STUNNING EXPANSIVE WHITEWATER VIEWS. READ OUR REVIEWS.

Tom or Susan

Speaks english, italian
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

STUNNING EXPANSIVE WHITEWATER VIEWS. READ OUR REVIEWS.

Gualala Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

WHITE WATER OCEAN BLUFF COTTAGE -

'What a rare gem we found in your cottage! From the first day, we sunk into deep relaxation - the incredible view, sounds of crashing waves, thoughtfully stocked cottage, and its open, bright feel were more than we expected. Thank you for your warm and open hospitality! We are already discussing another trip. :-) Don and Victoria

Imagine your vacation here. Looking out your French doors to this white water ocean view with the sounds of crashing waves relaxing like a great massage. Watching pelicans, osprey, hawks, sea lions, even whales journey past your cottage/art studio. Deer, quail, and the elusive fox roam the property.

Yes, art studio, too. This unique vacation place is equipped with art supplies for your creative side to explore during your stay.

If you're comparing prices, get the TOTAL $$. Taxes and linens are included in our rates.

Your cottage has a full kitchen, sleeping area, 'instant-on' fireplace, full bath, and all linens. 7-foot tall movable panels separate the sleeping area, if you choose to do so. Everything you need to restore your vital signs is provided! The hot tub has a stunning view of the ocean as well as the star-filled sky.

You will have some special days to tuck into your memories.

Free wireless internet. Free long distance phone.

Please note there are 10 steps, a landing, then 10 steps to the cottage.

Our Ocean Cottage is designed for use by 2 adults.

Weekly rate is available for those who just can’t leave after a shorter stay!

Well-behaved dogs are welcome. 1 dog $25, 2 dogs $45 for 2 nights; $10 per dog per night for remaining days.

Please click on CALENDAR LINK at the top right of this listing to see what dates are available. We keep our calendar current to within one hour of a new reservation.

GUALALA is a small town on Highway One north of Bodega Bay and south of Mendocino in Mendocino County; The Sea Ranch is nearby. Gualala has numerous art galleries, restaurants, beaches to explore, unique shops, and is located in a 'banana belt' weather area.

Keywords: Expansive views, Cottage, tree house feel, open floor plan, full kitchen.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Tom or Susan (Owner)
Advertiser since 2006
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english, italian

About Tom or Susan

Susan and I met in 2000 and discovered we both had the desire to live close enough to the ocean to see and hear the ever changing ocean and waves. As a professional photographer I could not be happier with our surroundings. In five minutes we can be walking amongst huge old redwood trees along the Gualala River or kayak on the very same river or standing on the beach. Susan finds a wealth of inspiration for her various artwork creations along this coastal area.

Tom or Susan purchased this cottage in 2006

Why Tom or Susan chose Gualala

Susan and I found this 2 acre property and saw the potential of having an incredible view of the ocean and well as the sounds of the waves crashing below. After building the our house we completed the Ocean Cottage in August of 2006. As you can read in the guest comments log, many people call the Ocean Cottage their favorite vacation get away. Come find out why.

What makes this cottage unique

The views are larger than can be shown on this site. Whales, Pelicans, osprey complete with a dangling fish, hawks, ravens as well as numerous other birds entertain as only nature can. Seeing the ever changing ocean will keep you fascinated for hours. If you are a dog owner, there is an off leash beach 1 mile from the cottage. We take our border collie, Dave, almost daily.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for the amazing memories up here at your beautiful cottage. We had such a relaxing time. The watercolor paints, music, hot tub & wonderful views made it all that more special.



We will cherish our time up here forever. Thank you for the great memories.
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 258

Why HomeAway

Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.9
based on 285 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Stunning Expansive Whitewater Views. Read our reviews.
average rating of 4.851852 based on 285 reviews
business
Stunning Expansive Whitewater Views. Read our reviews.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p99009vb
-(707) 884-1930 (California, USA)
Gualala North Coast California
5

Views? Check. Sounds? Check. Location? Check. Comfort? Check. Value? Check.

  • 5 of 5
I research the hell out of anything I'm considering before buying. When I say, "I looked at many properties up North" you can believe that's an understatement. I wanted to see and hear the ocean in an expansive way and I got it. This cottage is incredibly soothing, perfect for reflection and rest. It's also a great location for driving up the coast. We think it's a good place to stop after the crazy and beautiful drive up Highway 1. It's then a comfortable drive to continue up to Mendocino and other venues the next day. As to the actual cottage I believe the photos don't show it's charm. It looks like it might be a little rough and that is not the case. It's appointed nicely; the kitchen is more than adequate with a very lovely gas cook top. There aren't pictures of the bathroom and I will tell you, I was a little scared. No need for worry! It's lovely. The bed is VERY firm and my husband had a bit of trouble with it. I thought it was fine, so just know it's truly FIRM. The heater is in the form of a faux wood burning stove which is such a quaint touch. I enjoyed having it on in the morning, drinking coffee on the love seat, just looking and listening to the beauty. I could see so many birds from the high level and there were binoculars to help with this and the ocean views. Everything was so clean and neat, which is always a huge consideration. I believe this cottage is the best bang for your buck in Northern California and I know my husband and I will make this our destination for years to come. Tom was very helpful and kind, as well. We didn't have the opportunity to meet Susan but I'm sure she's just as wonderful. Oh, they've also compiled a wonderful "book of knowledge" that showcases restaurants, beaches, parks, etc. Very helpful. Obviously, we give this place our stamp of approval.
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning Expansive Whitewater Views. Read our reviews.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p99009vb
-(707) 884-1930 (California, USA)
Gualala North Coast California
Arroyo Grande, CA, USA
5

Peaceful & Private

Peaceful & Private
  • 5 of 5
This was better than the description! We had a lovely quiet time here in July, and I expect to return in the future. I especially liked the hot tub on the edge of the cliff, and the wonderful book on the history of Gualala.
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Ellen,
We are so pleased to read your review, thank you for posting it. The cottage will be waiting for your return someday.
Cheers,
Tom & Susan
business
Stunning Expansive Whitewater Views. Read our reviews.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p99009vb
-(707) 884-1930 (California, USA)
Gualala North Coast California
Pleasant Hill, California
5

A very nice getaway.

  • 5 of 5
This cottage has an amazing location, you are right on top of the ocean. Very roomy studio vacation rental with sunset views. Saw many types of birds. The unit is very clean with a functional kitchen. Even though it is near highway one you do not hear it. The hot tub is very relaxing. Our only complaint was the bed is a little firm. I recommend that they have a foam topper available for those who are used to a little softer bed. They have wifi and a internet phone to use. Lots of nice touches in the cottage. Very dog friendly to boot.Katy our dog had a swell time too. Gualala is a charming to with lots of outdoor adventure. I highly recommend.
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hello Richard,
We are quite pleased you had an enjoyable stay in our cottage and thank you for writing a review. The mattress is an interesting topic as there are some, like you, who feel it is too firm while others have stripped the sheets to find out the brand so as to order one for their home. Susan and I will discuss your suggestion thoroughly soon.
Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future.
Tom & Susan
business
Stunning Expansive Whitewater Views. Read our reviews.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p99009vb
-(707) 884-1930 (California, USA)
Gualala North Coast California
5

Just what two busy Mama's needed.....

Just what two busy Mama's needed.....
  • 5 of 5
I cannot say enough about this perfect little cottage perched on the cliff! The view-check. The hot tub-check. The amenities-check. The ability to completely relax and leave our crazy, busy lives behind for two nights and three days- check, check and check! While we did not have an opportunity to meet Tom and Susan during our stay I am certain I would have enjoyed a good conversation over a cup of tea or a glass of wine. My best friend and I headed up the coast to have a very much needed getaway from our chaotic work and busy families. It was the perfect place to just take it all in. The weather was fantastic, the cottage set up was incredible and full of everything we could have imagined...even art supplies! Upon arrival we got to see two whales- literally within the first 5 minutes so we immediately snagged the binoculars and sat on the little deck- perfection. It only got better from there. While their home is merely steps away, we literally felt like we were alone. The hot tub has an incredible view. I fully intend to let friends and family know about this and plan to bring my husband back for a retreat! The one and only thing that I could say is the mattress is very firm...a little too firm for a side sleeper, but if you're an on your back type- you'll dig it. Maybe a foam mattress topper could help out. But honestly, I can't complain one bit- we loved it!
Also, I have to say that while we didn't meet T & S in person, Tom was extremely cool about letting us do a Thurs-Friday night because we had to be back on Saturday for our kids. (Normally, there is a two weekend night minimum). We really appreciated that flexibility! I also love that they allow for dogs- while I didn't bring mine this time, I know she would be a happy camper there too!
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Katie & Tina,
Susan & I appreciate the detailed and wonderfully written review. So pleased that you two had a relaxing, rejuvenating stay and we hope to see you return perhaps with husbands along. We are always open for chatting with guests while also respecting privacy. The mattress is a funny thing as you stated it was a bit firm for your liking and other guests have told us they took off the mattress cover so they could see what brand it was so as to buy one for their home. Personal preference reigns.
Cheers,
Tom & Susan
business
Stunning Expansive Whitewater Views. Read our reviews.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p99009vb
-(707) 884-1930 (California, USA)
Gualala North Coast California
4

Amazing Honeymoon Location!

  • 4 of 5
This place was fantastic an an amazing place to stay. The view was as advertised, bigger than the camera could capture. We arrived around sunset and were able to enjoy the sunset from the hot tub, listening to the waves crash on the shore. The place was clean and well furnished. They had a great book detailing information on what to do where to go and what to eat around the area. We didn't do any real research on any of that stuff, so it worked well! Coffee on the front porch was great as well. We loved waking up in the morning to see the expanse of the pacific ocean in front of us. We loved that there were two robes there that we could walk out to the hot tub in.

There were a couple of things that could make this a 5/5 though. The privacy in the hot tub, was only by a lattice fence and the owners house was right there. We always felt in our own world, but I think this could be easily remedied, by planting vine or just making the fence opaque. They have already made some improvements to the space to make it feel isolated and this would just help to seal the deal. The bed also was very hard. My wife actually enjoyed it, but I had a hard time sleeping.

All in all though, was it amazing? Yes. Would we go back? In a heartbeat. Would we recommend it to friends? We already have and will continue to do so.
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hello Ken,
We thank you for the glowing comments and also for your suggestions. The lattice around the hot tub may appear to lack privacy when you are standing next to it, but from a distance it is actually quite difficult to see through it. We do use lattice ourselves to provide privacy for us in our home, but as a result of your suggestion, we are looking into an artificial vine to attach to the lattice, as a live plant has trouble surviving the high winds of winter storms.

We do wish you were more comfortable on the bed, but were pleased to hear that your wife liked the firmness.

Thank you for taking the time to review the cottage and suggesting it to friends. We do hope to see you in the future, possibly on your first anniversary?!
Cheers,
Tom & Susan
business
Stunning Expansive Whitewater Views. Read our reviews.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p99009vb
-(707) 884-1930 (California, USA)
Gualala North Coast California
5

What a Great Weekend!

  • 5 of 5
Thanks for providing us with the most spectacular views we have seen in years. Seating on the deck we saw fog, sun and clouds. Who could ask for anything more? People that complained about this place didn't bother to read everything as we found no surprises and were actually spellbound by the views.

What a great relaxing weekend and a phenomenal way to beat the heat, bring your sweats and be ready to fire up the gas fireplace!
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are thrilled you enjoyed the various views that this coastal cottage can provide, sometimes within minutes. We are only surprised by your comment that other people complained of this cottage, as we have over 250 reviews and only one, to our knowledge, was negative, as that was someone from visiting from great distance, not looking at a map, planned to be able to drive hundreds of miles for many day trips. Hopefully we will see you again enjoying the northern California coast.
Cheers,
Tom & Susan
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Sea Ranch Chapel
"Beautiful architecture with stunning stained glass which casts great light inside. "
Trinks
"Wonderful food and coffee/tea."
St Orres
"High end food, eclectic choices. There is also a bar menu and brunch."
Adventure Rents
"Rent kayaks to paddle the calm Gualala River. Seasonal. 884.4386"
Nearest Airport
110 Miles
SAN FRANCISCO
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Bones Roadhouse
Nearest Golf
2.5 Miles
The Sea Ranch
Nearest Motorway
0.3 Miles
Highway 1
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
St. Orres
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
local's beach

We have lived in this area since 1996 and can give you information that only a local will know. Whale Watching, Bird Watching, Art Galleries, Mushroom Gathering, Beach Combing, numerous trails are all activities we can help you ensure a wonderful visit.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Gualala Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
OFF SEASON
Dec 1 2014 - Dec 22 2014
3 night minimum stay
$150
$1,070
 
 
Holiday Rate
Dec 23 2014 - Jan 4 2015
3 night minimum stay
$195
$1,170
 
 
WINTER RATE
Jan 5 2015 - Jan 15 2015
3 night minimum stay
$150
$1,050
 
 
MLK Holiday
Jan 16 2015 - Jan 18 2015
3 night minimum stay
$195
$1,170
 
 
Winter rate
Jan 19 2015 - Feb 12 2015
3 night minimum stay
$150
$1,070
 
 
Presidents' Holiday
Feb 13 2015 - Feb 15 2015
3 night minimum stay
$195
$1,170
 
 
Winter Rate
Feb 17 2015 - Mar 11 2015
3 night minimum stay
$150
$1,050
 
 
Standard pricing
2 night minimum stay
$195
$1,170
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $50
Pet Fee $25
Notes Dog fees: $25 total for 1 dog for 2 nights, $35 total for 2 dogs for 2 nights, then $10 per dog per night for additional nights. One week total maximum: 1 dog $50, 2 dogs $75. The website has no way to correctly add in dog fees, we will do that over the phone or in person.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Gualala Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 640 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Bathroom is a separate room. Full shower and tub combination, large sink, toilet, and robes. All linens, shampoo, conditioner, body soap, extra towels, hair dryer, medicine cabinet included.
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Beds (1) Sealy Posturepedic
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Binoculars
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
Suitability:
  • non smoking only ...
  • not suitable for children
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Email Owner Contact Me

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote