Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Beachfront Luxury on Tunnels Beach with Beautiful Ocean & Mountain Views

Property Manager

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Contact the Manager

Property Manager
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 27, 2015
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Beachfront Luxury on Tunnels Beach with Beautiful Ocean & Mountain Views

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights


Haena House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6) on the beach.

'Hale O Naue' is one of two identical beachfront, luxury rental homes located at the Makua Kai property on Naue Cove. This beachfront property is just steps from Tunnels Beach with great swimming and snorkeling directly in front of the home. Both homes are beautiful plantation style homes and are located on the lush north shore of Kauai in a quiet residential neighborhood with an ambiance of 'old hawaii'. A great place to unwind and relax! You will love the covered lanai with Brown Jordan chaise lounges and table and chairs wher you can relax while watching the ocean. This pacific playground has colorful kite surfers you can watch and migrating whales. The homes are spacious and all the rooms have AIR CONDITIONING. The decor is plantantion style with Tommy Bahama furnishings throughout. Relax and enjoy these well equipped homes, each with 3bedroom/2.5baths. Rent one or both. Hardwood floors, brazilian granite countertops, SONY TV/DVD/VCR, high speed Internet, ceiling fans, dual shower heads, oversized tub and a fully equipped gourmet kitchen are some of the amenities in this well maintained property on the beach. This multi-million dollar luxury home is immaculate and each home has a large covered lanai facing the ocean in a lush,tropical setting.

'Hale O Naue' house (sleeps 6) is perfect for you and your friends when visiting the Garden Isle of Kauai. You'll be just steps away from Tunnels Beach and you will witness some of the fabulous views on of Bali Hai and the Pacific Ocean. (10% discount when both homes are rented and a 10% discount for all repeat guests). Located just a short drive to world class hiking trails, golf courses, zip lines, surfing, and other fun activities.

Relax and enjoy a walk on this pristine beach or simply sit on the lanai and take in the beauty of Kauai. We look forward to having you as our guests. Mahalo nui loa. Owner

Keywords: Beachfront Vacation Home

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Senior Adults Only Community
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Property Manager
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 27, 2015

About The Owner

We love Kauai and bought a gorgeous beachfront property that we could build on. Today the property has two identical vacation rental homes facing the ocean and one cottage. The landscape is very tropical with tall trees, heliconia, ginger, poinsietta and manilla palms.

The Owner purchased this house in 2002

Why The Owner chose Haena

Alealea Street in Haena is quiet and relaxed with a touch of Hawaii you won't find anywhere else. It reminds us of an quieter, older time on Kauai and we love the plantation feeling of our homes in 'Old Hawaii'.

What makes this house unique

Relaxing on our lanai and watching the ocean is one of our favorite activities. We always come with family and friends and bbq fresh fish at night while we watch the sunset. Snorkeling in front of the house and visiting our resident turtle is a must!

Guestbook comments from the manager

We had a great time snorkeling and swimming the beach in front of the houses and the kids saw all kinds of fishes around the shore. The house was quite spacious and really comfortable. The lanai was a dream to lounge on and watch the kite surfers riding the wind and waves!
Jul 2010
  • 1 of 3

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 8 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Beachfront Luxury on Tunnels Beach with Beautiful Ocean & Mountain Views
average rating of 4.75 based on 11 reviews

Could have been perfect

  • 4 of 5

We just got back from staying at this house. The location on the North Shore was great and the house was pristine. It is well stocked and the supply room has chairs, snorkeling equipment, boogie boards and shoes to walk on the lava flats. My only negative comment and the reason why I could not give the location five stars is that the internet was horrendous. The speed was less than .25 MB/sec. I could not remotely access my office. Living on the east coast, one of the reasons why I like to vacation west is that the time change allows me to get up very early and work several hours before I start the day. This was impossible and unfortunately, like most people, my business requires a few hours of work per day. What was interesting is that the house had Cable TV. I called the cable company and they stated that they offered speeds of up to 50 MB/sec. I found it odd that a multi-million dollar house would have such terrible internet in this day and age.

We were at the house for one week and we had 4 good days of weather. I would come back in the early summer for better weather. The water temperature was about 75 degrees when we snorkeled.

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

It's Still Paradise!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I returned to Makua Kai for our third time. We hadn't been back in six years so we were concerned that the place might be a bit tired from the years of use. Not so. The place looked exactly as it did six years ago. It is still beautifully maintained and immaculate. Steps out your door and you are on your own private beach (OK, it's not private, but we were often the only people on it). We enjoyed many a cocktail on that beach watching the sun set. And, we spent many an hour lounging on the lanai in the most comfortable chairs alternately reading and staring at the ocean. The store room has everything you could possibly need, including beach chairs, umbrellas and a big beach bag. The home, which looks like something out of a Tommy Bahama catalog, is also stocked with everything you could possible need. Yes, I could live there. We have stayed in both houses on the property and love them both. If you go, enjoy the clicking of the geckos at night!

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Los Angeles, California

Fab Vacay

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed at this wonderful home for a whole week, and we wish it was longer. The property is located on a fairly secluded part of the beach that is a short walk from the main part of Tunnels Beach. The house is very well-maintained and clean. We cooked every night and found that it was well stocked with cooking supplies (pots, pans, blender, etc.). The view from the balconies was incredible and it was very pleasant to sit outside and just take in the beautiful view of the beach. Everyone loved it!

The snorkeling right outside the house was fantastic, as was the snorkeling at the main part of Tunnels. We also ventured to Ke'e Beach, which was close to the house but probably not a place that you want to walk to. The snorkeling at all of these beaches was awesome and we saw many varieties of fish and lots of turtles.

Our family also went hiking on the Kalalau Trail. The trailhead starts a couple miles away from the house. The views from the trail were breathtaking. We hiked up to the Hanakapiai waterfall, which is totally worth the hike. It's also a bonus to cool off in the water once you get there.

There is a great coffee shop less than a mile down the road called Na Pali Art Gallery and Coffee Shop that some of us would walk to in the mornings. The next closest town is Hanalei where you can rent kayaks, paddleboards, and also take the Catamaran boat cruise. We also made a stop at the St. Regis Resort, which is worth going to for a view of the sunset and an evening cocktail.

Overall, we would recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a relaxing and fun-filled vacation on the north shore of Kauai. We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Almost perfect

  • 4 of 5

The house was lovely, well-stocked, and on a gorgeous beach with a fantastic view of the water from the lanai. What made our stay less than perfect was the following:

1. One burner of the stove didn't work

2. One toilet flushed itself every 10 mins

3. Mattresses were uncomfortable and wooden bed frames squeaked whenever you'd roll over

4. Two days after we departed we were told by rental company that the property manager assessed "damages" due to us. We were shocked because we took pride in how we left the home, and they provided no immediate details. More than a week later they said they found 3 towels that were stained and claimed we left a water mark on a table (but didn't say what table). Fortunately the assessed amount was fairly modest ($167), but we are certain that the damage was from a previous renter and inaccurately assigned to us. There was no means to dispute the claim, no photos/evidence provided. They simply deducted the amount from our security deposit. We felt this was poorly handled, it was offensive/demeaning (we were a group of four 40+ individuals, not Aerosmith trashing a hotel room), and we felt nickel and dimed.

My recommendation to anyone renting this home in the future, is to do a walk-thru of the home with the property manager, Ginny, and note any pre-existing damage so there is no dispute later. Unfortunately, a brief walk-thru may not uncover everything (like a discolored towel in the stack of linens in the closet). So good luck!

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for this information! We have taken care of the items you mentioned and we always appreciate feedback. The experience for every guest is important to us and we strive to keep the property in top condition for each and every guest. Mahalo!

Absolutely Fabulous

  • 5 of 5

I think we have just found our favorite place on earth. The north shore of Kauai is magical and this property was wonderful--so well furnished, spotlessly clean--and the views. Just one of the very best experiences we have had renting on VRBO. GInny, the property manager, was a delight to work with. We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
La Jolla, CA

The kauai escape

  • 5 of 5

Our family (three adult couples) stayed at Ka Hale Kaiola at Makua Kai) for one full week this past April; the experience was nothing short of outstanding from the moment we arrived all the way thru day seven.

This beautiful house is a five star residence, built on stilts, immediately adjacent to the beach, a short, beachfront walk from tunnels. The living room, master bedroom and covered deck all provide extensive views of the ocean, and the house sits on a large lot off a residential street with ample onsite parking for two or three automobiles.

High ceilings, large, well appointed kitchen with bar style island, a dining table that can readily accomodate 8 or 9 people, big screen tv, dvd player, etc made time in the unit a delight. The large covered deck with commanding ocean view was the perfect location for barbequing dinner, reading, or just enjoying cocktail hour while the fronting sandy beach a great location for swimming, watching the turtles or sunbathing. The downstairs storage room had beach chairs, snorkling equipment and lots of beach toys for our grandaughter.

We will stay here again.

While in Haena, just four miles from Hanalei Bay, you must pick up fresh food and fruit at the Hanalei farmer's market, spend a morning hiking the Na Pali coastal trail, go snorkling to watch the fish and turtles, look for monk seals (we saw three) and eat out once or twice at the local restaurants. We also included side trips to Anini Beach, Secret Beach, drove to Waimea Canyon and Pu'u o Kila Lookout, went to the National Tropical Garden in Lawa, drove to Wailua Falls, and visited/toured the Kilauea Lighthouse.

Lastly, the property manager we dealt with, Ginny Shinn, was a delight to coordinate and work with

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Nearest Airport
35.2 Miles
Lihue Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Mediterranean Restaurant
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Princeville Golf Course
Nearest Train
27 Miles
Kilohana Estate
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
Kuhio Highway
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Mediterranean Restaurant
Nearest Beach
0.01 Miles
Tunnels Beach
Car: necessary

Just a 10 minute drive from shopping, restaurants and beaches in the Hanalei area. There's a great swimming beach directly in front of the house (safe during certain times of the year) with a beautiful white sand beach running for miles along the ocean. Also excellent snorkeling, kite surfing and surfing sites are also found in this area.

A fun Art Gallery and Expresso Coffee House are located within walking distance from the houses. Also, there's a great Mediterranean restaurant and bar is located next to the coffee shop!


Rates & Availability

From $829 Per night

Haena House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Spring Break
Mar 15 2015 - Apr 30 2015
7 night minimum stay
May 15 2015 - Sep 15 2015
7 night minimum stay
Nov 15 2015 - Nov 30 2015
7 night minimum stay
Dec 15 2015 - Jan 15 2016
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Housekeeping $651.04
Refundable damage deposit $1,500
Tax Rate 13.42%
Notes Rates are for rental of one house. We offer a 10% discount when both homes are booked by the same party for the same dates. 10% discount for reservations of 10 days or longer. Only one discount applies.
Property manager will issue contract. Reservation deposit due within 7 days of receiving contract. Final payment due 90 days before arrival.
Enter dates to see total


Haena House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Main bathroom has tile shower with dual shower heads.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Second bathroom has tub and shower combination.
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , Toilet and sink in the half bathroom.
  • Extra deep Kohler bath tub in one bathroom with travertine marble tile shower enclosure and the second bath has a dual head shower and marble top vanity. Half bathroom located in the entry hallway.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Main bedroom with a king size bed, ocean view & AC cool.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Queen size bed, garden view & AC cool.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Queen size bed, garden view & AC cool.
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sleeping sofa is located in the living room area & AC cool.
  • Three bedrooms with a king size bed (1) in the main bedroom, Queen size Beds (2) in the other two bedroom, Sleep Sofa (1) located in the living room.
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 6 beach chairs
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Senior Adults Only Community ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
This beautiful property is one of the best beachfront vacation rentals on the north shore of Kauai. High regard is taken to make sure the homes are clean and well maintained in addition to providing all of the essentials to an unforgettable vacation!

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$1,322 per night
3 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$1,650 - $1,850 per week
2 - 5 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$3,465 - $3,850 per week
4 - 7 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 6

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote