BEAUTIFUL LOG CABIN *MOUNTAIN VIEWS* *HOT TUB*

Sharon

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

BEAUTIFUL LOG CABIN *MOUNTAIN VIEWS* *HOT TUB*

Old Fort Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-7)

This new log cabin is a great place to relax and enjoy nature at its finest. Nestled away on a private mountain lot, yet conveniently located to many area attractions.

The cabin is a 2 bedroom each having its own bathroom with a loft for additional sleeping or TV watching. There is a queen bed in each bedroom. The loft has a pull out sleeper sofa and a pull out sleeper chair. Wood floors, tile, and carpeting add to its natural wood beauty. The kitchen has stainless steel appliances and silestone countertops with a breakfast bar. The gas burning fireplace adds to the already comfortable and cozy atmosphere in the large open living area. The 4 person Hot Tub is a great way to unwind and enjoy the view from the back deck.

Relax and enjoy the mountain views from the wrap around deck or hike to nearby Lake George for fishing, swimming, and picnicking.

Privacy is guaranteed as the cabin sits on almost 3 acres in gated Gateway Mountain surrounded by mountain laurel and a lush hardwood forest. A trout pond and a waterfalls complete with picnic area welcomes guests year round.

Close to The Biltmore Estate, Lake Lure, Chimney Rock Park, Historic Black Mountain, Mt. Mitchell State Park, Lake James, Linville Caverns, and Maggie Valley. You can be as busy as you want or as laid back as you need! Visit the Gateway Mountain website for more information and pictures.

Keywords: Log, House

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Sharon (Owner)
Advertiser since 2008
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About Sharon

My husband and I grew up near the mountains in Pennsylvania and spent our childhoods hiking, fishing, and camping. When we vacationed in Gateway Mountain we loved the natural surroundings and breathtaking views that were all around us. We decided to purchase this vacation home so that we could revisit the beauty and tranquility of the mountains whenever possible without the hassle of hotels or condominiums.

Sharon purchased this cabin in 2008

Why Sharon chose Old Fort

Gateway Mountain is our quiet, relaxing home away from home. The developers kept the natural beauty of the mountains while providing Gateway residents and visitors with the security of a gated community. Our home is within a short drive to beautiful Asheville, NC which provides plenty of year round activities for everyone in our family.

What makes this cabin unique

Gateway Mountain has many areas to hike, fish, swim, nature watch, and explore. It is also conveniently located so that in a short drive you can get to Lake Lure, Chimney Rock Park, Asheville, Black Mountain, the Blue Ridge Parkway, Linville Caverns, Granfather Mountain, Little Switzerland, Catawba Falls,and other areas which offer a variety of year round activities.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.3
based on 18 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Beautiful Log Cabin *Mountain Views* *Hot Tub*
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 18 reviews
business
Beautiful Log Cabin *Mountain Views* *Hot Tub*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178947vb
(407) 353-3755
Old Fort Asheville Area
Eastern nc
2

Not the best...

  • 2 of 5
Cabin was clean and pretty IF you can make it up the drive. My Honda Odyssey could not make it up and my husband and son had to get shovels and try to make a way. Both housekeeper and owner said problem would be corrected but 5 days later still nothing had been done. Very disappointing that owner did not follow through with fixing the problem after I contacted her several times. Also cookware was old and nasty...recommend bringing own if planning on cooking!
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: We apologize for any trouble that you had. Unfortunately mother nature can create some unplanned for situations. Our intent is for everyone to enjoy our home as much as we do.
business
Beautiful Log Cabin *Mountain Views* *Hot Tub*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178947vb
(407) 353-3755
Old Fort Asheville Area
Ashburn VA
4

Beautiful cabin in the woods!

  • 4 of 5
We had a fabulous time in this beautiful log cabin! It was very clean and had just enough space for our group of five ladies. The location was very close to Catawba Falls and Black Mountain, which we enjoyed very much. Thanks for sharing your cabin with us, Sharon!!!
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Beautiful Log Cabin *Mountain Views* *Hot Tub*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178947vb
(407) 353-3755
Old Fort Asheville Area
4

Nice place

  • 4 of 5
This place was nice. It was a little far away from where we wanted to be, but if you want a secluded place this is it. It's about 20 min from decent dining in black mountain, and about 40 min from wonderful dining and beer in Asheville. The cabin is very nice. We enjoyed the hot tub every night. And anything we needed (linens/towels/toilet paper/etc) were provided for us. Beds were very comfortable. Kitchen had everything you need to cook meals. We did have to call housekeeping once and she was very very quick to respond to our call. Thanks for a great trip!
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Beautiful Log Cabin *Mountain Views* *Hot Tub*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178947vb
(407) 353-3755
Old Fort Asheville Area
Wilmington, NC
5

Beautifully Serene

  • 5 of 5
The cabin was so nice, very true to pictures and much bigger than we expected. It was a ways back once you went through the locked gate but was such a beautiful quiet drive. Went to the waterfall on the property and it was down a little hiking trail and was gorgeous. I can't say enough about how very enjoyable and relaxing this area is. In the mornings when we awoke there were usually a few of the large moths on the windows of the house that were so very pretty. Hot tub was great too. If you love more remote area but close enough to be able to take a short drive to tour areas this place would be a great choice.
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Log Cabin *Mountain Views* *Hot Tub*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178947vb
(407) 353-3755
Old Fort Asheville Area
Columbia, pa
4

Paradise

  • 4 of 5
This is the first time my husband and I have been to the mountains of North Carolina and I must say we had such a wonderful time, it was hard to leave. The cabin was everything it was advertised to be with only one small disappointment. We couldn't enjoy the porch as much as we would have liked because of the large population of very big bumble bees. That certainly won't stop us from going back to what we consider paradise.
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So sorry....as soon as I heard about the bees I contacted my pest control company!
business
Beautiful Log Cabin *Mountain Views* *Hot Tub*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178947vb
(407) 353-3755
Old Fort Asheville Area
4

Quiet Getaway

  • 4 of 5
Our stay was very enjoyable. The cabin was absolutely beautiful, clean and we loved the wrap around porch. The cabin is very secluded and it was very quiet. We almost felt like we were they only ones on the mountain. As far as enjoying the nature and outdoors this is a great spot. There is not a lot to do around this area unless you drive to another town. We spent time fishing in the ponds & lake and enjoying quiet time at the cabin and in the jacuzzi. The only negative thing I would say is the roads are difficult to navigate and we could barely get up the driveway each time we came back to the cabin.
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Car: necessary

waterfalls, trout pond, lake for swimming and fishing,

Pay Per View movies available at 3.99 each

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Old Fort Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring, Summer, and Fall
Apr 1 2014 - Oct 31 2014
2 night minimum stay
$130
$710
$2,500
 
 
Winter
Nov 1 2014 - Mar 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
$125
$595
$2,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 6.75%
Notes 70.00 Cleaning Fee for 2 nights---3 nights or more I pay the 70.00 cleaning Fee
****Refundable damage deposit is returned within a few days of your departure****

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Old Fort Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking Off Street
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Clothes Dryer
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Kitchen
  • Ice Maker
  • Refrigerator
  • Dishwasher
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Video Library
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • horseback riding
  • boating
  • antiquing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
  • miniature golf
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • mountain biking
  • skiing
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • spelunking
  • kayaking
  • fishing
  • rafting
  • jet skiing
  • water skiing
  • rock climbing
  • golf
  • snowboarding
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$195 per night
3 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$2,100 - $2,200 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$750 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8