Sleepless and Internetless in Westport
Closest unit to the beach, and fairly level terrain to walk to the beach.
You are able to see partial views of the Ocean from the front window and side window.
Nice beachy decor throughout the condo.
Nice level grassed area off patio to walk a small dog.
Kitchen had most everything needed, some spices were lacking.
Games if you have kids, books, and magazines about the area.
No phone. Even cheap motels provide a phone.
Picture window in living room had diagonal blinds, of which 7 slats were missing. This created big gaps. Someone could look in, but you can't tell because its so dark out there. This is also where the Hideabed is.
The patio door only locked "sometimes", but the front door is corroded by the weather and is hard to lock/unlock.
The master bedroom did not have curtains over the mini-blinds. SO the bright front porch light, shown into the room keeping my elderly Mom awake. I finally had to drape a sheet the best I could over it.
No wall or bedside clock in bedroom.
Master Bed was very high. Not appropriate for elderly people and I did not think to ask about it when booking.
A journal for visitors was left there. From 2005 and several more statements on how horrible the HIDEABED WAS. Forward 7 yrs. I was there on business and needed 3 or 4 star "sleeping accomodations", I paid for such. The first night I ended up sleeping on the floor! It was to late to get another condo since my money had been sent off to the owner, and I had no INTERNET service to even look elsewhere. I got a password to sign in, and the manager said it was hit and miss. I got the miss.
Antique furnishings are cute--but not functional. Bedroom dresser drawers were sticking, and one knob feel off when I tried to open it, others were loose.
The dryer had bed sheets left in it, no big deal but I did pay $50 for housecleaning-and then they left an envelope for a cleaning tip. First they need to learn how to clean out the large brown stains in the kitchen sink and leave the little tiny bottles in the bathroom (i.e) shampoo and conditioner. My mom and I "both" forgot to bring ours.
Dryer takes 2 cycles to dry. They supplied 1 dryer sheet. If you have allergies, you might want to bring your own laundry soap. The flake soap was lavender scented.
FAKE GAS FIREPLACE.
Overall I was totally exhausted, with an aching body, but my Mom (88) loved the fact she got to see the beach, probably for the last time and actually walked to the beach by herself.
Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your response.
As you may realize, we are not a hotel but rather a condo which owners rent out.
We try to accommodate requests from renters, and fill in the holes that they tell us about, and appreciate the feedback.
We have never heard about most of the issues which you raised.
In regards to the request for a landline, most people use their cell phones so this has never been an issue.
In over seven years of renting our unit, we have never been told that the bed is too high, and we have had many elderly people stay there. We have also never has complaints about the gas fireplace, which is actually electric.
Again, always welcome feedback about our unit!
Helpful votes: 1/2
Did you find this review helpful?