SECLUDED MOUNTIAN HOME WITH HOT TUB OVERLOOKING WHITE WATER

From
$200
Enter your travel dates
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SECLUDED MOUNTIAN HOME WITH HOT TUB OVERLOOKING WHITE WATER

Highlands House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

New Mountain home overlooking Big Buck Creek. Enjoy the sounds of this rushing trout stream and the Nantahala Forest while relaxing on the screen porch or while taking a dip in the hot tub. A mountain retreat at high elevation.

Convenient to Highlands/Cashiers favorite hiking trails for all different skill level. If its shopping, fine dining, scenic drives or even gem mining, you are in the right spot. The owner can make recommendations or suggest an itinerary upon request. Gambling is a short drive away in Cherokee.

The home sleeps six adults comfortably and has two private suites. Two full sized futons are available in the loft. The kitchen accomodates any gourmet cook + outdoor grilling with outside dining makes entertaining enjoyable. The interior 18 ft ceilings with exposed timbers and expansive glass doors and windows gives you the mountain experience you would expect. Every interior direction brings the outdoors to the indoors with the beauty of the hardwoods and mountain laurels. Enjoy a Scandanavian wood burning stove as you relax in the living room. One suite has a wonderful gas fireplace wrapped in the native stone.

Just two (2) hours from Atlanta and only 45 minutes from Asheville.

If it is rest and relaxation, surrounded by Highlands serene and beautiful setting you want.... our Big Buck Creek home is it.

Amenities include Dishwasher, gas stove and cooktop, refrigerator, washer & dryer, shower, hot tub, sheets, TV/DVD/ and phone along with a CD player.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2008
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

Secluded Mountian Home with Hot Tub Overlooking White Water
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 9 reviews
business
Secluded Mountian Home with Hot Tub Overlooking White Water
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205522vbi
(404) 966-3389
Highlands North Carolina Mountains
5

What an Escape from the hustle and bustle

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We had a great Christmas 2013 vacation here. We relaxed in the Jacuzzi outside by the creek and enjoyed listening to the rushing waters. WOW what a way to go!
The home was immaculate and served our every need. A few minutes from downtown Highlands and a easy drive to get to the home. Not secluded and Not surrounded just a Perfect get away spot. Thank You for allowing us to rejuvenate here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Mountian Home with Hot Tub Overlooking White Water
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205522vbi
(404) 966-3389
Highlands North Carolina Mountains
Raleigh, NC
1

Poor Customer Service Soured Great Vacation

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Although the website states they accept credit cards, the owner requested that I make a deposit check and final payment check (received a month before we arrived) to her real estate partner.

My family was staying here for my parent's 38th wedding anniversary. The first night, I cut the big toe of my left foot on something that could never be found. The remainder of our stay was pleasant and uneventful.

Two weeks after we left, my deposit check was cashed. I called the owner and asked her about this. She stated that there had been a pile of cigarette butts left in the driveway. My father is a retired Air Force doctor and my mother is a oncology nurse. No one in my family smokes nor had we noticed cigarette butts in the driveway during our stay. Anyone has access to this secluded house in between lodgers. Be aware that you may be blamed for things that occur after your departure. The owner also stated that there was piece of glass in the hot tub. The mystery of my cut toe was solved, but how the glass came to be there before our arrival and was not noticed after the last lodgers remains a mystery. Again, the hot tub is in an unsecured location. Anyone has access to it in between lodgers. The owner also stated that there was food left in the refrigerator and her cleaning crew charges a flat fee if anything is left behind. This is the only accusation I can neither confirm nor deny. I delegated that cleaning to my mom. She was certain it was empty, but I did not see it myself. I requested the itemized list of food from the owner that stated she had. I never received this.

Being a consumer protection specialist with the North Carolina Attorney General's Office, I negotiated as best I could and finally received a check for a good portion of my deposit and a curt handwritten note (with many exclamation points) with further allegations of violations of house rules beyond teh owner's original allegations. It appeared that after my initial appeal to her, she had gone back through the house looking for anything amiss and blaming my family.

It was very disappointing as the house is lovely and my parents come down from Ohio twice a year to visit and really enjoyed Highlands. We would have considered coming back, but this has soured the experience entirely for me. There are too many other options out there.
Owner's Response: One of the owners arrived within hours of the departure of these guests so it is highly unlikely that anyone else was responsible for the issues noted. We have NEVER in the 3+ years renting the home withheld part or all of a damage deposit. We found it necessary to withhold a minimal portion of these guest's deposit because our cleaner charged extra for removing the food that was left and performing other duties that are not normally included in her services. I should mention that local garbage pick-up is not available at our location so a trip to the recycling center was necessitated. Our expectations of departing guests are clearly stated in our contract. Most of our guests are repeat renters or referrals from our frequent guests and I believe the other reviews are more in keeping with the experiences of those who have enjoyed time at our mountain home. We pride ourselves on being accommodating and flexible property owners.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Secluded Mountian Home with Hot Tub Overlooking White Water
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205522vbi
(404) 966-3389
Highlands North Carolina Mountains
Bay City, TX
5

Wonderful Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
My husband and I have stayed in this house twice and have a third reservation later this year. It is exactly as pictured. The setting is very relaxing and seems isolated, though there are other houses nearby. The roar of the stream creates a nice ambiant noise, and the hot tub location is perfect. It takes about 15-20 minutes to drive into Highlands due to the mountain roads, but the drive is beautiful. I would recommend this property to anyone. We love it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Secluded Mountian Home with Hot Tub Overlooking White Water
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205522vbi
(404) 966-3389
Highlands North Carolina Mountains
Augusta, GA
5

Relaxing and Romantic Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 25, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My wife and I had a terrific time at your vacation home nestled in the NC mountains. We spent a lot of time out on the deck, in the hot tub, and around the outdoor fireplace. Luckily, we had very pleasant weather during our entire 4 night stay, only one afternoon and evening with rain. The stream running behind the house provided the relaxing background music we needed to unwind and disconnect from our "work selves" and re-connect with each other and enjoy some nice romantic evenings together. Renae and I look forward to enjoying the house again soon...and hopefully we'll bring a couple friends with us next time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Secluded Mountian Home with Hot Tub Overlooking White Water
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205522vbi
(404) 966-3389
Highlands North Carolina Mountains
Seminole
5

Superb location made for a new adventure every day!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Close to Cashiers, Highlands, and Franklin, this house is centrally located for great shopping, dining, groceries, etc. Even better, the location is ideal for nature lovers. The creek was understated in the ad - it was a really good size behind the house and offered waterfalls and pools to explore up the hill further. The house was clean & well-maintained with a relaxing, casual layout. Lots of wildlife to see - birds, hummingbirds, salamanders, even cows down the hill. We had a terrific time and were glad to have chosen this place for our vacation rental. Definitely would come back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3

Map

× This owner has not provided a location.

close to waterfall hikes, gem mining, local artisans

Photos

Availability & Rates

Highlands House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Minimum Stay
 
My Standard Rate
$200
$1,400
$5,200
3 nights
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150.00
Security Deposit $250.00
A damage deposit of $250.00, plus 6.75% occupancy tax, and 50% of rental fee is due within one week of reservation confirmation. Remainder of rental due 30 days prior to arrival. Personal checks accepted.
Tax Rate 6.75%

Amenities

Highlands House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Wood Stove
  • Telephone
  • Linens Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Air Conditioning
  • Washing Machine
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Clothes Dryer
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) Futons in loft
Entertainment:
  • Video Library
  • Music Library ...
  • VCR
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Balcony
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hunting
  • cycling
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • hiking
  • fishing
  • mountain biking
  • kayaking
  • rock climbing
Notes:
Japanese soaking tub, adjacent to Nantahalla National Forest,certified trout stream

Other Vacation Properties

  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$1,960 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 5
$1,300 per week
4 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 6