Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Ocean View Costa Rican Villa with Private Pool!(Canto Del Mar)

Brittany Hudson

Member since: 2008
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Manager

Brittany Hudson

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 18, 2015
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Ocean View Costa Rican Villa with Private Pool!(Canto Del Mar)

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Dominical Villa Rental Photos and Description

Villa, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 2-5)

Brand New ocean view villa with a beautiful bay view and a 7 minute walk to Dominicalito beach. You can hear the ocean from this mountain-side villa and enjoy the breeze from aloft! The Costa Rican wildlife is abundant, especially in the morning when the birds are singing. It is not uncommon to spot a tucan or other wildlife while sitting under the palapa next to your private pool.

Each bedroom (located on the lower level) has a queen size bed , a balcony and it's own bathroom with his/her sinks (one bathroom has a shower/tub and the other just a shower). The laundry room and a small living area is also on the lower level. The upper level consists of the kitchen, dining/living area and half bath...and don't forget the views, views, views! The wrap-around balcony and patio (complete with pool) is right outside the sliding doors on the upper level.

WiFi is available!!

Maid service is once a week and included with your stay.

Also, if you are renting a vehicle, it is advised that you rent a 4WD. The villa sits on a steep hill and most of the roads off the main highway are unpaved. Therefore, a 4WD would be best.

Keywords: Villa,bungalo,casita,house

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Brittany Hudson (Property Manager)
Member since: 2008
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 18, 2015

About Brittany Hudson

We are a busy family with four kids. We live in a Northwest suburb of Chicago. My husband and I work in property management for our family company. We are very proud of all of our properties but this one is our 'baby'. Of course, the kids love it, too! We bought it as an investment property and hope to use it as our second home some day. We vacation there when we can with the kids or without. We hope to make many memories at our little Villa Vista Encantada(villa with the enchanted view)!

Brittany Hudson purchased this villa in 2006

Why Brittany Hudson chose Dominical

We chose Dominical after looking into Mexico, Belize and down the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica because of the 'surf' town and affordability. It really reminded me of Lahaina, Maui 30 years ago. It is very 'untouched'. You won't find a McDonald's in Dominical...at least not yet.

What makes this villa unique

You can walk to Dominicalito beach in about 7 minutes and also explore the area and walk to one of the local 'swimming pools'(it's a small waterfall/pool nearby). Our management company, Costa del Sol, is located right down the road from Canto del Mar. Dave or Deb will be happy to make your reservation\ and can also help with rental cars, excursions, and tours. We love to wake up to our wonderful view and hang out on the patio in the morning. We have our coffee and watch the birds while the younger ones swim. We eat breakfast at the villa or in town and usually discuss what we are going to do for the day. Some of our favorite things to do are Nauyaca Falls(kid friendly horseback ride), whale watching/snorkel tour, surfing, boogie boarding, exploring the many beaches, going to Manuel Antonio for the day, and finding great places to eat dinner!

Why HomeAway

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.8
based on 17 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Ocean View Costa Rican Villa with Private Pool!(Canto Del Mar)
average rating of 4.7647057 based on 17 reviews
5

Excellent villa!

  • 5 of 5

Very nice and confortable house, amazing views, very close for beaches, restaurants and different attractions. I´ll visit again!!!

Important do not forget your 4x4 !

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Dominical

  • 5 of 5

Very nice house, amazing views. House was in good shape. Would visit again or recommend, as long as you have a car that can go up a semi-steep hill, that is not paved.

Thanks for all!

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay. The view from the villa is pretty awesome. I absolutely love to get up early and sit on the porch to bird watch and listen to the howler monkeys. And, I love to look at and listen to the ocean and watch the fisherman come and go out of Dominicalito. It is a steep incline to the villa which is why I do mention in my listing that you really need a 4WD to get up the mountain side. Also, the steep incline is why we have such a great view because it is one of the only places in Costa Rica where the mountains meet the beaches. In general, the terrain can be rough and mountainous since most of the roads are unpaved in Dominical and the surrounding towns and beaches. And, it is wise to have a 4WD while visiting the area because anything off the main highway is usually a gravel road. Thank you for your review and I do hope you will think of Villa Vista Encantada (Villa #25) if you are to visit Dominical in the future.
2

Disappointing Villa

  • 2 of 5

I rely on reviews for booking my vacation rentals so I hope that people write balanced reviews so that's what I'm going to do. I'll start with the positives; wonderful view greets you as you walk into the villa. There is a very spacious floor plan on the main floor. The pool was larger than we expected and we used it a great deal.

Canto del Mar is a gated community with 35 villas. We found it eerie after a while that you don't see anyone. You know people are there - they drive by in their cars and you see lights at night but we only encountered one person to speak to down by the guard house. Walking around is difficult because the road inside is so bad - we walked to the Waterfall and were slipping and sliding down the road - surprised the community association has let the roads get so bad.

The pool area in #25 is not terribly private - a road in front allows drivers view and villa beside has balcony that overlooks pool. You also have to make choices when booking in the area between the convenience of being near the highway or the quiet of being higher up in the hills. Canto del Mar is near highway 34 and you will hear the constant sound of transport trucks zooming along. It slows down a bit at night and then you can hear the surf. We stayed in the Escalera area previous and we preferred the quiet.

villa #25 was pretty clean when we arrived but there were issues during our stay that we reported to the property manager. We felt the owner addressed the personal issues we had. I would say, overall the villa needs some serious maintenance. Twist ties holding shower head in place, some bare wires showing at outside patio lights, fan and dining room fixtures not working, light bulbs out around the place, very bad smell in one of the bathrooms downstairs. Some kitchen cabinet doors don't open. Generally things that won't really impact your vacation but nevertheless you kind of expect more.

we won't stay in Canto del Mar again - we saw other places while there that we think offer better value for money spent.

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I read your review and I cannot tell you how upset I am. I am sorry you had such a bad experience and you clearly did not like the area and I know that things went wrong while you were there and that there were maintenance issues. So, let me start by apologizing. I know the road to the villa is steep and it is gravel. I do mention in my listing that you will need a 4WD to access my villa. The villa is on a mountainside and it does get graded a couple times a year, however, it is the rainforest and the terrain changes very quickly due to the amount of rain. I have recently changed management companies. You may recall that Dave made the reservation for you. I no longer use him (Costa del Sol Property Management Co.) because they grossly mismanaged my property. I am sorry that a few things were not up to standards but, I assure you I am working on it. I understand you have your opinions and a right to them but some things are out of my control. I know the trucks making noise bothered you but, that highway is the only highway. It literally is the only way in and out of Dominical. And, it connects to both Nicaragua and Panama. And, when people ask about the noise I tell them about the trucks. Unfortunately, it is something that you can’t avoid. If you want to be close to the beach you are going to be close to the highway. And, the trucks can be heard sometimes at that point because they are shifting gears and the sound carries. The other things that were out of my control were the sewer problem and the fan which I felt I compensated you for and had repaired as soon as possible. I would have been upset too. I work very hard, and am a property manager myself in the U.S. And, I cannot tell you the frustration I have had with the past management company. My villa went from a 5 star villa to what I considered a 3 star villa in less than a year because it was neglected and I was taken advantage of , however, I have worked with my new management company to rectify the situation. And, I believe we are back on track.
Germany
5

Canto Del Mar Villa

  • 5 of 5

The listing description was accurate regarding the location .

The listing photos reflected accurately the rental's appearance and amenities - very beautiful!

The property was very clean and well maintained.

The owner or the manager respectively was VERY helpful in answering our questions and concerns.

I would recommend the property to a ralative or friend.

Since we stayed there with a little child we cannot recommend any activities exept the pool and the beach...

We enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Submitted: May 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Fabulous!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay. The villa was well maintained with the most amazing views of Playa Dominicalito. What a great location too; surrounded by wildlife and close to everything Dominical and Uvita has to offer-- great beaches, restaurants, and lots of Eco-adventure. We can't wait for our next visit!!

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
4

neat place to stay with stellar view

  • 4 of 5

fantastic view! wow.

nice house will all the amenities of home. Nice pool. child friendly property (other than the pool). quick drive out of dominical and easy beach access. would most definitely stay here again

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. The view there is definitely one of the best! The town of Dominical is a wonderful place to visit along with all the beaches in the area. It seems there is always something new in that small town. And, I love that you can go on little adventures or just relax up at the pool all day. Hope you come back soon and stay at our villa vista encantada. It is a special place. Pura Vida!

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Quepos
Nearest Restaurant
Porque No!
Nearest Beach
Dominicalito
Nearest Point of Interest
Villa Vista Encantada #25
Nearest Point of Interest
Town of Dominical
Nearest Point of Interest
Grocery Store and Bank
Nearest Point of Interest
Road to San Jose and Nauyaca Tour
Nearest Point of Interest
Hacienda Baru / also on the road to Manuel Antonio
Nearest Point of Interest
Bigger Grocery Store
Nearest Point of Interest
Gas Station
Nearest Point of Interest
Quepos Airport
Nearest Point of Interest
Palmar Sur Airport
Nearest Point of Interest
Playa Manuel Antonio/Antonio National Park
Nearest Point of Interest
San Jose/International Airport (SJO)
Car: necessary

Explore the many beaches near us like Dominical, Dominicalito, Playa Hermosa, Playa Ballena (Ballena National Park),Playa Ventanas and many more! 10 minute drive to zip lining, 25 minute drive to Nauyaca Falls (this is a great horseback tour! Kid friendly! and includes breakfast and lunch). Manuel Antonio National Park and beaches are only 45 minutes away and a great place to visit for the day. The town of Dominical offers some great little restaurants and shopping and is known for great surfing for both beginners and pros. Also, there are nearby grocery stores, banks and gas stations. There are plenty of sports and activities around to keep you busy or you can just relax at the villa.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $175 Per night

Dominical Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
High Season
Apr 7 2015 - Jul 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
Green Season
Aug 1 2015 - Oct 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
$175
 
 
High Season
Nov 1 2015 - Dec 18 2015
2 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
Peak Season
Dec 19 2015 - Jan 3 2016
2 night minimum stay
$300
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes Please inquire for best rental rates.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Dominical Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , with his/her sinks
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , with his/her sinks
    Bathroom 1 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    living area downstairs - 1 sleep sofa /futon , It is a sofa/day bed that sleeps 1
  • Queen size bed in each bedroom and each bedroom has a full bathroom. The day bed is located just outside of the bedrooms in a living area downstairs.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Fully furnished, fully equipped unit with an open floor plan, 2 parking spots, washer and dryer in unit, maid service, gated community with 24 hour security, small electronic safe in unit, pool is great for kids and adults.

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$1,000 - $2,300 per week
3 - 7 night min stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$1,500 - $2,250 per week
5 - 7 night min stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$1,350 - $2,625 per week
3 - 7 night min stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 5

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote