A GREAT VAIL VALUE; QUIET RETREAT ON GORE CREEK

Jim and Signe Donaldson

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Jim and Signe Donaldson

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

A GREAT VAIL VALUE; QUIET RETREAT ON GORE CREEK

Vail Townhome Rental Photos and Description

Townhome, 3 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

No matter the season, this quiet, secluded location with trees, mountain views, and the sound of Gore Creek, located only 20 feet off the back deck, will fit the bill for your next vacation. You can ski any of eleven Colorado resorts (Vail, Beaver Creek, Copper, Breckenridge, Keystone, A-Basin, Steamboat Springs, Aspen's three mountains, and Ski Cooper) and still drive home for the night to a cozy fire and comfortable king-size beds.

This is a property with only 38 townhomes, many of which are lived in by permanent residents. The covered bus stop for the free Town of Vail Shuttle is only a two-minute level walk from the front door. A three-minute ride gets you to the Cascade ski lift; ride a little longer and get off at Lionshead or the Vail Transportation Center and Vail Village itself, offering numerous quality restaurants, night spots, and incomparable shopping.

If you choose, however, to stay in, you will also be content. This newly remodeled unit boasts a kitchen with granite counter tops, rustic cherry cabinetry, and new appliances. It is furnished down to the wine glasses! The glass-topped dining room table seats six, but there is also a second table in the sunken den which seats four. Turn the gas fireplace on to take the chill off of an early morning or to quickly warm up the home and mood after a day of outside activity. Two large bedrooms upstairs boast comfortable king-size beds and flat-screen TVs and one bedroom has a queen-size bed with TV/VCR/DVD player. The loft is the perfect place for children to sleep; as well, there is a futon which folds out to a queen-size bed in the large front bedroom.

In the winter, walk or take the free shuttle to the Safeway or City Market; other seasons, you may choose to bicycle. We are within a couple of minutes from the Vail Recreation Trail, a fun path where walkers, runners, and bikers can enjoy a jaunt into Vail along beautiful Gore Creek or perhaps a ride all the way to Avon or Breckenridge. The summer outdoor pool and year-round enclosed hottub are a one minute walk across the parking lot from the front door.

Rates are lower for this unit due to owner management. Owner management is visible throughout the unit in a friendly, cozy environment, rather than a sterile cut-out cookie. Art work, mirrors, luxurious bathrooms with intricate tile work all point to ownership who also enjoy their visits here!

Free highspeed wireless and ethernet connection, HDTV and Flatscreen TVs

Please no pets/no smoking.

Keywords: Townhome

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Guestbook comments from the owner
What a fantastic week! Great accommodations and wonderful weather. This place is so awesome. We were close to everything and appreciate how well stocked you keep your home. It sure made our trip easy and convenient.
Mar 2001
  • 1 of 7

Jim and Signe Donaldson

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2007
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

We have been married since 1976. I am a 1974 United States Air Force Academy grad, who, after pilot training, served a total of seven years. I have flown for USAirways since 1983. Signe is a 1972 graduate of Baylor University. She taught high school English, drama, speech and debate classes until 1983. We have three sons; one a 2003 USAF Academy grad and infantry major in the Marine Corps with four combat tours (3 Iraq, 1 Afghanistan); one a 2011 UCLA Law School grad working for a California law firm; one a 2012 West Point grad and lieutenant in the U.S. Army with one combat tour in Afghanistan.

Jim and Signe Donaldson purchased this townhome in 1990

I have loved the Rockies since I went to school in Colorado. A roommate's parents lived in Vail so I skied there and other ski areas as a cadet. I have skied all over the country and in Europe and have found Vail to be, in my opinion, the finest ski resort . Signe and I loved the charm of the village and surrounding area when we visited Vail together. Finally, we thought it would be a place where our children would always look forward to vacationing with us, no matter the season of the year. It has been true. We have purchased the next-door Unit 16 www.vrbo.com/499342 for our future retirement home. We are also renting unit 16.

If you are looking for accomodations for up to 15 people, we also own and rent Unit 16 www.vrbo.com/499342 Our townhomes' position on Gore Creek is one of the most charming benefits of this property. The backs of the units have stunning views of the creek. The view and sound of the creek change with every season. The gas fireplace in 15 makes having a fire at any time, effortless, safe and pleasurable. The Unit 16 fireplace is traditional woodburning. The units are comfortable, quiet and very well appointed, requiring little more than your own foodstuffs. Finally, location is an asset. Vail's free shuttle stops 125 level paces from the front door. It is a three-minute ride to the closest ski lift and a 10 minute walk, if you choose, to the Safeway and City Market grocery stores, among other businesses (hardware, gas, fast-food, restaurants, wine/liquor, etc.). The beautiful Vail Rec path close to Gore Creek is just a three-to-four minute walk away!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.8
based on 16 traveler reviews

Write a Review
A Great Vail Value; Quiet Retreat on Gore Creek
average rating of 4.75 based on 16 reviews
business
A Great Vail Value; Quiet Retreat on Gore Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118805vb
(412) 716-4110
Vail Northwest Colorado
Nebraska
4

Very Nice Place

  • 4 of 5
This condo worked perfectly for our family. There were more than enough sleeping areas and the place was very clean. Jim and his family were very easy to work with and everything worked out great.
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
A Great Vail Value; Quiet Retreat on Gore Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118805vb
(412) 716-4110
Vail Northwest Colorado
3

west vail location

  • 3 of 5
I was disappointed to find sheets on bed not clean. And when we went to do laundry, there was a large load of sheets and towels in the dryer which might explain my first comment. The house was just satisfactory, mainly due to the lack of cleanliness. The location was great. It was very affordable which is why we picked this home. But if I was to do it again, I might splurge for something nicer.
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were disappointed when we saw this review, partly because when the guests found things to their dissatisfaction, they did not contact us. We have only one other review that is not a 5 star; it is a 4 star because guests found the community hot tub not working properly. They contacted us and we contacted the property manager and also made accommodation for their trouble. We pride ourselves on being available and taking action when guests have issues of any kind. We were never contacted by these guests until after we responded to them about their on-line review. Following is their verbatim response to our e-mail: "Thank you for this email, Jim. I apologize for failing to call or email you about this problem during our stay. I didn't want to trouble you and figured it was something we could deal with on our own. Your home is wonderful. And I know our stay would have been close to perfect if the issue with linens hasn't occurred. I appreciate you taking the time to write."
We did contact our maid immediately after reading the review. She has been with us many years. If you read reviews, you will always (other than this review) find people pleased with the state of cleanliness in the unit. We ourselves have arrived, unannounced to her, after she and her crew have cleaned, and have never been dissatisfied. Our maid said that the unit was cleaned and that all beds were made up properly with clean linens. The guest did find the dryer full of clean linens. The maids clean multiple units when they are on property. Laundry requires the most time. They may finish a unit except for the laundry, go on to another unit, and then return later to finish folding and putting away all items in the dryer. This time, due to various circumstances, it slipped our maid's mind and she did not get back to fold and put away. She assures us the unit was clean and ready for guests in every other way, and she sincerely apologized for her lapse.
We are sorry that this guest was unhappy. The unit is a medium priced unit in an excellent, out-of-the-village location. We pride ourselves on taking good care of it, providing amenities that make it special, and having excellent local help to prepare it for guests. When there is a problem, it is incumbent on the guest to contact us; we will make every effort to make things right. We have been renting this home for 23 years; we have multiple guests who return yearly and it is our goal to make all guests want to return.
business
A Great Vail Value; Quiet Retreat on Gore Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118805vb
(412) 716-4110
Vail Northwest Colorado
Where do you live?
5

Great Ski Week at Ptarmigan - February 1-8 2014

  • 5 of 5
We stayed at this condo during the week of February 1-8, 2014. The condo is wonderful with the living area including full kitchen, dining table area and living room area with gas fireplace, sliding door out back with view of the river. The is a 40 inch TV in the living room. A 1/2 bath with shower is downstairs. The kitchen is well equipped with all appliances, kitchen cookware, plates, glasses, silverware. There were five of us and we felt there was plenty of room inside the condo. Everything was very clean.

Upstairs has the bedrooms, with two bedrooms one on each side with the area in the center completed as a third bedroom (a twelve foot accordion door encloses this third area for privacy. So effectively, you can use this area as a third bedroom. Each bedroom and the third bedroom area have their own approximately 32" flat screen TVs. There is a full bathroom on the second level.

This condo is in a very convenient West Vail location. The Vail bus stop is right in front on the Ptarmigan condo complex and came twice an hour (this was during the ski season) and always arrived per the posted schedule. It was very convenient to get to West Lionshead to catch the gondola to start our ski day. By bus (West Vail Red), it took about five minutes, There was only one stop at Cascade before arriving at West Lionshead.

In addition, being in West Vail, means that you are just five minutes by car to get to Safeway or City Market (liquor store is inside City Market) to get groceries and any supplies. (you could also catch the West Vail Green bus to get to these two markets if you did not have a car. We never drove to ski at Vail, we just used the bus.

Our wives did not ski, but with the bus easy to use, they met us for lunch in both Vail Village and Lionshead. The bus also made it easy for our wives to be on their own schedule. We had two cars and they mostly stayed in the parking lot at the condo. You could easily get by without a car to ski and get around Vail. We also saw a sign for a local limo service that would take you anywhere in Vail for $15.

Lastly, I would like to say that the owners of this unit are great to work with. They promptly and courteously answered all of our questions before we booked and after we booked. We love that the front door had key code access, which means there are no physical keys to keep with you or worry that you will misplace them.

Overall, this is a great unit!
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you, Alden, for taking the time to submit a very thorough review. We get satisfaction knowing that you all had a wonderful stay in our townhome.
business
A Great Vail Value; Quiet Retreat on Gore Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118805vb
(412) 716-4110
Vail Northwest Colorado
5

Perfect location, Beautiful view, everything included!

  • 5 of 5
This townhouse is large enough to sleep and fit lots of people! The owners have included everything you would need during your stay! This is so close to the transportation system and a quick stop to everywhere we needed to go. The beds are awesome and lots of space for the kids to spread out and relax after a long day of skiing. Loved the loft and the bedroom with the folding doors! The hot tub was also so welcome each day after skiing. Owners were a pleasure to work with. We'll definitely look this place up if we come again! Would work great for 2 families with children since there are 2 king size rooms and plenty of space between them for the kids.
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Kathy, thank you for taking the time to write a review, and a good one at that! Signe and I are always happy to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay.
business
A Great Vail Value; Quiet Retreat on Gore Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118805vb
(412) 716-4110
Vail Northwest Colorado
Minneapolis, MN
5

The perfect condo & location for affordable Vail skiing!

The perfect condo & location for affordable Vail skiing!
  • 5 of 5
The condo is great, well maintained and well appointed. It's perfect for larger groups or families as it has three seperate sleeping areas plus a loft! We had 6 adults and there was plenty of space. Super easy access to Vail mountain as well as shopping and restaurants. The hot tub is a great way to unwind after a day on the slopes! The Vail shuttle bus stops right at the parking lot, so there is no need to worry about driving around and finding parking. Would definitely stay again.
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
A Great Vail Value; Quiet Retreat on Gore Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118805vb
(412) 716-4110
Vail Northwest Colorado
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
5

Lucky us

  • 5 of 5
Thanks for a lovely visit to your clean, charming, and convenient townhouse. Your hospitality and thoughtfulness were reflected in a number of small details, including the advice re Sports Authority for affordable ski rentals, the well-appointed kitchen, the bus schedule posted on the fridge, and, alas, the ice pack in the freezer for my knee. Ah well. Still a wonderful trip; I hope that we'll be back.
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Vail Mountain Ski Resort
Gore Creek
Vail Nature Center
Vail
Red Lion Restaurant
Garfinkels
Ore House Restaurant
Car: not necessary

Easy access to walking, running and biking on the beautiful Gore Creek Recreational Path. Heading east, this path goes to Cascade, Lionshead, Vail Village, East Vail, over Vail Pass (10,600 ft.), down to Copper Mountain, through Ten Mile Canyon to Frisco and Dillon, finally ending in Breckenridge.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Vail Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring, Summer, Fall 2014
Apr 14 2014 - Nov 20 2014
3 night minimum stay
$170
$1,100
$3,200
 
 
Early Ski Season
Nov 21 2014 - Dec 18 2014
2 night minimum stay
$190
$1,200
$3,400
 
 
Holiday Ski Season
Dec 19 2014 - Jan 2 2015
7 night minimum stay
$2,850
 
 
January Special
Jan 3 2015 - Jan 30 2015
3 night minimum stay
$270
$1,750
$5,400
 
 
Prime Ski Season
Jan 31 2015 - Mar 27 2015
3 night minimum stay
$310
$2,050
$6,200
 
 
Spring Ski Season
Mar 28 2015 - Apr 19 2015
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
$3,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Tax Rate 9.8%
Notes NO SMOKING, NO PETS ALLOWED $250/Violation Minimum CANCELLATION POLICY: Full refund minus our costs, ie. credit card charging fee, if cancellation is made 1 month or greater before beginning of stay, 2 months or greater for Holiday Ski Season nights. Cancellations made less than 1 month/2months prior, refund funds collected from rerenting those cancelled nights minus our special ad costs.
Approximately 25% deposit required within 7 days of booking to reserve property. Balance due at least 1 month prior to beginning of stay, at least 2 months prior if Holiday Ski Season nights included. No 9.8% tax collected if stay is 30 days or longer. Major credit cards/personal checks accepted. NOTE: Damage/abuse/misuse of property is the financial responsibility of guests.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Vail Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • floor 1
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1350 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • River
  • Mountain View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Laundry Soap
  • Paper Towels
  • Shampoo
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Fireplace
  • Sofa Bed
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Internet ...
  • Heating
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Living Room
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Gas Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Pantry Items
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Microwave
  • 4 Ring Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining Room
  • Dining ...
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Upstairs off hallway between front and back bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Downstairs, fully-tiled, glassdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1, Front - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 2, Middle - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3, Back/Creekside - 1 king
    Loft + Den - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen mattress in loft and in den sofa
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • Stereo
  • DVD Player
  • VCR
  • Radio
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Wood Deck
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio
  • Balcony
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Indoor Hot Tub
  • Shared Hot Tub
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • health/beauty spa
  • churches
  • library
  • recreation center
  • museums
  • forests
  • playground
Leisure Activities:
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • Babysitter
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • hiking
  • rafting
  • cross country skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • skiing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • hunting
  • water tubing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • whitewater rafting
  • parasailing
Email Owner Contact Me