COMFY,COZY & WITH A HOT TUB! BOOK YOU SKI VACATION NOW!

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

COMFY,COZY & WITH A HOT TUB! BOOK YOU SKI VACATION NOW!

Monarch Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

BOOK NOW for your 2013-1014 SKi Dates!

!!!!!!!! DISCOUNTS !!!!!!

1) Book 6 nights get the 7th free.

Address: 22580 CR 227 Monarch, Co

Enjoy all that Colorado has to offer: Hunting, Mountain Biking, ATVing, Hiking, Horseback riding, Fishing, rafting/Kayaking, Skiing, snowboarding,snow mobiling or relaxing and reading a good book....

About our place:

Mirkwood Cottage, named after the back country skiing area at Monarch Mountain, is located in the historic town of Garfield (AKA Monarch). Here you are just minutes to an abundance of activities. This cottage can accommodate all. This is the place for you!

Enjoy skiing at Monarch Ski Area, just 3 miles up the road. Or for the more adventurous, Monarch pass offers excellent backcountry skiing and riding.

Monarch pass is also home to some of the country's best mountain biking. The pass offers many loops off the Crest Trail.

And, don't forget the Arkansas River flows right through the town of Salida (20 minutes away), offering world class whitewater rafting, kayaking, and gold medal fishing.

The cabin:

When you enter Mirkwood Cottage, you walk into a high ceiling open area. From here you may proceed upstairs to the sitting area/loft.

From the loft you have access to the upstairs deck where you may enjoy views of the surrounding area. You will also find a room with 2 double beds and an attached bath.

Downstairs you will find a fully equipped kitchen, eating area, sitting area, a bedroom with a queen sized bed, a full bath off the hallway, and a large mud/laundry room.

Off the back of the house is a porch with a private hot tub to help you relax after a day of adventure.

Come and Visit!!!!

Keywords: House/Cabin

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
Owner
Advertiser since 2008
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.3
based on 6 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Comfy,Cozy & With a hot tub! Book you ski vacation now!
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 6 reviews
business
Comfy,Cozy & With a hot tub! Book you ski vacation now!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p197051vb
Monarch South Central Colorado
3

Clean and Convenient for Skiing at Monarch

  • 3 of 5
This cottage was clean and in decent shape. It was very close to Monarch mountain and very convenient for skiing.The kitchen had plenty of dishes and there were plenty of linens. The cottage was plenty warm enough, too. However, there is NOTHING else nearby so make sure you take everything you need with you. The hot tub did not work - the jets would not reliably turn on- but the water was hot. The owner responded quickly when we called and came out and turned them on for us the first day and said he would fix it our second day there and let us know what was going on, but we did not hear from him again. To be fair, there was a huge snow storm so maybe he couldn't get back?
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. Yes, it is true there are no amenities in the old mining town of Monarch, but is the closest place to stay for skiing. Luckily Poncha Springs is just 10 miles away and Salida 20 miles, where you have access to numerous choices.
We are sorry about the jets not working on the hot tub, but as you said the owner did get there right when you called and had to order parts to fix where a previous renter had dismantled the jets. Being a rural town it takes days to get things. At least the hot tub was working so that you could use it.
We are sorry you were inconvenienced.
business
Comfy,Cozy & With a hot tub! Book you ski vacation now!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p197051vb
Monarch South Central Colorado
5

Great Getaway

  • 5 of 5
What a lovely place! Three women and I escaped the city, and our husbands, for a few days of skiing at Monarch. The house was perfect, comfy beds and the hot tub-fabulous after a hard day of skiing. The house was clean and we had everything we needed. We would definitely stay there again!
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Comfy,Cozy & With a hot tub! Book you ski vacation now!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p197051vb
Monarch South Central Colorado
4

Ski Trip

  • 4 of 5
The cabin is easy to find and get to. Very close to Monarch ski resort. It is close enough to sleep in and still make to the lifts before opening. The cabin was in nice condition and clean enough. It was well stocked with plates, glasses, ect. for our trip. If your going for a ski trip I would recommend this property as a nice place to stay. We will be going back.
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
Comfy,Cozy & With a hot tub! Book you ski vacation now!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p197051vb
Monarch South Central Colorado
4

Good atmosphere and ski location

  • 4 of 5
This was a charming and comfortable cottage for four adults and two small children. It was convenient to ski at Monarch being only 3 miles away. We enjoyed the hot tub on the deck. The kitchen allowed easy meal preparation and clean-up. The views and atmosphere in the cottage was just right. We would recommend it.
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Comfy,Cozy & With a hot tub! Book you ski vacation now!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p197051vb
Monarch South Central Colorado
Colorado
5

Great Location & Great Hosts!

Great Location & Great Hosts!
  • 5 of 5
We did the extended stay in Mirkwood Cottage from May through October 2013. What a great location for hiking, biking, fishing and rafting. It was an easy drive for dining and shopping in Poncha Springs, Salida and Buena Vista. Summertime was green and lush with amazing wildlife - especially the hummingbirds! The owners were super nice and had helpful info on all the activities in the area. The cabin has all the comforts of home plus two private decks that were really relaxing at the end of the day. It was a romantic spot for the two of us and would also be great for a family or group of friends for a week or a weekend. Terrific family ski area right up the road at Monarch! We highly recommend it!
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Comfy,Cozy & With a hot tub! Book you ski vacation now!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p197051vb
Monarch South Central Colorado
Colorado Springs, CO
5

Cozy and Wonderful

  • 5 of 5
I stayed at this cabin for a Spring Break ski trip with my brother and nephew on 3/10/12 to 3/13/12. The place was clean and well supplied with kitchen ware. It is in a very small community with a few cabins near by. There were lots of people around, but this was still quiet and cozy. The owners have it well appointed, a land line with free long distance and satellite tv. It is 3 miles from Monarch Mountain ski area. The views are wonderful. The place is comfortable and very cozy. The requirements are few and I cannot say enough how great the owners are with responses to questions and very reasonable they are. I will DEFINITELY be coming back and using this cottage. I have forwarded my experience and all contact information for this property to my boss, co workers and friends who are considering a trip. I would use this property for any season...Summer, Winter, Spring or Fall. It is far enough out of town to feel remote, yet close enough you don't have to haul the entire house with you to stay here. I have found my Spring Break ski accommodations from now on. I believe I will even inquire about a Summer rental. It is close to the Arkansas River and many outfitters. There are snow mobile rentals near by, river rafting companies, Jeep rentals, zipline tours and so many other activities. I live in Colorado Springs so it is only a couple of hours, but my family lives in Texas. I can say without a doubt that it is worth every penny for the stay, worth every mile for the trip. The proximity to Monarch Mountain is excellent at 5 minutes up the road. It is cozy and you feel right at home. I would like to express my gratitude to the owners of this property for making it home like and just a really enjoyable experience.
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Monarch Lodge: Sidewinder: Other salida choices
Nearest Ski
3 Miles
Monarch Ski Area
Nearest Golf
16 Miles
Salida Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
16 Miles
Many Salida Choices
Car: necessary
Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Monarch Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Late Spring - Fall
Apr 14 2014 - Oct 31 2014
2 night minimum stay
$165
$825
$1,100
 
 
Fall
Nov 3 2014 - Nov 30 2014
2 night minimum stay
$175
$1,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 6.9%
Notes Pets are only allowed on a case by case basis. If pets are found to have been in the cabin without permission there will be an extra charge.

Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Monarch Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Sports & Activities
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Free Long Distance
  • Washing Machine
  • Telephone
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Futon
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • horseback riding
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • hunting
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • whitewater rafting
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • cross country skiing
  • kayaking
  • swimming
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$1,440 per week
2 - 4 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$200 - $250 per night
3 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$2,240 - $2,975 per week
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 16