Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Timberframe Lodge sleeps 12 in Rustic Elegance.

Greg Amundson

Member since: 2006
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Greg Amundson

Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 19, 2015
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Timberframe Lodge sleeps 12 in Rustic Elegance.

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights


Lutsen House Rental Photos and Description

House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 12), FREE Wi-Fi

Huge 2 level upper end Timberframe Lodge that has complete family rooms on each floor! Hickory floors, granite countertops, vaulted ceilings with huge beams and warm cedar. This Home will please the entire family with a dedicated theater room featuring a 50' flatscreen TV and surround sound, deck overlooking Jonvick Creek, large firepit out back, deep leather couches, full size pool table, large wood burning fireplace and much more. This custom home sits on a large wooded lot with no neighbors yet is only 5 minutes from Lutsen Mountain and centrally located for hiking, fishing, waterfalls, and scenic drives.

This home also has been furinished with high quality furniture such as comfy rich leather couches in the great room in front of the large stone wood burning fireplace, large dining room table that will seat 12, massive poster beds with thick mattresses and two comfy sofas (one which has a pull-out Lazy-boy double bed) in the theater room.

Parking for a maximum of 5 vehicles.

  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Greg Amundson (Property Manager)
Member since: 2006
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 19, 2015

About Greg Amundson

Lutsen Lodges was established to provide families and friends a high quality vacation in an 'upper end' post and beam retreat. Our retreats are located in the Sawtooth Mountains just 5 minutes from Lutsen Mountain and in the midst of numerous lakes, streams, hiking trails, waterfalls and much more. In addition, these retreats are in secluded and quiet locations for those seeking extreme relaxation or outdoor activities.

Greg Amundson purchased this house in 2006

Why Greg Amundson chose Lutsen

Lutsen, Minnesota is the ultimate outdoor recreation area. Whether your interests are hiking, fly fishing, kayaking, mountain biking, photography, lake fishing or hunting, the Lutsen area is unsurpassed for any outdoor activity. Wildlife abounds and you may see moose,wolves. deer, loons, black bear and much more.

What makes this house unique

Our Retreats feature only the best in amenities. Radiant heated floors, Wi-Fi, large stone fireplaces, granite countertops, plasma tv's with surround sound and DirecTV, outdoor firepits, comfortable furniture and great beds and best of all large custom kitchens.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Twelve women from church thoroughly enjoyed your beautiful home. We thought it was especially thoughtful of you to have a large dining room table that seats 12 and was perfect for our group. We enjoyed 2 days of hiking, lots of laughter, sunshine, game playing and wisdom swapping. We are GLOW(God Loving Outdoor Women)
Sep 2011
  • 1 of 6

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 16 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Timberframe Lodge sleeps 12 in Rustic Elegance.
average rating of 4.875 based on 22 reviews
Ham Lake, MN

Our special wedding day

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for a great place to have an outside wedding up in the North Shore area. After finding pictures on the internet, we contacted the owners of the Grand Retreat, to see if they allowed it. They did indeed, in fact they offered us a weekend to check it out ahead of time. We fell in love with the place. But because it was in December, we really couldn't scope out the land as well. So in June, when my family and I were camping in Schroeder, I asked if we could check out the property again to get a feel for the wedding layout. They aloud us to another quick visit, when there was no occupancy. When I asked for recommendations for an officient, and about catering options, they were right on it. I had answers right away, or within a day if they weren't sure. When the time grew closer to our wedding date, they were in constant contact with us offering any help we needed. Our wedding day ended up being beautiful! We created great memories in this beautiful place, with great outside pictures along the creek and wilderness type settings. The cabin was very spacious for the whole crowd and for all of us to sleep. Our family, relatives and friends were very impressed with the Grand Retreat. During our week stay, we enjoyed both indoor and outdoor fires. We enjoyed sitting on the deck over looking the back yard, listening to the sound of the creek. We also did plenty of exploring in the surounding areas. We even drove up to the border and found the beautiful waterfall of the Pigeon River, in the Grand Portage State Park. I can't wait until we can visit again. I very much recommend a family stay or even a special event here. Thanks again for the great stay here!!

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Robyn; Thank you so much for the wonderful review! The picture you sent of your and your new Husband says it all and we are so glad that June and I could help you to arrange and have a wedding to remember for many years. Congratulations, Greg and June
Minneapolis, Minnesota

This one is just right!

  • 5 of 5

This is our second trip to Lutsen. We so enjoyed it when we stayed in another house of this owner's last year, we came back for Labor Day weekend and brought some friends. There were 9 of us all together (4 adults, 5 kids) and there was plenty of room. There are enough separate spaces for everyone to be able to spread out or get together if they wanted.

It must be hard to make a house feel like a home to everyone who comes but I can say that we all were extremely comfortable and at ease. Our kids can be rowdy but I rarely felt like anything was "too nice" or fragile. We like having the creek gurgling by out back and enjoyed listening to it while having a fire in the pit. Beds are comfortable, furniture in great condition, house is clean, bathrooms quite nice, kitchen well-appointed, sound system in theater room very impressive, easy enough to access, close to great parks and hiking trails with magnificent waterfalls and views of the big lake...I can't think of anything we didn't like!

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words. We're happy to hear that the Grand Retreat fit your group so well. Greg and June
Forest Lake

Summer Rejuvenation

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for letting us stay at The Grand Retreat.

What a wonderful experience! We had a lot of fun on the North Shore. The Grand Retreat is perfectly located for our family to visit the various State Parks. We spent time at Grand Portage, Judge C.R. Magney, Cascade, Manitou, Tettegouche, Split Rock and Gooseberry State Parks. Each was within an hour from Lutsen. Our family also hiked a lot on the Superior Hiking Trail, went fishing, did the Zip Line on the Gunflint Trail and did plenty of shopping at the local stores. The Five and Dime in Grand Marais and the Beaver Bay Rock Shop are family favorites.

After our full days we enjoyed relaxing evenings at the Grand Retreat. So nice to come home to a clean place with hot water! A couple nights we grilled out, had s'mores, and enjoyed the TV room and pool table. The kids enjoyed the bunk beds. The Lutsen Gas Station has a great assortment of ice cream.

Deadlines and pressure of the "real world" went away for the week. Our kids especially enjoyed the serenity that comes from the pace of life at the Grand Retreat. We had time to walk, talk, play cards, play games, read and get in that elusive afternoon nap now and again. We felt we had a unique opportunity to spend time as a family without outside interferences. Everything else could wait as we finished the lego creation.

At night, the running creek was relaxing to listen to. We enjoyed watching the moon glimmer off Lake Superior from the main living room area! We could see stars - far more than we can see from home. Caught a sunrise at Grand Marais!

We recommend bringing a good book for each family member and a favorite board game. Our son likes to being a small box of legos and couple matchbox cars.

Some suggestions - the Lutsen Gas Station has plenty of food supplies if needed. Also, Grand Marais has a couple grocery stores and restaurants. We had great breakfasts at the Lockport Café, which is near the Lutsen Gas Station, as well as Sporto's South of Border Café on Hwy 61 in Grand Marais.

The Grand Retreat is a beautiful place for a family to take a vacation.

Thank you.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your comments and kind words.
Minneapolis, MN

Great Location to Celebrate Father's 70th Birthday

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from 4 days at this home. We went for my father's 70th birthday and had a mix of all ages staying there (age 3 - 71). The home was beautiful, in a great setting, and easily accommodated all 12 of us, The large dining room table was perfect, it isn't often homes have enough space for all of us to sit down to meal, but we all fit comfortably. The layout was perfect and allowed everyone to sleep when they wanted without waking other up. And the view was perfect with the creek gently flowing behind the house.

We all enjoyed out stay and would recommend this lodge in a heartbeat.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Austin, MN

More attention to the details

  • 3 of 5

I'll keep it short and to the point. The description of the house is "upscale" and one of the keywords for the house is "luxury". This isn't what we found.

The pros: the house is perfectly layed out for large groups and families, the fire pit is conveniently located close to the house, the house is in a quiet location just off hwy 61 with a beautiful view of the treetops(there is no lake view) and there is a creek down a steep hill that the kids had a blast playing in.

The cons: the dvd player didn't work in the theater room (they left a note on the player "sorry, doesn't work"), the direct tv doesn't come in clearly, there is a thick layer of dust on the light fixtures and picture frames, the walls are all scuffed and marked, there is no chalk for the pool cues, the glassware is a mix of plastic rummage sale finds, the dish towels have large holes and raggedy edges, and the overhead light in the guest bathroom wasn't working (which made for a very dark shower).

If I am going to stay at an "upscale, luxury" home I expect all the features to be "upscale" and I expect all the items in the home to be in working order during our visit. If they aren't working then at least call and let us know (we would have brought our own dvd player). Our kids were pretty disappointed they couldn't have a "movie" night in the theatre room!

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sarah; We are very sorry you had a dissappointing stay at our home and do take your comments seriously. We do try very hard to ensure that we have the cleanest upscale homes for rent in the Lutsen area. Most of the items you mention have already been taken care of and we will continue to monitor the dust on the picture frames and light bulbs in the fixtures. Glassware is always a challenge as the "breakage" rate is very high so we try and mix some glassware with plastic to satisfy what each renter prefers. The DVD player will be replaced this week. We do believe that we have one of the most luxurious homes in Lutsen and will continue to do our best in providing an upscale and luxurious northwoods experience. Greg and June Owners
Boston, MA

Simply fabulous

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I were able to have our small wedding reception at the Grand Retreat, and it was simply amazing in every way. It was the perfect weekend with close friends and family. We found that the lisiting completely described the appearance and amenities and that the property was clean and welcoming. We filled almost every bed, which were really very comfortable, and had plenty of space. We only had a couple of questions during our stay, but they were promptly answered and quickly resolved. I would certainly recommend this property to friends and family visiting the area - in fact, my husband and I are already hoping for a future return trip. The only (minor) issue we encountered included a relative lack of beach towels (remedied by my parents who live in Duluth) - but otherwise we had everything we needed (including some leftover soaps and detergents from previous guests). All in all, we are very appreciative of the wonderful opportunity to celebrate such a big day at the Grand Retreat! We certainly hope to be back soon!

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Lutsen Mountains
Superior National Golf
Cascade River State Park
"Fantastic waterfalls and views of Lake Superior. Great fall fishing for Steelhead and King ..."
Boundary Waters Canoe Area
"Only 15 minutes from the Lutsen Lodges Grand Retreat. Great for canoeing, kayaking, fishing..."
Cascade Lodge & Restaurant
"This is our favorite place to eat that always does a great job and offer some of the best me..."
Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Duluth, MN Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Papa Charlies
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Superior Ridge
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Highway 61
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Lutsen Mountain
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Car: necessary

Wilderness Concierge - If you looking for assistance on personalized activities such as hiking, photography, moose viewing, fishing, hunting, canoeing and much more simply let us know and we can customize a guided or unguided package for you and your guests


Rates & Availability

From $565 Per night

Lutsen House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Memorial Weekend
May 22 2015 - May 25 2015
3 night minimum stay
July 4th Week
Jun 26 2015 - Jul 6 2015
5 night minimum stay
Labor Day Weekend
Sep 4 2015 - Sep 7 2015
3 night minimum stay
MEA Weekend
Oct 14 2015 - Oct 19 2015
3 night minimum stay
Nov 25 2015 - Nov 30 2015
3 night minimum stay
Christmas and New Years
Dec 18 2015 - Jan 4 2016
5 night minimum stay
MLK Weekend
Jan 13 2016 - Jan 19 2016
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $85.00 + Tax
Firewood Fee $25.00 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.88%
Notes All Holidays and Summer Weekends have a 3 NIGHT MINIMUM stay.

Cancellation Fee 60 days or more before 12:01 AM of your first nights rental is $250.00. If cancelled within 60 days of your first days rental there is no refund unless we can re rent the home for AT LEAST the same amount of your reservation.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting manager when booking.
Enter dates to see total


Lutsen House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • River ...
  • Water View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Convertible bed(s) - 1 double
  • Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) full size hide-a-bed Located in the theater room and is private with french doors and curtains, Bunk Beds (2) Basement bunkbeds have a double mattress on bottom and a single mattress on top
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Dedicated theater room with 50-inch plasma screen and 'Surround Sound' system including a Blue Ray DVD Player

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote