Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

HERON'S LANDING...A WATERFRONT VACATION HOME WITH SWIMMING POOL

Jeff Baker

Advertiser since: 2008
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps16
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Half Baths2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Manager

Jeff Baker

Advertiser since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
January 19, 2015
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

HERON'S LANDING...A WATERFRONT VACATION HOME WITH SWIMMING POOL

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Half Baths2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Guntersville Lake House Rental Photos and Description

House, 6 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 14-16)

Come create your ultimate vacation in our newly updated luxury home. Heron's Landing is located on beautiful Lake Guntersville, Alabama, home to the renowned Bassmaster Tournament and some of the best fishing in the South. If fishing isn't your passion, enjoy the porch swing on the dock while taking in the surrounding wildlife. Better yet, catch a nap, sip a drink, or read a book in the quiet solitude of the screened porch on the boat dock. Pure paradise!

When taking a break from the beautiful lake, relax by the glistening saltwater pool, sipping a beverage of your choice. If being active is more your style, shoot some hoops, work on your putting skills, play kick ball on the level yard, or push kids on the swings of the outdoor play set.

As the day heats up, there is plenty of space to get out of the sun but still enjoy the ambience of the outdoors. The pool house is equipped with a kitchenette, granite bar, and gas grill to enjoy food and drinks under a covered eating area. The screened porch also allows you to be poolside while cooling in the shade.

Whether the day is just beginning or coming to an end, there is plenty of space for everyone to spread out indoors. With six bedrooms, four full baths and two half baths, two living rooms, and a game room, there is abundant space to meet everyone's needs. The four flat screen televisions, foosball table, and ping pong table provides choices for all ages.

Heron's Landing boasts the colonial charm of yesteryear while providing modern amenities of today. The house is a New England Federal style that was designed after the Deane-Barstow House built in 1807. A fully equipped kitchen with Vermont Soapstone countertops, wide plank pine floors with hand forged nails, and cabinets with an aged farmhouse patina, take guests back to a long forgotten era.

We hope you find rest and relaxation while making memories to last a lifetime!

Keywords: Home

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Jeff Baker (Property Manager)
Advertiser since: 2008
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
January 19, 2015
Sleeps16
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Half Baths2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.2
based on 12 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Heron's Landing...a Waterfront Vacation Home with Swimming Pool
average rating of 4.25 based on 12 reviews
business
Heron's Landing...a Waterfront Vacation Home with Swimming Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182515vb
+1 -(256) 673-1999
Guntersville Lake Alabama Mountains
5

Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5
Just had to send a quick note of thanks for a wonderful time we had at our annual family reunion. This was our first time to the Gunthersville area; we were pleasantly surprised with all it had to offer. We found plenty of activities to do between the resort town and lake. The facilities were outstanding! The pool, hot tub, and fishing from the boathouse deck were highlights we all enjoyed. The kitchen was well stocked, beds were clean and comfortable, spacious game room in the basement, all in all, plenty of room to spread out and enjoy our time together. My favorite spot was the screened-in porch overlooking the pool deck. We ate relaxing meals, watched the sunrise, and just visited together while sipping drinks as the kids played. The flat screen TV's throughout the home, gave us multiple options in the evening for entertainment. Thanks again for the beautiful accommodations to meet the needs of our growing family; we'll be back!
  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Heron's Landing...a Waterfront Vacation Home with Swimming Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182515vb
+1 -(256) 673-1999
Guntersville Lake Alabama Mountains
3

Great House - Very Poorly Cleaned & Lack of Maintenance

Great House - Very Poorly Cleaned & Lack of Maintenance
  • 3 of 5
This house was beautiful very well stock with all the amenities. Terrific hot tub. I would have rated this house as Excellent except the house was filthy and poorly maintained. The fridge had not been cleaned in a very long time. Only two of the four dials on the stove were functioning the other two were broken; one of the two that looked functional was cracked and we had to use a twist tie to make it work. We fought for three days straight to get rid of the ants that were coming out of the top of the stove by the thousands, they were all over the stove and counter top; looked like the stove was moving. We sprayed with a bleach solution and vacuumed twice or more daily, then traced their path - they were coming from under the sink in and around near the dishwasher. Finally, we conquered. While trying to find the ant source we found lots of mouse poop in the cupboards and poop and mouse traps under the sink, so needless to say all the cookware, utensils and dishes we used had to be washed first. The floor to the entrance/laundry room area and kitchen was filthy. The toilets in two of the bathrooms were dirty (we cleaned them before using them). The oven had burned on food and was lined with tinfoil. One of the beds downstairs had not been stripped and after getting into it we could smell the last person who used it and immediately washed the sheets. Under the same bed was a big ball of dust/dirt. The downstairs bathroom was the worst (disgusting). The bathrooms throughout the house had dirty floors and when you opened the windows they were covered in cobwebs, dead flies and debris. The shower curtain rod in the purple room didn’t fit allowing the spray from the shower head over top of the curtain on to the floor. The banister from the second floor was cracked and needs repair. The pool house was dirty and the sliding door was coming off its supports, we didn’t even use it. The boat house needed lots of cleaning and the doors needed maintenance – we couldn’t even enjoy being out there. When we vacate a rental and we have been doing this for 14 years; we always leave it spotless, our family motto is “leave it cleaner than we found it”, unfortunately that was not very difficult with this home. When leaving we vacuumed and cleaned throughout, when cleaning the down stairs rooms and rugs up the stairs we had to empty the canister of the vacuum twice. Beautiful house but the cleaning/maintenance staff needs to go...
  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: As the property manager, I am sincerely disappointed that the property/condition did not meet your expectations. This property recently was purchased by new owners who have committed to updating the home and addressing all issues that need attention They/I sincerely want every guest to be happy and satisfied with this home and their stay and have already begun the process of updating to that end. . All new appliances were installed just last week ( new gas cooktop, new dishwasher, and new refrigerator. They have also added new bedding and are continuing to do what they feel is necessary to make this home the best vacation rental in this town.
I would like to address the issues in your review. The house is treated monthly for pests..which includes ant, bugs, rodents but ants have been an issue and we have brought it to the attention of the pest company. I personally inspect the property after it is cleaned and I did not find or see any dirty/filthy toilets, sinks, or floors before your arrival. If so, i would have addressed the issues and corrected them before your arrival. The new owners came down in October and spent an entire weekend cleaning interior windows inside and out. There is no sliding door in the pool house as you mentioned in your review.
Over 98% of our past guests are very satisfied with this property and with the updates and additions in progress it will be even better for future guests. Hope you will allow us the opportunity to have you as a guest again !
business
Heron's Landing...a Waterfront Vacation Home with Swimming Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182515vb
+1 -(256) 673-1999
Guntersville Lake Alabama Mountains
Nashville, Tn
5

Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5
We have stayed at here once before and loved it. We were looking at the calendar tonight to see if Thanksgiving was open. We saw a really negative review and felt we needed to give our impression. I promise you this is one of the best VRBO rentals we have stayed in. We have rented through VRBO at least 15 times all over the country and this property rates with our favorites. I can't think of a time that an owner offered the use of tubes, kayaks, and in our case brought over one of the best pies I ever ate! These folks go out of their way to provide a great time for their guests. If you don't enjoy this property then I don't know what would please you. We will be back for sure.
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Heron's Landing...a Waterfront Vacation Home with Swimming Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182515vb
+1 -(256) 673-1999
Guntersville Lake Alabama Mountains
AL
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
We loved this house! We came for an early "summer" stay and to reconnect with distant family. The house is so spacious and well appointed. We docked our boat at the boat house and fished in one of the best spots ever! The children loved the yard and pool. The owner stopped by and introduced himself and offered us the use of his kayak. We plan to book it for a week next July. Thanks for a great stay!
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Heron's Landing...a Waterfront Vacation Home with Swimming Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182515vb
+1 -(256) 673-1999
Guntersville Lake Alabama Mountains
Granbury,TX
2

diappointment

  • 2 of 5
We have saved 3 years for our family vacation with grandchildren ages 2-10yrs and were very disappointed that the play set that was pictured and advertised was non existent. The screened in dock was infested with wasps and spiders. The pool was very good but no slide as was advertised. The pool house was good but hadn't been cleaned. The small refrig. had 12 inches of caked iced and there were wasps nest surrounding the pool house. My daughter was stung. It wasn't what we expected!
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Reply to review:

We are very sorry you were disappointed with your stay. When we
introduced ourselves you told us you were very happy with the house. We
would certainly have addressed any issues. We gave you a gift card to
dinner because of the repair work being done and we felt badly about the
interruption. We also gave you tubes to use for the children's
enjoyment. I agree the photos need to be updated and that is actually in
process of updating all the photos. The house has been freshly painted
and has all new carpet on the second floor so the photos do not do the
interior justice. The boat house deck was lost during the tornado and
the reconstruction did not include a new deck. The swing set was
scheduled to be removed and replace in a few weeks. The outdoor ping
pong table is being removed and replaced as well. The ping pong table in
the basement is only one year old and is an $900 table. The Foosball is
not in disrepair. My husband also attended to the wasp nest himself and
had a very pleasant conversation with the gentleman in your group. The
boat house is like any boat house. Unfortunately, spiders are part of
living on the lake. We truly wish you had enjoyed your time more and we
are very shocked by your review since you seemed so pleased when we
spoke face to face. We would be happy to offer you a discount if you
wish to return.
business
Heron's Landing...a Waterfront Vacation Home with Swimming Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182515vb
+1 -(256) 673-1999
Guntersville Lake Alabama Mountains
Huntsville, AL
5

50th Wedding Anniversary Celebration

  • 5 of 5
My wife and I decided to celebrate our 50th Anniversary (AUG 16th, 2014) by renting a lake home close enough for all of our children and grandchildren to come and stay as long as work and other obligations would allow. The period 10-19 July worked best for the majority and we selected 3225, Sunrise Drive for those dates. Wish it could have been longer but the property is fully booked for the summer. We had between 9 and 16 folks sleeping over each night and entertained 24 for a B-B-Q lunch on Sunday. There was plenty of room for all our indoor activities and the outside amenities were superb. The large, level lot was great for our croquet, badminton and Frisbee golf competitions and the pool and lake were perfect for swimming and tubing. With all that this property has to offer, you won't be disappointed, whatever your interest. And you won't find a better property manager than Jeff Baker to work with. He was pleasant, eager to meet our expectations and was always just a phone call away. All-in-all, a great experience.
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Map

Many attractions nearby... Cathedral Caverns, U.S. Space and Rocket Center, Space Camp, Guntersville museum, Eagle Awareness programs, Ave Maria Grotto, Nature trails in the Lake Gunterville State Park

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Guntersville Lake House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter
Nov 1 2014 - Feb 28 2015
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
$3,500
 
 
Spring
Mar 1 2015 - May 15 2015
2 night minimum stay
$350
$2,100
 
 
Summer
May 16 2015 - Sep 7 2015
2 night minimum stay
$550
$3,850
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $235 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

Amenities

Guntersville Lake House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Upper level, 2 separate vanities, lake view from window
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Upper level, two separate vanities, shared by bedrooms 3 & 4
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , Lower level
    Guest Bathroom - toilet , Main level, pedestal sink
    Pool Bathroom - toilet , Off Screened Porch, single vanity
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Upper level, single vanity
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Lake view, upper level, flat screen tv, private bathroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , Upper level, private bathroom, flat screen tv
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Upper level, shared Jack and Jill bathroom
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , Upper level, lake view, shared Jack and Jill bathroom
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double , Lower level, shared bathroom
    Bedroom 6 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Lower level, shared bathroom
    Convertible bed(s) - 2 sleep sofa /futon , Two futons in game room, shared bathroom, flat screen tv
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Outdoor covered bar area beside swimming pool, outside basketball court, golf putting green, Boathouse with screened porch..

Other Vacation Properties

$1,000 - $2,850 per week
3 - 5 night minimum stay
  • 6 BR,
  • 4 BA,
  • Sleeps 17
$1,000 - $3,000 per week
3 - 5 night minimum stay
  • 7 BR,
  • 5 BA,
  • Sleeps 21
$2,450 - $3,500 per week
2 - 4 night minimum stay
  • 5 BR,
  • 5 BA,
  • 2 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 12

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote