Recent winter weekend stay
First, let me say that this owner was very responsive to advance questions and concerns, and generally very good to deal with. The location of the property is very convenient to the attractions near Franconia, including the small village area, Cannon Mountain, and cross country skiing at the Franconia Inn. It's in a quiet neighborhood, and located only 5 minutes from the highway. We experienced a temporary water outage that was equipment-related. The owner wasn't immediately available and the emergency plumber contact never returned our call. The owner did reach us later and provided a timely solution. It did create some stress for one evening.
The view from the house is spectacular if you enjoy mountain scenery. However, the interior of the propery, is lower quality than many VRBO's we have rented. The appliances are rather dated and the supply of dishes inadequate in supply. The cooking pans, kitchen knives, and cabinets were of poor quality. The decor and furnishings are an odd mix of styles and the floor downstairs is vinyl faux hardwood throughout. It has a great fireplace insert that makes the living room cozy. The two larger bedrooms are spacious with comfortable beds and offer very nice window views. The two bathrooms are very basic and dated, and one shower worked much better than the other. Satellite TV worked fine, though no flat screen. The owner's pet policy is a plus.
Owner's Response: We're sorry you were disappointed on so many points and I appreciate the opportunity to respond and clarify.
The plumbing equipment malfunction was unfortunate and we were very relieved the fix was relatively quick and easy. It can be very difficult to get a plumber to respond after 9pm on a Friday night, especially to a non-emergency call. I'll be taking a trip up to the house before our next guests arrive to check on the supply of dishes, etc. It sounds like a few may have been broken along the way as we maintain place settings for eight. We've tried to accurately depict the style and condition of our home through our detailed description and the photos. The flooring was installed in the summer of 2007 and is laminate wood planks, not vinyl. Laminate floors are known as "floating floors" because they sit on a pad and aren't secured to the subfloor the way traditional flooring is. It can take some getting used to. As for the style of our decor and furniture, it's probably best described as mid-century modern with some modern rustic mixed in. Much of it is new since 2007 and we've tried to create a look and feel that's different than the typical suburban home - something fun, unique and somewhat retro. I'm not sure it's fair to call the kitchen cabinets of poor quality as they were handmade by the original owner and we thought the simple, sturdy and handsome design was worth saving, especially in a mountain chalet. None of the three TVs are flat panel widescreens, although they all have flat screens.
Again, we're sorry you were disappointed and thank you for bringing to our attention the lack of some dishes and your concerns.
Did you find this review helpful?