Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Relaxing, beautiful walking and biking trails


Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 2
Property type house


Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Relaxing, beautiful walking and biking trails

Bedrooms 2
Property type house


Sandpoint House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, sleeps 8 plus plenty of parking

1480 sq foot A-frame, real hardwood floors and paneling. Jacuzzi tub downstairs. Five Percheron horses!! Property is on 23 acres. Fishing, boating, swimming, jet skiing nearby. Snowmobiling, snowshoe and ice skate in the winter. Tons of wildlife including moose, deer, elk, black bear, eagles, hawks, turkeys etc. Minutes from Priest Lake, Pend Oreille Lake and Sandpoint (with a city beach). Pets are welcome and payments can be made through paypal.

Plenty of parking for large family reumions and other types of events. Places to pitch tents. Fenced yard - pets must be in house, yard or on leash. May smoke outside.

Wildlife is various and abundant. 3 sets of eagles have built their nest in close proximity to the cabin; we feed the deer and elk in the winter. We have refurbished the entire house so the inside is virtually brand new. Close to Priest River, Hope, Sandpoint, Coeur D'Alene, City Beach, Pend Oreille Lake and River. On 23 acres.

  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Cathy (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2015

About Cathy

My husband Rocky and I bought the land in 1996. Rocky built the home himself in 1997; in fact he built almost every home around us. We love animals. We have six German Shepherds and four Percheron Draft Horses.

Cathy purchased this house in 1996

Why Cathy chose Sandpoint

In 1996, my daughter-in-law and I were sent on a trip to buy property in Idaho, Washington, Montana or Oregon. The very first place the realtor took us was Sandpoint. After we drove across the Long Bridge into Sandpoint, we knew we were home and we looked no further.

What makes this house unique

The list is too long. The house itself is comfortable and has tons of storage places and room for sleeping bags if needed. Wildlife is everywhere. We have 4 pair of nesting bald eagles nearby. Moose and deer are abundant along with black bear, geese, ducks, wild turkeys and more.

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 16 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Relaxing, beautiful walking and biking trails
average rating of 4.75 based on 16 reviews

Wild Wild Life

  • 5 of 5

My kids never saw deer walking by so close you could hit them with a frisbee. Our family made memories, took a billion pictures, and everyone wants to go back next year.

My daughter is turning 13 and wants to bring her best friend. My wife is now actually pricing kayaks online.

Beautiful setting, more amenties than expected, and overall I was not just comfortable - I felt like I belonged.

I live in Phoenix but we are seriously considering living up north part of the year now.

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Salem, Oregon

Everything we expected and more!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was perfect for our needs and we definitely plan to return in the future if Rocky and Kathy are gracious enough to continue to rent their place to strangers. Everything was as described or better and both Rocky and Kathy went out of their way to accommodate changes to the number of people and a last minute great dane addition along with making sure we had everything we needed upon arrival!

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Awesome retreat

  • 5 of 5

What a great place to stay 10 minutes from town and you feel like all the worlds stresses are gone. Beautiful home and property where wildlife is everywhere and there are so many stars you can't count them all!

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you !! We enjoyed having you - Cathy

Relaxing Cabin vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at this quiet cabin in the woods. The house is beautiful and had all the amenities we needed to feel comfortable. Lots of parking which was great. My husband, two year old daughter and I loved the horses you could see out the front windows, and our dog had fenced yard and back deck to lounge on. We also had some family out for a small reunion and Rocky and Cathy were so kind, even asking if we needed more picnic tables! All in all, a great place to stay if you'd like to get away from it all for a few days and just enjoy the great outdoors. Thanks again!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review. We're so glad you had a good time and you are welcome back any time!
Seattle, WA

Cabin in the woods

  • 4 of 5

Cabin is comfortable and kitchen is well stocked. There are 3 queen sized beds, 2 in one large basement room and one in the loft. Would have been nice to have a bunk/2 twins. There is a futon style couch/bed but the mattress is unsleepable.

The accommodation for a pet I would rate Excellent. There is a back porch and a fenced yard so my dog could be let out without having to worry. The snow was VERY deep, I think a more adventuresome dog would have figured out how to hop over the fence that was partially covered in a snow drift.

It was in the low teens the first couple nights, and it was hard to keep the cabin warm. When it warmed up to the 20's the cabin stayed warm. The owner provided space heaters which helped.

This cabin is far from the ski resort, up a windy road. Since there has been a lot of snow, the road was a sheet of ice. We managed with 4WD, would not want to be on this road in a sedan. It was 45 minutes at least to Schweitzer.

The cabin is a work in progress. The kitchen tiles were broken, frig door did not seal shut. In the cold basement was a large jetted tub, could easily hold 2-3 people, that looked new. The basement is one LARGE room, would be nice to have a curtain, or some sort of divider...

Only cell service that works in Verizon, and there is no land line. Internet was sporadic. Cable TV good, but Dish network is more common, and could not get Fox! This was true in the sports bar in town as well.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed having you here. First Fox - it is on channel 28 and I too have not been happy because that IS Dish network with hundreds of channels that you had but if you went to the channel you would have seen that Fox was blocking its programs from Dish. I'm happy to report that some time in the last 2 or 3 days, we got Fox back. Yay!!! The high snow in the yard happens because of the A-frame roof - the snow doesn't stay on it but slides down into the sides of the yard. My husband actually moved the entire fenceline back (it used to go all the way to the drive) for that very reason and he actually shovels that part of the yard when guests are not there so it won't get too high. The home was built in 1997 and we plan on replacing the tile counters this year or next (as well as the middle floor doors and windows. The heat from the wood stove apparently dries the tile grout too much but we are going to replace it with more ceramic tile because the tile can withstand heat - even from items taken directly off the stove or from the oven. We were not aware the fridge door wasn't sealing. We will check that (we want our guests comfortable plus we also don't want the electricity bill to be effected. The reason we have electric blankets on the downstairs beds is because it is a daylight basement. We do plan not only in actually walling off the downstairs bedroom (which was OUR bedroom when we lived there - and why there is a wall-to-wall mirror-doored closets) but also plan on putting hydronic heat in the floor and then it will great on the feet. It's going to take a while for us to do all the changes. We plan on putting in 3 more queen sized beds (1 in the loft and 2 downstairs). We won't put in bunk beds though because when our sons were very young one of them went up and over the rail (nightmare) and hit the tiled floor this was in AZ) face first. It almost killed him and we found out then that's actually common. We are in the mountains of N.Idaho which is why I always say 4 or all wheel drive is mandatory. It's a 20 minute drive to Schweitzer - we offer privacy, quiet and tons of parking. I don't know why you had sporadic internet. I do know your son was watching downloaded tv shows - which I explained to you doesn't work here because we have satellite. No landlines because of the phone company and though there is a cell antenna in the Aframe,you told me you had T-mobile which you said was worthless here. Thanks again for staying with us!

Charming and Peaceful Cabin. One of the best VRBO experiences we've ever had!

  • 5 of 5

What a beautiful cabin in a beautiful setting Plenty of room for our family, with everything you could possibly need for a comfortable stay! The jetted tub in the downstairs bathroom was great, deep and comfortable for long relaxing baths. We stayed for 3 weeks upon first moving to Sandpoint while looking for a permanent home. Rocky and Cathy were very gracious hosts who went out of their way to help us wherever needed. There was a very nice chain linked fenced yard for our dogs. We also liked that you could see the beautiful horses in the pasture from the front porch. The wood stove is very nice for cool evenings, and warms the whole house very well. The leaves were changing colors for fall while we were here as well, making for a beautiful view out the enormous windows! I would highly recommend this rental for anyone, it has so much to offer so many different types of people. It is in a nice location, close enough to get to Sandpoint in 10-15 minutes, the beautiful beaches at Dover in 5 minutes, but still far enough away from town to feel seclusion and get away from it all. Thanks to Rocky and Cathy for this little gem in Sanpoint!

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Lake Pend Oreille
Schweitzer Mountain Resort Trails
Grouse Creek Falls
Sandpoint Marina
Mountain Horse Adventures
Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Spokane International Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
City Beach
Nearest Golf
12 Miles
Country Club
Nearest Train
11 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
Highway 200
Nearest Restaurant
10 Miles
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
City Beach
Car: necessary

Our A-frame is about 8 miles from Sandpoint, 11 from Schweitzer Mountain Ski Lodge, 10 from Priest Lake and Priest River. Close to the Pend Oreille River and Lake. Plenty of fishing.

Other Activities: Something is always going on - the Festival at Sandpoint, Lost in the 50's just to name a couple.

Ski: - we were guests at the cabin in 2007 and again in 2008. It is relaxing, and secluded. We saw several moose and a black bear during our second visit. We plan on visiting again in 2009 - it's like a home away from home.


Rates & Availability

From $150 Per night

Sandpoint House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Spring and Summer
May 9 - Sep 6
1 night minimum stay
Skiing hiking snow season
Sep 7 - May 8
1 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25.00
Cleaning fee $100.00
Notes We will consider a negotiated fee if the other property you have found is comparable to ours.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total


Sandpoint House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1480 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Other - 1 double , 2 sleep sofa /futon
  • Sleeps max of 8 comfortably. It is okay to bring a crib. If you want a family reunion, call us about camping sites and winnebego parking on site.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Wood Deck
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Whirlpool
  • jetted tub
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
There are a lot of stairs but if a member of the family has a wheelchair we could work something out. We also do not care if you have a larger group and have cots, sleeping bags etc.

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote