Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Capitol Hill Gem - Walk to the Capitol, Mall And Eastern Market

Property Owner

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, czech
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Property Owner

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, czech
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Capitol Hill Gem - Walk to the Capitol, Mall And Eastern Market

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

Capitol Hill Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Located at Eastern Market, this condo is close stroll to the US Capitol, US Senate, The National Mall, Washington Monument, The White House, Union Station and downtown DC.

This one bedroom, 1 bathroom condo with extra sleeping area in the living room (pull down sofa), offers accommodation for one person or family of four. Located in the safest neighborhood of Washington DC, Capitol Hill - Historic District, located within walking distance to the National Mall as well as Eastern Market, local landmark. There are numerous grocery stores, restaurants and high end shopping areas within walking distance.

Capitol Hill Historic District takes its name from the hill, which rises in the center of the Federal City and extends eastward. Stretching easterly behind the Capitol Building along wide avenues lies the residential area known as Capitol Hill. Capitol Hill, one of the oldest residential communities in Washington, has grown from a small boarding house community for members of Congress to an area of more than 150 squares embracing a number of separate neighborhoods.

In the early years of the Republic few Congressmen wished to establish permanent residence in the city. Instead, most preferred to live in boarding houses within walking distance of the Capitol. Nothing remains of this community, and the area closest to the Capitol contains the Library of Congress, the Supreme Court, and the House and Senate Office buildings.

Capitol Hill is the largest residential historic district in the District of Columbia. Almost every street is composed of row houses of different stylistic varieties and periods forming a continuous wall broken only by street intersections. Side by side exist early 19th century manor houses, Federal townhouses, small frame dwellings, ornate Italianate bracketed houses and the late 19th century press brick row houses with their often whimsical decorative elements combining Richardsonian Romanesque, Queen Anne, and Eastlakian motifs.

Within the Historic District, you will find the most luxurious accommodation in the one of the best areas in Washington DC with many restaurants, cafes and places to shop, including the Eastern Market, the city's largest farmers' market and flea market.

This elegantly furnished one bedroom apartment approximately 1000 sq feet with one bathroom and fully equipped kitchen with a small backyard seating area, provides great hotel alternative within walking distance to US Capitol, US Senate, Eastern Market, Union Station and the National Mall.

You will find sleeping for up to four people and enough room to host the entire family, outdoor deck and living room with an eat in kitchen.

Our location is ideal for touring around DC and we are looking forward to hosting you in DC. We are local, so if you have any questions or special request, don't hesitate to e-mail us!

Keywords: Condominium

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Property Owner (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, czech
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2015

About Property Owner

We are family owned and operated. From the left meet Kate, Jarek (sister and brother) and our mom Dana.

We have lived in Washington for over ten years and love this cosmopolitan city where people get up every morning and get to work on changing the world. The most powerful people in DC can alter the course of history and try to make the world a better place. It's a city where philosophical debate and advocacy of issues beyond one's own family or pocketbook rule the day; a city where what's going on in one's head is far more important than what one is wearing; a city where people come from all over the world to experience democracy and learn the principles of our free society.

We get visitors from all over the country and the world. Some come for one time visit with their family, others keep coming back number of times a year as we host many repeat guests related to the federal government, foreign embassies and the US State Department. We take great pride in having our unit very clean (our mom cleans it, so you know it’s spotless), conveniently located within walking distance to all shopping, restaurants and Metro.

We want you to enjoy your visit whether it is once in a lifetime trip with your family or monthly visit for work. We are looking forward to hosting you in DC and if there is something we can help with, let us know.

Property Owner purchased this condo in 2007

Why Property Owner chose Capitol Hill

Charming and classic historic DC neighborhood in the center of one of the most famous neighborhoods in the world. Location and proximity to everything there is to see and do. This and more makes this unit a top choice while visiting Washington DC.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.6
based on 45 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Capitol Hill Gem - Walk to the Capitol, Mall And Eastern Market
average rating of 4.577778 based on 45 reviews
5

Great Location and New furnishings

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here in December with my family as I really wanted to be in this area. Read the reviews where the owner said the unit was updated recently. No complaints here. In fact the furnishings were nicer than what you would find in a hotel chain in my experience. The unit was quiet and you just cant beat the neighborhood (yes especially in December!). Would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
San Francisco, CA
5

Great Location, Very Nice Interior

  • 5 of 5

We booked this unit for a week long visit to DC and were very happy. We didn't expect such a nice space, given some of the reviews but the unit had clearly been updated and offers very comfortable furniture, great bed and very nicely equipped kitchen.

The decor is modern and location is amazing. Would recommend this unit.

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Hartland Wisconsin
4

Capitol Hill Stay

  • 4 of 5

Having never rented a residence before, I found the experience on a whole very good. The owners were good about replying to my emails and my daughter loved waking up for her early morning jog to the Capitol and back. Union Station was within walking distance and we only caught rush hour once on the train. Having a dryer on the premise helped us one night as we were caught in the rain coming back from the German restaurant 4 blocks away. We enjoyed the back yard one evening and were not bothered by loud neighbors or bugs. The only thing I can suggest is get a toilet paper hanger mount on the wall. It was weird to reach up to the (for lack of a better word) hook that held the roll.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
North Kingstown
2

Not as good as it seemed

  • 2 of 5

As mentioned in earlier reviews, the location is very nice. As are the bed and the shower. But, the pictures of the apartment – which make it look very good – were likely taken some time ago, as the apartment had a shabby feel to it. Suggestions from previous guests, such as requests to tighten up the wiring/outlets, fix missing wall hangers, or add a real toilet paper holder, have not been followed up on. We also noted that there was a missing light fixture (leaving a gaping hole in the ceiling), that garbage hadn't been taken out in what looked like weeks, and that the toilet seat, among other things, was loose. A piece of plastic fell off the door in the freezer when an item was placed there, and the magazine rack fell apart when it was touched. None of these things were a huge problem in and of itself, but taken together these issues left us feeling like we were in a second rate apartment.

Also, the noise from upstairs neighbors, that others referenced in their reviews, was substantial. We were unlucky in that 6 young adults happened to be staying above us, but even the first night, when there were just two guests in the upstairs apartment, we could hear them moving around. It was hard to sleep.

Although we reached out to Jarek in email after our stay, letting him know of our experience and offering some suggestions, we did not hear back.

Given the place cost us nearly $180 a night after taxes and cleaning fees, we recommend looking elsewhere.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: HI Ellen - thank you for your review. We have recently updated the unit and most of the updates were based on your feedback. We had the building soundproofed, helping with the noise, had the wiring updated, so all plugs and switches are all new and had all the furniture updated. Our unit has been rented for years and it was time to renew it and we are very happy with the new furniture and yet the same awesome location. We will post new photos shortly.
4

Romantic DC Weekend

  • 4 of 5

The property was as listed and the owners very kind to answer all my questions. The place was great for us in a quiet residential neighborhood yet in walking distance to the mall. And after a long day plenty of public transport to take us home. Eastern Market with all its shops and restaurants is close too.

Some TLC would be nice (power outlets are wobbly, random hooks that used to hold up window treatments that are no longer there). Overall a great place for two, with four people it would still be doable but a bit tight.

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
3

Pros and Cons

  • 3 of 5

We were very excited to be staying in an apartment in Capitol Hill instead of staying in a hotel. The neighborhood was great and we felt very safe. The houses in the neighborhood were built in the early 1900's and are very old and the area is considered a historic district. With that being said due to the age of the house we heard EVERY movement the people above us made. We also had an issue with mice inside the unit and could not leave anything out without a hole being chewed in it. Also when the fridge defrosted it leaked onto the floor. The bathroom smells moldy and I think if the shower curtain were replaced with a FULL size plastic shower curtain it would help. Also a floor mat in the bathroom would be nice along with a toilet paper holder. The toilet paper is just sitting on the back of the toilet and you have to reach around to get it, sometimes knocking it on the floor. Just a little TLC would do great wonders for this apartment. Like I said the location is amazing if you are trying to avoid the whole hotel experience.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: HI Cynthia - thank you for your feedback. We had the bathroom and entire apartment updated, as well as the ceiling sound proofed, making a huge difference with the noise.

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Washington Reagan National Airport
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Union Station
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $120 Per night

Capitol Hill Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Last Minute 20% Off
May 24 2015 - May 27 2015
2 night minimum stay
$120
 
 
July 2 nights
Jul 5 2015 - Jul 7 2015
2 night minimum stay
$150
 
 
August Special 10% Off
Aug 1 2015 - Aug 31 2015
4 night minimum stay
$130
$850
$2,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$150
$1,000
$3,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $80.00 + Tax
Tax Rate 14.5%
Notes Parking space $20 a day (if available).
Holidays and special events rates apply.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Capitol Hill Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote