BEACHFRONT LUXURY ON TUNNELS BEACH

Ginny Shinn

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Contact the Manager

Ginny Shinn

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

BEACHFRONT LUXURY ON TUNNELS BEACH

Haena House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3-6 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5-5 Baths, (Sleeps 6-12)

'Hale O Naue' is one of two identical beachfront, luxury rental homes located at the Makua Kai property on Naue Cove. This beachfront property is just steps from Tunnels Beach with great swimming and snorkeling directly in front of the home. Both homes are beautiful plantation style homes and are located on the lush north shore of Kauai in a quiet residential neighborhood with an ambiance of 'old hawaii'. A great place to unwind and relax! You will love the covered lanai with Brown Jordan chaise lounges and table and chairs wher you can relax while watching the ocean. This pacific playground has colorful kite surfers you can watch and migrating whales. The homes are spacious and all the rooms have AIR CONDITIONING. The decor is plantantion style with Tommy Bahama furnishings throughout. Relax and enjoy these well equipped homes, each with 3bedroom/2.5baths. Rent one or both. Hardwood floors, brazilian granite countertops, SONY TV/DVD/VCR, high speed Internet, ceiling fans, dual shower heads, oversized tub and a fully equipped gourmet kitchen are some of the amenities in this well maintained property on the beach. This multi-million dollar luxury home is immaculate and each home has a large covered lanai facing the ocean in a lush,tropical setting.

'Hale O Naue' house (sleeps 6) is perfect for you and your friends when visiting the Garden Isle of Kauai. You'll be just steps away from Tunnels Beach and you will witness some of the fabulous views on of Bali Hai and the Pacific Ocean. (10% discount when both homes are rented and a 10% discount for all repeat guests). Located just a short drive to world class hiking trails, golf courses, zip lines, surfing, and other fun activities.

Relax and enjoy a walk on this pristine beach or simply sit on the lanai and take in the beauty of Kauai. We look forward to having you as our guests. Mahalo.

Keywords: Beachfront Vacation Home

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets not allowed
Guestbook comments from the manager
We had a great time snorkeling and swimming the beach in front of the houses and the kids saw all kinds of fishes around the shore. The house was quite spacious and really comfortable. The lanai was a dream to lounge on and watch the kite surfers riding the wind and waves!
Jul 2010
  • 1 of 3

Ginny Shinn

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2008
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

We love Kauai and bought a gorgeous beachfront property that we could build on. Today the property has two identical vacation rental homes facing the ocean and one cottage. The landscape is very tropical with tall trees, heliconia, ginger, poinsietta and manilla palms.

Ginny Shinn purchased this house in 2002

Alealea Street in Haena is quiet and relaxed. It reminds us of an quieter, older time on Kauai and we love the plantation feeling of our homes in 'old hawaii'.

Relaxing on our lanai and watching the ocean is one of our favorite activities. We always come with family and friends and bbq fresh fish at night while we watch the sunset. Snorkeling in front of the house and visiting our resident turtle is a must!

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.8
based on 6 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Beachfront Luxury on Tunnels Beach
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 6 reviews
business
Beachfront Luxury on Tunnels Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206230vb
Toll Free: (888) 894-1486
Haena Kauai
Los Angeles, California
5

Fab Vacay

  • 5 of 5
My family and I stayed at this wonderful home for a whole week, and we wish it was longer. The property is located on a fairly secluded part of the beach that is a short walk from the main part of Tunnels Beach. The house is very well-maintained and clean. We cooked every night and found that it was well stocked with cooking supplies (pots, pans, blender, etc.). The view from the balconies was incredible and it was very pleasant to sit outside and just take in the beautiful view of the beach. Everyone loved it!

The snorkeling right outside the house was fantastic, as was the snorkeling at the main part of Tunnels. We also ventured to Ke'e Beach, which was close to the house but probably not a place that you want to walk to. The snorkeling at all of these beaches was awesome and we saw many varieties of fish and lots of turtles.

Our family also went hiking on the Kalalau Trail. The trailhead starts a couple miles away from the house. The views from the trail were breathtaking. We hiked up to the Hanakapiai waterfall, which is totally worth the hike. It's also a bonus to cool off in the water once you get there.

There is a great coffee shop less than a mile down the road called Na Pali Art Gallery and Coffee Shop that some of us would walk to in the mornings. The next closest town is Hanalei where you can rent kayaks, paddleboards, and also take the Catamaran boat cruise. We also made a stop at the St. Regis Resort, which is worth going to for a view of the sunset and an evening cocktail.

Overall, we would recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a relaxing and fun-filled vacation on the north shore of Kauai. We will definitely be back!
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
business
Beachfront Luxury on Tunnels Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206230vb
Toll Free: (888) 894-1486
Haena Kauai
California
4

Almost perfect

  • 4 of 5
The house was lovely, well-stocked, and on a gorgeous beach with a fantastic view of the water from the lanai. What made our stay less than perfect was the following:

1. One burner of the stove didn't work
2. One toilet flushed itself every 10 mins
3. Mattresses were uncomfortable and wooden bed frames squeaked whenever you'd roll over
4. Two days after we departed we were told by rental company that the property manager assessed "damages" due to us. We were shocked because we took pride in how we left the home, and they provided no immediate details. More than a week later they said they found 3 towels that were stained and claimed we left a water mark on a table (but didn't say what table). Fortunately the assessed amount was fairly modest ($167), but we are certain that the damage was from a previous renter and inaccurately assigned to us. There was no means to dispute the claim, no photos/evidence provided. They simply deducted the amount from our security deposit. We felt this was poorly handled, it was offensive/demeaning (we were a group of four 40+ individuals, not Aerosmith trashing a hotel room), and we felt nickel and dimed.

My recommendation to anyone renting this home in the future, is to do a walk-thru of the home with the property manager, Ginny, and note any pre-existing damage so there is no dispute later. Unfortunately, a brief walk-thru may not uncover everything (like a discolored towel in the stack of linens in the closet). So good luck!
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for this information! We have taken care of the items you mentioned and we always appreciate feedback. The experience for every guest is important to us and we strive to keep the property in top condition for each and every guest. Mahalo!
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
business
Beachfront Luxury on Tunnels Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206230vb
Toll Free: (888) 894-1486
Haena Kauai
Denver
5

Absolutely Fabulous

  • 5 of 5
I think we have just found our favorite place on earth. The north shore of Kauai is magical and this property was wonderful--so well furnished, spotlessly clean--and the views. Just one of the very best experiences we have had renting on VRBO. GInny, the property manager, was a delight to work with. We will definitely be back!
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
business
Beachfront Luxury on Tunnels Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206230vb
Toll Free: (888) 894-1486
Haena Kauai
La Jolla, CA
5

The kauai escape

  • 5 of 5
Our family (three adult couples) stayed at Ka Hale Kaiola at Makua Kai) for one full week this past April; the experience was nothing short of outstanding from the moment we arrived all the way thru day seven.
This beautiful house is a five star residence, built on stilts, immediately adjacent to the beach, a short, beachfront walk from tunnels. The living room, master bedroom and covered deck all provide extensive views of the ocean, and the house sits on a large lot off a residential street with ample onsite parking for two or three automobiles.
High ceilings, large, well appointed kitchen with bar style island, a dining table that can readily accomodate 8 or 9 people, big screen tv, dvd player, etc made time in the unit a delight. The large covered deck with commanding ocean view was the perfect location for barbequing dinner, reading, or just enjoying cocktail hour while the fronting sandy beach a great location for swimming, watching the turtles or sunbathing. The downstairs storage room had beach chairs, snorkling equipment and lots of beach toys for our grandaughter.

We will stay here again.

While in Haena, just four miles from Hanalei Bay, you must pick up fresh food and fruit at the Hanalei farmer's market, spend a morning hiking the Na Pali coastal trail, go snorkling to watch the fish and turtles, look for monk seals (we saw three) and eat out once or twice at the local restaurants. We also included side trips to Anini Beach, Secret Beach, drove to Waimea Canyon and Pu'u o Kila Lookout, went to the National Tropical Garden in Lawa, drove to Wailua Falls, and visited/toured the Kilauea Lighthouse.
Lastly, the property manager we dealt with, Ginny Shinn, was a delight to coordinate and work with
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
business
Beachfront Luxury on Tunnels Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206230vb
Toll Free: (888) 894-1486
Haena Kauai
Dallas, TX
5

10 Days in Paradise at Makua Kai!

  • 5 of 5
This rental was fantastic for our group of 5! We stayed in the Ka Hale Kaiola house. My parents (in their 60s) really enjoyed relaxing on the beautiful lanai and walking the beach in front of the house. My boyfriend and brother and I (in our 20s) enjoyed the hiking that the Haena area has to offer. (Please email me for any hiking info) Also, the snorkeling in front of the house was superb when the wind was down. On windier days we would take a short walk around the point where the outer reef keeps the water quite calm. Their were dozens of turtles to swim with every afternoon.
Once we arrived on Kauai we were greeted by Ginny, the house caretaker. She was really helpful in giving us restaurant ideas, grocery shopping, etc! Other activities we enjoyed were a helicopter ride and a catamaran sail along the Na Pali Cost... As far as restaurants we enjoyed going to the Dolphin Fish Market in Hanalei and cooking fresh caught fish on the grill at the house. Other places we really enjoyed were Bubba's Burgers and TikiMan Pizza in Hanalei. Tahiti Nui (next to TIkiMan) was a great bar to relax, listen to local hawaiian bands in the evening and enjoy their 50 year old mai tai recipe! Oh and don't miss grabbing a smoothie at the Aloha Juice Bar stand (located next to the Big Save).
Overall I would recommend this house to anyone, regardless of age or ability due to the high number of activities offered. Some days we just enjoyed nothing more than napping on the lanai and beach. The sunsets every afternoon were outstanding. You could walk out to the point on the right and see all of Bali Hai and the accompanying mountains. Such a beautiful way to end each day! The entire neighborhood was so quiet that we all slept great each night. The option of having AC helped as well as we did have a few hot nights since we were there mid Sept. We were a bit worried about the Y Camp located next door but this was not an issue. It was occupied part of our stay but we could not hear any of the noise next door. There is also a beach access next to the house but that did not bother us either. I cannot recommend this rental enough, we will definitely be back! We stayed for 10 days and it flew by.This was my third trip to Kauai and definitely the most enjoyable!
I know this is a long review but I know when deciding to invest in a trip like this, more information is better than less. Thank you Ginny and the owners of the Makua Kai homes for such a fun trip!! See you in 2012!
  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
business
Beachfront Luxury on Tunnels Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p206230vb
Toll Free: (888) 894-1486
Haena Kauai
Los Angeles, CA
5

Excellent Beach House

  • 5 of 5
We enjoyed this house very much. In person it was better than the pictures. Everything was immaculate and first class. Our vacation was filled with relaxing beach days. We loved the convenience of walking back into the house for a bit of lunch and then back to the beach for more swimming and snorkeling. It was the vacation we all wanted and we left rejuvenated. Will definitely recommend Makua Kai to our friends.
  • Submitted: May 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Email Manager Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Lihue Airport
Nearest Train
27 Miles
Kilohana Estate
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
Kuhio Highway
Nearest Beach
0.01 Miles
Tunnels
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Mediterranean Restaurant
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Princeville Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Mediterranean Restaurant
Car: necessary

Great swimming beach directly in front of the house! Beautiful white sand beach. Also excellent snorkeling, kite surfing, and surfing in this area.

Art Gallery/Coffee House within walking distance to the house. Also, a great restaurant and bar!

Email Manager Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Manager Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Haena House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
May 15 2014 - Sep 15 2014
5 night minimum stay
$1,071
$7,500
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 15 2014 - Nov 30 2014
5 night minimum stay
$929
$6,500
 
 
Holidays
Dec 15 2014 - Jan 15 2015
7 night minimum stay
$7,900
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$829
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,500
Housekeeping $651.04
Tax Rate 13.42%
Notes Property manager will issue contract. Reservation deposit due within 7 days of receiving contract. Final payment due 90 days before arrival.
Email Manager Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Haena House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Beachfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Internet ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
Kitchen:
  • Stove ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Toaster
  • Ice Maker
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Extra deep Kohler bath tub in one bathroom with travertine marble tile and the second bath has a dual head shower and marble top vanity.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Television ...
  • Games ...
  • Books
  • Toys ...
  • CD Player
  • Video Library ...
  • Music Library
  • DVD Player
  • VCR
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Golf ...
  • Boat ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets not allowed
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • library
  • playground
  • ruins
  • restaurants
  • health/beauty spa
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
  • miniature golf
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • snorkeling/diving
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • rock climbing
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • water tubing
  • rafting
  • basketball court
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • wind-surfing
  • water skiing
  • mountain biking
  • surfing
  • hunting
Notes:
This beautiful property is one of the best beachfront vacation rentals on the north shore of Kauai. High regard is taken to make sure the homes are clean and well maintained in addition to providing all of the essentials to an unforgettable vacation!
Email Manager Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$350 per night
5 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$3,150 - $4,000 per week
2 - 8 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$1,650 - $1,850 per week
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8