**PLEASE, STAY AWAY from this rental!!!**
Submitted: March 18, 2012
Stayed: December 2011
At our arrival, the house was unclean and the bathrooms were dirty. During the whole duration of our stay, we numerous had problems with the plumbing. The water of the shower stayed in the bath. We spent a hundred dollars for cleaning products.
Moreover, we found cockroaches in the house; we were compelled to buy product to kill the insects. We even found dead cockroaches in the kitchen.
During the process to rent the house, I had a lot of difficulties to communicate with the owner. While we were living in the house and trying to enjoy our vacation, it was impossible to communicate with the owner: the phone number that I had was not working and nobody was answering to my email.
We had trouble with the Internet connection and the Wifi and I received a reply email at the very end of my stay stating that the password that we had was the right one even if it wasn’t.
In a rapid succession :
-The house was very old and needed a lot of renovations.
-The owner took a long time to refund our security deposit.
-For your concern, the beds are NOT confortable at all, and the hottub wasn't working well.
-In the kitchen, the countertop at the end (kind of extension) is again ready to fall at anytime.
-The voicemail is always full.
And by the way, Jana H. is working with the renters, so I don't think she is a bonafide review writer.
It's my 6th year using the "Homeaway" website, and it's the first time that we are so frustated about the result!!!!! I think that my message is clear for everyone!
Owner's Response: We are very sadden to hear this from our renter. We are very flexible with this home, we want you to feel at home while you are there, we are also very true to our word. Melanie S. wanted to arrive a day early at the home so we let her, even knowing that the cleaning service would be their later that day. First of all she stayed at the home for 49 days at $235 a night, The best deal in the area for these prime date's, it's a 5 bedroom home, 12-15-2011 too 2-1-2012. She had a Labrador retriever and lots of family.[FUN] We supply cleaning products, just to help renters out, we know that most renters don't travel with Windex. The pluming is just fine in the shower, if you wash your dog in their, hair will build up on top of the drain, and you have to remove it. As for bugs we treat the home with terminix every two weeks. their are not cockroaches. Some renters leave a mess on the outside patio like a spilled soda, and it will draw ants and other insects, if its not cleaned up properly. During her process to rent the home it was taking time to go through, because she was not first in line for those date's,even though it was the 4- July weekend. Why is she complaining about that after the fact, seems like WE were domed from the start. We received 1 e-mail from her during her stay. NO CALLS, NO messages from her at all. The Internet or wifi has a set password, she was having trouble getting it to work. We opened the e-mail to see what was wrong and sent her a technician the next day their was nothing wrong, just had to log onto it properly. On stays over 30 days we GIVE a $350 dollar allowance toward the electric bill. Anything over that is taken out of the deposit, we have to wait to see what the light bill is going to be before we send the deposit back, it takes some time, ALL the beds are top of the line mattress, The hot tub is just that a hot tub it gets very hot and is very relaxing, it has a good flow to it. IT is not a Jacuzzi tub. We have a cleaning service if you are not happy with the home's cleanliness we will send them back to re clean the home again.
We are proud to have a lot of renters that come back year after year and we have no trouble with any of them. Although the home is a million dollar home, the kitchen has not been updated.[counters,cabinets] The appliances have. it is not a gourmet kitchen but very functional. Remember if you arrive early it takes almost 8 hours to fully clean this large home.
Best Regards Rob &Marguerite
Helpful votes: 11/13
Did you find this review helpful?