Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Lowest Rates Ever! Tropical Getaway! PERMIT# BBPH 2010-0001

Sylvia Lindig

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Sylvia Lindig

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 28, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Lowest Rates Ever! Tropical Getaway! PERMIT# BBPH 2010-0001

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


Haiku House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 3.25 Baths, (Sleeps 6-10)

NOTE: Traveler name must match name on credit card

Very secluded Getaway offers ultimate Privacy for the whole Family, yet only a minute from Restaurants, Parks, Yoga ...

The Living Room includes 2 Italien Leather Sofa's, a Wood burning Fire Place, flat Screen cable TV , Venetian Plaster Walls, Bali Antique Coffee Table, Original Oil Paintings, and Travertine Stone Flooring. Hale Haiku's Dining Room next to the Living Room features a Solid Wood Table and Seating for 8 Guest's next to a small selection of Music CD's and Books. With its classic Stone Flooring, and 1000 Acres of Privacy Views of Tropical Forest past the Exterior Lanai, it provides Privacy and Serenity.

A full Kitchen next to the Dining Room also includes a Breakfast Area with 3 Designer Chairs and a Glass Table. The Full Kitchen has stainless steel Appliances, Granite counters, Stone Flooring, dbl. sided Refrigerator/ Freezer, Crown Moldings, Maple Cabinets, and a Granite Kitchen Sink.

The Master Bedroom suite offers a Queen size Bedroom with his/her Closets, an additional Privacy Deck, a Office Desk Station with Fast Speed Internet Access, and a relaxing Chair.

The Master Bath has two Glass Bowl Sinks over a Fossil Stone Counter, a Jetted Jaccuzzi Bath Tub, a Glass block sided Step in Shower w/ Quarz Stone Flooring, WC and Bidet, Venetian Plaster Walls over Marble Stone Floors.

Next to the Entry Door is the second Full Bath located.

The upper story of Hale Haiku offers Two Queen Size Bedrooms, each with a Closet, and a privacy Lanai accessible only from the Bedrooms. A shared 2nd Floor Shower Bath includes Venetian Plaster Walls, over the counter Copper Sink Bowl, Fossil Stone Tile Counter, Maple Cabinets, WC, and Marble Stone Flooring.

Also this Bathroom has a step out Privacy Lanai.

The entire Home feels Open and Airy due to its Open Beam Ceilings, and Castle like classic Design Features.

The up to date wireless Roadrunner and Phone System connect easy back to the World at your Choice.

Keywords:private, tropical, getaway, nice,secluded home, estate,


We would like to offer our guests an in home massage for an additional fee of $100/per person (1 hour minimum) performed by a licensed massage therapist.

More Details
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Sylvia Lindig (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 28, 2015

About Sylvia Lindig

Escaping the World of Europaen Architecture, I came to Maui for a longer Vacation meeting my Husband on this Beautiful Island. Falling in Love is one of the easiest Things to do on Maui.

After finding this Home in 2005, we fully remodeled and updated the Residence.

I am glad and happy to be able to share the Beauty and Privacy of this Home with as many People as possible, to share and find back what we all so often loose through our busy lives,

-Silence, Beauty, Serenity, and Peace of Mind-

The Natural State of Human Being.

When I first arrived on Maui, and stepped on Maui's soil two decades ago, it felt like- coming Home.

Only after some Years has passed, I understood the Magical Power of Maui Energy, gently guiding us to find what we could loose- our self.

Sylvia Lindig purchased this house in 2005

Why Sylvia Lindig chose Haiku

Haiku is located between Upcountry Makawao, the North Shore Maui, and the beautiful Town of Paia. My Home offers 1000+ Acres Privacy Views, yet one minite to Play ground and Park, or Restaurants, Dance and Yoga Events at Haiku Cannery.

What makes this house unique

Hale Haiku allows, supports and strengthens the most important aspect of our human life- the Healing of Body- Mind- and Soul-

Just Silence and Nature allows our Human to remember, to get in touch with the inner child, the wisdom of instinct and insides, our forgotten dreams, and so much more.

Come to Hale Haiku to find the most important person in the world- yourself.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Sylvia,two weeks ago it was 30 below in Saskatoowan and not much warmth in Alberta Canada.the snowbanks where head high ,and my husband and I where frantically putting the last minute details for our sons wedding.Amazingly my son and their new daughter invited their beautiful mothers along for their honeymoon .The wedding was beautiful ,the plane ride for 6 hours not quite as wonderful and we arrive to darkest night to amazing jungle sounds and your wonderful mountain paradise! What a joy to be able to share this trip with the people we love in this peaceful retreat .We wish you all the best in Heath and happiness .Shirley ,Scott,Barbara ,Mena,and lea Wright😀😀😀😀😀
Mar 2015
  • 1 of 14

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 11 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Lowest Rates Ever! Tropical Getaway! PERMIT# BBPH 2010-0001
average rating of 3.3636363 based on 25 reviews

Great Vacation Rental - but may not be for everyone

  • 5 of 5

I personally loved this Vacation Rental Property. We had 5 adults stay and 2 kids and 1 infant, and the space provided worked out very well in our case. The couple (my husband and I) had a private bedroom with a door (next to the yoga room and with its own very large bathroom). Our mothers each took a bedroom upstairs. It's important to know that each of these rooms has an "open window", no glass, to the vaulted ceiling over the dining room, so there is really no "privacy" for these guests in those rooms if they happen to snore or make noise at night...if you get my meaning. Worked well for us in our circumstance, though. Each of our kids slept with each of the grandma's in these rooms. One adult and the infant slept in the living room on an inflatable mattress, it has a sliding door for limited privacy, but is not noise proof to the rest of the house. The kitchen is big enough for this size of group. I see the comments from 02/13 that the dishwasher wasn't working the time we got there it was not working at all. So I hope she manages to get it fixed, I know Sylvia called but no one was available to fix it during our stay. It is NOT CLEAR from the photos that you have to park at the end of the steep driveway, and then walk down 36 stairs to the house - this was a surprise to me. Like I said, it's OK for fit people, but it was hard on my mom's bad knee. I left Sylvia an email suggesting a few more amenities be added to the kitchen - oven mitts, salad tongs and some mixing bowls or salad bowls. Hopefully those things are added. I also had no cell coverage until I drove to the grocery store in Haiku, but that might be different depending on your provider.

It was SO peaceful, the view is amazing, internet worked, it was clean and stylish, outdoor shower to wash sand off surfboards etc was very useful.

I would recommend this place highly, but for fit people, and understanding that those two upper rooms are not soundproof.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


  • 1 of 5

This house is not the luxury rental that it is portrayed to be. The professional photographs and staging make it look very appealing in the ad. However, on arrival one finds the house inside is shabby and in desperate need of TLC. There are patches on the walls and a coat of fresh paint everywhere would go a long way.

There are no instructions to operate the television (simply a few sticky messages on the fridge) - no real manual for the house. No trash bags in the kitchen - that is a staple. We had to run out and buy some of the most elementary supplies that we should have had in a "luxury" rental.

Tacky artwork adorns the walls, the towels are old and threadbare, the house is not very clean (dirt in all the corners). The sheets and bedclothes are disgusting and old. We felt as though we were sleeping in someone else's dirty bed. The dishwasher was full of dirty glasses and cutlery when we arrived. Very few plates - not a well stocked kitchen. Previous reviewers have mentioned that the kitchen lacks basic items but these comments have not been addressed by Sylvia and are still missing from the inventory. Another clue that this is not a house that is really "loved".

The lack of privacy with the upstairs bedrooms is really a problem. This is not a good house if you have some early risers and other later sleepers. Every footstep can be heard in the upstairs bedrooms through openings that look down on the lower living areas.

How hard would it be to provide some interesting local CD's to listen to? Again no instructions for the CD player.

The outdoor deck is a death trap with holes that have been covered over by plywood squares, wood rot visible to the naked eye and it also needs refurbishment. The outdoor furniture is also old, outdated and dirty.

Very important - ZERO cell connectivity. So if you need to use your phone forget this one. (Wifi connection for computers is good). There is a very steep driveway with limited turn around space at the bottom and no room for visitor cars. And a steep staircase to access the house (which should have been mentioned in the advertising).

I feel strongly that the house overall is misrepresented in the ad on VRBO and Homeaway. The views are lovely and it is surrounded by lush tropical vegetation which is gorgeous in the day and a very noisy playground for frogs all night long. The location is great - very easy drive to all amenities.

An adequate standard rental but again, definitely, NOT luxury.

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Moreno Valley, CA

Not what I expected

  • 2 of 5

Contrary to what other reviews have said, this place is not suitable for little children. There really is no where they can play outside. Beyond the backyard patio is not much square footage for kids to do anything. Similar to what another review said this place really is not easily accessible for people with limited mobility. The driveway is VERY VERY steep. You would definitely need a vehicle with good traction and tires to drive up and down it. Not to mention the flight of stairs from the driveway to the entrance of the home. Upon arrival as we were settling in we noticed a trail of black ants coming from behind the couch and realized that the throw blanket on the couch was literally filled with the ants. The 3 nights we stayed there we killed maybe 5 spiders. The last night (night 3) as I was laying my infant down on the floor (I put like 3 blankets to make it padded) a HUGE (about 2 1/2 inches) furry spider crawled out from under the blanket and toward our luggages. That night I literally booked a room at the Royal Lahaina Beach front Resort, we vacated the house the very next morning. I called the owner to tell her what happened, hoping she would refund the last two nights were supposed to stay (we paid for 5 nights) but she didn't. She did say sorry, and went on to say that they spray for bugs every 6 months. We live in the suburbs in Southern CA and we get sprayed quarterly, so a house nestled in the Jungle should probably get sprayed more often. The house is beautiful don't get me wrong, but definitely not what we expected.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You used thr full service of my Rental. The day after Departure, you called me by phone to request a full refund for your stay. You stated that the house had suposingly ans, and spiders. 4 People, 2 cleaners, myself and Husband rurned the Home over within 8 hours only to the next Arrival. T wich was you. The Home was in excellent clean condition. I myself conducted the Inspection, it was absolute clean. Your call after Departure was a threat to file a bad review, if I do not process a full refund. I refunded your Deposit, but did not refunded for the intire stay . The same day, I received a second bad review from Januart 2014 from guests not staying in my Home at all. This add is under Investigation as well. I will review those attempt to collect Money from my uisness with my Attourney.
Franktown, Co

Family Reunion

  • 1 of 5

The property is beautiful although, it does not have a grill - something we like for vacation, the Microwave did not work - oh well they will fix for the next renter, we were told not to open the wind vents - really?. Of course (per the lease agreement) we were charged extra when my daughter was added plus $30 for an air mattress set up. Seems like it was a one way street - we got charged for extra but when things don't work - we got a sorry. The communication from the owner wasn't what I expected, I had to follow up on the payment schedule and then again when a week away I still hadn't heard how to get access to the place. In summary - a beautiful place but left me cold as far as customer service. I will not rent here again.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Customer, Prior your arrival, I personally Inspected the Home, and found the Microwave in tact. You did send an email for the additional Service Request you had to my Listing, yet did not mention the Microwave. After your Departure, my Housekeeper found the Damage. My Husband bought a Replacement yesterday. As I not only live on the Property, but also was accesible tou you through VRBO and my email, I assume that you caused the in addition to the Damages of my Husbands RTV, Placing a Car Top of your Jeep on top, bending his Handle Bars and ripping his Cover. The Damages exceeded your Deposit. Thank you Owner
United States

Lovely and Secluded

  • 4 of 5

My friends and I wished we could have stayed longer. The view is incredible and the house is lovely, comfortable and very nicely set up for a small group.

As some of the other reviews have noted, it's not really suitable for people with mobility issues as there are significant stairs from the parking area down to the house.

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada

Enjoyable Stay

  • 4 of 5

My family of five (Kids 16, 14, and 11) recently spent 10 days at this property. The house is in an absolutely lovely jungle setting. Decks are accessible on all sides of the house. Covered staircase leads from the parking area to the home.....stairs are in good shape, and well lit of the porch light is left on. Beds and bathrooms were clean and as pictures. Closet spaces available for hanging clothes as needed. Plenty of towels...appreciated as it was damp while we were visiting and I did tend to wash and dry after a couple of uses. Kids appreciated netflix with all the choices that offers! Easy driving access to Wailea, Lahaina, and Hana. Lots of good restaurants near by, and very close to Kahului where there is a Safeway, Walmart and Coscto for supplies. I did find the kitchen a bit short on good pans and oven ware....the dishwasher does not work that well either. Having said that the appliances such as fridge (ice maker) and stove were very clean and well functioning. Washer and dryer were very useful and efficient. The upstairs bedrooms had an open "window" to the dining area...noise seems to travel up and a light sleeper may find this disturbing. Wifi worked very well throughout the house. Living room furniture was comfortable and clean. Dining area has lots of space to sit and enjoy a meal. Sylvia answered our questions promptly and pleasantly. Overall, I thought this home was an excellent value and allowed my family a wonderful holiday!

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Nearest Point of Interest
Nearest Point of Interest

Hale Haiku is located in a beautiful Rural Setting at the slopes of Maliko Valley. The Tropical Environment and the natural Beauty of Hawaii can be experienced in this luxury furnished Estate with magnificent Views of Tropical Forest. This 2000 sf two story Home offers unique views and ultimate Privacy. 3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, and an open Beam Design includes another 1200 sf of Deck Space- and 1000 acres of Privacy, yet one minute to Shopping, Park, and more.


Rates & Availability

From $249 Per night

Haiku House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Season 1
Apr 1 2015 - May 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
Season 2
Jun 1 2015 - Sep 30 2015
2 night minimum stay
Seasin 3
Oct 1 2015 - Mar 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage $59 + Tax
Cleaning $260 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $150
Tax Rate 13.4%
Notes Nightly rates are estimated for parties of 4 or less. Additional rates will apply for additional guests.
Credit card processing fees will be deducted from the refundable damage deposit.
The damage deposit of $100 needs to be requested 10 days after departure and is no longer an option after 30 days after departure. SPECIAL OFFER - In home massage offer - $100/person (1 hour min.)

-Note additional 25 dollar set up/ break down fee per mattress

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total


Haiku House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Normally sleeps two guest comfortably
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Normally sleeps two guest comfortably
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Normally sleeps two guest comfortably
  • There are air mattresses available, contact owner -Note additional 25 dollar set up/ break down fee per mattress
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
  • health/beauty spa
  • nude beach
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote