Fantastic location but.........
We rented Claudia's home for 8 nights and for anyone wanting to stay in LA close to many attractions the location can not be beaten along with the privacy and tranquility yet so close to the lights and glitter of Sunset Blvd literally a block away.
I was staying in a party of ten which comprised of two families with teenage children and I have to admit unlike all other reviewers for this property we were disappointed upon arrival on the Friday afternoon. I had pre-arranged to meet Jeanette upon arrival to greet us and to show us around the home but despite agreeing a time the greeting didn't happen.
On arrival we found dirty plates and cups in the cupboard, no table tennis table as advertised as it had been broken in the summer and hadn't been replaced, TV in main bedroom broken, main oven grill broken, various down lights and lamps didn't work, a leaking toilet and the general cleanliness of property fell well below our expectations.
When we went outside to check the pool we noticed the filtration system wasn't working as it was completely covered in dead flies and was not fit for use.
During our 8 day stay I did keep in daily contact with Claudia over these issues and to be fair many were resolved including the purchasing of many bath towels due to an initial shortage. However with many issues they either took a long time to fix or remained unresolved. We first reported the filtration issue with the pool on Friday and although Claudia worked hard to resolve it it was Tuesday before we could use it. That was the 5th day of our 8 day stay and issues like the TV not working and down lights were still not resolved by the time we left.
I appreciate items such as a lack of table tennis table and swimming pool are items added at 'no extra value' hence if they aren't there or are not fit to use that's just unlucky but try telling that to four teenage boys looking to unwind at the end of the day.
I personally feel that Claudia will rectify all these issues so future guests can enjoy even more their stay at Sunset Hills and on this point I would not hesitate in recommending this property as a place to stay in LA.
Unfortunately sometimes lots of minor issues create a big issue and maybe we were just unlucky.
Owner's Response: We are truly sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. Please know that we did everything is on power to fulfill any issues that arose promptly by being in constant communication with you daily by phone and by text at all hours of the day always letting you know what the new status was. If Jeanet is unable to attend in person, a client always receives a call from me and I will verbally walk you through the home and ask if anything else is needed.
You informed us that a couple of towels had makeup marks on them Friday night at 9pm and we were happy to replace them. Our cleaning lady is always available to stop by for any guests & promptly arrived the following morning to supply new towels, which were not bought due to shortage as stated above. Please know, the home is always equipped with ample supply of goods on site to meet our guests needs, whether it be laundry soap, beach towels, or anything else the client desires that is not easy available to them. Since then I have addressed all your concerns with constant 1-on-1 meetings with the staff in order for it not happen again. I'm sorry you experienced discomfort as your feelings and feedback is important to us.
Sadly the pool filter did break during your stay, I was informed Saturday and got the 1st appointment available and it was fixed on Tuesday - this is an impactful amenity and hurried the pool man as quickly as i could. Our pool man is out there every Wednesday to clean and chemically treat it, I hope you understand that I couldn't have foreseen it to break since it was working order few days prior, I worked as quickly as possible to get it resolved. We apologize but we didn't see the dead flies you referred to, our cleaning lady took pictures the day after your arrival and also skimmed the pool just in case you'd like to use the pool as it was swimmable and safe per our pool man who properly treated the pool. In regards to the leaky toilet, our handy man did fix it within 12 business hours. There is a new TV in the master bedroom now and many of the lights have been replaced with LED lights in order to avoid lights going out during your stay. In the case any light issues arise, we do have a good electrician.
I'm always available 24/7 and realize how important a happy vacation is. Our guests are very important to us and we are grateful to have many of them return, although we continue to try to be the best we can be by improving the home and applying changes were needed.
Helpful votes: 2/2
Did you find this review helpful?