Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

JUST RENOVATED - CHRISTMAS WEEK ONLY $350/NT FOR 5 NTS OR $2100 FOR 7NTS!

Cheryl Black

Advertiser since: 2000
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Cheryl Black

Advertiser since: 2000
Speaks: english
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

JUST RENOVATED - CHRISTMAS WEEK ONLY $350/NT FOR 5 NTS OR $2100 FOR 7NTS!

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

Overview

Zephyr Cove House Rental Photos and Description

4BR Lakeside Vacation Rental Zephyr Cove, Nevada USA

This home was pulled off the rental market in May to begin its renovation and there is no doubt its guests are going to enjoy this home. Photos will follow as soon as possible. This four-bedroom, two-bath home offers approximately 2,500 square feet of living space. It's situated in the prestigious area of Skyland -- in Zephyr Cove, Nevada, about five miles from the casinos. This home has filtered lake views, is a block up from Lake Tahoe, and has access to the Skyland homeowners' private beach. The main floor of this home has the living room, kitchen, dining room, master bedroom and bathroom. The huge living room (21 x 28) has a beautiful ledge stone corner electric fireplace, a 55-inch flat screen cable TV with DVD, stereo, Wi-Fi Internet, and a full-size pool table. The hot tub is located on the lower deck outside the downstairs bedrooms.

Adjacent to the living room is the large, U-shaped, gourmet kitchen which features a center island, a double kitchen sink, and a bar sink. It has a new stainless glass-top stove and self-cleaning oven, a microwave, and an additional two-burner stovetop station (close to the dining table). The kitchen has unbelievable counter and cabinetry space, and is very functional and well stocked. On this main level, both the master bedroom and dining room have patio doors, which give access to the large upper deck, which spans the entire width of the home. From there you can see filtered lake views of Lake Tahoe, and views of the huge back yard.

The master bedroom offers a beautiful traditional feel of Lake Tahoe, with real wood paneling. It also has an elegant cherry bedroom set, a brass king-size bed, and a 32 inch flat screen TV. Downstairs there are three additional bedrooms, each with its own king-size bed and cable TV. There is also one sleeper sofa located in the living room. Wood paneling can be found throughout the house; giving that mountain feel. Each of the downstairs bedrooms also has a sliding patio door, with access to the large backyard, deck, and the hot tub!

The Skyland Retreat offers many forms of entertainment while at the house, such as hiking, lounging in the hot tub, or barbecuing your dinner on the deck while enjoying the sounds of boats passing by. The neighborhood of Skyland has its own private beach used by its residents and their guests. It's only a one-mile walk to the historic Zephyr Cove Resort -- through the National Park and along the shore of Lake Tahoe. There you'll find horseback riding, snowmobiling, the M.S. Dixie Paddlewheeler, the Woodwind II catamaran, parasailing, charter sport fishing boats, boat rentals, jet skis, pedal boats, canoes, and kayaks -- all for your enjoyment. Give this property a try. We know you'll love it!

VHRP # 06-327

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Cheryl Black (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2000
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

The owner wants to announce that the Skyland Retreat has now been updated with new carpeting except for the 3 bedrooms downstairs. A painter was called in to freshen up the inside,and there is a new sleeper sofa, new refrigerator, new window treatments, and new dining table and chairs. We hope you will enjoy these new improvements.
May 2012
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

3.6
based on 7 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Just renovated - Christmas week only $350/nt for 5 nts or $2100 for 7nts!
average rating of 3.5714285 based on 8 reviews
business
Just renovated - Christmas week only $350/nt for 5 nts or $2100 for 7nts!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p214311
+1 -925 286-7351
Zephyr Cove Lake Tahoe Area
San Jose
5

Comfortable home

  • 5 of 5
We have stayed in the Skyland home for approximately five or six years every summer for a week with our children and grandchildren. The home is set up for a great vacation. Plenty of room for everyone. We love Lake Tahoe, the private beach for use by quest only, the neighborhood that the home is in, plus the home is wonderful for us. The owners have been very gracious to us and we plan on spending many more summers in their home. If we call them for anything they attend to it promptly.
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hi Ben,
We have so looked forward to your visit every year. I thank you for your kind words. Hope the rest of your summer is wonderful.
business
Just renovated - Christmas week only $350/nt for 5 nts or $2100 for 7nts!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p214311
+1 -925 286-7351
Zephyr Cove Lake Tahoe Area
5

Thanks!

  • 5 of 5
Thanks Cheryl! We just loved staying at the house. Got such a kick out of the ambiance…. All the pine paneling and wooden bears. The house was clean and cozy, and my husband and I appreciated the king bed.... we have a queen at home. Sure caught up on our sleep! Our Conservancy hikes were fabulous!!! Now, back to work. Ugh!
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Just renovated - Christmas week only $350/nt for 5 nts or $2100 for 7nts!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p214311
+1 -925 286-7351
Zephyr Cove Lake Tahoe Area
San Francisco, CA
5

Great rates and comfortable

  • 5 of 5
The Retreat has been a great affordable choice for our trips to Lake Tahoe with the kids. We have 3 children under the age of 5, and what we really liked was that I could take them downstairs for their naps and the adults could continue doing what they wanted to do upstairs. We even discovered that there is a pocket door at the bottom of the stairs that will keep it completely quiet downstairs. The kids got so overtired from all our activities and hikes that they would take 2-3 hour naps. Wonderful!!! We loved the house and the back deck looking out towards the lake. This was our second summer and we can’t wait to go to Lake Tahoe again next year.
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Just renovated - Christmas week only $350/nt for 5 nts or $2100 for 7nts!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p214311
+1 -925 286-7351
Zephyr Cove Lake Tahoe Area
Boynton Beach Florida USA
2

skiers

  • 2 of 5
Having lived in Reno & spending numerous times in Lake Tahoe, we found this house to be old & desperately in need of upkeep & updating, mix matched furniture, dirty & stained. bathrooms dirty & moldy.Bed linenes with little red drops on them. we could not locate bed bugs. (maybe they die off in the winter),. fixture missing on stairs to upper level. Dishes, glasses and pots and pans in deplorable condition. Not all appliances workable.Desperate need of paint job and new window treatments. Spare blankets torn and falling apart. handles on small sink are backwards. Noy enough hot water for one person to compete a bath. Gutter missing over lower level parking causing are to be icy and dangerous and a relative slept & fell. . Location was excellent, nice neifgnorhood and snow removal service was prompy. we love the lake & we will not let this bad experience color our future travel plans.
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Owner's Response: I am so sorry that our home didn’t live up to your expectations. Since the living room has leather furniture except for the new microsuede sleeper sofa, I’m not sure what was dirty and stained. My sister owns the professional house cleaning company, and I know her standards. I know that the sheets were washed, were fresh and the bathrooms were clean. I was in the house a couple days before you arrived and had inspected it. There is a set of white dishes (set of 16), a new set of glasses (as of December 2011), and pots and pans purchased December 2010. Do you mean that things were in a jumble in the cupboards? I’m not sure what you meant. There is a functioning glass-top stove with four burners, all working. You told me that the hot plate with 2 burners which is across the kitchen had one burner not working, and I thanked you for letting me know. Since almost the entire house has paneling, the only area of paint would be in the living room, where the pool cues have left blue marks. That is scheduled to be painted this spring. The handles on the bar sink in the kitchen are not reversed in terms of hot/cold, but instead, rather than pulling them forward to turn on, they need to be pushed back. In terms of the hot water, if there was a problem, why didn’t you call? That is an issue that would need to be dealt with immediately, just as we helped you through your dilemma with the baseboard heating, telling you that it takes a while for homes in the snow to heat up, and the boiler doesn’t make any noise as a force air unit does. Your problem was that you didn’t turn up the thermostat downstairs. Finally, there are very few homes in Lake Tahoe that have gutters because they don’t work that efficiently in snowy conditions since the snow fills up the gutters, then freezes and then the next storm finds the gutters filled with a block of ice. There are no gutters on the house, and we do warn people about icy conditions in the winter. I feel badly that you didn’t call me about your issues.
business
Just renovated - Christmas week only $350/nt for 5 nts or $2100 for 7nts!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p214311
+1 -925 286-7351
Zephyr Cove Lake Tahoe Area
Cypress, Ca.
2

An evaluation of rental prop.

  • 2 of 5
Property needs upgrading. The carpets are old. The dinning chairs old and rickety. The garage was not available though the listing description made it seem that it was. The best feature was the living room and the kitchen. The BBQ propane was less than half full. The bathrooms didn't have soap bars. There was no linen for the sofa beds. I would not stay at this prop. ever again.
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ventura, I am very distressed that you had some issues and didn’t call us. When we noted the dining chairs were soiled, we purchased new upholstery to reupholster them and it is going to be done after the summer wave of guests, about mid-September. The carpeting may not be brand new, but it was cleaned on July 1st prior to the arrival of our summer guests. VRBO/Homeaway, and our personal website all state that parking is off street (driveway), but nowhere does it indicate that there is parking in the garage. The 2nd item on the Instruction Letter that you received stated that we cannot promise that the propane tank will be full because we live out of the area. The letter also states that the linens are stored in the credenza, next to the TV. If the cleaners forgot to leave sheets there, it gave their phone number to call them immediately in the case of any problems. I am sorry that you were not happy with your stay, and I wish you had given me a call so that we could have tried to solve your problems, instead of having upset guests.
business
Just renovated - Christmas week only $350/nt for 5 nts or $2100 for 7nts!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p214311
+1 -925 286-7351
Zephyr Cove Lake Tahoe Area
Santa Rosa CA
1

Poorly managed home

  • 1 of 5
We rented this Skyland home the week of July 4th. There were numerous things wrong with the home. Broken hid-a-key lock box, leaking refrigerator with water on floor and every refrigerator shelf, broken hide-a-bed frame, missing shower curtain in upstairs bathroom, broken fence, missing dead bolt in front door, broken back door screen lock, no papers towels, minimal toilet paper, no hand soap in kitchen and bathrooms. All of this required numerous phone calls to the owner to get resolved. The home showed serious signs of wear and tear, ie, dirty walls, damaged kitchen flooring due to water from refrigerator, etc. There was no pride of ownership evident at this home.

I asked for a 20% refund from the owner, who denied my request and responded with a 4% refund, which I viewed as inadequate given the various hassles I had to deal with during our vacation. This is not how a vacation should be spent. I recall talking to the owner about 10 times during the week in dealing with all of these issues.

It was a disappointing rental experience. The broken refrigerator and missing shower curtain were the worst parts. For the record, a replacement shower curtain was brought to the home the next day and I installed it. Not a big deal to do, but again, not what one expects to do on a vacation. I expected the home to be in good working order and it wasn't.
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tim, I am sorry that this rental wasn’t up to your standards. We really try our best to make sure our guests have a wonderful time in our homes, and for the record, we have managed our family's homes since 2000, and this is our first negative review. I have to admit, the stay got off to a bad start because the lockbox froze and could not be opened. As soon as you called, however, I told you where we had keys hidden and you were in the house within minutes. Interestingly, in reference to the leaking refrigerator, when I called the next guests on their first day, they could not initially find any water. It was only when they were cleaning up to leave, and they removed the bottom drawers, that they finally saw a small amount of water. Other than that, the refrigerator worked fine. Worried that it might be a future problem, the refrigerator has now been replaced. In regards to the flooring, there has been no damage from water. There has been movement of some pieces of laminate, which had been corrected, but they show slight separation. We were not aware that someone had bent the frame on the sleeper sofa, and it took us a week to purchase a new one and get it to Tahoe. Unfortunately, the shower curtain is hidden behind a decorative curtain, and the cleaners did not notice that it was missing. They immediately brought a replacement to the house. In cleaning the house after your stay, the missing rod and curtain were found in the hall closet, obviously put there by prior guests. In terms of missing items in the house, our instruction letter says that we do not supply toiletries, and only a starter kit of paper items. We did try to address all your problems, but thought that $505 was way out of line. We told you that we would give you 10% off your next stay since this stay had problems, and a check for $100 was sent to reimburse you for items that you felt were missing and also for your time to hang the shower curtain and to wipe up the water in the refrigerator. Again, I am sorry that your stay didn’t live up to your expectations

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
29 Miles
Reno-Carson Airport (Check for the shuttles)
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Zephyr Cove Resort
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Zephyr Cove Resort M.S. Dixie II
Nearest Golf
4.4 Miles
Edgewood Country Club
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hwy 50
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Zephyr Cove Resort
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Heavenly Valley Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Skyland Private Homeowners' Beach
Car: recommended

Gambling Casinos of Harrah's, Harvey's, Montbleu, and Horizan, Ski Resorts of Heavenly Valley, Sierra at Tahoe, and Kirkwood

Photos

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rates & Availability

From $150 Per night

Zephyr Cove House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter
Dec 15 - Dec 18
2 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
Christmas Holiday
Dec 19 2014 - Dec 25 2014
5 night minimum stay
$350
$2,100
 
 
New Year's Holiday
Dec 26 2014 - Jan 1 2015
3 night minimum stay
$425
$2,800
 
 
Winter
Jan 2 2015 - Jan 15 2015
3 night minimum stay
$175
From
$225
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,200
 
 
MLK Holiday
Jan 16 2015 - Jan 18 2015
3 night minimum stay
$825
Flat fee
 
 
Winter
Jan 19 2015 - Feb 12 2015
3 night minimum stay
$175
From
$225
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,200
 
 
Presidents' Day Holiday
Feb 13 2015 - Feb 15 2015
3 night minimum stay
$825
Flat fee
 
 
Winter
Feb 16 2015 - Apr 1 2015
3 night minimum stay
$175
From
$225
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,200
 
 
Easter
Apr 2 2015 - Apr 4 2015
3 night minimum stay
$750
Flat fee
 
 
Spring
Apr 5 2015 - May 21 2015
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$175
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$950
 
 
Memorial Day
May 22 2015 - May 24 2015
3 night minimum stay
$825
Flat fee
 
 
Spring
May 25 2015 - Jun 14 2015
3 night minimum stay
$150
From
$200
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,050
 
 
Summer
Jun 15 2015 - Jun 26 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,800
 
 
July 4th Holiday (8 nts)
Jun 27 2015 - Jul 4 2015
8 night minimum stay
$2,200
Flat fee
 
 
Summer- 6 nts - Sun-Sat.
Jul 5 2015 - Jul 10 2015
6 night minimum stay
$260
 
 
Summer
Jul 11 2015 - Aug 31 2015
7 night minimum stay
$1,800
 
 
Fall
Sep 1 2015 - Sep 3 2015
2 night minimum stay
$150
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 4 2015 - Sep 6 2015
3 night minimum stay
$825
Flat fee
 
 
Fall
Sep 7 2015 - Nov 24 2015
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$200
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,100
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 25 2015 - Nov 28 2015
4 night minimum stay
$1,000
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
From
$200
Fri,Sat
$1,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $400
Cleaning Fee $160
Tax Rate 13.0%
Notes $550 Down Payment required to reserve dates
$400 Refundable Security Deposit

July 4th, 2015 is a problem since it falls on a Saturday, which is the day that this home turns over. If our guest decides he wants to start his weekly reservation on the 4th, the rate for the week will be $1925. If the guest decides that they want to end their weekly reservation on the 5th, the rate will be $2200/8 nts.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Amenities

Zephyr Cove House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Lake View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • The upstairs bathroom has a double sink vanity.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king
  • There is additional sleeping on a sleeper sofa in the living room.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Communication / Internet:
  • fax
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote