Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Lake Travis Waterfront Property, renovated 3 bdrm/2 bth w/all modern amenities

Steven Funk

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Steven Funk

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 13, 2014
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Lake Travis Waterfront Property, renovated 3 bdrm/2 bth w/all modern amenities

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights


Spicewood House Rental Photos and Description

3 bdrms, 2 bths, sleeps 14 (2 Qn, 4 Twin & 3 Qn sleeper sofas/futons-dnstairs)

Relax and enjoy this renovated 2 story stone home with beautifully shaded lawns that lead to a very quiet, deep cove on Lake Travis . Family friendly with 12' floating swim dock, kayaks, paddle boat, fishing, volleyball court, tetherball, soccer goals, horseshoe & washer pits, BBQ or just sit in 1 of the many outdoor chairs scattered thru-out the property and relax/enjoy the tranquil and beautiful view.

3bdrm/2bthrm home has a spacious upstairs covered veranda, washer/dryer, open kitchen equipped with microwave, oven, refrigerator with ice/water dispenser plus most cooking/baking necessities/utensils/pans needed. Livingroom is Austin stone floor w/fireplace, ceiling fans, foosball, air hockey, cable TV, wireless internet, wet bar and large windows with lake views. Central Heat & A/C. Be sure to ask about our 3 bdrm cottage next door if you need additional space/rooms. Marina is a 7 minute drive & easy to find ($10 launch fee). World class golf & restaurants nearby. Only 10 miles to the Galleria Mall.

Great Entertaining: With spacious living & dining areas there will be plenty of room for any social gatherings or family functions. The home has an open floor plan with several cozy sitting areas. There are wonderful views from almost any direction you look. The livingroom has 6 ceiling fans, stone fireplace, flat screen T.V w/cable, stereo system , a mini-wet bar and foosball table. The double french doors open out to the porch with a lake view.

Add in the volleyball net, soccer field, horseshoe pit, tetherball, washer pit, kayaks, paddleboat and swiming/fishing platform all on the property and how could your family/group not have fun? Need more space? Ask about our 3 bedroom cottage next door.

Fully equipped modern kitchen: The kitchen has all electric appliances, Double Door Refrigerator w/ ice/water dispenser, Microwave, Oven, Toaster, Blender, Coffee-maker. Dinnerware, silverware & glassware. There are a limited # of cooking pots/pans & the basic cooking utensils - can opener, corkscrew, spatulas, large spoons, colander, grater, etc......

It is an open kitchen with a large wrap-around counter/bar so that you can converse with your guests. Dining room table is the exact height as kitchen bar so you can be eye level and have more than 8 people seated at one time.

A Good Night's Sleep: Upstairs has 3 bedrooms. 2 bedrooms each have a queen size pillow top mattress. The 3rd bedroom has 2 sets of twin bunk beds. Sheets and bedding are provided, however, you may bring your own linens or pillows if you prefer, Just let us know and we will leave the beds unmade and ready for your own linens.

Downstairs in the living room I have strategically placed 3 queen size sleeper sofas or futons so that they are not all facing each other and are under a ceiling fan.

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Steven Funk (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 13, 2014

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 7 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Lake Travis Waterfront Property, renovated 3 bdrm/2 bth w/all modern amenities
average rating of 4.428571 based on 7 reviews


  • 5 of 5

My friends and family came here last weekend to relax on the lake and celebrate my birthday and we were all very pleased with the place. It was very spacious and had plenty of room to entertain all of my guests. There were so many things to do and so little time! There was kayaks, paddle boats, volleyball court, horse shoe, soccor, games, tv's, a fire pit, and the list goes on! The night skies were so clear and beautiful with all the stars glistening in the skies! We don't have this kind of scenery in Houston lol. We stayed up and watched the sunrise from this place two days in a row and it was absolutely breath taking. The Hill Country/ Lake Travis scenery is a dream for any photographers or anyone that enjoys taking pictures of the landscapes. You could also walk around the neighborhood and site see or go down to the lake for a swim or even hang out on top of the boat dock. The owners were very helpful and very nice! By far one of the best services I've ever dealt with. I will definitely be coming back here every year and I am planning on coming back before the end of the year. We left on Sunday and the owner sent my deposit back to me on Monday! I highly recommend this place to everyone!

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: HomeAway

twice is nice

  • 5 of 5

My family stayed here once last year and we had so much fun that we came back again this year with more family and friends. Beautiful, clean home with 3 private bedrooms and lots of extra sleeping spots. Nice, shady and huge yard to play catch, volleyball, horseshoes and soccer.Kayaks and a paddleboat on the dock for playing in the water. Lake is still low but deep cove has just enough water in it to access the lake by kayak. Shady porches for BBQ or sleeping in the hammock. All the kids had a blast and never ran out of things to do. We did not even turn on the TV! It's a short 3 hour drive from Houston. The Hill Country / Lake Travis scenery is wonderful. Well worth the price and so much better than being cooped up in a hotel. We will come back again!

  • Submitted: May 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
  • Source: HomeAway

This place is great!

  • 5 of 5

I attended a holiday party here and came back across this listing and have to say it is an awesome place and beautiful location. It is in such a tranquil cove off Lake Travis. Sitting out on the rocking chair on the porch is heaven. It was very clean and the furnishings are nice contrary to the last reviewer stated. Very family friendly with enough activities to keep children and adults having fun! We can't wait to get out here again now that the drought is over and enjoy the water!

  • Submitted: May 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
  • Source: HomeAway

Left Early, Never Received Deposit Back

  • 1 of 5

We arrived and initially, the house looked very nice. They had plenty of space for my family and friendss. It wasn't an awesome home but it seemed nice for the price. However, after staying a few days and using the kitchen, we started to see rat droppings in the cabinets, silverware drawer (yuck!) and basically in every kitchen cabinet there. No standard dishwasher (they had the plug in kind). Washed everything multiple times but I just couldn't relax after that, knowing my kids were staying in a place with rat droppings and therefore rats. We packed up and left early. I contacted the owner afterwards, who was very apologetic and told me that the cleaning service was supposed to take care of all of that beforehand. They offered to refund some of our money for the portion that we did not stay, as well as the deposit and cleaning fee, which I thought was very reasonable. I did finally receive the refund of the cleaning fee & partial stay refund, however I did NOT receive my deposit back. I contacted many times, was told that they had already sent one check and that I should ask my neighbors to see if they had received it by mistake. They never sent another check (if they ever sent the first one) and I am completely disgusted and disappointed with how poorly this was handled in the end. I absolutely will not ever recommend this property to any of my friends and family.

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry to have our first negative review after 2 years of happy renters. Even though the reviewer stayed over a year ago, we remember the weekend clearly. It was obvious within the first hours of her stay that our home was not enough like a hotel and we would be unable to meet her needs, so offered to completely and immediately refund her money, in full, and offered to help her find a local hotel; however, she declined. After the duration of her stay, and calls to us too numerous to count, she asked to be refunded which we happily complied. We refunded ALL of her money. We would like to reassure future renters that there has never been a rodent problem. As other reviewers have commented, we maintain a clean and safe place for your family to enjoy. We think what she may have seen were probably roly polies, we do have many of those on the property! Please contact us if you have any concerns whatsoever.

awesome vacation home

  • 5 of 5

This is a very nice place to stay, everything we needed was already provided all you need is food, there was plenty of things for kids toys, games, they have kayaks and canoes for you to use and the property is clean with nice shade. We all already planing another vacation here next year. The swim deck is also very nice and you can also use the boat dock for your boat which was very nice so we didnt have to take food on the boat all day. We had 13 people in our family and we all had enough room in the house. I would definetly recommend this place to anyone and Steve was very nice also.

Daniel & family

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Austin, TX

Beautiful Property

  • 5 of 5

The house was spacious with a lot of room for people to relax, entertain and play games. Great for family get reunions and quiet time with friends. The lake this year was VERY low and not condusive for swimming and boating but that is no fault of the owners. The entire Lake is in a crisis mode this year but a few weeks of rain will solve that problem. Plenty to do without the lake if need be- horseshoes, washers, volleyball, inside games for the family. House was clean and well kept

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
  • Source: HomeAway


Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Austin Bergstrom Intl.
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Hwy. 71

Prestigious South Shore Lake Travis with lots of local restaurants, outdoor entertainments (golfing, boating, concerts, etc.) as well as a new Galleria Mall which has a theatre, spas and easy drive to the Austin airport.


Rates & Availability

Spicewood House Rental Rates

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 6.0%
Cleaning USD100


  • Deposit: 3bdrm/2bth-$500.
  • Minimum of 2 night stay. Dogs are possibly allowed with specific owner consent (downstairs only) (possible breed restrictions. please inform owner if you own an aggressive breed, ie: pit bull, rottweiler, doberman, german shepards, chow, etc.....) There are several dogs in our neighborhood and we would not want your pet/pets to get injured. Plenty of parking on the property.

    Cancellation policy: If you have a confirmed reservation, a $100 cancellation fee will be charged. If you cancel 14 days or less to the the reserved date, your deposit will be forfeited. If cancellation occurs within 15 days or more from the reserved date, the deposit will be returned minus the cancellation fee of $100 & the balance will be returned via check. Cancellation or early departure does not warrant any refund of rent or deposit.
  • Peak-$2200-1wk ($300 / 5wk day & $350/2 wkend day)Non-peak-$1500-1wk ($250/5 wk day& $300/ 2 wkend
    Peak-$3700 2wk ($250/10wk day & $300/4 wkend day)Non-peak-$2700-2wks ($200/10wk day & $250/4 wkend
    Peak-$4500 3wk ($200/15 wk day & $250/6 wkend day)Non-peak-$3450-3wks($150/15wk day & $200/6 wkend
    peak-$5000 1mth($150/20 wk day & $200/10wkend day)Non-peak-$4250-1mth($125/20wk day & $175/10wkend
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.


Spicewood House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lakefront
  • Rural
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telescope
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 4 twin/ single
  • There are 3 sofa beds/futons downstairs. All 3 are queen size mattresses.
  • CD Player
  • Foosball
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Pedal Boat
  • Terrace
  • 8 garden chairs
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • ski privileges optional
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Nice, quiet, very low traffic cove in front yard. Great for children to swim, kayak, fish and paddleboat (seats 4-5). Large, grassy back yard has volleyball net, soccer goals, tetherball, horseshoe pit and washer pit. Lots of space to run and play. We are a family oriented neighborhood. Any nudity, loud noises, loud cursing, violence or obscene behavior, the use of any illegal drugs and/or excessive drinking is STRICTLY PROHIBITED. No one minds you listenting to music but this is a neighborhood that is not different than where you live, so please respect the neighbors. We have several excellent restaurants in the area and a brand new Galleria Mall just 8 miles down hwy 71. It has a movie theatre, restaurants, spas and of course shopping!! Down state Hwy 620 there are many golf courses that can be utilized. Pure fun!

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote