Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Chad

Advertiser since 2003
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Chad

Advertiser since 2003
Speaks english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

BIG SUR CABIN RETREATS

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Overview

Big Sur Cabin Rental Photos and Description

2BR Vacation Rental Big Sur, California USA

Three great private cabins in the renowned and majestic Big Sur Valley. Enjoy accommodations for one to six people in peaceful, scenic, and relaxing settings. Enjoy hiking (four state parks within 15 minutes drive), lounging at a swimming hole on the Big Sur River, relaxing at the beach... or just stay put and enjoy the peace and quiet.

You can also take the half hour scenic coastal drive to Carmel-by-the Sea and enjoy the many shops, galleries, and restaurants. Or continue five minutes more to Monterey and its many offerings. Driftwood/Sandpiper are two cabins connected by a large deck with a large hot tub (1-6 people) You can rent Driftwood solely, in which case Sandpiper will remain vacant. Charlie Cabin is a short distance away and unseen from the main cabins. It is a 1 bedroom cottage for 1 or 2 people, with its own amenities, including fireplace, deck, and hot tub and can be rented together with Driftwood/Sandpiper or separately.

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Chad (Owner)
Advertiser since 2003
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

3.7
based on 6 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Big Sur Cabin Retreats
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 6 reviews
business
Big Sur Cabin Retreats
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202914
- (831) 624-9220 (California, USA
Big Sur Central Coast California
1

Remote, beautiful surrounds but not recommended

  • 1 of 5
he cabin was lovely and remote, although extremely difficult to get to in the car. Very steep drive up a dirt road. On our first night the power went out and didn't come back on until lunchtime the next day. On our second we decided to try the hot tub but it wouldn't work. Chad and Kathy offered no compensation for either the power outage or the faulty hot tub. Furthermore, we left the place in near pristine condition, and yet Chad insisted on taking out half of the deposit for 'extra cleaning'. I argued that the deposit should only be taken from if there was something damaged, and surely they had to do moderate cleaning between guests anyway, but he wouldn't budge. Chad was stubborn to deal with. I certainly would not recommend staying here.
  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It never ceases to amaze me that irresponsible, neglectful people who do not attend to check-out instructions still expect a full refund of their deposit and when they don't get it fabricate in a review. Pristine? My wife and I attended to the clean-up and prep for incoming guests, the 2 of us working for 2 hours. Basically this couple did NOTHING and just walked out the door. We are not responsible for power outs in the area, and if he had called me regarding the hot tub after the power came back on it would have been easy to instruct him on re-setting the breaker.
business
Big Sur Cabin Retreats
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202914
- (831) 624-9220 (California, USA
Big Sur Central Coast California
Ca
1

Charlie Cabin Let Down

  • 1 of 5
Spent a lovely weekend in Big Sur. Unfortunately had a poor experience with this property.
Hot Tub didn't work, which was #1 reason we chose this property. Then the owners charged us for damage to property we did not do without telling us or providing any documentation. Poor communication. When I called, Chad was hot headed, accusatory, and rude.<P><P>
The cabin its self was pleasant, needs work, but to be expected from a rustic cabin in the woods.
We are a very quiet and clean couple who followed all of the owners very detailed check-in and check-out instructions to a T. They still charged us. Made no apologies for hot tub. Instead accused me.<P><P>I would not recommend this place to family or friends.
  • Submitted: May 22, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: After reading this review I realized that there really are immature, audacious individuals in our midst. They had some sort of chemical spill on our wood flooring and though we did charge $50 against their cleaning/damage deposit, I realize now I should have kept the entire amount, as we will probably have to redo the floor finish in the entire room. When he called upon departing he mentioned that the hot tub hadn't been working and it was clear from what he said that he didn't follow directions regarding use and that he had turned the thermostat fully up, past the mark designated as limit, thereby tripping the circuit breaker. All he needed to do was call for directions on resetting, easily done. He chose not to, perhaps out of embarrassment.
business
Big Sur Cabin Retreats
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202914
- (831) 624-9220 (California, USA
Big Sur Central Coast California
5

Slice of Heaven - Big Sur Retreat!

  • 5 of 5
Happily, we have been back to Chad & Kate's cabins now three times, beginning in the year 2000 as part of our Honeymoon. It's SUCH a lovely place. Each time we come we spend far too much time patting each others back, reminding ourselves what brilliant and lucky people we are to have found our way back here yet again. We were in the Driftwood Cabin this time as there were just the two of us, and besides the cabin being very cozy & charming, complete with all the creature comforts and a nicely equipped kitchen, we had unbelievably gorgeous weather for January! We spent many dreamy hours outside on the wide sunny deck enjoying the big hot tub, having gourmet meals, reading and lounging in deep R&R among the tree tops in the heart of the heart of the Big Sur River Canyon. All with a bird's eye view! Did I mention the wide sunny deck....? Needless to say, we'll be back and are (SERIOUSLY) counting the days - and hoping Chad & Kate will have us!
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Big Sur Cabin Retreats
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202914
- (831) 624-9220 (California, USA
Big Sur Central Coast California
Orange County CA
5

Charlie Cabin

  • 5 of 5
Charming cabin in private area surrounded by magestic views. Very well equipped with all kitchen needs. The location is perfect, in the heart of Big Sur. We loved our stay!
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Big Sur Cabin Retreats
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202914
- (831) 624-9220 (California, USA
Big Sur Central Coast California
atlanta, ga
5

Quintessential Big Sur Cabins

  • 5 of 5
We've stayed in all three of Chad and Kati's cabins on several different occasions and have always had superb experiences! The cabins are charmingly and lovingly decorated. Our most recent visit was Aug, 2010. The owners are very accommodating; offering helpful advice on travel, sightseeing opportunities and local restaurants, timely security deposit refunds -- if you follow their check out instructions, and they offer details ab how to fully utilize the cabins including Big Sur books for hiking, etc. My only complaint would be that their photos aren't updated and don't show many of the improvements they have made to the properties -- like adding pavers around the two properties, a HUGH improvement to Charlie Cabin which had been hard to access but is now totally driveable. The two cabin sites, Driftwood and Sandpiper and then Charlie Cabin, are far enough apart and separated by dense trees and foliage to afford total privacy. In fact, one of the features my husband and I enjoy about the cabins is their outdoor totally private showers. We never use the indoor showers while staying at the property and we aren't exhibitionists -- they are just that private. Both properties have lovely potted flowers and greenery that provide a "homey" feel. The properties are at the end of a 1/2 mile long steep but accessible dirt road -- so you don't have any traffic driving by (the dirt road is accessible without 4-wheel drive and totally navigatable by night after dining in Big Sur.) You are right in the heart of Big Sur within easy driving distance to beaches, fine dining and local music. I would advise shopping for major grocery items before arriving in Big Sur (great Safeway in Carmel if you're driving S to Big Sur) but there are small local stores for items you've forgotten. Don't miss the Big Sur Bakery (our favorite), splurge on dinner at the Post Ranch Inn (they don't offer reservations at prime time for non-guests but you can go early and watch the sunset and drink at the bar until your table is ready), lunch at Ventana for the views, Deetjens has a great b'fast and dinner, check out what's going on at the Henry Miller Library, the Fernwood Bar for music and the Spirit Garden, and don't forget McWay Falls at Julia Pfeiffer Burns St Park. Pfeiffer Beach is NOT to be missed but you'll have to be careful not to miss the turn because there's NO SIGN even though it is a St. Park! Cell phone coverage is spotty and WiFI would be a GREAT addition to the cabins!
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Big Sur Cabin Retreats
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202914
- (831) 624-9220 (California, USA
Big Sur Central Coast California
Urbana, Illinois
5

Beautiful views, big skies, peaceful and quiet cabin with nice amenities

  • 5 of 5
We spent 3 nights in the larger Driftwood Cabin which has a fantastic stone fireplace that goes all the way to the roof-line since the cabin has a loft. The kitchen is well appointed with everything you need for cooking (and even baking if you so desire). The deck faces a beautiful tree canopied mountain ridge and offers wonderful views and we found it was out of the fog and sunny most of the time.

Although the murphy bed was a bit awkward at first, it was comfortable and sure made it cozy with a nice fire burning in the fireplace after dinner in the evenings. We appreciated the hot tub after days of hiking in the area as well. We also enjoyed walking down the ridge to the River Inn for breakfast or lunch occasionally and then feeling like we earned our meal as we walked back up the half mile dirt road that felt like we were going straight up! We also found the location convenient for accessing the state parks as it is between Pfeiffer State Park and Andrew Molera State Park.

Kathi and Chad are quite helpful as well and had some nice hiking books around the cabin that I found helpful. This cabin is an excellent value as well. There are 2 additional smaller cabins on the property that are very nice too and would be good for a group or a family get together.
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway

Map

Map

Car: necessary

Big Sur is wonderfully rustic woodsy, with a river running through the valley. Yet within minutes are several fine restaurants... and it is only 1/2 hour south of Monterey, Pacific Grove, and Carmel and all that they offer.

Photos

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Book It Now or updated calendars.

Big Sur Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes $250 for 1 bedroom cottage cabin for two people.
Also available, 2 conjoined cabins, accommodates up to 6 people, 1 cabin at $300/night both at $450/night for up to 6 people.

Amenities

Amenities

Big Sur Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Near The Ocean
  • River
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Gas Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Tank
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , outdoor shower , All have indoor and outdoor showers.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , outdoor shower , All have indoor and outdoor showers.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , with loft
  • Driftwood is a large open room with a loft. A murphy double bed pulls down near the fireplace, and the loft has a trundle bed (2 single or a king) if put together. Sandpiper is like a master suite with a queen bed , it's own bathroom, and also houses the laundry room. Charlie Cabin is a 3 room cottage with its own full kitchen and a queen bed in the bedroom.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • forests
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
No toddlers/youngsters. No pets.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote