Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

ROMANTIC SENECA LAKE WATERFRONT ESCAPE/HOT TUB/WINE TRAIL/PETS

Pat Hoke

Advertiser since: 2007
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Pat Hoke

Advertiser since: 2007
Speaks: english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

ROMANTIC SENECA LAKE WATERFRONT ESCAPE/HOT TUB/WINE TRAIL/PETS

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

Overview

Dresden Cottage Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms, 1 Full Modern Bathroom, Full Modern Kitchen, Sleeps 6 comfortable

Welcome to the coziest cottage on Seneca's west side. This cottage is in a very private and quiet setting. Enjoy the awesome views from the hot tub overlooking the lake. There is large screen cable TV and high speed wireless Internet. The front of the cottage has an awesome view of the lake through a mostly glass wall. That view is accessible from most of the cottage. Dinner with the family or breakfast at sunrise can be enjoyed on a large dock, or on the covered front porch. Has gas grill and fire pit by the water. Very large bedrooms, including a king master. Modern new appliances in kitchen - new ceramic tile bathroom. Very well decorated and exceptionally clean. 2 tennis courts nearby. 3 golf courses within 15 minutes. In-cottage massages and limo tours at door available. There are only a few stairs down to the lake and even a small beach for children. We are in a VERY central location which puts us close to most of the regions premier wineries and nearby towns. We are 6 miles from shopping, groceries, gas, restaurants, and movie theaters. 8 miles from state boat launch and boat rentals. Road open year round and easily accessible in winter. Walking distance to the Outlet Trail for hiking and biking between Seneca and Keuka lakes. Cottage is modern and exceptionally clean. Award for Excellence every year . Excellent rental for those with pets [fenced in yard]. Easily accessible all year, including winter.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pat Hoke (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2007
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

Why Pat Hoke chose Dresden

Our family has had a cottage nearby since 1930, and since has added 3 more in the same vicinity. When these latter cottages were purchased, we knew from years of experience that this location is one of the most desireable on any of the Finger Lakes. Our cottage is very accessible year around, has ease of access to the water, enjoys peace and solitude, as well as privacy, and has beautiful views of the lake. The area behind the cottage is lawn and woods, which is also very scenic. We found the cottage to have a real, quaint lake front cottage feeling. It is cozy with lots of windows and light. We also liked the fact that the bedrooms were very large for a cottage, unlike many cottages we had seen. There are no big drop offs at the water, so our children and our grandchildren can enjoy playing in the water without fear. It was the nicest of all the cottages we looked at, and our family loves it.

Guestbook comments from the owner

I stumbled upon your site when searching for a weekend getaway. I thought the pictures of the Arrowhead Cottage were gorgeous. Of course, we were skeptical because we’d been burned by internet pictures in the past. But we decided to take a chance. Well, we couldn’t have been more pleased. The cottage was exactly what we wanted. The shabby chic décor was artfully executed, the colors and fabrics so soothing. I wouldn’t change a thing. The setting was even more breathtaking than the pictures. It was the ideal weekend for us. We sat on the porch gazing at the water for hours (and we’re from the Jersey Shore )! It was hard to leave the cottage. Thanks for an amazing adventure.
Sep 2009
  • 1 of 2

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.2
based on 20 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Romantic Seneca Lake Waterfront Escape/Hot Tub/Wine Trail/Pets
average rating of 4.2 based on 22 reviews
business
Romantic Seneca Lake Waterfront Escape/Hot Tub/Wine Trail/Pets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179114
+1 -607 243-7787
Dresden Seneca Lake
Horseheads, NY
5

Best Vacation Close to Home

  • 5 of 5
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautiful and clean cottage with a perfect view of Seneca Lake. We brought our dog and he also loved it! We had a relaxing time and enjoyed the many books they keep available for visitors. It is a very quiet location and the lake is right outside the door and down the steps. We highly recommend this cottage and would absolutely love to visit again.
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Romantic Seneca Lake Waterfront Escape/Hot Tub/Wine Trail/Pets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179114
+1 -607 243-7787
Dresden Seneca Lake
5

Sister weekend getaway!

  • 5 of 5
My sister & I rented your cottage for a sister weekend getaway. It was easy to locate & upon driving up, we fell in love with the outside. When we walked inside we entered the kitchen. Once again falling in love with what we saw.....clean with modern appliances, dishes, silver & glassware, pots & pans, etc & perfect size for us. Taking our tour, we found a large master bedroom off of the kitchen. The king size bed was beautifully made & the room offered a very large closet, built-in drawers, several other dressers, chair, a charming décor & plenty of extra floor space. Loved the little shelf that was installed on the middle window overlooking the backyard...clever touch! The bathroom, across the hall from the master was small, but not confining in anyway to me...perfect fit for this cottage. The living/diningroom...VERY spacious with 2 sofa beds, several chairs, dining table, built-in corner shelves, electric fireplace & nice cottage décor. The other bedroom off the living room with its double doors, beautifully made queen bed, 2 very large closets, dressers & sounds of the water below lapping up on shore...so very peaceful. The outside covered porch offered a table with several chairs, gentle tinkling of chimes to soothe the soul & a beautiful view of Seneca Lake.The hot tub we found clean & ready for us to relax our aging joints. We ventured the 1st day to the dock/beach area, but found the lower stairs to be a little precarious for us, so we unfortunately did not use the fire pit to roast our marshmallows (instead we ate them as is. Was looking forward to a well toasted marshmallow from the fire pit, but perhaps the next time we rent, the lower stairs will be more secure or rebuilt). One other slight little cosmetic-type fix & that would be the bathroom sink faucet. Loved the style, but after years of hard water our beautiful area supplies us with, the base of the faucet is beginning to corrode. I'm not at all a very fussy person, but I thought I would bring this to your attention. All in all, though, our stay at your lovely little cottage was far to short. I would have loved to stay for months on end, but unfortunately the outside world starts to beckon & one must answer its call. Thank for the privilege of staying at your cottage & we hope to become regulars in the future. P.S...our desire was to leave it as close to the way we found it (with the exception of the linens, of course) so your housekeeper could breeze through with little to clean.
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Romantic Seneca Lake Waterfront Escape/Hot Tub/Wine Trail/Pets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179114
+1 -607 243-7787
Dresden Seneca Lake
1

You can only ride a Cash Cow for so long before you have to feed it.

  • 1 of 5
The view was great... Once you looked past the overgrown bushes, which is why the place got a one star rating. But it is clear this place hasn't seen $5 worth of up keep since the owner bought it 8 years ago and posted"recently remodeled" pictures.

Specifics - the pet friendly olive green, cheap, popcorn carpet is at least 30 years old (I am in the carpet business) the kitchen carpet is absolutely disgusting. NOTHING is "recently" updated no matter what the ad says.

The roof over the deck leaks like a sieve. The stairs going down to the water are a serious safety and danger at the least. The curtains, bedspread and everything else is old and falling apart. They are the same ones shown in the 8 year old pictures.

There is no place to lie down, only two love seats. No furniture on the dock as pictured. Speaking of the dock, it is shaky and unsafe. The fence around the yard is falling apart.

Bottom line is the place has potential. It is on a nice street and does offer a nice view, even if obstructed by lack of maintenance.

But as it is now it is not something I would not recommend to anyone. It is in serious need of a "for real" update.

Now in the event the owner refutes this review, as he has with other negative ones, saying "most people are very happy" or "this guy only wants his money back", let's make it clear. I do not want my money back and I will even throw in the new toilet seat we bought to replace the broken one we found when we arrived. That's a start.

The owner should be ashamed for misrepresenting this property the way it has been.
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The photos shown are the most recent ones, and they speak for themselves. Each time we make an improvement, we update the photos. The roof over the front porch did develop A LEAK, but we are unable to replace or fix it during the summer season - which is when this guest was there - because we only have a 6 hour window between rentals, which is not enough time. At some point, we did not put the table and chairs out at the end of the dock because a storm with high winds blew everything off the dock during a storm, and did damage to the furniture - and also lifted our boat out of the boat hoist and damaged it beyond repair. We are guilty of not updating that photo. Guest failed to mention that there are several chairs on the beach by the fire pit, and on the front porch. There also is a table with chairs on the porch where many guest enjoy their meals with an awesome view of the lake. Most of the dock was rebuilt in 2009, and is very sturdy. The rest is fine. There are many plants and bushes on the hillside in front of the cottage going down to the beach. We allow those to grow wild to protect the hill from erosion - and we periodically trim back the bigger ones closest to the cottage to keep the view open. At their worst, those bushes do not block the view from the cottage or porch. The 2 couches in the living room are both SOFA BEDS. One is a double, which is normally big enough for one to lay on with the sofa closed. Over the years we have received numerous excellent reviews and we're noted for the level of cleanliness and service we provide. Our other guests frequently praise the hot tub with beautiful panoramic views of the lake, which this guest also failed to mention. In that this guest has expressed a high level of dissatisfaction, it's disappointing that he never made any of his concerns known to us during his stay - and given that this guest sells carpet, it's not clear if he was trying to sell us a new one.
business
Romantic Seneca Lake Waterfront Escape/Hot Tub/Wine Trail/Pets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179114
+1 -607 243-7787
Dresden Seneca Lake
4

Great location, quaint place!

  • 4 of 5
We planned this trip as a quiet getaway after our wedding and it was exactly what we needed. It was smack dab in the middle of the wineries on the west side of Seneca Lake with easy access to Geneva, Watkins Glen, and Penn Yan. You really can't beat the location and proximity to everything.

The house itself was very cute. The kitchen is on the small side but it has everything you need to cook full meals. We stayed for 3 nights and cooked dinner 2 of the nights. We had breakfast at the house and didn't have any problems cooking eggs on the pans provided. The ovens worked great to roast brussel sprouts and even baked up cinnamon rolls nicely.

The bedrooms were nice and the bed in the main bedroom was very comfortable. We don't know about the second bedroom because we had no need to use it. The bathroom was small but wasn't cramped by any means. The hot tub outside looking out over the lake was incredible! The views and the chill in the air made it perfect for a dip.

There were only two things that I wish were changed. The first one was that the fireplace didn't work while we were there. There was a note on it that said we shouldn't try to turn it on because it was broken. Unfortunately, the note looked like it had been there a while. The second was that the seating wasn't too comfortable. As a newly married couple, I had hoped for some snuggle time on a couch while we watched tv or watched the sun go down. The two loveseats in the living room were comfortable enough but there were no ottoman's to make it "cozy". To be able to stretch out to relax and even read a book comfortably, we had to each be in a loveseat separate from each other. If there were a loveseat recliner, I would have been in heaven - maybe something for the owners to think about?

That being said, those were the only negatives I could come up with about the cabin. Everything else was great. I should mention that since we went in November, it was too cold to go in the water or stay by the water for too long with the wind so I can't comment on the dock or beach.

Thank you for a wonderful time!
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate all your complementary comments and suggestions. This is a lovely cottage and we strive to keep it very clean and well maintained. We're sorry about the gas fireplace, but this is the second one to be mishandled and broken. The cost to get it fixed is about the same as buying a new one, and we are not certain we want to buy a 3rd one. Your observations and suggestions about the couches are well taken and we intend to do as you suggest and replace them with the type you mentioned. Thank you for that. Hopefully you will return and find everything to your satisfaction. We're sure future guest will benefit from your suggestions. Again - thank you for taking the time to comment. We found it very helpful.
business
Romantic Seneca Lake Waterfront Escape/Hot Tub/Wine Trail/Pets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179114
+1 -607 243-7787
Dresden Seneca Lake
Austin, Texas
4

Great Vacation Cottage

  • 4 of 5
This Seneca Lake Cottage was a great place to stay, nice and quiet. Very Clean. Good water pressure and very cozy. The week we stayed, was very hot, the AC in the living room area cooled the whole place and made it very comfortable. The location is awesome, close to wineries and Watkins Glen. The owners were awesome and very helpful. Would recommend highly.
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Romantic Seneca Lake Waterfront Escape/Hot Tub/Wine Trail/Pets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179114
+1 -607 243-7787
Dresden Seneca Lake
5

Arrowhead cottage

  • 5 of 5
We stayed at the cottage for 4 nights and had the most amazing time there. The cottage was spacious and clean and everything I had hoped it would be. It had a very friendly and homely atmosphere and had everything we needed for our stay. When we arrived at the savannah house inn we were greeted by pat who was lovely and helped us with all out queries by giving us phone numbers for boat hire companies nearby and told us a bit about the area. We really enjoyed having our own pier, and were able to eat out on it a few times for breakfast which was great. The cottage itself was really quirky and obviously very well loved! We unfortunately got the check out time wrong and ended up leaving an hour late, meaning the cleaning lady was waiting for an hour outside in her car, but still, pat was really nice about it and didn't make a fuss at all which he was definately entitled to do as we had wasted an hour of their time. Overall we had a very pleasant experience in this lovely peaceful town, in the most beautiful location. I would definately recommend the cottage to anyone.
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kate and family are very nice people, and we could see that they appreciated our cottage very much. The slight overstay was an honest mistake and Kate's family did a great job picking up, which helped the housekeeper. We are very pleased that they enjoyed their stay so much, as we take great care to present it to each new guest in a manner that hopefully makes them feel that they are the first people to ever stay there. Thank you Kate for your gracious comments and the care in which you used our cottage. Please come again. Pat and Brenda

Map

Map

Car: recommended

We are centrally located and within minutes of the Seneca Wine Trail and Keuka Wine Trail, as well as many local towns such as PennYan, Geneva, Watkins Glen and Hammonds Port. We are 6 miles from grocery stores, gas, restaurants, and movie theater - 8 miles from the state boat launch and choice of boat rentals. We are 45 minutes from Bristol Ski Resort.

Golf: We are located within 10 minutes of 2 golf courses in Geneva, NY, and one course in PennYan, NY

Ski: We are located about 45 minutes from Bristol Ski Resort.

Photos

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rates & Availability

From $271 Per night

Dresden Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Late Fall 2014
Nov 1 2014 - Nov 30 2014
2 night minimum stay
$299
 
 
Winter 2014-2015
Dec 1 2014 - Mar 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
Spring 2015
Apr 1 2015 - Apr 30 2015
2 night minimum stay
$299
 
 
Summer 2015
May 1 2015 - Sep 5 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,899
 
 
Fall 2015
Nov 1 2015 - Nov 30 2015
2 night minimum stay
$299
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25 + Tax
All linens and towels $0
Cleaning $0
Wine Travel Card $0
Tax Rate 4.0%
Notes $35 clean fee applies to rentals in Jan, Feb, Mar. $75 clean fee rest of year -waived if left clean

Cancellation policy is 1 month prior to arrival date. No refunds after that date for any reason. All cancellations are subject to a $50.00 cancellation fee.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Amenities

Dresden Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lakefront ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Bottled Water
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Free Long Distance
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Very clean and bright full bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Both rooms are very spacious and bright.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Pets welcome with deposit. Inquire for details. Property has gated/fenced yard for pets and small children.

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote