Do NOT recommend - not as pictured!
My husband and I had a reservation for this camper and boat rental for a 3-day weekend to celebrate our 5th anniversary. We were looking forward to relaxing and enjoying some fishing and boating. Originally, we tried to book one of the cottages but they were all full, so we agreed to stay at the camper instead based on the pics online and the owner's recommendation. However, when we arrived, we did not find the camper as pictured. It was not well maintained and the interior showed a lot of wear - stains on the carpet and bedding, broken and missing window blinds, very dirty air filter/vents, and dirt/dust caked on the ceiling fan blades. Granted, it was a 100 degree day outside, but the camper was still very warm inside, even with the AC running, the blinds that were there closed, and an additional fan running that we had brought from home. We just did not feel like we could stay and enjoy our weekend so after about an hour in the camper, my husband went and got the owner. He acknowledged that the blinds and fan were not clean, but he didn't seem to "see" the other issues that we noted - his defense was that the camper was a rental. True, but it was not the condition that my husband and I would ever pay to rent. At first the owner agreed to refund 1/2 of our lodging cost and the boat rental (if he could re-rent the boat). Since we did not want to stay, we wanted all of our money back so we could go elsewhere and still enjoy our anniversary weekend. The only reason I have not given the rental 1 star is because the owner did decide to refund all of our money before we left. This is not a place we would chose to stay again or recommend to a friend - we just expect better for our money and enjoyment. There is nothing "luxury" about this rental!
Owner's Response: This couple did in fact find the camper as pictured, but they did notice some details that cannot be conveyed in pictures. I first want to mention that some of the issues in this review are legitimate, and others are not. All issues were addressed within minutes by our cleaning lady. The carpet was very clean when they arrived. However, there were a couple permanent discolorations from cleaning materials...and yes, there was small faint water stain on the bed skirt (not the linens or comforter or pillows). The air conditioning was turned on the morning of their arrival so the unit was still cooling when this couple arrived several hours earlier than expected. I was surprised that this couple cancelled their reservation based on a few minor issues. Regardless...we gave them a full refund. Many couples and families return to stay in this camper each year...many of them several times per year. We appreciate any and all feedback/suggestions from our customers.
Helpful votes: 5/7
Did you find this review helpful?