Terribly maintained house and indifferent owner
We spent a week June 26- July 3, 2010 in this house. It was the worst rental we have ever encountered.To begin with the owner sent a contract from a diffferent property and wanted checks mailed to address other than what was on the contract, causing one of our checks to be returned as undeliverable and him being demanding because our check was late. We should have taken this as a warning and found another property at that time, but we didn't. Here are some of the problems we found upon arrival: No air conditioning (unless you count the fact there were 2 window units sitting in a closet, not hooked up); filthy carpet (looked like it was the original carpet that had pet stains, paint, spills, etc. and worn out - in all rooms); kitchen was nasty and not functional (one of the burners on the stove was sitting at a slant, we tried to fix it, lifted the top of the stove, it had so much grease and food under the top, we decided even cooking on the top stove was a hazard), shelves in the refrigerator were broken, one of the drawers in the kitchen cabinet had no front on it, the rest of the house was very dirty (including cob webs in down stairs and up stairs bed rooms not to mention in the basement, which took a broom to remove enough cob webs to get to the washer and dryer), the living room had been recently painted (but they had painted around and on wall plagues - looked like a couple 10 year olds had done the job); one loset door in bottom bedroom were off track (he suggested I sit it in the closet), and the plastic chairs on the outside deck were covered with dirt and winter's grime. These are just a few of the conditions we found upon our arrival. We immediately contacted the owner. His response was "I like it that way", that none of the above mentioned should take away from our being in the house and enjoying our vacation. He claimed no one had ever complained about the condition of the house before and the house was fine when he was last there. The owner may be used to such conditions, I am not nor do I want to spend my vacation in these conditions. The only thing this rental had going for it, was the neighborhood. Osterville is lovely, close to beaches and other attractions. We have rented homes in multiple states during the summer for years and never had such a horrible experience. If you are looking for a rental in the area, I suggest you by-pass this one, look elsewhere and enjoy your stay on Cape Cod. It is a great place to vacation.
Owner's Response: My family and I have built,owned and rented this property for 15 yrs, including 3 yrs on homeaway without a single complaint. From day 1 Ms. Lynn was looking for a free ride in a home she obviously couldn"t afford in the first place so her negative review was no suprise. We received her deposit with no problem and even honored her request to supply linens so she wouldn't have to pack them for her long journey. We did this free of charge and only asked that they be washed and folded at the end of the week which they weren"t but Ms. Lynn overlooked this hospitality in her review. The balance was due 60 days before the rental. Once the balance was 2 weeks late we sent a friendly reminder. Then the excuses started. We sent it. We sent it again but it came back. You supplied the wrong address. I explained it was the same address as the deposit was sent and we received that no problem. I explained that we would give her a little more time because we didn't want an open week but would have to cancel if not received and this infuriated her. I guess she didn't know her husband had just sent an e-mail apologizing for not sending but we finally received it 36 days late. Then the complants started on day one. One side of a bi-fold door in a bedroom came off the hinge..I asked if she could take 2 secs and lift it an inch to put it back on but no..this ruined her vacation. There were 3 working ac's at the house and 2 in a closet for back-up incase one broke..this ruined her vacation. The first floor was professionally painted and we hung some plaques that our 12 year old made in school on on wall..yes there was some white paint on the plaques..he's not the best painter:-) They read family,friends etc..But this infuriated Ms. Lynn. I explained she was renting the house not buying it..this ruined her vacation. The carpets were cleaned 3 weeks before her rental and the only stains were the ones left by her pet. A picture tells a thousand words and I don't see any broken cabinets in our kitchen picture on the website. As for our refridgerator(3 yrs old) and the cobwebs she so bravely fought her way through I don't have an answer other than she's confused my home with another landlord she's tried this with. Needless to say we were happy to see her leave as were our neighbors on the Cape.
Ms. Lynn was correct in stating that we live in a beautiful neighborhood and we invite you to stay at our beautiful home and enjoy all that Cape Cod has to offer. Thank You.
Helpful votes: 5/5
Did you find this review helpful?