The road leading to the cabin was a one-lane gravel road with a huge drop-off and it was full of pot holes and a raised center. Our car bottomed out a few times. If you're a biker, forget it! The yard was littered with beer cans, plastic bags, etc....
The grill was nasty dirty. No grill brush, no scoop for the ashes, ashes overflowing the bucket and our contract said that the grill should be clean and scooped out. I guess they don't bother to check.
The cabin was very dirty! The kitchen had dirty, moldy dishes in the dishwasher (as if someone waited weeks to run it), the cabinets and drawers were filthy and everytime I pulled up a chair or opened a cabinet, or touched a drawer-pull, it was sticky. I found myself washing my hands several times and then just gave up and cleaned everything myself. I also rewashed the dishes in the cabinets and drawers, because there was dirt and grease in the those receptacles as well.
The blinds in every room were caked with dirt and I began to wonder if these people EVER clean the place! I felt yucky sleeping in the bed....the sheets were thread-bare. We had the added pleasure of killing three wasps that were flying around our room in the morning. When we removed the sheets from the bed at the end of our stay, there were yellow stains on the mattress and pillows. Yuck.
The fireplace didn't work at all. I called the owner about this and didn't receive a call back till the following afternoon (after several calls and a couple of emails). He was argumentative and condescending. Not good customer relations!
The hot tub wasn't working properly on the second night. The temperature wouldn't go past 92 degrees and we froze. (It was 40 degrees outside.) It was warm enough for us to climb in, but then we realized that it wasn't warm enough to stay in. ugh. It was awful!
HANDS DOWN, THE WORST RENTAL I HAVE EVER STAYED IN!!!
Owner's Response: Dear KR...We appreciate your input and are very sorry that you had a poor experience when you rented one of our cabins recently. If any of our guests are not satisfied, we try to make things right.... as we attempted to do with several emails and phone contacts to you during your stay, and the credit we applied to your account for the inconveniences you expressed. In our defense, we feel that many of your comments have been exaggerated due to your apparent frustration with the situation. We take pride in our cabins and attend to their amenities and cleanliness with great concern for the well being of our guests. Back to Nature Cabins has been serving guests for 7 years, and most of our customers are very satisfied and often return again. Indeed, as with any other small business, sometimes it is good to hear about things upon which we might improve. Thank you for your feedback.
Helpful votes: 3/3
Did you find this review helpful?