Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

CHARMING HOME ON THE HILL

Joyce O'Donnell

Advertiser since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Joyce O'Donnell

Advertiser since: 2008
Speaks: english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

CHARMING HOME ON THE HILL

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Galena House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-6)

This quite home offers amazing views from the back deck. Located across the road from the East Golf course. Amenities include a fully furnished Kitchen equipped with microwave, dishwasher, washer and dryer. Bedrooms feature 2 queen size beds and 2 twins. Game table in great room. Cable TV, DVD, VCR and internet.

The Galena Territories is home to 6,800 acres of natures beauty. With in the territories there are four golf courses, hiking trails, boating, fishing, horseback riding, cross country skiing, restaurants, spa and general store. Five miles down route 20 is the historic town of Galena which offers a variety of fine dining and shopping. Conveniently located near Chestnut Mountain for skiing. The city of Dubuque is 30 minutes away and offers river boat cruises, dog tack, casino, water-park, theaters and Museum.

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Joyce O'Donnell (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for sharing your home with us. A perfect place for old friends to gather and catch up.
Jun 2014
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.5
based on 18 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Charming home on the hill
average rating of 4.5 based on 19 reviews
business
Charming home on the hill
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p192537
-+1 7084301555
Galena Illinois
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5
The house was the perfect size for 4 of us! It was clean and we had everything we needed. the only "problem" was that the main living area was on the cold side and when warmed up, the bedrooms were VERY warm. We figured out a happy medium and used the plentiful extra blankets while we were watching a movie. Overall, a great place that I would use again!
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The heat usually is not to much of a problem if you keep the upstairs doors closed and the 2 glass french door off of the great room closed. I am glad you were able to work it out and enjoyed your time in the territories. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
business
Charming home on the hill
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p192537
-+1 7084301555
Galena Illinois
5

WONDERFUL!

  • 5 of 5
My friends and a took a trip up from Oklahoma to beautiful Galena for a wedding. After reading the reviews for this place, we decided to take a chance on it. I'm so glad we did! The place was perfect for us and had everything we needed for the weekend. There were even movies, which we enjoyed the day after the wedding (when we may have had a little too much to drink). The owner was so helpful, and even helped us out (via phone) when we got lost on our way in. We enjoyed our trip so much, we plan to make this our yearly "girl's weekend" trip and will DEFINITELY stay in this home again.
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our home. You came quite a long way and I am happy to hear you were had a great time. We look forward to your return.
business
Charming home on the hill
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p192537
-+1 7084301555
Galena Illinois
5

Pefect house for family getaway

  • 5 of 5
First time to Galena and this was the perfect getaway with the family. The house is close to everything that we needed and was in great condition. The views from the deck are incredible. Would stay again!
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Charming home on the hill
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p192537
-+1 7084301555
Galena Illinois
Tinley Park
5

A Great Place To Enjoy Family Time!!!

  • 5 of 5
We have been staying in Galena for years and found this house clean, cozy and a perfect fit for everyone's needs. The kitchen was well stocked so that we could enjoy family meals both in the house and on the back deck. The view from this house is amazing!!!!!
I would recommend this house to my friends and family and look forward to returning in the winter.
Thank you for sharing your home with us!
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Happy to here you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return Thank you for taking the time to write a review
business
Charming home on the hill
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p192537
-+1 7084301555
Galena Illinois
Sterling, IL
1

Needs work

  • 1 of 5
This is the first home I have ever stayed in at Galena that was a disappointment. Walking up to the home, there were weeds in the flower beds and a syringe laying on the ground by the front door. The home is really outdated. bathrooms with 70's colors, peeling rubber grips on the bottom of the tub, mildew in the bathrooms, coffee maker did not work and the beds were comparable to sleeping on the floor. I would not recommend this home to anyone. When I called owner to inquire if she had visited home lately, she seemed surprised by my comments and said we were the first group to ever complain. Not a good choice for homes. There are too many beautiful homes with great updated accommodations to stay in at Galena.
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry you were disappointed in your stay. You neglected to state that after spending 2 beautiful days in Galena it was only when you got home that you phoned with your neuromas complaints. As soon as you called I had the cleaning service comb the area and no syringe was found. In this day with photo phones and 5 people someone could have sent me a picture but I got nothing. To insinuate there was drug activity in our home is not only doing a disservice to me but everyone who has a home in the Territories. The cleaning service bleached both bathrooms down and now mold or mildew was found. Our home is an older home and priced accordingly. The pictures on the web site are accurate and updated when changes are made. Did you even look at them? It was painted in 2010 and I am sorry you did not like the décor. The water in Galena is hard and a cup of vinegar solved the coffee pot problem. Of all your complaint this was the only one I could confirm. All of our guest are provided with our numbers and if there is a problem we expect a call but we did not hear from you. Instead you waited until you were home. Perhaps motivated by something else.
business
Charming home on the hill
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p192537
-+1 7084301555
Galena Illinois
4

almost perfect cabin

  • 4 of 5
We really liked this house for our vacation, clean and cozy, with all your needs. Our only problem was the heat. The living room is big and takes time to warm up, even with all the doors and windows closed. The vents were blowing warm/cold air and in the bedrooms was very hot ( 85F) and in the living room (69F) which was cold.
Overall was nice and almost perfect!
thank you!
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We did have our heating guy out to check for any problems. He noted one of the heating vents in the main room had slipped under the crawl space. It has since been repaired. You should have brought it to our attention when you were there and I would have had him out earlier. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $130 Per night

Galena House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
winter
Nov 1 - May 21
2 night minimum stay
$130
From
$175
Fri,Sat
 
 
summer
May 22 - Oct 31
2 night minimum stay
$160
From
$220
Fri,Sat
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$130
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $60 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%
Notes Must be 26 years of age.
Rent 3 nights and the 4th is free!
All holidays require a 3 night minimum
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Galena House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote