Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

A Great Vail Value; Quiet Retreat on Gore Creek

Jim and Signe Donaldson

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 3
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights

Contact the Owner

Jim and Signe Donaldson

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 18, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

A Great Vail Value; Quiet Retreat on Gore Creek

Bedrooms 3
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights


Ptarmigan Townhomes Townhome Rental Photos and Description

Townhome, 3 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

No matter the season, this quiet, secluded location with trees, mountain views, and the sound of Gore Creek, located only 20 feet off the back deck, will fit the bill for your next vacation. You can ski any of eleven Colorado resorts (Vail, Beaver Creek, Copper, Breckenridge, Keystone, A-Basin, Steamboat Springs, Aspen's three mountains, and Ski Cooper) and still drive home for the night to a cozy fire and comfortable king-size beds.

This is a property with only 38 townhomes, many of which are lived in by permanent residents. The covered bus stop for the free Town of Vail Shuttle is only a two-minute level walk from the front door. A three-minute ride gets you to the Cascade ski lift; ride a little longer and get off at Lionshead or the Vail Transportation Center and Vail Village itself, offering numerous quality restaurants, night spots, and incomparable shopping.

If you choose, however, to stay in, you will also be content. This newly remodeled unit boasts a kitchen with granite counter tops, rustic cherry cabinetry, and new appliances. It is furnished down to the wine glasses! The glass-topped dining room table seats six, but there is also a second table in the sunken den which seats four. Turn the gas fireplace on to take the chill off of an early morning or to quickly warm up the home and mood after a day of outside activity. Two large bedrooms upstairs boast comfortable king-size beds and flat-screen TVs and one bedroom has a queen-size bed with TV/VCR/DVD player. The loft is the perfect place for children to sleep; as well, there is a futon which folds out to a queen-size bed in the large front bedroom.

In the winter, walk or take the free shuttle to the Safeway or City Market; other seasons, you may choose to bicycle. We are within a couple of minutes from the Vail Recreation Trail, a fun path where walkers, runners, and bikers can enjoy a jaunt into Vail along beautiful Gore Creek or perhaps a ride all the way to Avon or Breckenridge. The summer outdoor pool and year-round enclosed hottub are a one minute walk across the parking lot from the front door.

Rates are lower for this unit due to owner management. Owner management is visible throughout the unit in a friendly, cozy environment, rather than a sterile cut-out cookie. Art work, mirrors, luxurious bathrooms with intricate tile work all point to ownership who also enjoy their visits here!

Free highspeed wireless and ethernet connection, HDTV and Flatscreen TVs

Please no pets/no smoking.

Keywords: Townhome

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Jim and Signe Donaldson (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 18, 2015

About Jim and Signe Donaldson

We have been married since 1976. I am a 1974 United States Air Force Academy grad, who, after pilot training, served a total of seven years. I have flown for USAirways since 1983. Signe is a 1972 graduate of Baylor University. She taught high school English, drama, speech and debate classes until 1983. We have three sons; one a 2003 USAF Academy grad and infantry major in the Marine Corps with four combat tours (3 Iraq, 1 Afghanistan); one a 2011 UCLA Law School grad working for a California law firm; one a 2012 West Point grad and lieutenant in the U.S. Army with one combat tour in Afghanistan.

Jim and Signe Donaldson purchased this townhome in 1990

Why Jim and Signe Donaldson chose Ptarmigan Townhomes

I have loved the Rockies since I went to school in Colorado. A roommate's parents lived in Vail so I skied there and other ski areas as a cadet. I have skied all over the country and in Europe and have found Vail to be, in my opinion, the finest ski resort . Signe and I loved the charm of the village and surrounding area when we visited Vail together. Finally, we thought it would be a place where our children would always look forward to vacationing with us, no matter the season of the year. It has been true. We have purchased the next-door Unit 16 for our future retirement home. We are also renting unit 16.

What makes this townhome unique

If you are looking for accomodations for up to 15 people, we also own and rent Unit 16 Our townhomes' position on Gore Creek is one of the most charming benefits of this property. The backs of the units have stunning views of the creek. The view and sound of the creek change with every season. The gas fireplace in 15 makes having a fire at any time, effortless, safe and pleasurable. The Unit 16 fireplace is traditional woodburning. The units are comfortable, quiet and very well appointed, requiring little more than your own foodstuffs. Finally, location is an asset. Vail's free shuttle stops 125 level paces from the front door. It is a three-minute ride to the closest ski lift and a 10 minute walk, if you choose, to the Safeway and City Market grocery stores, among other businesses (hardware, gas, fast-food, restaurants, wine/liquor, etc.). The beautiful Vail Rec path close to Gore Creek is just a three-to-four minute walk away!

Guestbook comments from the owner

What a fantastic week! Great accommodations and wonderful weather. This place is so awesome. We were close to everything and appreciate how well stocked you keep your home. It sure made our trip easy and convenient.
Mar 2001
  • 1 of 7

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 3
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 19 traveler reviews

Write a Review
A Great Vail Value; Quiet Retreat on Gore Creek
average rating of 4.7894735 based on 26 reviews
Milwaukee, WI

Perfect Vail Ski Condo. Absolutely Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

This was the perfect choice for our ski trip to Vail. There are 3 full bedrooms upstair plus a sleeping loft, so there's lots of room for a group or family. The bathrooms are nicly finished and there was plenty of hot water for showers. The condo was perfectly cleaned when we arrived and stocked with linens and paper goods for our stay. The living room on the main level (and the back upper bedroom) has a fantastic view of Gore Creek only 30 feet outside the big glass door. Probaby the biggest selling point for this condo is that there is a Vail bus stop right at the driveway entrance! On that bus to the Vail Cascade Lift is only about 5 minutes, and only another 5 minutes to Lions Head Village. The front door is locked with an electronic combination so no one needs to carry keys. That makes for an easy day for people to ski, shop, eat, or whatever else on their own schedules. Everyone can come and go independently and have access to the unit. The owners are nice, professional, and super-easy to work with. I have no hesitation in recommending this rental, I will certainly put this as number-1 on my list when I visit Vail again.

March 2015

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, George. We are happy that you enjoyed many of the benefits that we enjoy in our Ptarmigan units. The views of Gore Creek can't be beat and we work very hard to guarantee that the inside of the units equals the outside. And you are correct, the location and accessibility of the free shuttle and ski slope is perhaps the biggest plus. We hope you will return in future years!

Great Location...Very nice owners

  • 5 of 5

This was our first time renting in West Vail, and both the location and the condo were great! The bus stop is right at the entrance of the Ptarmingan Development (about a 2 minute walk) and a couple of stops past the Cascade Village area. Very convenient to the food markets also. Staying in this area really added to our Vail vacation experience.

The beds were very comfortable and there was lots of good lighting, especially for reading. Plenty of storage area for clothes in the bedrooms. The kitchen area was well stocked with cookware, plates, glasses and silverware. Additionally there was plenty of soap and laundry detergent supplied. The laundry room had space for the skis, boots and poles.

The owners made renting the unit a very easy experience and were very responsive. They even provided a humidifier for us while we were there, which is a life saver. They definitely have put thought and care into the property even though it is a rental. Plan to rent again!

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are always happy to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay In our townhome. The complex's location and access to Vail's free bus is something we too enjoy. We plan to retire in our rental unit next door. We do strive to keep the unit well stocked and to be responsive to the questions and complaints of our guests, which we solicit. Even though we live in Philadelphia, one or both of us visits our units every three-to-four weeks during ski season (I work for an airline) to restock, repair, etc.; things our maid doesn't have on her list of things to do during the quick turn-arounds of the ski season. Our guest's comments help us know what to address. We look forward to having Evelyn and her group return!

Awesome condo! Perfect for having friends in town

  • 5 of 5

This place was great! Had everything you needed: ample sleeping room, hot tub (shared with condo community, but we were the only ones who used it), 30 second walk to shuttle to slopes which is about a 5 minute ride. IF you are having friends in town or just want to have a place of your own for a weekend at vail this place is perfect, tremendous value for the price per night. Only downside were the thin walls to the neighbors condo, we were listening to music at a very reasonable level at about 8:30pm and the neighbors asked that we turn it down. I think it was just that the speakers were up against the shared wall. Nonetheless, friendly and polite neighbors, wasn't an issue we were just conscious of our noise level the rest of the time.

  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mike, thank you for your review. Yes, we also love the hot tub and the convenience of the free shuttle. Growing up, our sons loved the freedom of venturing around Vail on foot and on the shuttle. It allows everyone the option to start and stop their day/night at different times, if needed. Noise through the walls? Yes, we are community living. We own/rent that unit too; in a couple of years it will be our retirement home for the majority of the year. Hope to see you again!

Very Nice Place

  • 4 of 5

This condo worked perfectly for our family. There were more than enough sleeping areas and the place was very clean. Jim and his family were very easy to work with and everything worked out great.

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

west vail location

  • 3 of 5

I was disappointed to find sheets on bed not clean. And when we went to do laundry, there was a large load of sheets and towels in the dryer which might explain my first comment. The house was just satisfactory, mainly due to the lack of cleanliness. The location was great. It was very affordable which is why we picked this home. But if I was to do it again, I might splurge for something nicer.

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were disappointed when we saw this review, partly because when the guests found things to their dissatisfaction, they did not contact us. We have only one other review that is not a 5 star; it is a 4 star because guests found the community hot tub not working properly. They contacted us and we contacted the property manager and also made accommodation for their trouble. We pride ourselves on being available and taking action when guests have issues of any kind. We were never contacted by these guests until after we responded to them about their on-line review. Following is their verbatim response to our e-mail: "Thank you for this email, Jim. I apologize for failing to call or email you about this problem during our stay. I didn't want to trouble you and figured it was something we could deal with on our own. Your home is wonderful. And I know our stay would have been close to perfect if the issue with linens hasn't occurred. I appreciate you taking the time to write." We did contact our maid immediately after reading the review. She has been with us many years. If you read reviews, you will always (other than this review) find people pleased with the state of cleanliness in the unit. We ourselves have arrived, unannounced to her, after she and her crew have cleaned, and have never been dissatisfied. Our maid said that the unit was cleaned and that all beds were made up properly with clean linens. The guest did find the dryer full of clean linens. The maids clean multiple units when they are on property. Laundry requires the most time. They may finish a unit except for the laundry, go on to another unit, and then return later to finish folding and putting away all items in the dryer. This time, due to various circumstances, it slipped our maid's mind and she did not get back to fold and put away. She assures us the unit was clean and ready for guests in every other way, and she sincerely apologized for her lapse. We are sorry that this guest was unhappy. The unit is a medium priced unit in an excellent, out-of-the-village location. We pride ourselves on taking good care of it, providing amenities that make it special, and having excellent local help to prepare it for guests. When there is a problem, it is incumbent on the guest to contact us; we will make every effort to make things right. We have been renting this home for 23 years; we have multiple guests who return yearly and it is our goal to make all guests want to return.
Where do you live?

Great Ski Week at Ptarmigan - February 1-8 2014

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this condo during the week of February 1-8, 2014. The condo is wonderful with the living area including full kitchen, dining table area and living room area with gas fireplace, sliding door out back with view of the river. The is a 40 inch TV in the living room. A 1/2 bath with shower is downstairs. The kitchen is well equipped with all appliances, kitchen cookware, plates, glasses, silverware. There were five of us and we felt there was plenty of room inside the condo. Everything was very clean.

Upstairs has the bedrooms, with two bedrooms one on each side with the area in the center completed as a third bedroom (a twelve foot accordion door encloses this third area for privacy. So effectively, you can use this area as a third bedroom. Each bedroom and the third bedroom area have their own approximately 32" flat screen TVs. There is a full bathroom on the second level.

This condo is in a very convenient West Vail location. The Vail bus stop is right in front on the Ptarmigan condo complex and came twice an hour (this was during the ski season) and always arrived per the posted schedule. It was very convenient to get to West Lionshead to catch the gondola to start our ski day. By bus (West Vail Red), it took about five minutes, There was only one stop at Cascade before arriving at West Lionshead.

In addition, being in West Vail, means that you are just five minutes by car to get to Safeway or City Market (liquor store is inside City Market) to get groceries and any supplies. (you could also catch the West Vail Green bus to get to these two markets if you did not have a car. We never drove to ski at Vail, we just used the bus.

Our wives did not ski, but with the bus easy to use, they met us for lunch in both Vail Village and Lionshead. The bus also made it easy for our wives to be on their own schedule. We had two cars and they mostly stayed in the parking lot at the condo. You could easily get by without a car to ski and get around Vail. We also saw a sign for a local limo service that would take you anywhere in Vail for $15.

Lastly, I would like to say that the owners of this unit are great to work with. They promptly and courteously answered all of our questions before we booked and after we booked. We love that the front door had key code access, which means there are no physical keys to keep with you or worry that you will misplace them.

Overall, this is a great unit!

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Alden, for taking the time to submit a very thorough review. We get satisfaction knowing that you all had a wonderful stay in our townhome.


Vail Mountain Ski Resort
Gore Creek
Vail Nature Center
Red Lion Restaurant
Ore House Restaurant
Car: not necessary

Easy access to walking, running and biking on the beautiful Gore Creek Recreational Path. Heading east, this path goes to Cascade, Lionshead, Vail Village, East Vail, over Vail Pass (10,600 ft.), down to Copper Mountain, through Ten Mile Canyon to Frisco and Dillon, finally ending in Breckenridge.


Rates & Availability

From $170 Per night

Ptarmigan Townhomes Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Spring Ski Season
Mar 28 2015 - Apr 19 2015
3 night minimum stay
Apr 20 2015 - Jun 11 2015
2 night minimum stay
Jun 12 2015 - Sep 7 2015
3 night minimum stay
Sep 8 2015 - Nov 19 2015
3 night minimum stay
Early Ski Season
Nov 20 2015 - Dec 18 2015
2 night minimum stay
Holiday Ski Season
Dec 19 2015 - Jan 2 2016
6 night minimum stay
January Special
Jan 3 2016 - Feb 12 2016
3 night minimum stay
Prime Ski Season
Feb 13 2016 - Mar 25 2016
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $135
Tax Rate 9.8%
Notes NO SMOKING, NO PETS ALLOWED $250/Violation Minimum CANCELLATION POLICY: Full refund minus our costs, ie. credit card charging fee, if cancellation made 1 month or more before beginning of stay, 2 months or more for Holiday Ski Season and stays of 10+ nights . Cancellations made less than 1 month/2months prior, refund funds collected from rerenting cancelled nights minus our special ad costs.
Approx. 25% deposit required within 7 days of booking to reserve property. Balance due at least 1 month prior to beginning of stay, at least 2 months prior if Holiday Ski Season nights included or stay is 10+ nights. No 9.8% tax if stay is 30 days or longer. Major credit cards/personal checks accepted. Am. Ex. add 2%. NOTE: Damage/abuse/misuse of property is the financial responsibility of guests.
Enter dates to see total


Ptarmigan Townhomes Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • floor 1
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1350 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • River
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • Dining Room
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Upstairs off hallway between front and back bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Downstairs, fully-tiled, glassdoor shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1, Front - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 2, Middle - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3, Back/Creekside - 1 king
    Loft + Den - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen mattress in loft and in den sofa
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2)
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote