Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Comfy,Cozy & With a hot tub! Book your ski vacation now!

Owner

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Owner
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
March 16, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Comfy,Cozy & With a hot tub! Book your ski vacation now!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Monarch Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

BOOK NOW for your 2014-1015 SKi Dates!

!!!!!!!! DISCOUNTS !!!!!!

1) Book 6 nights get the 7th free.

Address: 22580 CR 227 Monarch, Co 81227

Enjoy all that Colorado has to offer: Hunting, Mountain Biking, ATVing, Hiking, Horseback riding, Fishing, rafting/Kayaking, Skiing, snowboarding,snow mobiling or relaxing and reading a good book....

About our place:

Mirkwood Cottage, named after the back country skiing area at Monarch Mountain, is located in the historic town of Garfield (AKA Monarch). Here you are just minutes to an abundance of activities. This cottage can accommodate all. This is the place for you!

Enjoy skiing at Monarch Ski Area, just 3 miles up the road. Or for the more adventurous, Monarch pass offers excellent backcountry skiing and riding.

Monarch pass is also home to some of the country's best mountain biking. The pass offers many loops off the Crest Trail.

And, don't forget the Arkansas River flows right through the town of Salida (20 minutes away), offering world class whitewater rafting, kayaking, and gold medal fishing.

The cabin:

When you enter Mirkwood Cottage, you walk into a high ceiling open area. From here you may proceed upstairs to the sitting area/loft.

From the loft you have access to the upstairs deck where you may enjoy views of the surrounding area. You will also find a room with 2 double beds and an attached bath.

Downstairs you will find a fully equipped kitchen, eating area, sitting area, a bedroom with a queen sized bed, a full bath off the hallway, and a large mud/laundry room.

Off the back of the house is a porch with a private hot tub to help you relax after a day of adventure.

Come and Visit!!!!

Keywords: House/Cabin

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Owner
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
March 16, 2015

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.4
based on 7 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Comfy,Cozy & With a hot tub! Book your ski vacation now!
average rating of 4.428571 based on 7 reviews
5

Wonderful family getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 6 (Mom,Dad, 4 kids) had a great weekend of family time and skiing at Monarch. Everyone enjoyed the cabin, even though it was a bit tight. Very close to the slopes. We did have a heck of a time getting to the cabin because of a lot of fresh snow the night of our arrival (we drive a mini van), but the street in front was plowed the next morning and with the help of the kids we were able to shovel our way in and out. We do plan on returning!

  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
3

Clean and Convenient for Skiing at Monarch

  • 3 of 5

This cottage was clean and in decent shape. It was very close to Monarch mountain and very convenient for skiing.The kitchen had plenty of dishes and there were plenty of linens. The cottage was plenty warm enough, too. However, there is NOTHING else nearby so make sure you take everything you need with you. The hot tub did not work - the jets would not reliably turn on- but the water was hot. The owner responded quickly when we called and came out and turned them on for us the first day and said he would fix it our second day there and let us know what was going on, but we did not hear from him again. To be fair, there was a huge snow storm so maybe he couldn't get back?

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. Yes, it is true there are no amenities in the old mining town of Monarch, but is the closest place to stay for skiing. Luckily Poncha Springs is just 10 miles away and Salida 20 miles, where you have access to numerous choices. We are sorry about the jets not working on the hot tub, but as you said the owner did get there right when you called and had to order parts to fix where a previous renter had dismantled the jets. Being a rural town it takes days to get things. At least the hot tub was working so that you could use it. We are sorry you were inconvenienced.
5

Great Getaway

  • 5 of 5

What a lovely place! Three women and I escaped the city, and our husbands, for a few days of skiing at Monarch. The house was perfect, comfy beds and the hot tub-fabulous after a hard day of skiing. The house was clean and we had everything we needed. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
4

Ski Trip

  • 4 of 5

The cabin is easy to find and get to. Very close to Monarch ski resort. It is close enough to sleep in and still make to the lifts before opening. The cabin was in nice condition and clean enough. It was well stocked with plates, glasses, ect. for our trip. If your going for a ski trip I would recommend this property as a nice place to stay. We will be going back.

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
4

Good atmosphere and ski location

  • 4 of 5

This was a charming and comfortable cottage for four adults and two small children. It was convenient to ski at Monarch being only 3 miles away. We enjoyed the hot tub on the deck. The kitchen allowed easy meal preparation and clean-up. The views and atmosphere in the cottage was just right. We would recommend it.

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Colorado
5

Great Location & Great Hosts!

  • 5 of 5

We did the extended stay in Mirkwood Cottage from May through October 2013. What a great location for hiking, biking, fishing and rafting. It was an easy drive for dining and shopping in Poncha Springs, Salida and Buena Vista. Summertime was green and lush with amazing wildlife - especially the hummingbirds! The owners were super nice and had helpful info on all the activities in the area. The cabin has all the comforts of home plus two private decks that were really relaxing at the end of the day. It was a romantic spot for the two of us and would also be great for a family or group of friends for a week or a weekend. Terrific family ski area right up the road at Monarch! We highly recommend it!

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Map

Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Monarch Lodge: Sidewinder: Other salida choices
Nearest Golf
16 Miles
Salida Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
16 Miles
Many Salida Choices
Nearest Ski
3 Miles
Monarch Ski Area
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $165 Per night

Monarch Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Late Spring - Fall
Apr 13 2015 - Nov 15 2015
2 night minimum stay
$165
$825
$1,100
 
 
Fall
Nov 17 2015 - Nov 30 2015
2 night minimum stay
$175
$1,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$185
$1,110
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100.00
Tax Rate 6.9%
Notes Pets are only allowed on a case by case basis. If pets are found to have been in the cabin without permission there will be an extra charge.

*Note: due to recent hot tub issues, a minimum of $50 of security deposit will be held if any foreign objects are found in the hot tub upon renter's departure. This blocks the filter and makes the hot tub unavailable for next guest.

Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Amenities

Monarch Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Futon
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting

Other Vacation Properties

$200 - $250 per night
3 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$2,240 - $3,100 per week
2 night min stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 16
$1,638 - $2,142 per week
2 night min stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 12

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote