A bit disappointed.
Submitted: January 14, 2011
Stayed: December 2010
Overall, this is a really nice house with a fabulous view. We were a bit disappointed in a few things though. For one the hot tub did not work and this is the main reason we chose this house over similar listings. When we called to ask about it, the owner mentioned the last 4 renters had similar problems (so it was something they knew about). The back bedroom is a converted garage which is fine, however the shower was so cold, it was unusable, so all 10 of us had to use one bathroom for showering. Also little things like no plugs in the bathroom. The listing also says that there are 2 daybeds in the living room which was not the case when we stayed there so my 72 year old dad was sleeping on a very small couch. When we called to inquire about this, they said they had been redecorating and moving furniture - again, they knew the listing wasn't accurate and we specifically needed a place to sleep 6 adults and 4 kids. Normally, I wouldn't complain about things like this, but since we paid 400+/nt we were expecting things as stated. As mentioned, overall, it is a very nice house (smaller than the pictures show), but we were disappointed with the above issues.
Families with Teenagers,
Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: The amazing view, clean and beautifully maintained home is that - a home – and with every home, at times, things that happen. Unfortunately, we were having issues with our hot tub - mostly due to a faulty control panel which we have since replaced (with the part being in transit from across the country). We have also partnered ourselves with an on call hot tub company who provides service 7 days a week (between the hours of 9am to 5pm) that our guests have direct access to.
The hot water has been checked by our maintenance man and it is indeed working in the entire house. The shower valve may be unclear to some people as the big handle is for pressure and the small lever is for temperature. What may have happened is that the small lever was turned to the cold position and remained there with its existence unknown. This issue was not brought to our attention till we read this review so we were not able to properly respond to our guests.
During December, we were updating the furniture to better suit our guests and did not want to update our listing until we received the updated photos from our photographer (which unfortunately missed this renter’s stay). Our listing/photos/floorplan now accurately show that we can comfortably accommodate nine guests.
We accommodated this guest’s request to waive the hot tub fees as he mentioned that he was a war veteran who wanted to enjoy a nice holiday with his family. We are very sorry to hear that this is what they took away from the stay with all the other amazing attributes of our home.
Helpful votes: 10/12
Did you find this review helpful?