OFF SEASON RATES TILL MAY 23RD AND SKIING OPEN TILL MAY 4TH!

From
$495
Enter dates to see total
Email Manager Email

June and Greg Amundson

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

This manager accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

OFF SEASON RATES TILL MAY 23RD AND SKIING OPEN TILL MAY 4TH!

Lutsen House Rental Photos and Description

House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

Huge 2 level upper end Timberframe Lodge that has complete family rooms on each floor! Hickory floors, granite countertops, vaulted ceilings with huge beams and warm cedar. This Home will please the entire family with a dedicated theater room featuring a 50' flatscreen TV and surround sound, deck overlooking Jonvick Creek, large firepit out back, deep leather couches, full size pool table, large wood burning fireplace and much more. This custom home sits on a large wooded lot with no neighbors yet is only 5 minutes from Lutsen Mountain and centrally located for hiking, fishing, waterfalls, and scenic drives.

This home also has been furinished with high quality furniture such as comfy rich leather couches in the great room in front of the large stone wood burning fireplace, large dining room table that will seat 12, massive poster beds with thick mattresses and two comfy sofas (one which has a pull-out Lazy-boy double bed) in the theater room.

Keywords: Home, retreat, cabin, lodge, upscale, luxury, vacation home, vacation rental home

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only

June and Greg Amundson

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2006
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Lutsen Lodges was established to provide families and friends a high quality vacation in an 'upper end' post and beam retreat. Our retreats are located in the Sawtooth Mountains just 5 minutes from Lutsen Mountain and in the midst of numerous lakes, streams, hiking trails, waterfalls and much more. In addition, these retreats are in secluded and quiet locations for those seeking extreme relaxation or outdoor activities.

June and Greg Amundson purchased this house in 2006

Lutsen, Minnesota is the ultimate outdoor recreation area. Whether your interests are hiking, fly fishing, kayaking, mountain biking, photography, lake fishing or hunting, the Lutsen area is unsurpassed for any outdoor activity. Wildlife abounds and you may see moose,wolves. deer, loons, black bear and much more.

Our Retreats feature only the best in amenities. Radiant heated floors, large stone fireplaces, granite countertops, plasma tv's with surround sound and DirecTV, outdoor firepits, comfortable furniture and great beds and best of all large custom kitchens.

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

This manager accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

20 Reviews Write a Review
Off Season Rates Till May 23rd and Skiing Open till May 4th!
average rating of 4.857143 based on 20 reviews
business
Off Season Rates Till May 23rd and Skiing Open till May 4th!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110545vb
(651) 433-4524 (Minnesota, USA)
Lutsen Minnesota
Forest Lake
5

Summer Rejuvenation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Thank you for letting us stay at The Grand Retreat.

What a wonderful experience! We had a lot of fun on the North Shore. The Grand Retreat is perfectly located for our family to visit the various State Parks. We spent time at Grand Portage, Judge C.R. Magney, Cascade, Manitou, Tettegouche, Split Rock and Gooseberry State Parks. Each was within an hour from Lutsen. Our family also hiked a lot on the Superior Hiking Trail, went fishing, did the Zip Line on the Gunflint Trail and did plenty of shopping at the local stores. The Five and Dime in Grand Marais and the Beaver Bay Rock Shop are family favorites.

After our full days we enjoyed relaxing evenings at the Grand Retreat. So nice to come home to a clean place with hot water! A couple nights we grilled out, had s'mores, and enjoyed the TV room and pool table. The kids enjoyed the bunk beds. The Lutsen Gas Station has a great assortment of ice cream.

Deadlines and pressure of the "real world" went away for the week. Our kids especially enjoyed the serenity that comes from the pace of life at the Grand Retreat. We had time to walk, talk, play cards, play games, read and get in that elusive afternoon nap now and again. We felt we had a unique opportunity to spend time as a family without outside interferences. Everything else could wait as we finished the lego creation.

At night, the running creek was relaxing to listen to. We enjoyed watching the moon glimmer off Lake Superior from the main living room area! We could see stars - far more than we can see from home. Caught a sunrise at Grand Marais!

We recommend bringing a good book for each family member and a favorite board game. Our son likes to being a small box of legos and couple matchbox cars.

Some suggestions - the Lutsen Gas Station has plenty of food supplies if needed. Also, Grand Marais has a couple grocery stores and restaurants. We had great breakfasts at the Lockport Café, which is near the Lutsen Gas Station, as well as Sporto's South of Border Café on Hwy 61 in Grand Marais.

The Grand Retreat is a beautiful place for a family to take a vacation.

Thank you.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your comments and kind words.
business
Off Season Rates Till May 23rd and Skiing Open till May 4th!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110545vb
(651) 433-4524 (Minnesota, USA)
Lutsen Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN
5

Great Location to Celebrate Father's 70th Birthday

Great Location to Celebrate Father's 70th Birthday
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We just returned from 4 days at this home. We went for my father's 70th birthday and had a mix of all ages staying there (age 3 - 71). The home was beautiful, in a great setting, and easily accommodated all 12 of us, The large dining room table was perfect, it isn't often homes have enough space for all of us to sit down to meal, but we all fit comfortably. The layout was perfect and allowed everyone to sleep when they wanted without waking other up. And the view was perfect with the creek gently flowing behind the house.

We all enjoyed out stay and would recommend this lodge in a heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Off Season Rates Till May 23rd and Skiing Open till May 4th!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110545vb
(651) 433-4524 (Minnesota, USA)
Lutsen Minnesota
Austin, MN
3

More attention to the details

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I'll keep it short and to the point. The description of the house is "upscale" and one of the keywords for the house is "luxury". This isn't what we found.
The pros: the house is perfectly layed out for large groups and families, the fire pit is conveniently located close to the house, the house is in a quiet location just off hwy 61 with a beautiful view of the treetops(there is no lake view) and there is a creek down a steep hill that the kids had a blast playing in.
The cons: the dvd player didn't work in the theater room (they left a note on the player "sorry, doesn't work"), the direct tv doesn't come in clearly, there is a thick layer of dust on the light fixtures and picture frames, the walls are all scuffed and marked, there is no chalk for the pool cues, the glassware is a mix of plastic rummage sale finds, the dish towels have large holes and raggedy edges, and the overhead light in the guest bathroom wasn't working (which made for a very dark shower).
If I am going to stay at an "upscale, luxury" home I expect all the features to be "upscale" and I expect all the items in the home to be in working order during our visit. If they aren't working then at least call and let us know (we would have brought our own dvd player). Our kids were pretty disappointed they couldn't have a "movie" night in the theatre room!
Owner's Response: Sarah;
We are very sorry you had a dissappointing stay at our home and do take your comments seriously. We do try very hard to ensure that we have the cleanest upscale homes for rent in the Lutsen area. Most of the items you mention have already been taken care of and we will continue to monitor the dust on the picture frames and light bulbs in the fixtures. Glassware is always a challenge as the "breakage" rate is very high so we try and mix some glassware with plastic to satisfy what each renter prefers. The DVD player will be replaced this week. We do believe that we have one of the most luxurious homes in Lutsen and will continue to do our best in providing an upscale and luxurious northwoods experience.
Greg and June
Owners
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Off Season Rates Till May 23rd and Skiing Open till May 4th!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110545vb
(651) 433-4524 (Minnesota, USA)
Lutsen Minnesota
Boston, MA
5

Simply fabulous

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My husband and I were able to have our small wedding reception at the Grand Retreat, and it was simply amazing in every way. It was the perfect weekend with close friends and family. We found that the lisiting completely described the appearance and amenities and that the property was clean and welcoming. We filled almost every bed, which were really very comfortable, and had plenty of space. We only had a couple of questions during our stay, but they were promptly answered and quickly resolved. I would certainly recommend this property to friends and family visiting the area - in fact, my husband and I are already hoping for a future return trip. The only (minor) issue we encountered included a relative lack of beach towels (remedied by my parents who live in Duluth) - but otherwise we had everything we needed (including some leftover soaps and detergents from previous guests). All in all, we are very appreciative of the wonderful opportunity to celebrate such a big day at the Grand Retreat! We certainly hope to be back soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Off Season Rates Till May 23rd and Skiing Open till May 4th!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110545vb
(651) 433-4524 (Minnesota, USA)
Lutsen Minnesota
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Women's church retreat

Women's church retreat
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Twelve women from church thoroughly enjoyed your beautiful home. We thought it was especially thoughtful of you to have a large dining room table that seats 12 and was perfect for our group. We enjoyed 2 days of hiking, lots of laughter, sunshine, game playing and wisdom swapping. We are GLOW(God Loving Outdoor Women)
Helpful votes: 1/1
Email Manager Email

Map

Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Duluth, MN Airport
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Highway 61
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
beach
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Papa Charlies
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Lutsen Mountain
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Superior Ridge
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Moguls
Car: necessary

Wilderness Concierge - If you looking for assistance on personalized activities such as hiking, photography, moose viewing, fishing, hunting, canoeing and much more simply let us know and we can customize a guided or unguided package for you and your guests

Email Manager Email

Photos

Email Manager Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Lutsen House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Off Season
Apr 1 - May 22
2 night minimum stay
$495
 
 
Memorial Weekend
May 23 2014 - May 26 2014
3 night minimum stay
$595
 
 
July 4th Week
Jun 27 2014 - Jul 7 2014
3 night minimum stay
$595
 
 
Labor Day Weekend
Aug 29 2014 - Sep 1 2014
3 night minimum stay
$595
 
 
MEA Weekend
Oct 15 2014 - Oct 20 2014
3 night minimum stay
$595
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 26 2014 - Nov 30 2014
3 night minimum stay
$595
 
 
Christmas and New Years
Dec 19 2014 - Jan 5 2015
3 night minimum stay
$595
 
 
MLK Weekend
Jan 16 2015 - Jan 19 2015
3 night minimum stay
$595
 
 
Presidents Weekend
Feb 13 2015 - Feb 16 2015
3 night minimum stay
$595
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$550
From
$550
Fri,Sat,Sun
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100.00 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $75.00 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.88%
Notes All Holidays and Summer Weekends have a 3 NIGHT MINIMUM stay.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Email Manager Email

Amenities

Lutsen House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Mountain
  • River ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Towels Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Heating ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Telephone ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Garage ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Filtered Water
  • Firewood
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Stove
  • Catering Available
  • Kitchen ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen size hide-a-bed Located in the theater room and is private with doors, Bunk Beds (2) Basement bunkbeds have a double matress on bottom and a single mattress on top
Entertainment:
  • Radio
  • Books
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • Television ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Pool Table
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Wood Deck
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Walkway to Water
  • Terrace
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • marina
  • pond
  • waterfalls
  • coin laundry
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
  • eco tourism
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • boating
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
  • horseback riding
  • antiquing
  • scenic drives
Local Services & Businesses:
  • medical services
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • fitness center
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • rock climbing
  • cross country skiing
  • kayaking
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • skiing
  • golf
  • water skiing
  • mountain biking
  • hunting
  • mountaineering
  • deepsea fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • pier fishing
  • water tubing
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • mountain climbing
Notes:
Dedicated theater room with 42-inch plasma screen and 'Surround Sound' system including a Blue Ray DVD Player
Email Manager Email