Not What We Expected
First I would like to say that the view from the deck was beautiful. Went crabbing for the first time and it was great. The neighbors were very welcoming and enjoyed their company on the pier. Metro station to Washington DC was easy to get to. That was the great part of the stay. The home itself was not so pleasant. We were greeted by a mouse. The house was not clean and I was told a cleaning crew cleans the house. If so they DO NOT do a very good job. The dust under the furniture and the cob webs were not acceptable. The toaster that I used was filled with mice feces (gross). I did not realize it until I picked it up to put it away. The one and only air conditioner in the hallway is nothing but a waste of electricity, because it didn't cool none of the rooms at all. We were provided with a lot of fans that kept us somewhat cool. If your going to shower in either bathroom you better do it in the daylight because there are no shades or blinds on the windows and the whole world can see in. We did make the best of it. I would not recommend this home to my friends and I would not return.
Owner's Response: Hi Lisa,
First, let us say we are sorry that your group and the group before you had problems during your stay at our house. We wish you had called us at the time so we could have dealt with them right away. Unfortunately, the person we thought was keeping track of it's upkeep had not been paying enough attention or notifying us of problems that we would have immediately fixed. This has been remedied, and we are personally visiting the house after each stay now.
Since your stay, we have improved the central air conditioning, replaced the toaster, addressed the cleaning problems and rid the house of mice.
We do not believe that anyone can actually see into the windows and spy on you as you are showering, or we would have put curtains on the windows long ago. But, we realize that some of our guests are not comfortable with a bathroom with no curtain. As soon as we have a window of time between guests, we will be installing blinds at the bedroom and bathroom windows. Again, please accept our apology if this made you uncomfortable.
To future guests, we are committed to making your stay a pleasant, happy one. If you have any concerns, please don’t hesitate to get in touch with us by calling the number listed above. We realize that two negative reviews in a row is not a good thing, but we want to make sure that everyone knows that as soon as we received the first negative review we immediately fixed the issues listed above. Unfortunately, this review is from a date before these issues were brought to our attention.
Helpful votes: 3/3
Did you find this review helpful?