Needs some serious cleaning
Pros: Great, quiet neighborhood where we felt safe, even late at night. It’s a short walk to the subway & bus lines with easy access to Manhattan and there is convenient shopping, coffee shops, dining, etc., all very close by. Mark, the owner, was personable and easy to reach (he was out of town) and the rental process was simple and straightforward. Instructions for getting into the apartment were easy, and there is reliable, fast, and free internet access. All the beds we used were adequate and the bedding, while not fancy was clean.
Cons: Unfortunately, the lack of cleanliness of this property kept it from being a TRUE gem in Queens. Bathrooms & kitchens in particular, need a deep cleaning and overall, the entire place would benefit from a good scrubbing and sprucing up. Although visible surfaces appear clean, a closer look reveals that the shower curtains are damaged and/or moldy, bathmats inside of shower are old and stained, floors are dirty, cabinet fronts, baseboards, walls, and light switches are dirty, and most closets & cabinets have left over food, toiletries, or other items either left behind by previous guests and never discarded by owner or cleaning service. We were hard-pressed to find a clean or empty shelf to put away our own food, toiletries, & belongings.
After we complained the owner sent someone to clean, but she did only a marginally better job, so we cleaned again after she left so we could use the bathrooms & we all purchased cheap flip-flops to take showers. Items in closets, cabinets, and shelves remained.
Yes, we stayed, because we cleaned the areas important to us after the cleaner left, and because the beds were comfortable and clean. Plus, we had already paid in full and would have had a hard time finding a place for all 8 of us in NYC for a week while waiting for a refund. The saddest part, this property could be awesome with just a little TLC and attention to detail.
After our stay, I wrote to Mark about the lack of cleanliness. I was surprised that he refunded our entire cleaning deposit & will say again, he is very responsive and easy to reach. But, if overall cleanliness is important, then this may not be the place for you unless he can provide newer photos & proof that he has done a thorough and deep cleaning of the property. His response also to me gave me the impression that due to his busy schedule he does not personally and regularly check on the condition of the property, but promised to do so.
Owner's Response: I am very surprised and disappointed that you chose to leave a 2 star review of my property.
I understand that you were unhappy with the cleanliness of the property. However, as you yourself wrote, I addressed the problem both by sending a cleaning person in again, and then by refunding your cleaning fee after you related that you were still dissatisfied with the job that they did after the second cleaning.
It is not a habit to refund a cleaning fee, and I worry that future guests may try to take advantage of this information, but I don't like to have such an unhappy guest, since it is my first priority that my guests enjoy their stay.
Of course I will personally check on the property upon my return to NYC. I unfortunately am out of town for the summer and thus was unable to check on it for myself.
I will also, of course, have things corrected where appropriate.
However, I hope that people reading this will recognize that:
1) cleanliness is subjective, temporary, and easily remedied
2) this guest review listed many pros that are very important for most people
3) the vast majority of my guests have no complaints with the cleanliness of the house.
I take all guest comments seriously and will do my best to prevent this type of complaint from recurring.
Helpful votes: 1/1
Did you find this review helpful?