Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

ELEGANT. RUSTIC. LOG HOME W/ MTN VIEWS, HOT TUB, CREEK, & WILDLIFE.

Sam Hewson

Advertiser since: 2008
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Contact the Manager

Sam Hewson

Advertiser since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
December 16, 2014
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

ELEGANT. RUSTIC. LOG HOME W/ MTN VIEWS, HOT TUB, CREEK, & WILDLIFE.

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

Estes Park Cabin Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 10 to 12

This Precision Craft Log Home is a Rocky Mountain get away experience. With a covered porch facing south, views of Twin Sisters Mountain is seen through the ponderosa pine trees. Nestled away from the wind this easy access home captures everything you would want in a log home experience without being miles away from entertainment, shopping and Rocky Mtn. National Park. This quiet home has all of the furnishings of a custom log home, granite counter tops, over sized master shower, beautiful custom river rock fire place, fire pit next to beautiful fish creek, a beautiful covered rap a round porch, fenced in yard for kids and animals, lots of trees and elegant features around the home. The 18 hole golf course is 1.2 miles just up the road.

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Sam Hewson (Property Manager)
Advertiser since: 2008
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
December 16, 2014

About Sam Hewson

I am the owner/builder of the home. I designed this home to meet all of the needs that I found important while living in Estes Park over 24 years.

Sam Hewson purchased this cabin in 2006

Why Sam Hewson chose Estes Park

I loved this lot and place that it resides. Living in Estes Park can be very beautiful,however, because of the wind, it can turn into something very different, very fast. I chose this property because of the three factors, wind, water and fire.

The home is built in a protected area just off of Fish Creek, about 2.6 miles south of Estes Park. The house is protected from the violent wind storms that sometimes hit the mountainous area. While other areas of Estes will see up to 50 mile per hour gusts, my home rarely feels any of this.

Water is always a treat. With moderate snow in winter and spring, Fish Creek will run all year long. This cute little creek runs right through the property and attracts all types of wildlife such as deer, elk, moose, bear, bobcat, beaver, and racoons.

As per fire, again, because of my low setting, the house is protected from common mountain fires that will make their way up and over my property. After the flood of 2013 we now have a beautiful water feature in a waterfall that lines the property.

What makes this cabin unique

Again, the house is located in a very protected spot. I have spent many days suntanning on my front porch December through March just because of the protection I get from my trees and surroundings. You will find the creek, fire pit, bbq grill, porch swing, bikes, fishing poles and Rocky Mountain fresh air all to be special gifts that will make your stay a paradise for romance and family fun.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.3
based on 23 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Elegant. Rustic. Log Home w/ Mtn Views, Hot Tub, Creek, & Wildlife.
average rating of 4.347826 based on 23 reviews
business
Elegant. Rustic. Log Home w/ Mtn Views, Hot Tub, Creek, & Wildlife.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188383
+1 -480 2443934
Estes Park Rocky Mountain National Park
Kansas
2

Nice Home - Bad Management

  • 2 of 5
This house is advertised with a hot tub. There was a tub on site but the mechanical panel was off and was not in working condition. The house itself was nice with the exception it was not properly cleaned prior to our arrival. We even questioned if it had been cleaned at all. There was a note from housekeeper for people staying a prior to us. The kitchen had food and fingerprints all over the countertops and appliances. There was sticky food on the couch. The masterbed was made but there were hairs in the bed. We cleaned the house and changed bedding ourselves. A mirror fell during the night, had been hung with a very small nail, we cleaned that too. The house was undusted and the yard had food and beer cans strewn around, looked like there had been a party. The owners were notified when we returned and I was told I should have called while we were out there...why, when the hot tub could not be refilled, heated and have chemicals adjusted in the three days we were visiting. I ask for some reimbursement for the lack of a hot tub but never had a reply from the owners. I had even discussed the tub with the owner before booking and she mentioned maybe it would snow and be fun for us. Well it snowed plenty and would have been nice had we had a working tub. I understand owners have to rely on housekeepers to clean and we took care of that issue and did not ask for compensation, but when a property is advertised with certain amenities and they are not available a discount is expected and should be offered. We have only had positive experiences in the 20 years we have be coming to Estes Park prior to this one. We visit 3-4 times a year but would not rent from these owners again.
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The cleaner at that time has been fired. We had no idea the house was in this order until the renters arrived and called us. Regarding the mirror, in the two years we lived in the home we had that mirror hanging there on the same nail and not once did it ever fall. The nail was secured in an eight inch log.
Regarding the hot tub, we have hired a professional company to maintain the tub and all chemicals, electrical fixtures and cleaning. Once again this was the first time that our house was out of order.
Of all the renters we have had this has been the ONLY bad experience, only because we were not notified until this renter had arrived. We deducted the cleaning bill from their total and did not charge them and this was done at my will and not being asked by the renter to deduct it.
We have renters who are more than willing to give you their review of our home which has been outstanding.
business
Elegant. Rustic. Log Home w/ Mtn Views, Hot Tub, Creek, & Wildlife.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188383
+1 -480 2443934
Estes Park Rocky Mountain National Park
englewood, co
4

great for family reunion!!

  • 4 of 5
Beautifull house with new hot tub!!!Owner provided cell number for any questions. Close to town ,RMNP. We had wildlife on the property.There is plenty to do in Estes Park for all ages.
It was chilly at night so close all windows!!The deck had wonderfull views!!
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Elegant. Rustic. Log Home w/ Mtn Views, Hot Tub, Creek, & Wildlife.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188383
+1 -480 2443934
Estes Park Rocky Mountain National Park
Estes Park, CO
2

Disappointed

  • 2 of 5
We live in Estes and all of our family was coming here for a late Christmas celebration and we needed a place with a little more room. One of the main amenities we wanted was a rental with a hot tub. I would like to say the cabin is gorgeous. The massive wood burning fireplace was wonderful and we had plenty of room for all of us. However, when we arrived, we found that the trash cart in the attached garage was overflowing and the smell was horrendous. I realize that the trash pickup day is on Tuesday and we arrived on Friday, but this trash reeked so bad that the trash had to have been there more than just a few days. By the time we left on Sunday, the smell was reaching the main living area. It would have been nice to be able to park our cars in the garage as it snowed about 8” on Sat; but because of the stench couldn’t. There were finger prints all over the fridge as well as on the windows. There were cobwebs hanging from the fixtures on the main level. The stove top had crumbs and grease on the burners. If you rent this cabin, be sure to bring your own kitchen basics; including foil, plastic wrap, storage bags, flour, sugar, ketchup, mustard, and seasonings as there wasn’t any. And don’t worry about the hot tub not working because this property has none as the description and picture shows. The owner did not tell me that there is no hot tub at the time we made the rental agreement. Had he, I would have looked for another rental. I emailed the owners shortly after we arrived and again a few days after and as of the time of this posting, still have not heard anything from them.
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sad to say that some of the above information is true. These poor renters had to deal with a situation that was not at all good to deal with. The trash situation was overlooked by our cleaning crew and before we knew about it, it was to late.
As for the hot tub. That was an oversight in communication and was my fault as an owner of the property. We did have a hot tub that worked great and gave the home a little more to look forward to. Because of the Fish Creek flood, the tub was damaged beyond repair and we had to get rid of it. I did not communicate this to the next renters coming in. My bad.
We are looking for a good used hot tub to replace the old one before spring.
As for communication with this renter, we did communicate shortly after this post and I was able to refund them an amount suitable to the strain that this caused.
I would however like to address the food comment. In the seven years that I have rented this home I have never provided food, condiments (beyond salt and pepper), foil or any other food related storage items. All food that is left behind, including sugar, mustard, beer, etc is disposed of.
business
Elegant. Rustic. Log Home w/ Mtn Views, Hot Tub, Creek, & Wildlife.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188383
+1 -480 2443934
Estes Park Rocky Mountain National Park
Brooklyn Park, MN
5

Our family reunion

  • 5 of 5
The home is spacious both inside and outside with the wrap-around deck providing the best of both environments. One evening a herd of 25 elk came down to water at Fish Creek which winds along the back of the property, and then bedded down just outside the fence below the deck. We enjoyed the hot tub after each of the four hikes we took into the Rocky Mountain National Park. There were 12 of us in all - 6 adults and 6 children. Each set of adults had their own bedroom and the children slept in the bunk room and loft. The master bedroom was spacious with a large double-sink master bath and a large shower. A wonder place for a wonderful week of family time!
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Elegant. Rustic. Log Home w/ Mtn Views, Hot Tub, Creek, & Wildlife.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188383
+1 -480 2443934
Estes Park Rocky Mountain National Park
Nevada
5

AWESOME CABIN!!!

  • 5 of 5
This cabin is fabulous in all aspects!!! Extremely comfortable and working with the owner was a wonderful experience. I would stay here again in a nano-second!!! I give the cabin my highest marks A+++++++++++. Thanks to the owners for such a wonderful experience.
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Elegant. Rustic. Log Home w/ Mtn Views, Hot Tub, Creek, & Wildlife.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188383
+1 -480 2443934
Estes Park Rocky Mountain National Park
Cozad, NE
5

Girl's Weekend 2013

Girl's Weekend 2013
  • 5 of 5
Six of my girlfriend's and I (2 from Reno, 5 from Nebraska) made this cabin our weekend getaway to celebrate our friend's 40th Birthday. The drive through the mountains was beautiful, the cabin was gorgeous and very easy to find. We were greeted our first morning there by Elk grazing in the front yard. We spent our first day downtown Estes...shopping, winery, brewery...all of which was a short drive from the cabin. We only ate one meal out and ate all our other meals in. This cabin has all the amenities and comforts of home. It was very clean, very well kept and maintained. I look forward to bringing my family back for the Estes Park experience.
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway

Map

Nearest Airport
80 Miles
Denver International
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Eds Cantina
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Estes Park Golf Course 18 hole/ Estes 9 hole 3 mi
Nearest Train
75 Miles
Denver
Nearest Motorway
50 Miles
I-25 and Hwy 66 near Longmont
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Lots to choose from, huge variety
Nearest Ski
40 Miles
Lake Eldora in Nederland
Car: recommended

The log home was built in 2006. It is nestled at the bottom of the Fish Creek Valley which protects it from the wind during harsh months of cold and blowing snow. The cabin sits right above Fish Creek which flows year round through the property. The home faces south with excellent exposure to the sun. The rap around pourch and windows face the south as well, giving you a tranquil view of Twin Sisters mountain, aspens and pines.

There is a fire pit located on the ground level of the property. Lighting in the trees provide a wonderful night of relaxation with peace and quiet.

The log home is located in Larimer County. Access to the golf course 1 mile north, Public Pool 2 miles north , downtown Estes 3 miles north, Lake Estes Marina 2.5 miles north and RMNP 7 miles NW are some of the more popular spots to visitors. Winter months provide beautiful 2 or 3 day get aways with a roaring fire and hot cup of coffee. Check out our winter rates for the off season

Golf: Estes Park Golf Courses

18 hole located 1 mile north of the property

9 Hole located 3 miles north from the property.

Ski: Snow skiing is available at Eldora Ski Area. Located approx 40 miles south on Hwy 7 towards Nederland/Boulder.

Great for family and very reasonable pricing. Advanced runs available. Breckenridge, Vail, Keystone, Etc. About 3 hour drive from the log home one way.

There are some hills that offer good tubing experiance if the snow is cooperating.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $275 Per night

Estes Park Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Christmas & New Years
Dec 19 2014 - Jan 4 2015
4 night minimum stay
$375
 
 
Summer Season
May 1 2015 - Sep 27 2015
3 night minimum stay
$375
$2,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$275
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $49
Tax Rate 7.39%
Notes Parking is limited to only 5 vehicles. No RV's or campers allowed.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Estes Park Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • River ...
  • Town ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bath - toilet , shower , Dual sinks and oversized shower for easy access/handicapped
    Main Floor Restroom - toilet , Sink also
    Upstairs Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Master Bath is an over sized shower area with hand held sprayer and can accommodate wheel chair access if needed.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , 1 baby crib , Inflateables, 1 queen, 1 full and 2 twin
    Upstairs Bedroom - 1 king , Plenty of room for two twin air mattress's if needed.
    Downstairs Bedroom - 1 double , Full bed, room enough for up to a queen air mattress if need
    Upstairs bedroom - 2 double , 2 twin/ single , 2 top bunks - twin, 2 bottom bunks - full
    Loft - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Hide a bed with extra foam mattress if needed.
  • If needed, additional sleeping areas are the couches in the living area in addition to 1 queen air mattress, 1 full, and 2 twin air mattress's. Sleeping on the porch in the summer is a popular item!
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 12 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Stacks of wood are provided for use of the fireplace. The fireplace is generally used to heat the entire house. The garage is a two car garage with a work room that has plenty of room to store bikes, skies, golf clubs, fishing poles and other large items.

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote