Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Puako Beach Condos - Unit 101

Marla or Debbie

Member since: 2004
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 3
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 10 nights

Marla or Debbie

Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
April 21, 2015
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Puako Beach Condos - Unit 101

Bedrooms 3
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 10 nights


Puako Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Welcome to our Ohana. Ohana in Hawaiian means family. When you stay with us, you’re family. Help yourself to all of the extras in this unit: beach towels, snorkel equipment, coolers, beach chairs, beach bags, boogie boards, and maybe even some umbrellas and hats and sunscreen! The only thing you need to do is book your ticket, rent the car and get here.

Our unit has 2 beautiful lanais (with a BBQ) that encourage a cross breeze in the evenings, naturally cooling the space (and ceiling fans in each room help, too). June 2014 included a full update for the kitchen and bathrooms. They are fully stocked with everything you need to feel at home and dive into the rest and relaxation of the aloha spirit.

The main attraction: the BEACH – right across the street. It’s perfect for snorkeling and is home to many honu (sea turtles). Wake up for the sunrise over Mauna Kea and see all of the turtles sunning themselves on the rocks. Just 200 yards from your lanai. And, in the same spot, is the best sunset on the island. It’s magical.

Close by (.5 miles) is beach 69, one of our favorites. Great for swimming, snorkeling, and surfing if the weather is right. Further up the road is Mauna Kea Beach Hotel. Pull up to the security gate and ask for a beach pass. Then set up your spot and head to the beach bar for the islands best Mai Tai. All just minutes from the condo.

Best part of the day is coming back from the beach and jumping in the pool! It’s refreshing and always sparkling. Our friends' kids love the wading pool, perfect for the little ones still learning to swim.

The grounds are impeccable with tropical flowers and fruit trees. The friendly, family owned Puako General Store is right next door for everything you might need. You will be right at home at this lovely location!


3 bedroom, 2 bath

Comfortable beds

Luxurious linens and towels

Big closets and dressers for unpacking

Cozy sitting areas on lanais and living room for privacy or family time

White ceramic tile floors in kitchen, hall, entry hall and bathrooms. New carpet in bedrooms. Ceiling fans in each room, TV, DVD, Wifi,

washer/dryer, dishwasher, microwave.

One of the most affordable places to stay in Puako!

Sleeps 6 - King, Queen, 2 Twins.

Keywords: Condominium, Puako Beach

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Marla or Debbie (Property Manager)
Member since: 2004
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
April 21, 2015

About Marla or Debbie

AlohaDebbie Properties (R), manages this property on behalf of the owners. We are a mother-daughter team (Debbie & Leilani) and we are here to assist you with the perfect Big Island vacation. We are local residents and live within a few minutes of this property, ready to assist you with any requests during your stay. Deborah D. Sharp (R) has been a Hawaii licensed Real Estate Broker since 1985 and agent since 1981.

Why Marla or Debbie chose Puako

Puako (Pu-ah-ko) is a small, quaint oceanfront community on the Kohala Coast of the Big Island located about 30 miles north of Kailua-Kona and 22 miles north of the Kona airport. The island's largest white sand beach, Hapuna, is right next door.

Puako is conveniently located for visiting all the resort hotels and restaurants on the Kohala Coast. The Mauna Kea, the Fairmont Orchid, the Mauna Lani and Hilton Hotels are just minutes away with their beaches, first class restaurants, shops and world class golf courses. Kohala Divers is nearby at Kawaihae Center, and offers various ocean activities including scuba diving and sunset/afternoon sails. Kawaihae Center and Harbor are just 10 minutes by car, with several great restaurants and shops. You are close to almost any activity you may choose, with the exception of the volcano which is a 3 hour drive from Kohala.

Several fabulous beaches are minutes away. Hapuna Beach (voted best beach in Hawaii by Conde Nast Magazine) and Waialea Bay (Beach 69) both are wonderful for swimming, snorkeling and boogie boarding.

The neighborhood is called Puako, and it is conveniently located for touring all parts of the island. All homes in this neighborhood are on small acreage, so it is a very low density area. Driving time to the Kona airport is approx. 40 minutes, Kailua Kona 50 minutes, Waimea 20 minutes, Hilo 1½ hours, Captain Cook, coffee country, 1¼ hours, Hawi and Polulu Valley 20-30 minutes.

What makes this condo unique

The sun shines 355 days per year and the average temperature highs are in the 80's with low's in the 60's. The ocean's edge is about 150 feet from your doorstep with crystal blue water that is 72-76 degrees year round.

Puako offers ideal fishing, snorkeling, diving, surfing and kayaking. Walking and biking is a favorite, too! Sea turtles, dolphins and whales are some of the sea life you may see. Puako offers beach style living and a real sense of getting away from it all.

Puako is rich in Hawaiian history. Walk south along the ocean trail to see the petroglyphs. There are approximately 3,000 petroglyphs scattered throughout the Puako Archaeological Fields. These pictures are etched into the lava rock that dominates the Kohala and Kona Coasts. Access to the Puako Petroglyph Park is through the adjacent Mauna Lani Resort.

The waters around Puako are extremely clear due to the fresh water run off and strong coastal currents. Divers and snorkelers can enjoy waters abundant in sea life along the shallow reef at Puako. The Puako Marine Preserve is a protected environment for endangered sea life. Green sea turtles are a protected species and should not be bothered, only enjoyed and admired. Watch the humpback whales play along the coast. Beyond Puako's reef shelf the whales play and breach during their migration to Hawaii from Alaska. It is quite a sight!

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 3
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 10 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 6 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Puako Beach Condos - Unit 101
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 6 reviews
Salinas, CA, USA

Happy guest

  • 5 of 5

Nice updates to the condo! We've stayed there several times with family, my girlfriends, hubby's golf buddies. It's a perfect location out of the bustle of the resort developments, but a short drive to all their amenities like dining, shopping and golf. Beach access right across the street, and minutes to the Big Island's top-rated beaches. And you cannot beat the rate! We feel at home the moment we walk in the door. This nice unit provides everything we need. The grounds are beautifully tended and the cute general store next door is well-stocked and friendly.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

New and improved!!

  • 5 of 5

This unit is such a fantastic deal... not to mention that it now has a new kitchen and baths !!!

The convenience of this unit is unmatched for unloading and going back and forth to the beach without a lot of hassle up and down stairs.

The pool and outside areas are kept immaculate and the people are very nice and friendly.

The Puako store is the best... amazingly has almost anything you need in a pinch.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Prosser, WA USA

Big Island Fun

  • 4 of 5

Condo was neat, clean, well furnished with good instructions on what was expected in caring for the condo. Many booklets and brochures on activities/dining/shopping on the island were available. Lots of beach accessories were provided. One small problem with TV remote was taken care of on a timely basis. We had no problem with the Wi-Fi. Overall, our 3 week stay was very enjoyable.

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
oakland, ca/usa

great deal

  • 4 of 5

Our second time at the condo, and it's worked for us both times. Fantastic location (3 minute drive to 69 beach, and 3 minute walk to the Puako reef to watch the sunset) and right next door to the general store (love the owner). Kitchen is well applianced and stocked with plates, cups, silverware, etc., the grill works, the beds were comfortable, plenty of towels, nice TV with DVD player. Comfortable lanai. Was also very happy that there's recycling and compost at the condo complex - the only time I've seen that on he big island. Only bummer was no phone and unable to connect to the wifi network (the password they gave us didn't work) but neither was a big deal. It's not the Ritz, but it's not priced like the Ritz. For the money, it's a good deal. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
burnt hills, ny

wonderfull location -poorly maintained

  • 3 of 5

We stayed at this condo at the end of a 3 week trip to Hawaii. It was a wonderful location and we were very pleased to be in this area and located on this dead end street with homes and beach/turtles and snorkeling nearby. Perfect location! BUT this condo that we stayed in was not maintain as it should have been or was represented in the photos on the web sites. The lanais were dirty; there was a missing seat covered by a loose cushion that one of our party sat thru! No kitchen towels and than the property manager brought some "washcloths" to the door and quickly left! We had called and asked for someone to stop by and talk to us but that did not happen. The place needed some tender loving care. Lamps that didn't work; no phone but one was listed as available; Just a general lack of good cleaning and preparation for guests. I would recommend this location but I would certainly warn a friend or relative about Puako Condos. It seemed as if this condo just needed some good maintenance. Everyone we met there was very nice and we felt that this condo just was not kept up as it should have been if you are going to rent it to vacationers.

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha! Another person in your group called us to say that they LOVED the condo and that they were sorry that you were comlaining about it. The condo building was built in 1972 and it is not "resort quality", but we feel it is very charming and very nice for the price. The photos on the website were taken just a few months ago of THIS condo, so I don't know what to say about that. We only found out about the broken couch a few hours before you arrived and the handyman was trying to repair it when I was there prior to your check in. The unit had been cleaned. If there was something specific that was missed that I didn't see, we would have been happy to take care of it. The owners do give their condo tender loving care, but due to the recession they have been on a very tight budget for the past few years, so they can only do what they can. If a lamp didn't work, we would have been glad to fix it, or replace it, but we were not notified. You did let us know there was a need for kitchen towels and I came by to say that we didn't have any in our storage closet, but I asked if the new wash clothes would suffice in the mean time. You said they would be just fine. I was in a hurry and I apologize for not being able to stay and talk. My stepdaughter and her baby were at the beach and had just called for a ride home, because they were stranded and it was already dark. I was worried about them and their saftey which is why I was in a rush. We did get kitchen towels on our next trip to Kona which is about a one hour drive with the traffic. We try to keep them in stock as they do wear out quickly or get misplaced. Thanks for letting us know of things that need attention, and we hope you come again.
Seattle, WA

Perfect out-of-the-way base camp

  • 5 of 5

We had an awesome time! We loved having the General Store just a few steps away; we all walked over for ice cream or something else every day – outstandingly friendly folks! The whole family loved exploring the tide pools a five minute walk from the door (we must have seen a hundred turtles!) It was extremely convenient to have a hose for rinsing off before coming in, and having a washer & dryer was absolutely essential – so glad we chose a condo over a hotel!! The grounds were lovely – gorgeous flowers everywhere and my husband had a fresh-picked banana from outside our condo each morning. The Puako location was perfect for accessing both Kona and the Kohala beaches, and we loved some of the restaurants just up the highway. We’ll be back!


  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Nearest Airport
23 Miles
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Honu Bar at the Hapuna Prince
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Hapuna Prince
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Queen K Hwy
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Cafe Pesto
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Car: recommended

Whale watching and other ocean activities


Rates & Availability

From $199 Per night

Puako Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%
Notes House Rule Agreement required.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total


Puako Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Just remodeled! Easy entry for those physically challenged.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Whale watching in the winter!

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$290 - $550 per night
3 - 10 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$250 per night
3 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$1,750 per week
3 - 10 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 8

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote