Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Luxury Mountain Top Lodge - Breath Taking Panoramic Views - Decks and Fireplace

Bob Bivins

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Bob Bivins

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 4, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Luxury Mountain Top Lodge - Breath Taking Panoramic Views - Decks and Fireplace

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Overview

Bostic Cabin Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and Sleeps 10

Built in 2007, Smokey's Den includes 4 bedrooms with 3 full bathrooms and will sleep up to 10 people comfortably. This three level lodge with 3,989 sq.ft. of indoor living and 1,000 sq.ft. of deck space, is great for the perfect family getaway. Smokey's Den has a rustic finish, with knotty pine floors and tongue and groove ceilings. Smokey's Den is privately owned as a family retreat and was built with the purpose of escaping to the beauty, privacy and serenity of western North Carolina Mountains. There are two levels of decks and three floors, each with at least one bedroom and a full bathroom. There are two large screen TV's each with a DVD and VHS, a combination pool table/ air hockey table, and wireless internet access for your laptops. The Lodge is fully stocked with linens, cooking utensils, air conditioning. We hope your stay at Smokey's Den will have great memories for your family albums.

On the top floor there are two bedrooms. One is private with a Queen Size bed. The other is open with a double and single bunk bed. The loft has a double futon. The main level features a master bedroom with a king size bed, which we call the Bear Room. The remaining bedroom is located in the basement, which has a queen size bed. This room is called the Fish Room. Both the basement and first floor levels have french doors which open to breath taking views from the decks.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Bob Bivins (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 4, 2015

Guestbook comments from the owner

The cabin was grand in scale, yet delightfully intimate. The facilities were more than adequate....obviously a lot of planning went into it's design and location.



We found it a fun base from which to venture out into the Carolina environs, but just as much fun to enjoy the amenities that were there at the cabin. The surprise was the size of the accommodations and the variety of areas that a large group of people could enjoy without feeling crowded or intruded upon.



We intend to return again to this well equipped and inviting facility.



L. Wolff

Lithia, Florida 33547
May 2008
  • 1 of 11

Why HomeAway

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.5
based on 13 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Luxury Mountain Top Lodge - Breath Taking Panoramic Views - Decks and Fireplace
average rating of 4.4615383 based on 24 reviews
Charlotte, NC
5

Early autumn family reunion

  • 5 of 5

We gathered from New York, Zurich, Williamsburg and Charlotte for a too-short family reunion in October 2008. The lodge is spacious and easily accomodated our group of 7 adults and 3 children. It felt like staying in an HGTV Dream House! The fun "cabin" decor, modern amenities and comfortable style were a pleasure. The 180 degree panoramic mountain views were the best - and we, too, loved the outdoor fireplace, where we gathered for morning coffee, brats on the grill at lunch, and drinks in the evening. A highlight was dinner on Saturday night, where the family gathered around the very large dining table for beef tenderloin steaks from the grill. Wish we could have stayed longer! We clocked the trip at about 70 miles from the Charlotte airport.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad to make your Western North Carolina experience a memorable one. Thank you for your review. we really appreciat you taking the time to write a review on our Lodge. THANK YOU! The owners of "SMOKEY'S DEN"
1

Wasp infestation!

  • 1 of 5

I was very impressed with how nice and roomie this cabin was. It was much better than pics. We were pleasantly surprised and would have given it 5 stars....but Wasps nest was horrible! It was in the main bedroom and I got stung 2 times on the first night. It started with 5 wasps and I call caretakers to come over. They never did and the next day there was more than 30 wasps! Infested so much we had to sleep on couch and shut that room up! Never offered to come any money off..so disappointing and will ruin your weekend. We were told the night before they saw one, but this was unacceptable! One of our guest was allergic and we were very nervous. PLEASE BE AWARE! Make sure they have had a pest company out...spray will not work.

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Over the Summer/Fall wasps apparently built several nests outside near one of the house peaks, which we didn't know about (about 50 feet in the air) and which was a non-issue inside until the recent cold snaps hit. Unfortunately, the reviewer did suffer the results of a number of wasps somehow finding a way inside to get out of the cold and into the warmth of the master bedroom. Our regular pest control service frankly let us down when we called them the week before these nice folks arrived to deal with this and I didn't fully appreciate the problem until the reviewer emailed us after their stay. To make matters worse, when this occurred our caretaker was out of the area for the weekend with her family and so didn't respond as she normally would to the renter's call. Sort of a perfect storm of events. We are addressing the issue as a priority and hope to have it knocked out this week and the nests outside destroyed once and for all. In any event, I will be traveling up to NC later this month to personally make sure this has situation has been adequately remedied. In the meantime, my sincere apologies to the renters for their inconvenience.
3

Great Cabin with amazing views

  • 3 of 5

All I can say is STINKBUGS!! It is winter so I can understand a few stinkbugs, but this place was infested. We turned on the fans in the upstairs bedrooms when we arrived because of how hot it was up there and those bugs covered the entire bedspreads. We had to pick them off and put them in garbage bags. Not something I was hoping to deal with on my vacation. Please do something about this before you get your next renter.

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am a bit baffled by this review, although I do know which guest left it. I've never had any sort of issue with this type of insect (or even seen that sort of bug at the cabin) before, but I'll of course have my pest control service check it out. Fortunately, neither the guests who checked out the morning these folks arrived, the guests who checked in the afternoon these guests left, or any of the groups who have stayed since then had any issue and in fact two of them called to tell me how nice the cabin was. I would encourage anyone who has any issue with the cabin during their stay to call me so I can ask my caretaker to help me address it in real time. Every guest receives all my personal contact information before they check in. Obviously, it is hard to assess or help if I don't hear about it until after the fact.
5

Best Birthday Yet!

  • 5 of 5

The view from this place is breathtaking! We arrive at night and was very overwhelmed by the space and accommodations of this gorgeous cabin. We woke to a beautiful view and was able to see the most beautiful sunset I have ever seen in my life! I gathered her recently with my best friends and our mates and the space was great for all of us to have our own personal space while still having a spacious common areas to enjoy together. I had a wonderful birthday! It was a perfect place for us all to come together to enjoy great conversation, food, and friendship! We will be returning!

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
5

Beautiful view! Beautiful cabin!

  • 5 of 5

We gathered with our 4 children, their spouses and our 6 young grandchildren. There was plenty of room for all; we were able to spread out and spend lots of

quality time together. The pool table, air hockey, and electronic darts were a big

hit with the adult crowd. There were plenty of games available to suit all types,

as well as movies to watch.

The pantry was a big plus as well as the spacious kitchen. We spent our entire

time at the cabin and exploring the area around it. The setting made for some

beautiful family pictures.

We would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking for a nice get-away.

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
5

Man Trip

  • 5 of 5

Some friends of mine and I went here for a Man Trip. We wanted to get out in the woods and just be away for a while. We went hiking at a nearby park and just relaxed for the weekend. The place is really nice and we had no complaints. Thank you for making our stay amazing!

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: HomeAway

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Ashville Regional Airport
Nearest Motorway
11 Miles
Rt 226
Car: recommended

Smokey's Den is a ten minute drive off I-40, so it is a great place to stay to explore Western North Carolina. Near by attractions include Asheville with its 'Paris of the South' reputation, the 250 room Biltmore House-which is America's largest privately owned home, Grandfather Mountain with its swinging bridge, Mount Mitchell which is the tallest mountain east of the Mississippi, and the Blue Ridge Parkway. Enjoy small towns like Black Mountain, Tyron, Rutherfordton, and Hendersonville with their galleries, antique shops, friendly shop owners and locally owned restaurants. Serious furniture shoppers are less than an hour from the Hickory Furniture Mart with over 100 outlets; outlets such as Bob Timberlake, Mitchell-Gold, and Drexel-Heritage.

If your idea of a getaway involves outdoor sports, you are in the right spot. This area offers hiking, rock climbing, tout fishing, jet skiing on Lake James, whitewater rafting, mountain biking and snow skiing.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $200 Per night

Bostic Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Base Rate
2 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
Winter-Spring
Jan 7 - Apr 29
2 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
Summer
May 1 - Aug 30
2 night minimum stay
$209
 
 
Fall
Sep 4 - Nov 18
2 night minimum stay
$219
 
 
Holidays
Nov 20 - Jan 5
1 night minimum stay
$219
 
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Bostic Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3998 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking On Street
  • Safe
  • Security System
  • Telephone
  • Telescope
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gated Community
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
  • 10 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
SMOKEY’S DEN is fully furnished and outfitted for your stay, and includes a starter supply of paper towels, bathroom tissue, as well as kitchen utensils, cookware, trash bag liners linens and towels, coffee filters for the coffee maker, small container of Tide HE Detergent, dish detergent, dishwasher detergent (ONE FOR EACH DAY), single packets of salt, pepper, regular sugar and sugar substitute and hand soap in each of the bathrooms. SMOKEY'S DEN DOES NOT SUPPLY THE FOLLOWING, SHAMPOO, TOOTHPASTE, CONDIMENTS - KETCHUP, MUSTARD, COFFEE, ETC.

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote