Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Beauty with a View...Things that Make You Go..Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 4, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Beauty with a View...Things that Make You Go..Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


Livermore House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

This Gated Country Estate, surrounded by a natural stone wall, offers expansive views of the Bay Area from the snow-capped Sierras to the San Mateo peninsula, and is adjacent to the Mt. Diablo/East Bay Regional Park with over 1000 miles of hiking, biking, and riding trails. Horses graze peacefully on the grassy foothills, and the estate abounds with wildlife, which you can view from the picture windows in every room.

This magnificent, serene setting has been described by visitors as comparable to being on a perennial vacation. Very private, yet just minutes from the 580 and 680 freeways, this 16-acre gated retreat has be to experienced to be believed.

Located close to the expansive Delta system connecting the Bay Area with Sacramento. Fishing, boating, swimming, and all water sports are readily available.

The location offers close proximity to airports, both private and international, Bay Area Rapid Transit, and numerous golf courses. The thriving Tri-Valley area abounds with restaurants and shopping. Numerous tourist spots are nearby: San Francisco, AT&T Ballpark, the wineries of Napa/Sonoma/Livermore, Great America, Marine World/Africa USA, and Water World. Yosemite National Park, Monterey, Carmel, Santa Cruz, and ocean beaches are close by.

This 4200 square foot mountain home retreat has a gourmet kitchen; the bathrooms are tumbled marble. The house features extensive use of redwood, hardwood flooring, marble, stone, and brick; all the upgrades.

This home is one of two on the private estate - the other can be viewed at VRBO #165938.

Keywords: Private Estate in Country

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 4, 2015

Guestbook comments from the owner

I just wanted to thank you from myself and my whole family for the hospitality of your home last week. It is an absolutely gorgeous property and we really enjoyed our time in the Livermore and greater San Francisco area.
Dec 2008
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 18 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Beauty with a View...Things that Make You Go..Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!
average rating of 4.5 based on 19 reviews

WOW and Then More!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5

We rented this absolutely beautiful home from Cheryl, the owner, and her attention to our satisfaction was superb. We literally hated to leave, because we had such a wonderful time there. Everything that is advertised about the home and the views are spot on! Plenty of space in the large home to accommodate large groups. The kitchen is well stocked for all cooking needs, the beds are divine, and the decor is amazing! We can't wait to return, and can't thank Cheryl enough for her graciousness!!!

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Truly a Wow Experience!

  • 5 of 5

Six of us stayed in this home for 3 days and wished we could have stayed longer. The views from this estate are just fabulous. Even though we visited in September and the hills were no longer green but tan, the vistas are just breathtaking!

We had originally rented the 'cottage' on the property but when we arrived Cheryl, the owner said we could look at both homes and decide where we would rather stay. Both houses are gorgeous but we decided that since the common areas were larger in the main house, that would work better for our group. There are many decks and patios in the rear of the house that overlook the hills and are great spots for your morning coffee or a evening BBQ. While we were there the clouds moved in one day and you weren't just under them but among them, what a unique experience.

As another reviewer commented, there are no blinds on the windows but that would just be a shame to have. The rear of this home was built with tons of windows to take advantage of the beautiful view. Why would you want to cover that up?

We had no problem accessing the internet at the home and there were several TV's with lots of Direct TV channels. The house is a huge ranch and it is actually a bit of a walk from one end to the other. Lots of lovely furniture and antiques, and the kitchen and Master Bedroom/bath were particularly attractive. Downtown Livermore is about 15 - 20 minutes away with all the fun wineries to check out. If I ever returned to the Livermore, CA area, I would not stay anywhere else but here.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: HomeAway

VERY Poor Service & Still Waiting For Deposit!

  • 1 of 5

In October of 2010 my wife and I were married at this property. We given freedom to use both houses on the property for our wedding party and our guests on Friday October 15 and 16. With the deposit and rental fees we were promised two working hot tubs, wireless internet access, access to parking for our guests, firewood for a bonfire, and an early arrival time of 2:00 pm.

When we arrived on Friday, the owner stopped us at the driveway and said that we could not arrive at the property before 4:00. We were allowed to drop off our supplies and luggage but had to go away until 4.

Once we returned, we were greeted by the very helpful property manager who apologized for the owner and informed us that one of the hot tubs were not working (leaving a giant eye-sore with stale, green, odorous puddles in the bottom of the uncovered unit), there was only a little firewood to use and the internet was broken.

Undeterred, we soldiered through and set up for the wedding, finding out, as people arrived, that the area for guest parking was locked. We could not find the property manager to open it for us. None of the phone numbers we were given worked and had no way to log on to retrieve information from emails. This left our guests to park along a very narrow, blind-curved road, possibly illegally.

Guests that took advantage of the "working" hot tub stated that the temperature did not reach above 80 degrees and the jets did not work at all.

Feeling a bit cheated and fairly upset we attempted to clean the house as much as we could and complete as many of the things on the checkout list that we could remember (no internet nor working phone number).

Two and a half month later we contacted the owner and asked about the deposit. We received an email back from the property manager stating that there was a pile of dirt on the stairs (no way from us, I personally swept all of the floors), the firewood was all used up (we were told that we could use it all), and the owner was generally unhappy with the state of the houses.

After a number of unanswered emails stating our position and pleading for the list of grievances or our deposit back, we filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and still have not heard anything.

If you want our advice, steer clear of this place. Its beautiful but have no understanding of running a property or of helping customers. Very, very, very disappointed.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This party arrived at the property at 10:30 am, when there check-in wasn't until 4. We had a back to back booking this weekend so a party had just vacated the premises and my property manager and myself were cleaning the home before this party arrived. They had rented both properties so there party was able to start entering the other property seeing as it was already clean. We did allow them to unpack there wedding decor and have deliveries left in the garage of the main house. The party was informed upon arrival that there was no internet connection due to the actions of the previous guests. There was no time for us to have the internet provider up to the property to re-establish connection. This party had no problem with that. They were also informed that there was only one working hot tub and were okay wih that as well. There is a clause in our contract (which I will email to home away) that states our guests are to purchase firewood at the grocery stores in town. This party used every piece of our firewood for a bonfire which they had on the driveway concrete. They left ash everywhere. The gate to the overflow parking was closed but had been unlocked prior to the guests arriving. The property manager lives onsite and was on the property during this time. They could have gotten ahold of her easily. Th reason I held there security deposit was not simply because of a little dirt on the steps. I am not that petty. The smaller house was a complete disaster and clearly had housed more people than the contract allowed. They also had more guests in there party which is another breach of contract. This party received a very discounted rate because they were teachers on a tight income and we were trying to accomodate them as best we could. Unfortunately we cannot please everyone but we try very hard to do just that. This party was informed months ago that they would not be receiving there deposit back. A poor review on my home will not make me change my decision.
Cupertino, CA

Excellent property and excellent care taker

  • 5 of 5

The owner as well as the care taker, Kris were very good at very stage of the whole process.

Cheryl and Kris we really loved your place and our kids loved it too. Thanks .

  • Submitted: May 31, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Padmaja, Thank you so much for your kind words. While at first, we were quite skeptical about a group of teenage girls, as you know. However, after spending time round each person in your group, not only the girls, but the Teacher and chaperons as well, we could not have asked for better house guests. Please come back next year with your girls or just come up with family. You and your entire group will always be welcome at this house. Thank you again for taking such good care of the house.
Bay Area

Just As Promised.....

  • 5 of 5

I had to ask Kris the "perfect hostess", just to be sure, that what was floating by my head were actually CLOUDS...I mean, clouds that I could reach out and touch, that were floating in through an open patio door. I was speechless.

This house and the smaller home on the property, Camelot, served as the home base for a state wide company gathering. From the time we arrived and were warmly greeted by Kris, we felt right at home. The welcome we received was honest and each one of us appreciated it.

The property was amazing and truly above and in the clouds.

Thank you Kris and Cheryl for everything. We will be back.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
  • Source: HomeAway

Would have received a 5 plus rating if ...

  • 4 of 5

The home above expectation. Kris the hoWme keeper is wonderful and truly cares about the guest in the home. Our family of eleven had lots of room for all of us and everyone of us loved the home. the fog on the road up sometimes a little scary to drive but the view at this home is worth it. We would love to come back to this home and have another vacation in the bay area. We have not received our promised refundable deposit and it has now bee five months. that would be the only thing that I could say could be improved. Everything else about this home was above and beyond our expectations. Christmas 2009, thank you Cheryl and Kris.

Your new friends from Canada

  • Submitted: May 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: My New Friends from Canada. Ron, you and your family will always be welcomed guests at my property. Each and everyone in your group were the perfect house guests and I appreciate that more than you will ever know. I am happy that we came to an understanding regarding the return of your deposit. Thank you very much for your patience, as well as your sympathy regarding the situation surrounding my grand child. The fact that you enjoyed your Christmas vacation at my property, coupled with being in a position to make it all work for you, was an honor and a pleasure. Please come back real door is always open for you. Thank you once again for your kind words and your never ending patience.


Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Oakland International Airport
Nearest Barpub
12 Miles
First Street/Livermore/take your pick
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Bay Area Rapid Transit
Nearest Motorway
9 Miles
I-580E/B @ N. Livermore Exit
Nearest Restaurant
First Street/Livermore/take your pick
Car: necessary

The Tri-Valley Area is no longer a place to stop on the way to your destination. It has become your destination. From the Wine Train in Sunol, the Livermore Rodeo, The Scottish Games in Pleasanton , this is the place you want to see, the people you want to meet and the wine you have to taste. With the Tri- Valley Area as your destination, you are close enough to visit the places that have been drawing people to the Bay Area for centuries. Make the Tri-Valley Area your destination and find out what you have missing.

Other Activities: Wine Tasting and Tours


Rates & Availability

From $400 Per night

Livermore House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning Fee $325
Tax Rate 10.0%
Notes This property DOES charge separately for events and/or groups for day use. Our fantastic higher elevation location offers unparallelled views of the surrounding area that simply can't be found elsewhere. We would love to host your wedding or corporate event here at the Gated Country Estate. Holiday rentals or special needs may increase this rate. Cleaning fee (non-refundable) ranges from $350-$400 based on number of guests. There is a 10% Occupancy Tax. A $500 Refundable Security Deposit is required.
When inquiring, please provide information about the type of gathering and the expected number of guests. We will provide you with a quote.

*Rates are subject to change without notice until reservation confirmation with a Rental Agreement.
Enter dates to see total


Livermore House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
  • Away From It All
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • King size beds (2), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • jetted tub
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote