Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

LUXURY TIMBERFRAME/SUNNY EASTSIDE-BOATING, FISHING, WINERIES AND RELAXATION

Robert Foley

Advertiser since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Robert Foley

Advertiser since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 25, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

LUXURY TIMBERFRAME/SUNNY EASTSIDE-BOATING, FISHING, WINERIES AND RELAXATION

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Hammondsport House Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Sleeps 10 Comfortably

AT LAKESIDE ON KEUKA'S DESIRABLE EASTSIDE with great SUNSETS, this fantastic 4BR 3bath year round getaway beckons those wanting comforts of home w/lakeside perks! ! Comes with color basic cable TV and high speed internet, dishwasher, washer-dryer, covered & open DECKS for shade & sun seekers, firepit for toasting those marshmallows, 40 ft DOCK ~AND BREATHTAKING LAKEVIEWS with its renowned SUNSETS! Within close proximity of quaint area villages, restaurants (by boat or car), vineyards & winery trails, public parks & boat launches, conveniences, nearby marinas for fishermen, and tourist attractions. 20 Foot, 260hp, power boat rental AVAILABLE. Jet Ski Rental AVAILABLE.

Keuka Yacht Club

- Keuka Wine Trail

- Seneca Lake Wine Trail

Marinas and Waterfront Restaurants

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Robert Foley (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 25, 2015

Why HomeAway

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Luxury Timberframe/Sunny EastSide-Boating, Fishing, Wineries and Relaxation
average rating of 3.0 based on 1 reviews
business
Luxury Timberframe/Sunny EastSide-Boating, Fishing, Wineries and Relaxation
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188106
-585 415-9412
Hammondsport Keuka Lake
3

Nice property. Be aware of deceptive owner.

  • 3 of 5
The home was clean and in a good location.

The owner was rude and disrespectful however and did not disclose a MAJOR problem with the lake front boat dock & hoist system and is now keeping our security deposit to replace or repair his 35 year old boat lift.

Apparently his boat lift, ( a manually operated hoist system that is 35-38 years old, age was disclosed by a neighbor.) does not perform adequately due to age, wear and tear. The boat hoist was in dire need of repair and/or replacement. The hoist damaged our boat during a severe "tornado," type storm that came through.

The manually operated boat hoist was not capable of totally lifting our boat up and above the water. The entire boat hoist we found out was extremely fragile with previous operating issues. The wind storm caused both our boat and the fragile, worn hoist to be damaged.

We expected the owner to offer to compensate us for damage to our boat, due to his disrepaired boat hoist. He decided to keep our security deposit to pay for his new boat lift.

When we checked in, he never disclosed the problems with the boat hoist and he was fully aware that we had a boat for the week on the lake. The owner forbid us to tie up our boat along the new wooden dock, fearing scratches. We had no choice but to dock our boat in the hoist, that did not function properly, due to age and wear. The hoist was already 38 years old, weak, rusted and WAY beyond its life span. (though we found this information out from a neighbor, not from the owner.)

The owner has kept our security deposit and will likely have a new or fully restored boat lift before summer's end!

Enjoy the home, but be well aware that a deceptive owner lurks in the background.

He felt it necessary to raise his voice to me on the phone about the above issue. The owner offened me as I do not accept this style of communication nor do I ever conduct myself in this manner. (Why use rude, obnoxious language and tone of voice when we are fully capable of calmly, respectfully and intelligently discussing our disagreements? ) I apply this to my daily life and I do not feel the home owner of this property acted appropriately.

I would ask the owner to keep the money and enjoy your new (or refurbished) boat hoist. It may remind you of how it was funded, deceptively.
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Cindy for this opportunity to reply to your comments. While there are some truths, there are many errors also. I will separate the fact from the fiction via this response. Yes, we certainly try to accommodate our valued renters by providing a clean, comfortable, luxury home in a great location. That is true. However, I allowed you to use my boat lift, because I did not want your boat to be banging up against our new, 720 sq.ft ipe wood dock (18’x40’), which is worth over $65,000 by itself. (Just like another living room directly on the lake). The boat hoist is not 35-38 years old; actually, 35 years ago, I was in high school dreaming about someday owning a cottage as beautiful as we currently have on Keuka Lake right now. We procured in the Shore Station boat hoist in 1995, a few years after we bought our “old” cottage which was torn-down to make way for our current lavish home. It was not in “Dire Need” of repair, “WAY BEYOND its LIFESPAN”, nor has it ever caused us a problem. It is an aluminum lift; it will last forever if properly maintained. The only maintenance is to periodically change the cable wire, pro-active is better than re-active. Nor was it rusted, since it is aluminum which never rusts. The hoist has lifted my Cobalt 242 which weighs 4600 lbs. without problem. You just need a little brute force/strength to lift the boat “out of the water” to keep it high and dry, since it is manual. Force you did not use. An automatic winch equates to the combination of water, electricity, and not knowing what you’re doing = too much liability. The reason you damaged my hoist, as you well know, is that you pulled in your boat into the lift, cranked the wheel a few times, and did not lift it out of the water so it was “high and dry”. The force of the waves banging the boat lift from side-to-side caused the lower left leg to snap and crack in place. The cost damage to repair was 2 men @ 1.5 hours each for the incident and replacement = 6 hours total = $360 + $207 for the part = $567 total. Your deposit of $500 was cashed to offset the cost of the repair. Not to put salt in the wound Cindy, but your sister said upon check-in, and I quote, “I realize my sister is a pain, and she has been to you. Please forgive her. She has never worked a day in her life”. We provide a clean, beautiful spacious luxury home, directly on Keuka Lake. Please be respectful of our neighbors and our property. Please treat is as if it was yours. We Value your Respect. Thanks.

Map

Nearest Airport
64 Miles
Rochester

Golf: - Lakeside Country Club

- Bath Country Club

- Bristol Harbour Country Club

Ski: - Bristol Mountain

- Swain Ski and Snow Board Center

- Greek Peak

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $650 Per night

Hammondsport House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Halloween to Memorial Day
Oct 31 2014 - May 21 2015
2 night minimum stay
$650
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$750
$4,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Cleaning $75
Linens and Towels $75
Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Tax Rate 2.0%
Notes Linens and Towels extra

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Hammondsport House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2250 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Garage
  • Internet
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Tub-Shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Steam Bath and Shower
  • Steam Shower in Downstairs Bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , King Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , King Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Double Futon
  • There is also a finished basement which includes two twin matresses, a Full Size Refrigerator, Television, Dry Sauna and Full Bath (Bathroom #4).
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Steam Shower
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • scenic drives
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
Boat and Jet Ski Rental Available

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote