the magnificent purple and orange sunsets during your stay. Of course, inside, the chalet has a way of maintaining it’s relationship with nature and offers a cozy place to just “be”. We thank you about the dining list. It is hard to keep it current as the restaurants come and go and some stay like Zambra, Salsa’s and Barley’s. We’ll get right to work on updating the restaurant guide – thank you. As for space for unstructured play outside for the kids, you may want to try Charmed Cottage or Chalet Quietude as both have some “flat land” for outdoor play and exploring. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to hear from you again. Thank you for the review and suggestions – we appreciate that and will create a new list. Brea & David
Decatur, GA
4

Beautiful views and sunrises

  • 4 of 5

The girls weekend 2014 was a success, mostly in part due to this gorgeous property. The house was very well stocked, the owners close by and accommodating, and the views here are the best. We experienced the first snow of Asheville, which while beautiful, did make getting to the house a bit difficult. Half of our party couldn't make it up the mountain and fortunately we had a 4WD with us so we could get them the rest of the way. I just want to note, the sacrifice of the beautiful view is a tricky ride in the snow. So just go into this aware, if you book in the fall and/or winter, I wouldn't recommend driving anything but a 4WD vehicle. All that aside, we will be back to Asheville in another few years. What a great area.

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Melissa – it was so good to have you and the girls as our guest. What a surprise and a thrill to have such a substantial snowfall so early. I think the news said it has not happened since 1953 or so. You had the best of both fall and winter in a matter of 48 hours. The beauty of our mountain is that by the afternoon after the overnight snowfall, all was clear, driveable and back to fall again. It is rare that our guests need a 4-wheel drive – it was lucky you had one though. After all that, the days were beautiful, sunny and just the best. So glad you had the opportunity to experience the Woodlands, Asheville, snow and fall – what a great combination! We look forward to your visit again. Brea & David
Jacksonville FL
5

Lovely mountain house

  • 5 of 5

We had a girls weekend at the house. It was much bigger than how the pictures portray. The house was perfect for us. We cooked steaks and vegetables on the grill which, was followed up with a nice dip in hot tub on a crisp fall night. The house was perfect. We would recommend to anyone.

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Danielle, So everyone enjoyed the girl’s weekend at the Woodlands Chalet! That makes us very happy. It is in an ideal location for experiencing the mountains and forest yet close to downtown. We know you were surprised with your grilling skills - so happy it turned out great! It is so special in the fall with the cool nights and sunny warm days. A nice “hot” hot tub on a crisp fall night is just about the best – so glad you enjoyed it. And, the layout of the chalet is ideal for a girl's trip. We hope to have you come stay again. Brea and David
San Francisco, CA
5

Exceed your expectations...

  • 5 of 5

...our experince was above expectations. We got a call shortly after arrival and another follow up a couple of days later - we were there for 4 nights. It was well stocked, had all the amenities you would expect in a high end rental. We were close to Ashevile,yet felt we were the only people in the forest. Spectacular views. Plenty of room too.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jeff - your review made our week. We are always thrilled when we see the phrase "exceeded our expectations". Indeed it is a very private location and it is like being the only people on the mountain. You are away from the traffic, the city and neighbors. Amazing what a few days in the mountains can do for ones soul. And, you are right - driving to Asheville is very easy and only a short distance away. It reminds me of the old saying "you can't HAVE your cake and EAT it (too)". In this case, you can HAVE serenity of the mountains and HAVE the activity of Asheville. It's the best of both worlds! Thank you and we wish to have you again on another trip to the mountains of Western North Carolina. Our best, Brea & David
Saltillo, MS
5

Peaceful, Breathtaking Views

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful chalet with excellent views. Great for families with 3 levels. Would not be good for older people that cannot do steps easily. Enjoyed our trip immensely.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Janice. We appreciate the time you took to write. The view is great and we especially love it when having breakfast on the deck. I hope you had a chance to do that - I know there were some rainy days during your stay. You are right about it being 3 stories and perfect for families. The really cool thing though is that when two people stay, they feel just as much at home because everything they need is on the one main floor. And yes, the picturesque stairway to paradise could cause a problem for elderly if they have problems with stairs. However, we've had many stay there and they simply take their time and pause at each of the many landings. We hope you get to come stay with us again. Brea & David

Map

Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
74A
Car: necessary

great cell phone service

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $225 Per night

Asheville Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Peak
May 25 2015 - Jul 1 2015
3 night minimum stay
$235
From
$265
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
 
July 4th Holiday
Jul 2 2015 - Jul 4 2015
3 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
Peak 2
Jul 5 2015 - Aug 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$235
From
$265
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 3 2015 - Sep 6 2015
3 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
Fall Color
Oct 1 2015 - Oct 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$235
From
$265
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 24 2015 - Nov 28 2015
4 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
Christmas to New Years
Dec 20 2015 - Jan 2 2016
4 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$225
From
$245
Thu,Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Protection $49.00
Housekeeping $125.00
Tax Rate 11.0%
Notes Discounts are available for last minute travelers and for those staying 7-14 nights. All reservations require a signed rental agreement which will be sent after payment has been made.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Asheville Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1950 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub , located on mail level
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , located on lower level
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Trundle Bed under Day Bed - 2 twin/ single , The Trundle bed is located under the Twin Day bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Two twin beds
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , King Bed on main level
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , King bed on lower level
  • King size beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (4)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
great cell phone service

Other Vacation Properties

$1,450 - $1,650 per week
2 - 5 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$900 - $975 per week
2 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$2,174 - $2,762 per week
2 - 5 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 8

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote