Submitted: September 4, 2012
Stayed: August 2012
I was very disappointed with the the cabin. The location was near the water. I had called the owner and was told that the beach was small, but accessable. After making the reservation I was informed that because of the high lake level the beach was under water, but we could still walk to the water. No one would ever walk in the water there, it's nasty! The lake has been high for 2 years, so I think that I was mislead when I was told that the beach was close. Had I know that, I would have rented another unit at a lower cost, since I had to drive to a beach anyway. The playground equipment at the Mama bear cabin is falling down, but the playground equipment at the Papa bear cabin is very nice and the kids loved it. Also I was told that the 3 rooms in the upper floor of the cabin had window unit air conditioners, when only 2 rooms had airconditioners. Last problem was the window blinds. The main level had several windows without window blinds and the on some windows that had blinds, they did not work. It was difficult at night with the light at the hot tub turning on very often and not having a blind to keep it from shining in your eves as you tried to watch the TV. Also we had talked to the owner several times about an iron, but never did get one.
Owner's Response: Who knew an iron could cause so much trouble! Since the renter chose to correspond only through email and would not answer my phone calls or call me, I did not always get his requests in a timely manner. We did everything we could to supply an iron to him. Garden City is a small town, and there is no place to purchase an iron. The iron in my other rental had been taken, and my property manager attempted to borrow one from other rental properties. He was not able to. Our mistake came when we did not notify our renter of the lack of irons available for purchase or loan. I sincerely apologize for that. I thought my manager had taken care of it.
Did you find this review helpful?