Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

110 Sq Meter Ground Floor Apartment in Jordaan


Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, german, dutch
Bedrooms 1
Half Baths1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, german, dutch
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 30, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

110 Sq Meter Ground Floor Apartment in Jordaan

Bedrooms 1
Half Baths1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights


Old Center Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 2-5),2 bikes


The quiet comfortable apartment is situated on the ground floor of an 18th century monumental building in the Jordaan district. The area is famous for history, trendy shopping, bars and restaurants. And is situated in the city centre of Amsterdam. Apartment is located 50 metres from Prinsengracht, hundred metres from Noordermarkt, 500 metres from Anne Frankhouse with free view on Violettenstraat.


Twice a week there is a local market (Monday: flee market and on Saturdays a farmer market).

Close to the canals

The apartment borders the canal district, is close to the Ann Frank House and nearby all other sight-seeing attractions in town (5- 20 minutes walk).

Ground floor apartment


The apartment is well furnished in an understated fashion. The apartment is 110 sq m (about 1050 sq ft). Renovated kitchen and bathroom (end 2012). The living/dining room has a superb view in front and a patio at the rear. The sofa also serves as two/three separate(quest) beds. There is a cable TV and stereo with CD-player. There is a computer with wi-fi.


The kitchen has an oven, coffee-maker, dishwasher and microwave.


The very quiet bedroom is at the rear and behind this bedroom there is a large bathroom with toilet/bath and separate shower. The bedroom has a double (not separable) bed of 2.00-2.00. It is very quiet and has open doors to the patio. Childbed available. There are three bikes available.

Keywords: Apartment

More Details
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, german, dutch
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 30, 2015

About The Owner

I'm living here now for almost 30 years. I saw this area rising to the nicest area in Amsterdam. I live here now with my family upstairs. The plan is in the future to live at the basement as well. It is a beautifull place with a beautifull patio. I put a new bathroom and kitchen in it at the end of 2012 because of two reviews. Because I'm living upstairs I don't want any complaints.

The Owner purchased this apartment in 1980

Why The Owner chose Old Center

It is still a quiet apartment in the middle of the centre. For me it is the best neighbourhood of Amsterdam.

What makes this apartment unique

You can walk/cycle to every part in the centre within 10-15 minutes. Lot of restaurants and bars. Markets and good shops. Within 10 minutes in a park. In fact everything is available.

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 1
Half Baths1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 31 traveler reviews

Write a Review
110 Sq Meter Ground Floor Apartment in Jordaan
average rating of 4.032258 based on 31 reviews

Critical flaws need repair

  • 1 of 5

We encountered one major problem, which, until it is fully and completely remedied by a professional builder, requires me to post a one star review, and provide a warning to others. The combination of the toilet and loose floor tiles was a show-stopper. Seriously. Absolutely. Appallingly. Disgusting.

The owner had obviously had toilet problems in the apartment, since he mentioned it during our initial tour, and there were two used toilets sitting outside in the courtyard. After our first night, I noticed more wetness on the floor around the toilet than one would expect. Further investigation in the morning showed that the drain line was not even properly attached to the back of the toilet, and I could see through the gap between the toilet porcelain and the plastic drain at the connection point. Yes, that meant the water on the floor came from the toilet. From the business end of the toilet.

Okay, I've installed a few toilets in my day, and consider myself moderately handy. It only took a few minutes to get the drain reconnected, and the plastic seal back over the porcelain. Except that the toilet rocked. On loose black 60x60cm tiles with missing grout. Not a problem!! I cut up some plastic to make some shims to put between the toilet and the tiles, and leveled the toilet. Now we're ready to rock, I think to myself.

Except that the loose tiles with the loose grout were effectively floating in a cesspool, with raw sewage mist blasting into the air at the joints. Little fountains of feces burbled from each and every step as the loose tiles wobbled and forced air and a foul cesspool mist out at the joints. I bleached the floor, but I am pretty certain my diarrhea the next day was caused by the fecal mist.

Don't stay here until that bathroom is gutted down to the brick structural elements, has all wood removed, and is basically rebuilt from the foundation up by certified tradesmen.

As a confirmation of the lack of ongoing investment by the owner, the fitted sheets on the main bed were too small, and would come loose at the corners during the night. Combined with the damaged front blinds and insubstantial front curtains on a well-lit street, you have to ask why the owner won't even put 100 euros into the simple and easily remedied problems. I can make a bed, and it is pretty obvious when the sheets are too small for a bed. This is something you know before you even finish putting them on.

This apartment would otherwise be three stars or more.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I saw this review and thought what is this. Unfortunate there were other people in the apartment so it wasn't possible to get in. I asked the people if everything was alright and thet told me everything was alright. I wrote Darren to tell him I felt sorry and try to settle it. because I don't want unsattisfied customers. I told him that I renewed the toilet in a couple of hours because the former customers broke the old one. He didn't want to. Two days ago I went into the apartment and was surprised what I saw. This so called plumber put some plastic under the toilet as you do with a table in a restaurant which is a bit unstable. That is why he maybe touched the pipe at the back which started to drip (the other people didn't even recognized it). This man came into the apartment without saying a word. His children sat down and started to play on their computer. His wife was friendly. During their stay I asked them if they need something. They never asked for anything and they knew I was living upstairs. I don't want to be realy personal but this man realy is unfair. The only thing I have to admit is that blinds in the front needed a repair. I already changed them. I run a apartment which is on a realy good location which the most people do like. It is realy good value for money. I will ask more people for a review so this one will be fast on the next page, Writing this response I'm getting angry again so I hope to see a lot of new customers with good reviews.

What a great stay!!!!

  • 5 of 5

Me and 3 friends stayed for a week. Wonderful location, great amenities and Paul was very helpful.

I would definetly recommend this apartment, which provided an excellent stay in an amazing city.

  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway

Great family apartment

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this apartment for 3 nights as a family of 5.

We loved everything about the place, the neighbourhood and the hosts. It's a fantastic location, walkable to anything and everything. Thankyou for your warm welcome and to your family making my kids feel so special.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Fantastic Location

  • 4 of 5

This apartment is in the Jordaan neighborhood centrally located in Amsterdam. It is on the ground floor of an historic building with high ceilings, wooden floors and huge rooms. The kitchen is well equipped with anything you might need, even some basic pantry items like salt and pepper, sugar, oil. Plenty of towels and toiletries are provided in the bathroom. The beds are comfortable with fluffy pillows and comforters. Paul is a gracious host and offered assistance with anything we might need. There are lots of things to do within walking distance. We enjoyed just walking along the streets and beside the canals, watching the boats and bicycles rushing by. There are so many restaurants and shops nearby you can find anything you might want just steps away. We loved staying here and I hope to return some day to explore more of Amsterdam.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Location Location Location

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I just returned from two weeks in Amsterdam and were very happy with our main floor (no stairs, hooray!) apartment in the Jordaan--the city's "most charming" neighbourhood. We had an overnight flight from Toronto so arrived by taxi (haven't learned to pack light) at around 9:00 a.m., but Paul was there to greet us and show us around. Cleaning was still underway, so we left our bags and set out to walk to the Central Station to buy our transit passes which we put to good use on the trams and buses during our stay. Tram 3 and 10 from Marnixplein were our favourites and only a short and pleasant walk away along Westerstraat past the two supermarkets opposite one another--Jumbo on the west side and Albert Heijn on the east side and also past a number of other shops, cafes, etc. We loved the neighbourhood with its organic food market on Saturday and flea/clothes market on Monday. Especially loved Winkel's famous apple cake. We had dinner there twice, and I can recommend both meals we had there, the salmon and the steak, both perfectly cooked and presented. Our host, Paul, couldn't have been nicer or more accomodating. Re the apartment, we appreciated the vase of fresh flowers and bottle of wine, the very comfortable king-size bed, the large double closet with plenty of clothes hangers and built-in chest of drawers. The hair dryer was old but worked fine. The shower was big with plenty of hot water and good pressure. We used the gas stove and microwave a lot but mainly used the dishwasher as a dish drain as we never dirtied enough dishes in a day to warrant turning it on. There were lots and lots of dishes, pots and pans, and glasses of all sorts. It was also nice to have a t.v. that received a few English-language stations (CNN, BBC, TLC) as we failed to learn more than basic phrases in Dutch. All-in-all, we were very happy with this perfectly-located, large and bright apartment in Amsterdam.

  • Submitted: May 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Stayed Weekend 22/11/13

  • 5 of 5

Three of us stayed in this apartment on the weekend of the 22nd Nov for two nights. We found the apartment to be excellent and exactly what we were looking for. Paul, the owner, met us on Friday evening and showed us the apartment, where everything was etc and then left us to it. The apartment has everything you need, from sleeping to all utensils including a couple of bikes that we used on Saturday to cycle round the city (one of us felt too unwell to venture out :-). Full wifi internet connection as well, which made it very easy to plan out what were doing.

The Jordaan area it is in is lovely, with a weekend market just round the corner and everything else within a 10 minutes walk. The area has some great cafes / food places along with some nice bars along with some coffeeshops if that is what you are after.

Overall we will be back, very happy with this as it suited our needs very well.

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
several good bars
Nearest Ferry
2 Miles
north sea or behind central station
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Central Staion
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
different highways
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
several from cheap till star restaurants
Nearest Ski
8 Miles
Nearest Beach
15 Miles

Everything is possible in the surroundings of Amsterdam. I advice when you have a longer stay to find your way on internet. If you have a stay shorter than 7 days you will have a very busy program just in the surroundings (within 5 miles). There are 3 bikes included so you can bike all around.


Rates & Availability

From €110 Per night

Old Center Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Base Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Notes Two days are possible but price will depend on availability.
Rates can be less during low season or last minute. Rates are inclusive I advice you to send a mail for the best rate.
Rates for the whole apartment are:
375 for 3 nights
500 for 4 nights
550 for 5 nights
700 for 7 nights
Month 2000 euro

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total


Old Center Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Computer Available ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • There is a big bath and a seperate shower.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • King size beds (1), Child Beds (1) There is a crib available, Sleep Sofa or Futons (3) In the living room there is one sleeping bench which can be used for two people (no heavyweights) or by one. There is a sofa too where you can sleep (see pictures).
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote