QUAINT OLD NANTUCKET HOUSE IN THE OLD HISTORIC DISTRICT

Bert Cooper

Speaks english, french, german, spanish, (un poco espagnol, & ein bißchen Deutsch
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Bert Cooper

Speaks english, french, german, spanish, (un poco espagnol, & ein bißchen Deutsch
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

QUAINT OLD NANTUCKET HOUSE IN THE OLD HISTORIC DISTRICT

Nantucket Town House Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 2 full bath, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 7 max

A delightful old 3 1/2 bedroom house on a quiet street in town across from Lily Pond sanctuary. A 5 min. walk leads to the town center and an easy 10 min. by foot to the ferry docks, restaurants, harbor, and shuttle bus stops to reach other areas of the island such as Surfside, ‘Sconset and Madaket. A quaint unrenovated home that takes visitors back in time to an earlier era, located in a beautiful and historic Nantucket neighborhood and is an ideal base for visitors who want to relax at one of the many island beaches, bicycle around the island, visit Nantucket’s famous restaurants, or simply read a good book.

The house, built about 1847, has a large, eat-in kitchen with fridge, gas stove, microwave, toaster oven, and washer/dryer. There is also a front sitting room and dining room. It has a small private backyard. The old TV works with VCR only (& free wifi Internet at the Nantucket Athenaeum within a 5 minute walk)

It has many antique features including steep staircase to second floor.

Expression of Interest/Booking: We will do our best to get back to you within 24 hours of your inquiry, but we ask that you also advise us promptly if you decide not to pursue a rental of this property. Please ask us any questions you need to ask, and take as much time as you need, but understand that we cannot hold a period without payment in full and a signed contract.

To avoid unfairness in booking, we will furnish you with a contract shortly after you contact us. The first signed contract returned to us with full payment will guarantee the period. In case of ties, the earlier postmark or acceptance by postal or commercial delivery service will prevail.

Thanks, and have a great time on Nantucket wherever you stay!

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
Bert Cooper (Owner)
Advertiser since 2008
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english, french, german, spanish, (un poco espagnol, & ein bißchen Deutsch

Why Bert Cooper chose Nantucket Town

This was one of a pair of workman's houses built shortly before Nantucket lost a fair number of men to the California Gold Rush. It has been used as a simple summer cottage from the turn of the century (no, the prior century!) Once upon a time, summer folk would arrive on the steamer Nobska from Woods Hole or New Bedford and spend the entire summer with friends and acquaintances from the island. While your stay might not be all summer, enjoy new friends and a beautiful old island with perpetually lovely beaches...

Why HomeAway

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

3.2
based on 6 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Quaint Old Nantucket House in the Old Historic District
average rating of 3.1666667 based on 6 reviews
business
Quaint Old Nantucket House in the Old Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191472
+1 603 369-3642
Nantucket Town Nantucket
4

Our HomeAway on Nantucket

  • 4 of 5
We very much enjoyed our stay on Lily Street at this charming home. As a former resident of the island, I can assure you that you will not do better for the money. It's a great location, and a very authentic old Nantucket experience. The house is not perfect and has its quirks and mismatched charm, but is as advertised. We find it very comfortable and accommodating to a rag-tag bunch of kids and friends. We will be staying here again, and would recommend it for families and groups of friends that are more focused on the charming, convenient location, relaxing and having fun together than on the decor.
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Quaint Old Nantucket House in the Old Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191472
+1 603 369-3642
Nantucket Town Nantucket
Connecticut
1

A disappointing stay.

  • 1 of 5
This house is in a wonderful location, but other than that we were disappointed in this home.

While we have a great appreciation for older homes, this home was in disrepair. There were buckets under toilets and cookie sheets under bath tubs to catch leaks and drips. The bathrooms posed some challenges. There was only one shower, which we knew, but it was a "do-it-yourself" retrofit which made showering challenging. We were fortunate to have family staying on the island, so we were able to shower there.

The paint was peeling in most of the rooms. The dryer broke during our stay and the owners were not very pro-active in getting it fixed. Ultimately, we had to track down a repair person ourselves, but the dryer was out of commission for nearly a week.

I don't like to write negative reviews, but I do think others should know what they are getting. In the end, we were disappointed with our stay.
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: While we want all our guests to enjoy their stays, we were surprised to only receive these comments eight months after the guest's three week stay. The guest did report an issue with the dryer, and we promptly attempted to resolve it. Our recollection is that we were informed just before the weekend, but that it was difficult to find a dryer repair person on the weekend, and that the guest volunteered to follow up the following week after we had difficulty finding someone, since they would be co-ordinating with the repair person. In fact, we had the dryer replaced later that summer once we were informed that the dryer still wasn't working.

While we plan to be doing work this spring and summer to address some of the other issues mentioned in the review, we feel that the description is rather exaggerated. We have had many guests who recognize the trade-off between renting an old, unrenovated house and getting a rental rate significantly below nearby properties. One guest who rented last year after this guest is returning this year for two weeks.
business
Quaint Old Nantucket House in the Old Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191472
+1 603 369-3642
Nantucket Town Nantucket
2

Close to town, and that is the best thing

  • 2 of 5
This house is truly close to town. We were able to let our 13 and 11 year old children walk to town and back by themselves on a regular basis. The house itself however is not just "an older home" it is in a state of disrepair. The paint was peeling off the walls while we were there, the outside "furniture" was a table that was rain soaked cardboard. The kitchen table was flimsy and on verge of breaking. We were fortunate enough to have family on the island, as the bathtub upstairs and the shower downstairs each presented challenges.

I would say if you are a group of young college students interested in renting the house and the condition of the house is not your concern then this is a great rental for you. If you are a family or 2 families together then this is probably not the place.

When we communicated our concerns with the owner he stated this is how it is with older homes. We have rented many older homes on Nantucket (have been coming here since I was 2) and have never had these issues.
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: Naturally we are disappointed that these guests didn't enjoy their stay. The house is old, the humidity does affect the plaster, and the guests are correct that there is peeling paint on the first floor (which we hope to address this spring).

There is a clawfoot bathtub upstairs, with a spray handle attached. I'm not sure what "challenges" a cast iron tub poses, but certainly, one needs to be careful getting in and out. The downstairs tub has a shower curtain - not a proper shower stall. It can be annoying. Some people are bothered by it, others not.

We don't have a table for the yard - prior guests (not the commentor) left a nice wooden card table out in the rain, and it was destroyed. It was stored in the shed - apparently others took it out again (heaven knows why). We'll probably get a folding plastic table to supplement the cast iron small circular table, and various small tables suitable for holding drinks and hors d'oeurves that are used outside then returned to storage to avoid the evening dew.

As to the kitchen table, it is an antique (mid-1800s?) drop leaf table that five years' worth of prior guests didn't seem to have an issue with. It seemed to be working fine when we visited at the end of the summer.

To be clear - this is an unrenovated house-- if you are looking for a restored antique house, this isn't it. We also charge commensurately lower rent.
business
Quaint Old Nantucket House in the Old Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191472
+1 603 369-3642
Nantucket Town Nantucket
4

Happy Renter

  • 4 of 5
Quirky but cute house extremely close to town (especially when you find the shortcut up and over the hill!). As the description implies there have been relatively few updates, but we had a great stay. The owner is extremely communicative and helpful. Every day we'd find something else hidden in the house that was helpful - grocery cart, boogie boards, etc. From the house, biking to various beaches was our key to success since we did not bring a car with us (nor would I have wanted to). Children's Beach was less than 1/2 of a mile, Jetties/Steps 1 mile, Surfside 3 miles, Madaket 6 miles and 'Sconset 8 miles. The owner showed up on our last day and was even able to hand me back my deposit on the spot. A very pleasant rental experience.
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Quaint Old Nantucket House in the Old Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191472
+1 603 369-3642
Nantucket Town Nantucket
Boston, Massachusetts
4

Perfect location, charming cottage!

  • 4 of 5
This charming antique house was a great base for our first trip to Nantucket. Close to town on a quiet street and near bike path access, it was perfect for exploring the village and every beach on the island. The house interior is older but well cared for, clean and very comfortable. The living and bedroom configuration provide ample space for everyone (we were three adults and two teenagers). Kitchen and bathrooms were not updated but we knew that when we rented the house so there were no surprises. (The claw foot shower reminded me of my grandmother's house!) There's no parking space with the house, but that was not an issue for us as we had not planned to bring a car. Small back yard provided plenty of room for our bicycles and morning tea! For us it was all about location, and this rental was ideal. We can't wait to return.
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Quaint Old Nantucket House in the Old Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p191472
+1 603 369-3642
Nantucket Town Nantucket
Cheshire, CT
4

Charming and In Town

  • 4 of 5
Charming, vintage, clean home with all the basic amenities. Fantastic town location.
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Nantucket Airport
Nearest Ferry
0.25 Miles
Steamboat Wharf (Steamship Authority)
Nearest Train
26 Miles
Hyannis
Nearest Motorway
26 Miles
Hyannis
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Jetties Beach (Children's Beach a little nearer)
Car: not necessary

This is a wonderful house to enjoy the special experiences of Nantucket: great beaches, unspoiled moors, interesting old neighborhoods, church towers, the whaling museum, wind mill, bird sanctuaries, the head of the harbor, sea-kayaking, sailing, windsurfing & body surfing, or just lolling about in air which is 10 degrees cooler than the mainland. A great place to decompress - sit and listen to the birds, watch the clouds, the morning mist in June, fish for bluefish from the beach, look at the huge turtles in the ponds, etc. Just inhale the fresh air, or hang out on a bench on Main Street and watch the people go by...

The house evokes an earlier era when Nantucket was a relaxed summer destination for artists, writers, and teachers. With refreshing Nantucket breezes, the private backyard garden is a quiet haven for sipping a cool drink while enjoying your summer reading or writing after a time at the beach... with only the songbirds to disturb you.

Other Activities: shelling

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Book It Now or updated calendars.

Nantucket Town House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Late Summer
Aug 30 2014 - Sep 20 2014
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,600
 
 
Fall
Sep 21 2014 - Nov 1 2014
7 night minimum stay
From
$235
Fri,Sat
$1,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes One Half the Rental Amount Due upon Reservation. Balance Due April 1. Rental Amounts are generally non-refundable (but if we succeed in re-renting period at your request, we will refund lesser of re-rented amount received or amount received from you, less one hundred dollars charged for re-renting.) Cleaning Fee of $160 and Security Deposit due 2 weeks prior to rental.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Nantucket Town House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Town
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
General:
  • Telephone
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking On Street
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Towels Provided
  • Mobile Phone
Kitchen:
  • Grill
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Blender
  • Lobster Pot
  • Stove
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Kitchen
  • Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Good old claw footed cast iron tub... in bathroom on second floor (attached to large bedroom but with second door access to small bedroom). On first floor, half bath with large mirror. Second full bathroom in rear of house with shower curtain & detachable nozzle in claw foot tub.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom First Floor - 1 double
    Bedroom Upstairs - 2 twin/ single
    Small BR Upstairs - 1 twin/ single
    Back Bedroom First Floor - 1 double
  • Sleeps seven adults in four bedrooms - a double bed on the ground floor (with adjacent half bath), a double bed in back bedroom on ground floor with full bath (cast iron tub with shower curtain & shower nozzle) and upstairs, a small bedroom with a twin bed and a large bedroom with two twin beds. (with adjacent bath).
Entertainment:
  • VCR
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Lawn / Garden
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • live theater
  • coin laundry
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • eco tourism
  • walking
  • scenic drives
  • photography
  • antiquing
  • sight seeing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • medical services
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • wind-surfing
  • roller blading
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
  • pier fishing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • deepsea fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • ice skating
Notes:
Free Wi-fi Internet access available within about a five minute walk at the Nantucket Atheneum. Telephone for local calls and incoming calls only. Cell telephone reception good at house. Claw foot bathtub in second floor bathroom. Claw foot tub in rear bathroom with shower arrangements. Please note: This house does not have a dishwasher or disposal, true to its mid-1800's origins. There are presently three floor fans, movable as desired. Additional description and information upon request.
Email Owner Contact Me