SPACIOUS BEACHFRONT GETAWAY OVERLOOKING CHESAPEAKE BAY

From
$300
Enter dates to see total
Email Owner Email

Gary Wood

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SPACIOUS BEACHFRONT GETAWAY OVERLOOKING CHESAPEAKE BAY

Port Republic House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 10

Find incredible views from every room in this spacious home on the Chesapeake Bay. Located in a small quiet beach front community, it's a perfect getaway. Enjoy spectacular sunrises over the Bay from the deck. Newly furnished and first time listed for weekly rental. Located waterfront, you can't get closer to the beach and all the fun and relaxation found there. Minutes walk to 500 foot pier for fishing, crabbing and just plain enjoying! Find fossils on the beach from the Miocene era 'Cliffs of Calvert.' Short distance to many historic sites, nature parks, and Southern Maryland attractions.

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets considered

Gary Wood

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2008
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

10 Reviews Write a Review
Spacious beachfront getaway overlooking Chesapeake Bay
average rating of 4.3 based on 10 reviews
business
Spacious beachfront getaway overlooking Chesapeake Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179183
+1 410 474-3626
Port Republic Chesapeake Bay
5

10th Anniversary Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
If you are looking for a relaxing, beautiful escape right on the bay, this is the place. My wife and I wanted to have a special getaway for our 10th anniversary, and Gary's property really delivered. We brought our seven year old son and two dogs,and great times were had by all. We literally felt like we were at sea with the magnificent panoramic views and the nearby sounds of crashing waves. All and all, the place creates a magical, peaceful effect where you can really kick back and unwind. Not to mention, the furniture is very cozy throughout the charming and rustic living area. My wife and I were really pleased with how large and functional the space is and how close we were to the beach. Our son had a blast looking for and finding shark's teeth and our dogs frolicked in the waves. The house was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The kitchen is well appointed and has everything you need. I really appreciated the personal attention Gary gave to our visit and knowing that this special home has been in his family for many generations. I also believe this house would be great for a large family gathering to celebrate a momentous occasion. There is no question we will be back again as this special place is a hidden gem on the Chesapeake!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spacious beachfront getaway overlooking Chesapeake Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179183
+1 410 474-3626
Port Republic Chesapeake Bay
5

Second time and it was great!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This beach has a lot of history for my extended family. This was the second time we've stayed in this cottage, the first being five years ago. Our family of six was joined at times with other parts of our family with up to ten persons at one time. This property could accomodate even more I believe based on sleeper sofas, etc.

It's an awesome place with great views of the bay and ample space for large groups. The cottage looks just like the pictures portray and really doesn't lack anything. We just brought our own food and paper products and the rest took care of it's self! All the "locals" were very friendly and we were often the only folks on the beach. Our family probably found over 100 sharks teeth and similar fossils.

Both times we've stayed, the location was clean. There was plenty of bedding, etc.

Prince Frederick, MD is very close by and was good for reliable restaurants like Panera Bread, Five Guys, Starbucks, etc. Solomons Island is also only twenty minutes away and is a great place for dining and sight seeing. Of course, all of that is if you can manage to pull yourself away from the view off the deck of this cottage!

If you're interested in a quaint, quiet location where you can watch the sunrise, hunt for fossils, or just relax and read a book, this is the place for you!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spacious beachfront getaway overlooking Chesapeake Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179183
+1 410 474-3626
Port Republic Chesapeake Bay
Rockville, Maryland
5

Perfect weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
As a group of a cappella singers, we needed space to spread out and sing, and play too. This house was everything we needed and more. What an adorable beach bungalow that was durable enough to handle 12 adults. The view was stellar. The beach and pier access provided welcome relief from our long rehearsals. While disorganized, the kitchen was well-equipped and bathrooms were more than adequate. It was so nice not to have to bring towels. Wireless internet access was definitely a bonus. I think the house could have been a little more clean in terms of sand in furniture crevices and on the floors, but that's to be expected in a beach house! I will be suggesting this home to EVERYONE. By the way, the owner, Gary Wood, was so attentive and helpful. We had a dream weekend!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spacious beachfront getaway overlooking Chesapeake Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179183
+1 410 474-3626
Port Republic Chesapeake Bay
5

An excellent choice!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This was our family's second time renting this property, and we were every bit as delighted with it as before ... a terrific view of the bay ... ready access to swimming and kayaking, and a great shoreline for hunting prehistoric shark teeth ... the accommodations were perfect ... our family members from Vermont, Pennsylvania, Montana and Delaware thoroughly enjoyed themselves! We look forward to returning to this property as early as this coming autumn!

Allen Exelby
Newark, Delaware
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spacious beachfront getaway overlooking Chesapeake Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179183
+1 410 474-3626
Port Republic Chesapeake Bay
2

Not What We Expected

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
First I would like to say that the view from the deck was beautiful. Went crabbing for the first time and it was great. The neighbors were very welcoming and enjoyed their company on the pier. Metro station to Washington DC was easy to get to. That was the great part of the stay. The home itself was not so pleasant. We were greeted by a mouse. The house was not clean and I was told a cleaning crew cleans the house. If so they DO NOT do a very good job. The dust under the furniture and the cob webs were not acceptable. The toaster that I used was filled with mice feces (gross). I did not realize it until I picked it up to put it away. The one and only air conditioner in the hallway is nothing but a waste of electricity, because it didn't cool none of the rooms at all. We were provided with a lot of fans that kept us somewhat cool. If your going to shower in either bathroom you better do it in the daylight because there are no shades or blinds on the windows and the whole world can see in. We did make the best of it. I would not recommend this home to my friends and I would not return.
Owner's Response: Hi Lisa,

First, let us say we are sorry that your group and the group before you had problems during your stay at our house. We wish you had called us at the time so we could have dealt with them right away. Unfortunately, the person we thought was keeping track of it's upkeep had not been paying enough attention or notifying us of problems that we would have immediately fixed. This has been remedied, and we are personally visiting the house after each stay now.

Since your stay, we have improved the central air conditioning, replaced the toaster, addressed the cleaning problems and rid the house of mice.

We do not believe that anyone can actually see into the windows and spy on you as you are showering, or we would have put curtains on the windows long ago. But, we realize that some of our guests are not comfortable with a bathroom with no curtain. As soon as we have a window of time between guests, we will be installing blinds at the bedroom and bathroom windows. Again, please accept our apology if this made you uncomfortable.

To future guests, we are committed to making your stay a pleasant, happy one. If you have any concerns, please don’t hesitate to get in touch with us by calling the number listed above. We realize that two negative reviews in a row is not a good thing, but we want to make sure that everyone knows that as soon as we received the first negative review we immediately fixed the issues listed above. Unfortunately, this review is from a date before these issues were brought to our attention.

Thank you,

The Woods
Helpful votes: 3/3
Email Owner Email

Map

× This owner has not provided a specific location. If you would like more information, please contact the owner.
Nearest Airport
53 Miles
BWI/Reagan National/Dulles
Nearest Train
45 Miles
Union Station in Washington DC
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Route 4
Car: recommended
Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Port Republic House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Minimum Stay
 
Base Rate
$300
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,750
2 nights
 
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Port Republic House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Parking
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Iron & Board
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Parking Off Street
  • Internet
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Stove
  • Kitchenette
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Lobster Pot
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Family Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Wood Deck
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • restaurants
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • water parks
  • forests
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • walking
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • antiquing
  • sight seeing
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • horseback riding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • snorkeling
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting small game
  • jet skiing
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • wind-surfing
  • water skiing
  • paragliding
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • hunting
  • tennis
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • golf privileges optional
  • pier fishing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
Private community pier for fishing and crabbing.
Email Owner Email