LONE SPRUCE RANCH - PEACE & QUIET IN THE BEAUTIFUL BLACK HILLS!

Kim and Marcia Benning

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Kim and Marcia Benning

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

LONE SPRUCE RANCH - PEACE & QUIET IN THE BEAUTIFUL BLACK HILLS!

Hill City Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

11375 Seven Hills Rd, Hill City (Rochford) SD 57745

We answer our emails everyday! When emailing a request for information and are expecting a return e-mail from us be sure to check your spam or junk mail, especially if you have your computer set on a high security setting.

Lone Spruce Ranch is one of the most unique vacations you will ever take. Located 'somewhere between Peace & Quiet', this cabin is nestled in the middle of the Black Hills National Forest, 20 miles northwest of Hill City. It is part of ten acres that is completely surrounded by Federal forested land. A stream is on the property. This is the ideal property for hiking, hunting, relaxation and ATVing.

One bedroom with a queen bed is located on the lower level along with a full bathroom, the living room, dining area, kitchen and laundry room. A full mattress futon sleeper is located in the living room. The spacious loft room has two queen beds and a full bathroom as well.

Everything you need is included in the cabin. A beautiful gas-log fireplace is the centerpiece of the living room with a flat screen 32' TV (an additional TV is in the downstairs bedroom.) The entire cabin is newly carpeted. Please note that the photos you see on this site are current photos and have not been digitally enhanced.

You will be about one-half hour from Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Mountain, and Custer State Park. You will have total privacy and relaxation on site. This is a favorite cabin for our repeat guests! Due to the seclusion of this property, there is no hot tub, no internet access, and no cell service.

If the dates you need are not available here, please see our other listing #s 162608, #384912, 184212 and 184229, 365383, 27119, 225481, #449350 or 418123!

Please note: Although a credit card is required to hold the rental pending receipt of your deposit, we offer to waive our 3% reservation processing fee if all payments are made by check, money order or cash.

Keywords: Cabin

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only

Kim and Marcia Benning

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2002
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.6
based on 12 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Lone Spruce Ranch - Peace & Quiet in the Beautiful Black Hills!
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 12 reviews
business
Lone Spruce Ranch - Peace & Quiet in the Beautiful Black Hills!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p19775vb
(605) 574-2250 (South Dakota, USA)
Hill City Black Hills
suburb of Minneapolis, MN
5

GREAT, AMAZING PLACE TO STAY

  • 5 of 5
We stayed at Lone Spruce as a family, my husband & I, along with our son, his wife and their two children ages 4 years and 21 months old. It was a wonderful place for a family vacation. Kitchen was very well equipped, it was very clean, beds & pillows very comfy. Good quality soft bath towels and bedding. Card decks and puzzles for rainy days. Safe interior for the kids, and lots of mowed green grass for the kids to play, run and burn off energy. Very quiet and peaceful! We went for a walk every evening along the dirt road on the property and picked wild flowers for the table. We would stay here again in a heart beat. Only one downside, it's a long way from everything, including Hill City, but that also provided a great respite from the tourist atmosphere. It would have been a crowning touch if we could have had an outdoor campfire, but we were aware of the restrictions against open fires in the national forest.
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for providing a positive review for our Lone Spruce Ranch! Our housekeepers work very hard to provide guests a clean and comfortable "home away from home". We have many repeat guests who appreciate its seclusion and distance from the crowds. It is 20 miles from Hill City, but we hope our guests enjoy the varied landscapes and views as they travel to and from the cabin through out their stay. It is a great place for families with children needing a place to wear off energy from long day trips in the car! I'm glad this reviewer mentioned walking along the trails from the cabin. With our recent abundant rainfall, the wildflowers are plentiful and soon the chokecherries will be ripe for picking! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you can return again another year.
Marcia
business
Lone Spruce Ranch - Peace & Quiet in the Beautiful Black Hills!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p19775vb
(605) 574-2250 (South Dakota, USA)
Hill City Black Hills
5

LONE SPRUCE RANCH VISIT

  • 5 of 5
It was a wonderful time of connecting up with friends the first night, enjoying the trails, the wildlife surrounding the area and just enjoying the peace and quiet of no computer/cell connections. The last three nights it was just us doing as we wished, couldn't have been better. It was a great get away!
  • Submitted: May 29, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lone Spruce Ranch - Peace & Quiet in the Beautiful Black Hills!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p19775vb
(605) 574-2250 (South Dakota, USA)
Hill City Black Hills
Orange City, Iowa
5

AMAZING RENTAL!

  • 5 of 5
We absolutely loved our stay at this cabin. The seclusion and quiet was exactly what we were looking for. The cabin was about 30 minutes from Hill City, but we really enjoyed driving through the beautiful Black Hills. The cabin was very clean and organized with all the needed towels and bedding. The front porch was the perfect viewing area to take in the Black Hills valley and wild life, with plenty of chairs and a bench for seating. We enjoyed the stunning sunrises and spectacular star filled skies at night. We would highly recommend this cabin to anyone looking for peace and quiet. We will definitely be back!
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lone Spruce Ranch - Peace & Quiet in the Beautiful Black Hills!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p19775vb
(605) 574-2250 (South Dakota, USA)
Hill City Black Hills
4

A LITTLE PEACE OF HEAVEN

  • 4 of 5
If you are looking for peace and seclusion then Lone Spruce Ranch is the place for you! We are very active and wanted a place to go "home" to after adventurous days that was off the beaten path, and boy was it ever! The cabin was well appointed and very clean. The beds are comfortable and the shower worked very well with plenty of hot water. Don't bother toting toilet paper, coffee filters, bottled water, dish wash liquid, bath soap, or even a blow dryer to this cabin, it's all there. When we first arrived the cabin was a bit warm, but once we turned the ac on, and it cooled down, it was quite comfortable for our entire stay. The view from the cabin is just beautiful, and is so secluded. It's just you and Mother Nature in the middle of the Black Hills. It was pure heaven!! We saw an abundance of wildlife while sitting on the porch, including deer. At night the stars were big and bright. You can even see the Milky Way. There is one suggestion, deck chairs. The owner should invest in some deck chairs. The only seating there is on the porch is one uncomfortable wooden bench. While at the cabin we spent most of our time outside, so we took the two folding chairs from the breakfast nook outside under the porch to be more comfortable. And the cabin is so centrally located that we even took a couple of road trips. One to Montana to see Devil's Tower and another to Badlands National Park. For those on motorcycles, and if you're renting, you'll want to drop the bike off and pick it up daily. The ride "home" on a long gravel road makes travel on bikes almost impossible, which for us was no big deal. Who really wants to hears loud pipes when you're in the middle of heaven! The owners and staff were so accomodating and gracious that it made our stay all the better. If we ever make it back to the Black Hills, we will most definitely stay at Lone Spruce Ranch. Thanks for the memories!

Kevin and Evelyn David
Spring, Tx
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Lone Spruce Ranch - Peace & Quiet in the Beautiful Black Hills!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p19775vb
(605) 574-2250 (South Dakota, USA)
Hill City Black Hills
Augusta, Ky
3

ABOUT AS EXPECTED

  • 3 of 5
The cabin was about as expected from previous reviews, peace and quiet. The cabin was clean, plenty of space, fully stocked, and as described. There was plenty of drinking water stocked in the cabin as the water from the taps was undrinkable. The drive from Hill City was a little far, considering 6 miles was on gravel roads which left the rental van very dusty. The owner (Marcia) was very nice and willing to help answer any and all questions.

We were a little disappointed that we did not see a lot of wildlife on or near the property with the exception of the rabbit which seemed to be living under the porch. There were plenty of cows on the adjacent property and in behind the cabin. All in all, was a good place to get away for rest and relaxation, but a little far from town to use as a launching pad for sight seeing.
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Yes, this reviewer does point out what we advertise about this location: it is far removed from the hustle and bustle of typical tourism. It is "peace & quiet" to an extreme....yet only 30 minutes from Hill City and on to other tourist spots in the Hills. This cabin has one of the highest "repeat visitors" record of all our rentals due to its location. Most guests here are repeat tourists to the Black Hills who are planning a vacation to actually spend time RELAXING...reading a book....hiking in the forest and communicating with nature.
One must be an early riser and willing to walk the adjacent forest service paths to find wildlife as typically the deer, antelope, elk and other wildlife avoid human presence.
We appreciate feedback from all our guests and hope these reviews are helpful to others in planning their Black Hills Vacations!
Marcia
business
Lone Spruce Ranch - Peace & Quiet in the Beautiful Black Hills!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p19775vb
(605) 574-2250 (South Dakota, USA)
Hill City Black Hills
North Dakota
3

NICE LOCATION

  • 3 of 5
The cabin was nice and we enjoyed the remote location. We did have a few complaints about the stay. One, the fence surrounding the property was down in a few locations allowing a herd of cattle to come onto the 10 acres of property. We chased them off numerous times as recommended by the property management company. Of course they came back repeatedly. This prevented other wildlife from being around the property and brought with it the flies that come with cows and their waste.

Second, despite the window air conditioner it got very warm in the cabin. We closed the shades during sunny times and opened windows at night. The pilot light on the fireplace remains on and puts out a lot of heat. I understand that they don't want guests changing fireplace settings, but it seems in late June and July even the nights are warm enough that heat is not necessary.

Otherwise great location and enjoyable stay.
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for posting your review on this web site.
We are sorry the fireplace pilot light felt too warm during your stay. Had we known it was an issue, we could have given you direction to disable the pilot light. However, most guests use the fireplace year around, so we ask that guests do not adjust the settings.
After reading your review we immediately called the current guests to find out if their stay was "uncomfortable". They said everything was just fine and were in fact using the fireplace due to the chilly night time and early morning temperatures.
To other prospective guests: Yes, cattle did trample down the fence between our property and the free range forest service grazing property. Unfortunately, these guests did not let us know about the invasion until the last one or two nights of their stay. Audrey's comment would have you believe our solution to the problem was "to run them off". We do not expect our guests to resolve problems on their own.....
Once we heard of the problem of the downed fence, we were able to get maintenance there on the second day to repair the fence. Whether you are staying with us or ANY VRBO cabin, we highly recommend notification of your home owner or management company IMMEDIATELY if needed help or repairs are needed.
We are just a phone call away!
Marcia

Map

The Lone Spruce Ranch is the ultimate place to get away from it all! Located on 10 privately owned acres completely surrounded by the gorgeous Black Hills National Forest. You are completely secluded yet within a 40 minute drive to most major attractions. Our repeat guests love this location because of the privacy and serenity it offers. Plan your day trips to the attractions and come back to the Lone Spruce Ranch to relax, unwind, enjoy family time, and the night stars! Perfect for repeat guests that just want to get away and enjoy the hills, lakes, wildlife, and possibly a trip to the village of Rochford to enjoy a burger and a beer at the Historic Moonshine Gulch Saloon.

Photos

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Hill City Cabin Rental Rates

Notes

  • $148-$185/nt
  • US Dollars
  • Peak Season .. Memorial Day Weekend through Labor Day : $185/night.
  • Off Season ... Labor Day to the Thursday before Memorial Day Weekend: $148/night.
  • One time cleaning fee of $75 from Memorial Day weekend through October 15
  • No Discounts during Peak Season, except that we offer to waive our 3% reservation
  • processing fee if all payments are made by check, money order or cash.
  • 3 nite Minimum during Peak Season;Two-Night Minimum during Off Season.
  • Tax rate is 5.5% Deposits required with a 2 month cancellation time frame for
  • refund. All cancellations are assessed a $35 fee.

Amenities

Hill City Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Air Conditioning
  • Telephone ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking
  • Living Room
Kitchen:
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Kitchen
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Downstairs, Double Sinks
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Loft
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Downstairs
    Loft - 2 queen , Nice large space with 2 beds
  • Queen size Beds (3), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Futon with innerspring mattress in living room
Entertainment:
  • Stereo
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • VCR
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • sledding
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
  • horseback riding
  • boating
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hunting
  • snowmobiling
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • swimming
  • hiking
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rock climbing
  • cycling

Other Vacation Properties

$75 - $165 per night
1 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$960 - $1,290 per week
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$2,094 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6