SMITH MOUNTAIN LAKE-THE THOMPSON HOUSE - ON THE WATER

David A. Thompson

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps16
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SMITH MOUNTAIN LAKE-THE THOMPSON HOUSE - ON THE WATER

Moneta House Rental Photos and Description

House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12-16)

**ATTENTION*** Please make sure if you are renting my house you have 1) Call me on my cell phone & E mailed me @ dathompson0129@gmail2) Have not paid by WIRE TRANSFER TO EUROPE...

Fabulous five bedroom 3 1/2 bath situated on beautiful Smith Mountain Lake. This delightful vacation home that accommodates 12-16 (10 Adults plus children) people and is furnished with two king, two queen, two sets of bunk beds (4 total), two futons, and a pull out couch with plenty of floor space.

Screened in porch, ping pong table, arcade game, and high speed wireless internet. Children have plenty of room with there private 42 inch HD/TV room with Satellite . The downstairs family room has a 65 inch big screen satellite TV with surround sound. Private cove for swimming, 3 kayaks and a canoe with plenty of fun for all. The kitchen has plenty of cooking amenities along with seating for 14. A vacation sure to please everyone in your family. Reserve your place at the lake for your year round enjoyment.

Located just Southwest of Lynchburg VA and Southeast of Roanoke. This is a lovely 4 hour drive door to door from Washington Dulles Airport via 81 or 29.

RENTAL DURING SUMMER MONTHS JUNE-AUGUST ARE SATURDAY - SATURDAY

***LINENS AND TOWELS NOT PROVIDED**

CALL LAKE LINEN @ 540-798-3769 TELL JANET IT'S FOR THOMPSON HOUSE AND THERE IS A DISCOUNT**

Please contact David Thompson at phone number listed.

Keywords: Lake House

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

David A. Thompson

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2008
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

I am a Corporate Pilot. My wife and I fell in love with SML about 1997 and have been going there ever since. We hope people enjoy the lake and our lovely home as much as we do! I think you will be surprised at the lengths we went to for EVERYONE to be comfortable. Please ENJOY as much as we do!

David A. Thompson purchased this house in 2000

Beautiful lake for the entire family, with over 500 miles of shore line. Plenty of things to do, boating, fishing, kayaks, canoe, putt putt golf and plenty of restaurants to get to by boat. We got tired of renting on the lake with low budget beds and TV's, so we decided to buy and make our house one you won't forget.

Love the large kitchen and HD TV that the adults can enjoy while cooking and relaxing. We have lot's of fun downstairs with the 65' HD Big Screen TV. Two of the bedrooms have TV's and upstairs they are HD TV's. My children love the room set up for the kids with HD TV, along with Pingpong, and the Arcade machine!

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.6
based on 17 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Smith Mountain Lake-The Thompson House - on the Water
average rating of 4.647059 based on 17 reviews
business
Smith Mountain Lake-The Thompson House - on the Water
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p214056vb
+1 703-282-1541
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
colorado springs, CO
5

Owner is so easy to work with.

  • 5 of 5
Kitchen is super well stocked and adjacent Mudroom is really nice.
Owner is great. Good, clear, quick communication.
Kayaks & canoes a big plus.
Great parking.
Quiet cove but it takes a few minutes to get to open water.
  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Smith Mountain Lake-The Thompson House - on the Water
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p214056vb
+1 703-282-1541
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
5

Family Gathering at Thanksgiving

  • 5 of 5
The house was the perfect destination for our 12 family members to gather. The kitchen is very well equipped for preparing turkey and all the side dishes and it is large enough for multiple cooks!

Kids can have a great time with the arcade, air hockey, large screen TV's, pingpong, etc.

Sleeping accommodations are deluxe.

There is plenty to do at Smith Mountain Lake--even in the late Fall. We hiked, visited the Booker T. Washington Memorial, & shopped.
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Smith Mountain Lake-The Thompson House - on the Water
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p214056vb
+1 703-282-1541
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
4

Great House

  • 4 of 5
This house is great. Has all the amenities of home. I have never rented a home that had such a well stocked kitchen. The beach was a 5 minute drive to the beach and the was very close to stores. The cleaning could be a little better, the husbands spent about an hour cleaning out the tiki bar shed. Both ice machines were broken during our stay so we had to keep running out for ice. There were 3 kayaks and a canoe to use and the kids had a great time fishing off the dock. The downstairs game rooms were awesome and provided many hours of entertainment. We would absolutely consider renting this property again.
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: I thank you for your comments and glad you told me about the TiKi Bar....unfortunately I only have so much time to clean the house between rentals and we do not check the TiKi Bar every time, and some people that rent don't take care of things like maybe you and I would!

I am sorry about the ice maker and tried and tried to get Sears to send proper parts but gave up the week you left and bought a really nice new refrigerator...sorry you did not get to enjoy that.

My wife and I try really hard to accommodate everyone's needs, I do thank you for thinking of our beautiful lake home.
business
Smith Mountain Lake-The Thompson House - on the Water
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p214056vb
+1 703-282-1541
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Virginia Beach
5

Family gathering

  • 5 of 5
Excellent accomodations. Ice makers were not working and there were a few other challenges, but overall, our expectations were met or exceeded. Nice quiet cove, away from heavy boat traffic, with plenty of water depth for swimming off the end of the dock. Nice fishing, easy access to land-based activities including community park, convenience store nearby, easy boating to dam, shopping, etc.

Weather was great during our week.
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dan, Glad you and your family had a great time. So sorry about Ice Maker, trying and trying to get someone with Sears to get their act together.....but will get it fixed ASAP.

Thanks, Thompson
business
Smith Mountain Lake-The Thompson House - on the Water
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p214056vb
+1 703-282-1541
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Gainesville, FL
5

Thanksgiving

  • 5 of 5
We had a wonderful family gathering for Thanksgiving, the house was clean, comfortable and was well equipped for entertaining and food prep!
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Smith Mountain Lake-The Thompson House - on the Water
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p214056vb
+1 703-282-1541
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Chester, Virginia
5

Wedding Weekend

  • 5 of 5
We actually used the Thompson house as a venue to get married! We were looking for a house on the lake that would accommodate our small family wedding, able to house out-of-town family and as a gathering place for visiting friends. We used the lower deck for our wedding ceremony, and everything was perfect! The biggest surprise was the amazing kitchen, and especially helpful was the 2nd refrigerator in the laundry room. We have rented lots of ski chalets and beach properties, but have never had a place that was as well equipped, organized, labelled, and as clean as this one! David was very understanding and helpful when we were making our plans. We would definitely recommend this property to others!
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Smith Mountain Lake Airport
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
RT-122
Nearest Beach
1.5 Miles
Drive around corner from house to Park..Park Place
Nearest Barpub
1.7 Miles
Blackwater Cafe
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
West Park Golf Coarse
Nearest Restaurant
1.7 Miles
Blackwater Cafe

I have 3 one person Kayaks and a canoe also, enjoy!

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Moneta House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
September-October
Sep 6 2014 - Oct 31 2014
3 night minimum stay
$450
From
$450
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,450
 
 
November-December
Nov 1 2014 - Dec 31 2014
3 night minimum stay
$450
$2,800
 
 
January-March
Jan 1 2015 - Feb 28 2015
3 night minimum stay
$400
From
$400
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,100
 
 
April-May
Apr 1 2015 - May 30 2015
3 night minimum stay
$450
From
$450
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,450
 
 
June-September
Jun 1 2015 - Aug 29 2015
7 night minimum stay
$4,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

House Cleaning Fee $200
Refundable damage deposit $300
Notes **ATTENTION**PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU HAVE PAID ONLY BY CHECK, E-CHECK or CREDIT CARD TO DAVID A THOMPSON....NO ONE ELSE...NO WIRE TRANSFER...to Europe

Please note that the $300 Security/Damage deposit is separate from rental costs, separate check required. Refunded within 30 days of departure with NO DAMAGE...

Please Note- 3.0% ADDED FEE FOR CREDIT CARD USE

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Moneta House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Telephone ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Broadband Access
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Microwave
  • Kitchen ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Downstairs
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , Master Bathroom-upstairs
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , Foyer/Laundry Room
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Upstairs next to Bedroom #2 & #3
  • 3.5
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 4 bunk bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 7 - 2 double , Futon's ....Kids TV ROOM
  • King size beds (2) Both bedrooms have HD 32 inch satellite TV, Queen size Beds (2) 1 bedroom has satellite TV, Sleep Sofa or Futons (3) 1-Pull out sofa sleeper & 2- Futon's, Bunk Beds (4)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • VCR
  • Stereo
  • Air Hockey
  • Satellite / Cable ...
Outside:
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • churches
  • marina
  • playground
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • sight seeing
  • shopping
  • antiquing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • kayaking
  • water skiing
  • hiking
  • parasailing
  • cycling
  • sailing
  • golf
  • swimming
  • jet skiing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • water tubing
Notes:
65' big screen TV with surround sound - Arcade game for kids along with separate TV with Video Games, and Ping Pong Table -Big Kitchen for big get togethers
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$1,350 - $2,800 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 5 BR,
  • 4 BA,
  • Sleeps 12
  • 5 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$1,500 - $2,500 per week
4 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 5 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 8