CRYSTAL MOUNTAIN VACATION RENTAL - WONDERFUL MOUNTAIN RETREAT

From
$265
Enter dates to see total
Email Owner Email

Amy, Mike, Jeff Grevel or Jack Rillema II

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps18
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

CRYSTAL MOUNTAIN VACATION RENTAL - WONDERFUL MOUNTAIN RETREAT

Crystal Mountain, Thompsonville House Rental Photos and Description

Fully Furnished Custom 5 Bedroom, 3-Bath Executive Chalet ~ Sleeps 18

A wonderful mountain retreat, this fully furnished year round custom 5 bedroom, 3 bath executive chalet is designed for active families and friends. Features include a large tiled entry for ski equipment, great room with fieldstone fireplace and vaulted ceilings, 2 master suites (each with private whirlpool tub), master bedroom in lower level, 2 bunk rooms, a game room/den in the lower level, 400 sq. ft. deck, and fire pit area. Located on Lot 21 of Crystal Mountain Village.

Resort Features: Tennis courts, Indoor pool, Water park and fitness facilities are all available with the purchase of a guest pass through Crystal Mountain. Also passes are available for the new Alpine Slide. Restaurants/Bar on site.

Crystal has been ranked as the #1 ski resort by Ski Magazine and also has two 18 hole golf courses.

Please contact Crystal Mountain directly for cost of guest passes to use facilities.

Vacation Home features: This five bedroom three bath home is fully furnished with everything that you will need for a comfortable vacation. With two Master Suites both including their own private whirlpool tubs it makes a great home to share with other family or friends. The home has a large tiled entry for ski or golf equipment. Home is fully equipped including linens, towels and toiletries. Perfect for multi family gatherings!

Surrounding Area: Nearby you can enjoy fishing and canoeing in local rivers and lakes. Lakes Michigan, Sleeping Bear Dunes, Traverse City and Frankfort are all just a short drive away where you can enjoy shopping and dining and winery tours. Also, Little River Casino is just 20 minutes away.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • pets not allowed

Amy, Mike, Jeff Grevel or Jack Rillema II

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2008
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps18
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

15 Reviews Write a Review
Crystal Mountain Vacation Rental - Wonderful Mountain Retreat
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 15 reviews
business
Crystal Mountain Vacation Rental - Wonderful Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p192718
231 773-2111
Crystal Mountain, Thompsonville Northern Michigan
Wixom, MI
5

Great Summer Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
We recently stayed at the property for an extended family vacation and had a great time! The property was very clean and spacious enough for a large group of adults and kids. We all had plenty of room. We enjoyed having our coffee on the deck each morning. The kids loved swimming in the outdoor pool on the complex and playing water basketball. We went into the darling town of Frankfort and enjoyed shopping, ice cream and the beach. The fellas even got some golf in at one of the nearby courses. All in all, it was a wonderful vacation and I would absolutely recommend the property to other families. We would like to go back during the winter for skiing!!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Crystal Mountain Vacation Rental - Wonderful Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p192718
231 773-2111
Crystal Mountain, Thompsonville Northern Michigan
5

Would Stay Again In A Heartbeat !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Just returned home after a gorgeous weekend up at Crystal Mountain. The chalet went above and beyond our expectations. Simply put, it's just a beautiful, well-maintained vacation rental. All of the amenities worked great and the place is huge, two levels of comfort. From the first step in the door, you could tell the owners value their time there as well. The furniture and decor throughout the home was well-kept and clean. The bedrooms, sitting areas and bathrooms, were also meticulous and everything was in working order. The large deck was great, we grilled out several evenings and enjoyed the rustic surroundings.

The chalet is about a 3 minute drive from the main lodge at Crystal Mountain. We had no problems with some of the complaints former renters listed in their reviews. The fireplace, showers, doors, lights, microwave, thermostat, etc., all worked fine for us. We were sent a very helpful informational sheet ahead of our stay that helped us understand our way around and how things operated. The owners also placed small, helpful reminders aournd the home to make our stay was as carefree as possible. I would recommend and will stay again the next visit to Crystal.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We value our renters very much and try very hard to make sure your stay is the best it can possibly be. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
business
Crystal Mountain Vacation Rental - Wonderful Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p192718
231 773-2111
Crystal Mountain, Thompsonville Northern Michigan
5

great place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
This is a great place to stay, it was our 3rd time, and it is always a great experience. The owners are friendly and easy to deal with, the place is well kept and clean, and it is in a great location. We look forward to going back again!!!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Crystal Mountain Vacation Rental - Wonderful Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p192718
231 773-2111
Crystal Mountain, Thompsonville Northern Michigan
Laketon Township, Michigan
5

Best Place at Crystal Mountain

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
My husband and I have stayed at this location on more than one occasion- most recently the week of Christmas 2010. This place is fabulous and the location is great. We have four children (ages 15 -19) and there is more than enough room for all of us. The cabin is easy to enter through the lower driveway entry door. However the upper level door provides a keyless entry which is great when you have kids coming and going from the ski lodge; not eveyone needs to have a key. Our 18 and 19 year old boys stayed in the bunk bedroom mentioned in a previous review. My 19 year old son slept on the top bunk with no problems of space or head bumping, which can easily be seen in the provided pictures of the cabin. This place is CLEAN and WELL MAINTAINED! The kitchen is full equipped... not a thing missing and everything works perfectly, including the microwave. There is a note near the kitchen plug that says if it's not working to push the reset switch- which we never had to do. Most of the places we have rented in the past you normally have to bring things like dish soap and laundry soap. This, and everything else we needed were all supplied. The owners leave very clear instructions for what to do if you encounter any problems. The check-in and check-out instructions from the owners were written out very clearly. I feel the owners have been very easy to work with and helpful to us. I know my family looks forward to the time we spend in this cabin and we appreciate all the owners have done to make our stay there comfortable. We will definitely stay here again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Crystal Mountain Vacation Rental - Wonderful Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p192718
231 773-2111
Crystal Mountain, Thompsonville Northern Michigan
Great Lakes
3

Nice house, no ski-in/out, needs update

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
We had a nice stay - however, there were quite some amenities non-working
• The entry door downstairs from outside into the mud room could not be opened from outside. The only access to the house was through the upper front door (especially inconvenient when arriving w snow gear) - acc to the owner due to another renter kicking in the door
• The fireplace would constantly shut off – maybe needs a cleaning?
• The microwave NON WORKING – a significant inconvenience when trying to heat up a quick cup of tea or some hot chocolate. Furthermore, more than 50% of the power outlets along the kitchen countertop are NON working - the switch mentioned was turned on, yet no function
• we missed pot scrubs, dish rugs, laundry detergent and plastic bags - would be convenient and customer friendly w/o being a huge cost factor to provide basics(avail at $$$ stores)

Last but MOST IMPORTANT: We strongly recommend to be very careful with the bunk bed downstairs in the room next to the playroom to avoid serious injuries! We were sitting having dinner when we heard a LOUD NOISE…and then cries – our friend's 6 yr old daughter was climbing up the bed where she was supposed to sleep – and hit her head on the ridge of that very low ceiling. Extremely dangerous… we were concerned about having our daughter hurt her head and had her sleep in our bed. Imagine her waking up in the middle of the night, sitting up in her bed – and hitting her head when trying to climb out to use the bathroom or whatsoever. I do understand the need to maximize sleeping space for rental purposes but that could end painful - and expensive

We did rent the unit ( which was nice and spacious) at a regular and not discounted rate. Therefore, we do expect the items to be in proper condition; if not we would at least expect some kind of good will gesture from the owner as compensation. We have received apologizes and the info that items do seem to disappear and/or break but no compensation so far - as a rental owner myself I do not feel that we should sacrifice our comfort for shortcomings of others.

Finally, more than one week after end of our stay our deposit has not been received back yet - we were advised that an add check of $ 25.00 will be included in the deposit return as compensation. Merely a noticeable compensation, considering the actual nightly rental fees paid - we would have hoped for 5-10% refund for the amenities not in perfect order
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Let me respond by first stating that our information doesn’t state that our home is “ski in, ski out”. We do everything we can to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible….unfortunately if we are not aware of issues until after you have checked out we can’t try to fix the problem. On Sunday after the renter departed our caretaker went to the home and went right in the entry door downstairs with no problem when I informed him of the issue he went back three times and still there were no issues, I also checked with the last renters since their stay and they too had no issues. We have had the fireplace checked out and found that someone had taken all of the logs out of the fireplace and put them back in incorrectly so a log was over the pilot causing it to shut off, again checked with the renters from last weekend and it worked fine. The kitchen outlet/microwave problem was a simple fix that had I been called I could have remedied the problem immediately, the receptacle in the kitchen (which was marked) had tripped which I sent an electrician out while it was tripped and he could not get it to happen again, I did have him change out the receptacle to try to prevent it from happening in the future. There was laundry soap in a big box next to the washer, dish soap and dishwasher soap under the kitchen sink and dish rags and towels on the counter. Bunk bed height and ceiling height are normal. We will include a safety note in our information to renters of this; however it is a parents/renters decision to use the beds for kids/persons of whatever age. In over three years of renting this is the first issue we have had with the beds. Security deposit was returned within the allotted 10-day time frame that is stated in our contract plus we included a small compensation for inconvenience. Please know we make every attempt to make our home comfortable, clean and fun to stay at, however it may not suite some.
Helpful votes: 6/10
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Traverse City
Nearest Ferry
60 Miles
Ludington
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
M115 and US 31
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
beach
Car: necessary

Located in Crystal Mountain Village part of Crystal Mountain Resort which is a year round resort and ranked as the #1 ski resort in the mid-west. It also has two 18-hole golf courses, a water park, spa and fitness center and the new Alpine Slide. The Bestie, Platt, Little Manistee rivers and Crystal lake are nearby and offer unlimited activities such as fishing or tubing/canoeing. It is centrally located for Traverse City and the local wineries tours and the Little River Casino is 20 minutes away. Snowmobile, cross country ski or bike right from the front door.

Lake Michigan and Sleeping Bear dunes are a short drive away. Famous Interlochen Arts Academy offers concerts throughout the summer.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Crystal Mountain, Thompsonville House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Minimum Stay
 
Ski Season 2014
Jan 1 2014 - Mar 31 2014
$400
$425
Fri,Sat
$2,000
2 nights
 
 
Spring 2014
Apr 1 2014 - May 31 2014
$265
$295
Fri,Sat
$1,400
2 nights
 
 
Summer 2014
Jun 1 2014 - Jun 26 2014
$325
$350
Fri,Sat
$1,800
2 nights
 
 
Fourth of July 2014
Jun 27 2014 - Jul 5 2014
$400
$425
Fri,Sat
$2,200
3 nights
 
 
Summer/Golf 2014
Jul 6 2014 - Sep 7 2014
$375
$400
Fri,Sat
$2,000
2 nights
 
 
Fall 2014
Sep 8 2014 - Nov 30 2014
$275
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,500
2 nights
 
 
Winter 2014
Dec 1 2014 - Dec 18 2014
$275
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,700
2 nights
 
 
Holiday Season 2014
Dec 19 2014 - Dec 31 2014
$425
$475
Fri,Sat
$3,000
3 nights
 
 
Ski Season 2015
Jan 1 2015 - Mar 31 2015
$400
$425
Fri,Sat
$2,000
2 nights
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 6.0%
Notes Holiday Weekends are 3 night minimum
Memorial Day $350/night
Labor Day $400/night
Fourth of July $450/night
Thanksgiving $350/night
Martin Luther King and Presidents Day $450-$500/night
Please email for weekly rates!!
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Crystal Mountain, Thompsonville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 2796 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Adventure
General:
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Telephone
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Grill
  • Blender
  • Ice Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Upper
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Main
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Lower
  • Three Bathrooms - one on each level.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , private whirlpool tub
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , private whirlpool tub
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , 2 ~ Twin Bunk w/ Futon Bottoms
    Bedroom 5 - 2 double , 2 twin/ single , Twin Bunkbeds & Double Bed
    Living Area - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Futon
  • Two Master Suites with private whirlpool.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Wood Deck
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • 10 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Indoor Pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • water parks
  • restaurants
  • recreation center
  • coin laundry
  • winery tours
  • autumn foliage
Leisure Activities:
  • outlet shopping
  • sight seeing
  • gambling casinos
  • beachcombing
  • walking
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • bird watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • ATM/bank
  • massage therapist
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • freshwater fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • ski privileges optional
  • cycling
  • skiing
  • hunting
  • golf privileges optional
  • ice skating
  • fishing
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Email Owner Email