CLICK CALENDER FOR LAST MINUTE RESERVATIONS

Mary Barbera

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Mary Barbera

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

CLICK CALENDER FOR LAST MINUTE RESERVATIONS

Cape May Cottage Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms, quiet and tranquil (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Is a cozy,quaint cottage located in a fishing village, like stepping back in time to the shore as it used to be, with spectacular, romantic sunsets. Enjoy morning coffee on the back patio while being cooled by the breeze off the water. My yard partially in a wild state borders next to a wildlife refuge, very private and tranquil adorned with natures lush shade trees/shrubs as a cooling backdrop against the hot, and sunny beach. Dine IN or OUT with a charcoal grill near the patio also added a firepit for roasting marshmellows or relaxing by the fire with a drink of choice. For your convience there is an outside shower to RINSE-OFF and cool down from a relaxing day at the beach.

10 min walk to a Dollar Store, 15 min drive, only 5 min. away on Bayshore Rd is Fish and fancy, fresh fish just caught by local fishermen, eat in or take out the prices are great, and the food compares to the LOBSTER HOUSE, Shop-Rite, Acme, McDonalds, 5 min. away is Wing It, Mels, Pizza and many others are conveniently located nearby for last minute odds and ends. Almost forgot.just a short block at the end of my street is The Fishermens's Inn on the Bay, or a few miles away make a left at the WaWa (Fillermill Rd) is Menz Restaurant, and Harpoon Henry's 15 min drive on Beach Ave. Consider some fine dinning in Cape May with reasonable early dinners, fancy beverages $2.00 that will wet your appetite and not 'ouch', your pocket. Try The Cape May Inn with FREE appetizers Mon to Fri, from 1pm to 6pm. Tour Historic Cape May area by trolly. If tired of the beach, shop til you drop along Washington Street Mall (20 min) and many antique shops. Later treat yourself to a fresh seafood dinner caught from the Atlantic's largest fishing ports. If your wishing for Italian, that too.

September is great hear with the Irish Festival it is as busy as 4th of July.

Don't forget to visit World War 11 LOOK-OUT TOWER adjacent to the Lighthouse (20)min drive. Search for Cape May diamonds at Sunset Beach, fun for the kids and adults alike.

NEW FEATURE: MUST RESERVE at time of booking: KAYAKING additional $150/wk or $100/wkends for tons of FUN. Enjoy gentle waves, beach combing, jet sking, surfing, fishing (at high tide, local fishermen say the striper fishing is very good), sailing, whale/dolphin watching or biking along beach-views.

We are approx 100 steps to your very own quasi private beach, and for the walkers..... walk along the beach 45 min to Cape May Beach and Lewis Ferry or 20 min drive. Cape May is great to visit anytime of the year with it's collection of Victorian architecture(especially during Christmas Holidays) with the candlelite tours and trolly rides. Yes, I rent year-round with specials. Just 15 min to the Cape May Lite-house,Cape May Zoo, and Wildwood's famous boardwalk/amusement park. Feel lucky, then do Atlantic City only 40 min. away and hit the Jack pot to take home.

.

A few important reminders that this is my family home not an investment property so I would appreciate and expect you to treat my home as you would your 'very own home' with respect and TLC.. My home is a SMOKE-FREE HOME.... smokers must use a butt can OUTSIDE of course. not the yard or surroundings Thank you!

The security deposit is fully refundable pending upon house INSPECTION for damages, cleanliness, neglect, and orderliness. We EXPECT to find our home in the same condition that it was received prior to your occupancy. The owner personally cleans and inspects all applicances, plumbing prior to your arrival. I requst that my guests contact via text once you arrive, do an inspection within (2) hours of your arrival. Immediately report any descripancies or issues.

About NIGHTLY RATES: We prefer to rent weekly during the PEAK SEASON but not limited to such. IF available I can accomodate 2 or 3 niters on last minute get-a-ways by using cash or bank transfer into my vrbo acct. Nightly rates are MORE per nite than weekly, if I am going to break a full week it will come with a price, but your choice. Please refer to the rate detail link.

Please keep in mind that this is a medium size 2 bedroom home and comfortable at 4 persons including tots or babies. Five persons is an additonal fee $250 including tots.

IF your interested reserving a kayak you must reserve well in ADVANCE. Fees: Weekly $150.00/wk or $100 wkends.

Keywords: cozy, romantic, just kick back and relax

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • Senior Adults Only Community
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Long-term Renters Welcome

Mary Barbera

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2008
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

This vacation cottage was orginally owned by my dearest beloved Aunt Sue and Uncle Perry. Every year they invited me for vacation. This was always and still is a cozy and peaceful place to call HOME away from home. The town is an old fishing village and the neighborhood is friendly, pet friendly too. I always looked forward to coming back each year just......... couldn't get enough of the breezy sea air and spectacular sunsets. The yard always reminded me of my very own private sanctuary. it backs up to natural wildlife preservation, and offers shade and serenity. I have lots to do though with the yard and little by little I am planting shrubs and plan to plant a berm of armavitese along the back yard this fall.

Mary Barbera purchased this cottage in 1960

Fortunately, for me this cozy home I enjoyed as a teenager I now enjoy 35 years later. Only walking distance 100 steps to the beach and surf. Now, I am into my golden years enjoying the peacefulness of listening to the seagulls, the sounds of the water while having my morning coffee. I don't mind a glass of wine in the evening taking in the breeze of the water or a short jaunt to the beach to enjoy the magnificent. sunsets.

Our home brings back many memories of my family enjoying good times, great meals and beautiful sunsets. If you want peace and quiest, it is here, but if you want more excitement only a 15 min. drive to all the people, amusements, and nightlife.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.5
based on 21 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Click calender for last minute reservations
average rating of 4.5238094 based on 21 reviews
business
Click calender for last minute reservations
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189158vb
(856) 313-0850 (New Jersey, USA)
Cape May South NJ Shore
New Jersey
5

BELLA AND FRANCO BACK FOR ANOTHER GO!

  • 5 of 5
In June we decided that we needed a getaway to the quiet part of the Jersey shore. So we contacted our former hostess, Mary, and asked if she could take us in on very short notice (2 days). She did and she noted that since we left the property in a very clean condition after our previous stay, she gave us a discount. She explained that she was very insistent on her guests leaving the property in good condition because she had a 100 mile drive one way and a very short time to service the property between guests. Anyway, when we arrived, we found the cottage to be very clean. We used the WiFi to keep in touch with family while we were there too. Although the weather wasn't perfect, we enjoyed the quiet location along with the fantastic bay breeze. We visited downtown Cape May which is only 15 to 20 minutes away and watched beautiful sunsets at the end of the street. Once again Mary, thanks for the short notice accommodation and the discount.
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you!!!!Your both always a pleasure to have in my home, guess the discount really pays off coming back again and again.. LOL. I never mind having you because obviusly you treat my home as if it's your very own. I wished most guests treated the same, unfortunately I had repercusions when I had to deduct off for the cleaning. Funny thing is, I provided a cleaning check-list of to do's and still it gets ignored and some guests threntend to give a negative review.
Come on back, my home is waiting for you.
business
Click calender for last minute reservations
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189158vb
(856) 313-0850 (New Jersey, USA)
Cape May South NJ Shore
5

CYNTHIA TROCHE

  • 5 of 5
was a great 4of July weeken!!the house so pretty,the beach was so tranquility!!thank you Mary!:-)
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you Cynthia, and family, I am glad you enjoyed yourselves.
Looking forward to have you in the future for your RR needs.

Mary
business
Click calender for last minute reservations
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189158vb
(856) 313-0850 (New Jersey, USA)
Cape May South NJ Shore
Schuylkill County/PA
5

RELAXING ON THE BAY

  • 5 of 5
The listing description was right on with available amenities, and the owner was extremely helpful in answering questions. Our dog loved the yard, but was concerned with the cactus in the yard, although was extremely manageable. I would recommend this quiet neighborhood within walking distant to the relaxing bay scene and within minutes of convenience stores and Cape May attractions. We loved this location for our 3 year old lab who could explore comfortably, relax on the bay, enjoy The Rusty Nail on Beach Ave, and relax on Sunset Beach.
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying and leaving my home in good, clean condition. I am pleased you got to relax, enjoy and explore this ole time fishing village by the bay. I am sorry about the cactus, as you know they grow wild all over the seashore, but I just love the pretty yellow flowers they have. Most animals know to stay away from them, kinda a given thanks to mother natur.
business
Click calender for last minute reservations
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189158vb
(856) 313-0850 (New Jersey, USA)
Cape May South NJ Shore
5

FELT LIKE OUR OWN PRIVATE BEACH WITH STUNNING SUNSETS!

  • 5 of 5
My husband and I could walk and walk on the beach and saw only a few other folks, so nice and serene.
Mary's cottage is beautifully set up with a modern well appointed kitchen, nice living room space, with cable tv (which we rarely watched). The cottage is away from the madness that is congested "downtown" Cape May, but CM, Sunset Beach, the lighthouse are just a few minutes drive away. We bought crabs and clams and had our own feast in our home away from home. The air conditioning worked like a champ, on the really hot days. We sat out in a very spacious, and lush back yard in the evening. Thanks, Mary, for an opportunity to enjoy your family gem.
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your possitive review, sometimes it is really needed! Especially, when I get punished by others who are not refunded all their security deposit. My concern is that people leave my home as they found it, and you certainly did and I "thank you" for that. I try to be fair, with everything, but when my place is left unacceptable for another, I have no recourse, and then have to suffer a poor review, but in this business one cannot satisfy everybody.
I am pleased you enjoyed the quiet and the natural surroundings of this old fishing village. Each year I try to improve, improve, and upgrade. I hope you tried the nearby take outs, like Fish and Fancy the prices are low the fish is FRESH and the food is equal to the Lobster house.
I hope you will return again, and at a discount too.

Sincerely,
The Owner
business
Click calender for last minute reservations
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189158vb
(856) 313-0850 (New Jersey, USA)
Cape May South NJ Shore
3

OWNER WITHHOLDS DEPOSIT

  • 3 of 5
To be honest we would be writing a satisfactory report if we had not been shocked by the owner’s withholding a large portion for cleaning and for a scratch on the floor which we did not notice and could not have caused as we moved nothing that could have caused it. (She first said she was deducting for cleaning, when I protested she then wrote there was a scratch on the floor).. So first warning!! Be aware of signing the lease that says unless the owner is satisfied that the place is left to her satisfaction and ready for the next renter she can deduct from the deposit. We did not scrub everything, but we left it in good condition that at the most an hour’s work would suffice to prepare it for the next renter.
There was no wifi available. In order to set it up we spent some very frustrating time on the phone talking with the various companies involved and then a half day traveling to Wildwood to pick up the equipment. She made a very small compensation for out time and effort.
The picture of the beach on the promotion is misleading. There is no beach view from the house! One has to walk a little ways down the road. There is the possibility of lovely sunsets if one walks there, but the beach does not invite swimming. We saw neighbors packing up to go to other beaches as we did.
The front bedroom made from a porch is very narrow. Only one window opened.
The bathroom light often goes out while one is in the shower.
Bathroom and bedroom doors do not properly close.
Back yard is very nice even with the fake flowers in the bushes.
The picnic table was dirty and the fringes from the umbrella fall off.
The outdoor shower was not turned on and we did not feel comfortable fussing with the inside pipes.
There are musty smelling drawers in the porch bedroom and musty smelling pillows in the master bedroom.
The place is adequate, clean, but not particularily charming or romantic.
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Owner's Response: Exactly! You didn't scrub anything, not even lift a finger, that's why a cleaning fee was charged. Obviusly you didn't READ the lease/check-list that you signed and agreed, it clearly states if I have to clean up after you, YOU will be charged!! I didn't even charge the full cleaning fee, I discounted you $50 off. It is any wonder I returned most of your security deposit do to the deep gouges/scrathces you did in front of my loveseat. 1) My listing stated "ethernet" connection to internet you were already aware of this, but that was not good enough once you arrived. You called said everything was lovely, BUT insisted on having WIFI and that you didn't mind doing the phone call to Comcast to arrange for it. I was ok with it as long as you didn't mind. You insisted and that it was not any bother, I agreed and compensated you $20, still that was not good enough for something YOU insisted upon. 2) Bathroom lite a SENSOR goes off and on automatically when one enters the room, you would have to adjust to stay on if needing more time by pushing switch UP. You should have called me! 3) Front bedroom window.(one operating) For security/energy reasons, tenants tend to leave windows open and RUN the CENTRAL AIR, not very effieicent because then you would complain that the A/C isn't sufficient. This is exactly why I have only ONE operating in that room. 4)Musty Pillows, I do not supply linens/pillow, you must be referring to the throw pillows, I am surprised you considered using them, my listing states: I DO NOT SUPPLY LINENS/PILLOWS. 5) Musty smell, I am sorry but I cannot control the sea air, it is part of living only 100 steps to the beach. 6) Patio table/umbrella, Well, it is OUTSIDE so one does have to clean the table/chairs. I cannot control the dust in the air however, I do have soap, water, papertowels though. 7) Umbrella fringe, I agree we have a fantastic breeze that is perfect on those HOT days to cool down, so I could deal with a few fringes that blew onto the table.
Most your concerns could have been avoided had you read the lease. It is too bad the advise you gave to others is something YOU should have done yourself. I am really sorry you didn't head the lease/check-list because everything would have made more sense to you.
Regards,
The Owner
business
Click calender for last minute reservations
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189158vb
(856) 313-0850 (New Jersey, USA)
Cape May South NJ Shore
5

VACATION

  • 5 of 5
Dear Mary We loved your house, it was immaculate.Kitchen was well stocked with every appliance you could imagine.Bedrooms had plenty of closet space & very comfortable beds.We enjoyed the sunsets over the bay.We loved Cape May going to the beach & great restaurants.We are looking forward to returning & would recommend this house to all family & friends. Arleen & Howie
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Greetings to the three of you, Arleen, Howie and your adorable pooch forgot his name, sorry! I just wanted to take a moment to "thank you" for your kind review and for especially leaving my home as I would have left it. I hope we can make this happen again and again. it was all my pleasure having both, pooch too!. Don't forget and remember my home is open all year around and wonderful in the Fall and Winter with the Christmas candle lite tours, jazz festivals, and Victorian tours. Your a keeper of a guest and will be well discounted.
Sincerely,
Mary
Email Owner Email

Map

Harpoon Henry's
Cape May Brewery
Jake's Bar & Grill
".Haven't been but told great place to eat/drink"
Cape May County Zoo
"Just love being around nature and animals."
The Lobster House
"Awesome seafood eat in or take outs, eating by the water.."
Cape May Lighthouse
Wildwood Boardwalk
Cape May-Lewes Ferry: Cape May Terminal
"Great experience seeing the dolphines, feeding the seaguls, and visiting Delaware's Rohoboth..."
Menz Restaurant & Bar
"Super place for the family to eat, and entertainment too."
Cape May National Wildlife Refuge
"Love nature visit here."
Hawk Haven Vineyard & Winery
Little Italy Restaurant II
Rainbow Palace Family Restaurant
Junior's Crabs & Seafood
Mel's Waffle House
Chalkis Restaurant
Domino's Pizza
Villas Diner & Pizzeria
Milky Way Ice Cream & Mini Glf
Produce Place
"Love Fresh Veggies and Fruit for the whole family."
Munchie's Number 2
Car: not necessary

cinamas, winery tours, zoo, blues/jazz festivals, playground, restaurants, zoo, boardwalk.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Cape May Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Holday
Aug 28 2014 - Sep 2 2014
3 night minimum stay
$325
$2,100
 
 
Early Fall
Sep 27 2014 - Oct 25 2014
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,450
$3,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$300
$1,800
$4,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $75
Direct deposit can be arranged into TD Bank for your convience. A refundable $500.00 security deposit (separate from the rental) is required upfront in order to reserve your dates. After the owner has inspected the property overseeing that it was returned as received, the security deposit will be refunded within (2) wks.
Balance DUE must be deposited 5 days prior to stay.
Tax Rate 6.0%
Notes $500 security deposit is refunded after owner inspects for any damage, also a lease must be signed and returned.
All linens are supplied by tennant.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Cape May Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
  • Beach View ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Living Room
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Parking ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Stove ...
  • Oven ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Dishwasher ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Tiled bathroom, bathtub with shower, toilet, and pedistol sink.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 double , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Queen size Bed IN MASTER BEDROOM, Double Beds (1) fULL SIZE FRONT BEDROOM, sofabed in L/R Reminder: Guests supply own linens, blankets, and pillows.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Television ...
  • CD Player
  • VCR
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • Senior Adults Only Community
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • zoo
  • restaurants
  • live theater
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
  • horseshoes
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • miniature golf
  • antiquing
  • shelling
  • boating
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • Babysitter
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • rafting
  • snorkeling/diving
  • cycling
  • wind-surfing
  • hot air ballooning
  • fishing
  • tennis
  • racquetball
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • rock climbing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • parasailing
  • deepsea fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf privileges optional
  • paragliding
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • water tubing
Notes:
For some added fun try our Kayak ($175/wkends or weekly on Delaware Bay only 100 steps to walk. Property has outside shower both hot and cold water, also faucets on side of house for rinsing sand..
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

$1,250 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • Sleeps 6
$1,100 - $1,700 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$900 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4