The size and location of the house was perfect. The beach right out the back door was great as we had young children and didn't have to pack up to go to the beach, the kitchen was well stocked with just about everything you could possible need to use but to our surprise after checking the house out, we were slightly disappointed. The dining area was full of sand as were the door shelves on the inside of the refrigerator, both dishwashers were crammed full of "UNWASHED DISHES", everyone of the countertops in kitchen and dining area were a sticky mess, the tops of furniture had not been dusted or cleaned, the hot tub was cold-cloudy and smelled of dead fish, screens in the doors were missing, beach area was very unkempt, ice maker stopped working and refrigerator did not get very cold and as a result some of our food spoiled. There were many small repairs that needed to be tended to before renting out this property. So to start our vacation we needed to wash dishes and put them away, take everthing off counters and wash them, clean sand out of refrigerator, sweep dining area, clean tops of LR tables. Called owners about hot tub and he did explain about heater but it did not help the cloudiness or smell so we never did get to use that PERK of the rental and owner also came the next afternoon to replace two of the screens. I was told at time of rental the only thing we needed to do was leave it as we found it and start a load of laundy when we left. I was up at 7AM to start the clean up, swept all the floors and recleaned countertops and tabletops in LR and started a wash. We received Sec Dep refund minus monies and a reason why. Said the property was left untidy and dirty (very much disagree, was left much more tidy and cleaner than when we arrived, anyone who knows me would disagree with this also, I am OCD when it comes to this), a knob was broken on cabinet in bedroom ( fell off in my hand when I opened it up), a tile was cracked in front of fridge(sorry not by us). The side door closer was broken and I agree with that (got stuck when we turned it and couldn't get it to work after that). Owner said more than 6 loads of laundry, there were 5 beds so there probably were 6 loads but I washed all the towels and rugs the night before so those were already done. There was 6 hours to clean the property but was told it went over 6 hours. It is called mutlitasking, while waiting for laundry to wash and dry, do the other cleaning. We would not rent here again!
Owner's Response: This person is obviously very angry because there was a deduction in their returned security deposit.
Before this customer arrived the house was thoughly cleaned by a professional and inspected by my husband. There were no unwashed dishes in the dish washers. When they took possession of this house they were met by my husband and they had no complaints at all. There was a problem with the heat in the hot tub but that was due to their children turning the heater off. I told them how to re-set the temp to the right degree and told them it would take approximately 12 hours to re-heat. No mention at that time of an odor and no one else before or after this rental had any problems with the hot tub.
When they left every single laundrable item in the house was in the laundry. We had well over 6 loads of laundry which took several hours to do. Nothing was washed when they left.
The beach and landscape is professionally done and again no one has ever complained before.
Helpful votes: 5/8
Did you find this review helpful?