Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Yellowstone North Gate House

Rick Brown

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Rick Brown

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
March 27, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Yellowstone North Gate House

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Overview

Gardiner House Rental Photos and Description

House - 3 Bedrooms + 3 Baths - (Sleeps 6)

The National Geographic Society used the Northgate House for eight weeks during 2014 while working on an upcoming Yellowstone film documentary. They lived at the Northgate house while making the film and used the garage for their film editing. They also set up a blind in the yard to film some of the local wildlife. Those that have rented the Northgate House will recognize some of the scenes in the upcoming National Geographic film.

The North Gate House is a beautiful, vacation home completed in 2008. The house has approximately 2,160 square feet of space on three levels.

There are many special touches throughout the house from the soaring 21 foot high ceiling of the great room to the solid oak, wide plank flooring, to the custom glass paneled deck. From the wall of windows in the comfort of the great room or outside from the deck, you will have unobstructed views into Yellowstone where herds of elk and bison can often be seen grazing. Big horn sheep are often viewed walking the ridge behind the house.

The house includes a fully equipped kitchen with a large capacity dishwasher, above the range microwave and beautiful hickory cabinets. There is central heat and air with individual controls for each floor (a must for high desert summers where temperatures can reach the 90's at times), HD satellite televisions, high speed internet access, high efficiency washer and dryer, a Renai hot water system (you'll never run out of hot water)and a bathroom on each level.

The lower level bedroom consists of two twin/single beds, an HD television, blu-ray player and Xbox system with 15 games and 4 controllers. The main floor bedroom has a double bed, HD television and blu-ray player, while the upper level bedroom consists of a queen size bed with a High Definition/satellite television system and blu-ray player. There is also a High Definition 3D/satellite television system with blu-ray player in the great room.

Situated in the quaint town of Gardiner, you will be able to find anything you need. There are many cafes, restaurants and numerous shops, a grocery store, post office and bank. There are fishing guides, rafting companies and outfitters that offer horseback riding both in and outside of the park.

The fishing in the area is wonderful and inside the house you will find instructional videos on flyfishing plus a book guiding you to the different waters in Yellowstone which are all just a short drive away. There are two Blue Ribbon streams within a mile of the house, the Yellowstone which is 3 blocks away and the Gardiner River approximately 1 mile.

In the winter there are many available activities such as ice skating at Mammoth Hot Springs (6 miles from the house), snowshoeing in Yellowstone and the surrounding area or cross country skiing. There is snowmobiling with rentals available in and out of the park, down hill skiing at Bridger Bowl (94 miles away) or Big Sky (175 miles) and our favorite - wildlife viewing in the Lamar Valley where you will likely see herds of bison, elk and possibly some of the Yellowstone wolves.

After a long hard day of activities you can relax in the hot springs of Boiling River on the Gardiner River (3 miles away) then come home to the luxury of our new house overlooking Gardiner, The Northgate House.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Rick Brown (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
March 27, 2015

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks for the use of your beautiful home. We have been renting homes for many years and your home was the most well stocked & accommodating house we have stayed in yet. Thank you for the attention to details and the nice added touches. This was our 1st trip to Yellowstone & your house made it that much better!
Jul 2013
  • 1 of 19

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

5
based on 37 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Yellowstone North Gate House
average rating of 4.972973 based on 56 reviews
West Chester, PA
5

All the amenities you could ask for.

  • 5 of 5

This was a lovely place, extremely well maintained and clean, and very convenient for access to Yellowstone. I doubt you could find anything better if you are accessing the park from the Gardiner entrance. We were a group of avid skiers who love to cook--this place was perfect.

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Dallas, TX
5

Wonderful Home and VIews!!

  • 5 of 5

Yellowstone North Gate House was wonderful!! The house offers great views and is decorated very well.. We would not hesitate to recommend this home, it was a great base for our visit to Yellowstone!

The kitchen was stocked with everything needed to have many wonderful meals during our stay. The kitchen included a variety a pots, pans, cooking utensils, waffle maker, blender, etc.

The living and dining area provided wonderful views! The furniture was very nice and well cared for. We enjoyed relaxing on the deck after spending our day in Yellowstone. We even had the honor of being visited by several elk on multiple occasions.

The bedrooms and bathrooms were very clean and nicely decorated. The fact the each floor included a bedroom and bathroom worked well for our group. Thermostats on each floor was also appreciated! The owner included many extras such as shampoo, conditioner, body wash, tissue, hair dryers, extra pillows, blankets, and an extra air mattress.

The homeowner has thought of everything needed to ensure your stay is great. There was even a welcome basket of snacks and drinks on the dining table upon our arrival.

We would not hesitate to return to this home!!

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
4

Both Wonderful and Disappointing

  • 4 of 5

This is a hard review for me to write. There was an incident at the house which left us feeling pretty dissatisfied, yet the house itself is a very nice rental. Trying to be as fair as possible, the pros and cons are listed below!

PROS:

The house is beautiful and offers excellent views. You couldn't ask for easier access to Yellowstone. The owners thought of basically everything a vacationer could need, from a fully stocked kitchen to movies/books/games and a lovely snack basket, etc. The only thing we looked for and couldn't find in our 10 day stay was a cheese grater :) The beds were comfy with body-foam toppers and there were plenty of extra pillows and blankets. The actual living area was very clean and comfy. It is a great property for multiple families or a large family as there are bedrooms and full bathrooms on each floor. We were visited by elk and deer right outside the windows on many occasions which was awesome.

CONS:

I stayed with my parents who are both around 70, so these cons include some of their concerns.

*The stairway from the basement level to the main level is steep with high risers and narrow steps. My mother especially found it very difficult to navigate. The washer/dryer is in the basement so this may be problematic for some.

*The other thing my mother had trouble with was the gravel/stone leading to the house. There is no sidewalk/yard so when walking from your car to the front door you have to cross an area of round river-style stone which slips around, making footing unstable at times.

*The upstairs bathroom has a vent to the outside which made a loud repetitive knocking/flapping sound whenever it was windy, which it was for most of our stay. We had to shut the door and leave the fan running to partially drown out the sound.

*The upstairs bed is a queen, but the body foam mattress topper appears to be for a double and falls short of the sides and top of the bed, leaving gaps. If you are expecting a queen bed this may be disappointing.

*While the living area was clean, there were many cobwebs in the higher areas and we killed many small spiders.

*Last, one of the high barstool-style dinner chairs collapsed upon its first use, causing significant bruising and pain. Upon inspection several other chairs were found to be unstable at the joints. The landlords were advised and sent a picture of the shattered chair and we never heard back - no follow-up or even a kind word. This was the most disappointing part of our stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very glad you enjoyed the "pros" described in your review of our home. We have never dealt with "cons" in any review (counting all 34 of them) and in fact have always been left 5 stars in all. We regret you were only able to leave 4. *In the description of our listing we state MULTIPLE times that our house is on multiple levels. Each stairway has banisters for safety. We do not list an elevator. The washer/dryer is located on the lower level. We regret this was an issue during your stay. *Yes, there is gravel/stone leading to the house. We regret this was an issue during your stay. *Yes, the vent is to the outside, has a cover to keep it clean and will flap if the wind is blows hard out of the west. We regret it was windy for most of your stay. *The upstairs bed IS a queen bed and the mattress topper IS a queen mattress topper, NOT a double. We regret it was not to your satisfaction. *We're very glad the living area was clean and met your expectations. As far as the cobwebs in the higher areas, as listed in our description "There are many special touches throughout the house from the soaring 21 foot high ceiling” As with any ceiling that is 21 ft high, there may have been a few cobwebs. We regret they were disturbing to your stay. Our housekeeper does an amazing job as is evidenced by the exceptional reviews of our home! *We are uncertain what occurred with the chair/chairs. We each spoke with the guests the evening the chair broke which was the 22nd, they ARRIVED on the 20th. We both asked if they were okay. They informed us they had used the chair the first two days with no problem. They emailed us a photo of the broken chair. We told them we would send someone up to the house the very next day (as it was late evening) to inspect the others and repair (if necessary), which we did. The repair person informed us that he went ahead and tightened a few screws but that in his opinion, there was not an issue which is why we then left our guests to their vacation and heard nothing more from them.... until this review. (When she went to clean the house our housekeeper found two other dining chairs laying on their side and a stool in the garage on its side, with notes from the guests saying they were also broken.) Our interaction with our guests over the past 6 years, as many have described in their review, speaks for itself.
5

Beyond Comfortable

  • 5 of 5

Cheryl and Rick have done everything to make this trip enjoyable, we were greeted with snacks on the table when we arrived. A well stocked kitchen. For those rainy days they have provided entertainment. And for the spectacular views they even provided binoculars in the house so you can see the wildlife from the house. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Submitted: May 28, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Seattle, WA
5

Fantastic accommodations!

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic accommodations! The owners are very thoughtful and have stocked the house with everything needed to have a comfortable stay. The house is lovely, the views are outstanding, and location can not be beat. I highly recommend this house for your Yellowstone vacation!

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Houston, TX
5

Beautiful House

  • 5 of 5

The vacation home is beautiful and well stocked with all the essentials. Each room is equipped with Satellite TV and DVD player so we can watch our shows or movies while our kids watch theirs in their rooms. Besides Wii and Xbox games, there are also toys for little kids to play with. If you feel like going to the valley to wait and watch wild animals, you can borrow the folding chairs (there are two) and straw hats. Almost anything you can think of, Rick and Cheryl have them in the house. We really enjoyed staying in the house!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Gardiner House Rental Rates

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 7.0%
Cleaning USD95

Notes

  • Rates (in US Dollars ): Personal Currency Assistant™
    Credit Cards Accepted: Rent Vacation Rentals with Visa Rent Vacation Rentals with MasterCard Rent Vacation Rentals with American Express Rent Vacation Rentals with Discover

    Jun-Aug .. $250/night (5 night minimum) .. $1595/week
    Sep ...... $225/night (5 night minimum) .. $1400/week
    Oct-May .. $200/night (3 night minimum) .. $1250/week
    $395 Security Deposit Required to Secure Booking. Refunded minus cleaning fee. Normally $95
    Payment via personal check, credit cards or wire transfer preferred.
    Credit Card payments and currency conversion via secure online service,

    Rent due 30 days prior to stay. Add 7% State Tax, on rent only.

    Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
  • Minimum rate $225 per night, $1250 per week, Max rate 250 per night, 1595 per week
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Gardiner House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Mountain
Theme:
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Binoculars
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Small Cooler
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • forests
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
X-Box with 15 games, 4 controllers in lower level bedroom. Wii game system main floor, 3 controllers, 2 numchucks, 10 games.

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote