Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Bill or Nancy

Advertiser since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Bill or Nancy

Advertiser since: 2010
Speaks: english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SANDY PYLOS

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Overview

Staniel Cay House Rental Photos and Description

2BR Oceanfront Vacation Rental Staniel Cay, Bahamas

Our home 'Sandy Pylos' has been the starting point of many of our family adventures, and hopefully will be the same for you. It's situated in the middle of the Exuma Cays, a daisy chain of Islands that is 80 miles south of Nassau. The islands are part of a group known as the 'Family Islands'. Here the people are friendly, the water is warm and clear, and the snorkeling, diving, and fishing are unforgettable.

The house is located on Staniel Cay, an island with a very small population, right on Exuma Sound. It sits on a private, sandy beach with calm, shallow swimming in the crystal-clear water.

Great sunsets can be viewed from the screened-in porch. The house has two bedrooms and a bath. A large common room contains a living area with three day bed/couches, a dining/game table that comfortably seats ten, and a complete kitchen. There are some additional air mattresses. This common room has sliding doors, and can open almost completely to a 40' x 12' screened-in porch.

The house is equipped with overhead fans -- over the beds and the dining room table. There are also some additional floor fans. A ship-to-shore radio is provided for communicating with boats, other homes, and restaurants. There's usually a daily broadcast of local activities and weather.

Additional amenities include a radio with CD and tape, and assorted games and books on the shelves.

The island is small (2.5 by .5 miles) and 'town' is a 15-minute walk away. Two bikes come with the house, and others are available to rent in town.

Berkie and Vivian Rolle manage our house, and will see that you are met at the plane and taken to the house. They operate 'I'sle General Store' -- one of three grocery stores on the island. They can also rent you a boat.

Nearby attractions include 'Thunderball Grotto' a great place to dive and site of the James Bond Movie 'Thunderball'.

Also nearby are Thunderball Club -- for drinking and dining, Happy People's 'The Royal Entertainer' -- for drinking and dining (home of the 'Teasel berger'), and Staniel Cay Yacht Club -- for drinking and dining.

There are hundreds of deserted beaches, and two pristine ocean beaches. Island activities include bone fishing, snorkeling, diving, conch collecting, and relaxing. Lobster coral reefs and deep-sea fishing are within one-half mile of land.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Bill or Nancy (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

About Bill or Nancy

Bill & Nancy Nightingale

We live in Vermont and have always enjoyed privacy and places off the beaten path.

Bill or Nancy purchased this house in 1985

Why Bill or Nancy chose Staniel Cay

Descovered it in 1985 and fell in love with the Island and people immediately. This was available - we had a young family - and very little resources - no time to build - so we purchased this house located on a beautiful beach. Our goal was to be able to enjoy the island, the beautiful water and beautiful people with our kids and eventually our grand children.

What makes this house unique

The house is very simple. We have tried to keep it that way. It is a place for the family to gather and not be interrupted by TV etc. The boating is fantastic (diving, fishing, exploring etc.). The Island has alot to offer. Three restaurants and bars, periodic island picnics, and great beaches.. There are many near islands and reefs to explore and bone and deep sea fishing.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

3.3
based on 3 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Sandy Pylos
average rating of 3.3333333 based on 3 reviews
business
Sandy Pylos
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205342
+1 -802 281 2258
Staniel Cay Exuma
Norwich, VT USA
5

Bahamian getaway

  • 5 of 5
We have had many wonderful and reenergizing vacations at Sandy Pylos. As an open air home of spirit rather than of extra stuff, we have appreciated our stays in this "laid back" bungalow where we could view and bask in the clarity of the blue sky and waters. It is a great escape from the typical 24-7 TV, over-programmed resort hotels and intrusions of the modern world. We love the Bahamian life still that Sandy Pylos exemplifies.
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2008
  • Stayed: Apr 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children
business
Sandy Pylos
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205342
+1 -802 281 2258
Staniel Cay Exuma
4

good value

  • 4 of 5
If you looking for a basic no frills house on the beach ( really elevated above the bush 50 yards back from the water) with spectacular views, this is it.
Call it elegant camping, 2 king size comfortable platform beds, hot water shower in bath, out door shower on beach path, greatroom combo kitchen,dinning, living, joins a large screened porch.
This was a total escape for us, from home comforts,the internet and the COLD.
  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2008
  • Stayed: Jan 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Sandy Pylos
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p205342
+1 -802 281 2258
Staniel Cay Exuma
Shalimar, FL 32579 USA
1

Unsafe property

  • 1 of 5
The island is a wonderful vacation spot. My family and I enjoyed a terrific vacation at Staniel Cay. Only down side was the condition of this home. My husband has been in the construction industry for 30, but it didn't even take being well-versed in construction to see that this home is on the verge of collapse. Home has rotten support beams, twisted and sagging floor joists, rotten plywood flooring, and is structurally unsound. The rent is on the less expensive range for vacation property, so we weren't expecting something lavish, but also never expected someone would rent their home in the kind of shape this one is. I spoke with the owner several times before our trip, and he never mentioned the poor condition, and it certainly isn't advertised as such. If I had known, I would have never put my family or myself in such a dangerous situation. In addition to structural problems, the home has numerous holes in the floor and broken windows. One of the window casings actually has separated from the wall, and the whole window flaps when the wind blows. The home has wracked so much that the front door is very difficult to close, and, when it does close, there's a three-inch gap between the door and the floor. In short, there is no way to close up the house and keep bugs from coming in. I have serious concerns for the next family that might stay there. I wrote the owner to express my concerns, but he hasn't acknowledge the email.
  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2007
  • Stayed: Oct 2007
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry our last visitors to our house were dissapointed in the house. We purchased this house and property on a remote island in the Exumas before there was electricity and running water on the Island. It is one of the older houses and has a great location with a private beach. It sleeps 7 and we only ask $975.00 per week for it. Others in our location get $2500 - $6000.00 per week.
We can do nothing about the way the house has settled over the years and it was in this condition when we purchased it. In the past 25yrs it has been climate tested
by numerous hurricanes and (to be honest) we are allways suprised to see our neighbors homes damaged and ours
relatively unharmed. In that period we have replaced the roof and every window. The house is fairly open (something we love) with a large screened-in porch. It is up in the air about 10 to 12 feet above the ground to get up in the breeze. This helps w/bug control but the inscects (no-see-ums) that are usually only out after a rain can and do pass through the screens. This is true of our house and every other house on the island that doesn't have air conditioning. I was unaware of a broken window and have ordered a replacement.
We do have renters comming for two weeks for the hollidays. They are leaving their castle in Italy and it will be their 3rd visit to the house in the last 5 years.
I do not mean to miss represent this property. It is what it is and we love it and the island. This is a beach house and we do have many repeat customers. I would be happy to have any prospective renters contact them for an independant opinion.

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
1 Miles
Staniel Cay Landing Strip
Car: not necessary

Our house in the Bahamas is located on Staniel Cay which is a small island in the Exuma's. The Exuma's are a chain of islands that run from south of Nassau for about 150 miles to Georgetown. Staniel Cay is located about in the middle. I can send you a Google earth placement if you contact me.

Photos

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rates & Availability

From $1,330 Per week

Staniel Cay House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Base Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,330
$4,950
 
Discounts: 24 nights or more: $175 Nightly
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Book It Now or updated calendars.

Amenities

Amenities

Staniel Cay House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Mobile Phone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Outside - outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 3 sleep sofa /futon , Day Beds in Living room along Wall
  • There are some additional air mattresses
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • MP3 Dock
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles
  • Boat
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • caves
  • churches
  • marina
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote