LARGE, HUGE, GROUP 3 STORY LOG CABIN,SLEEPS & SEATS 28 FOR MEALS.VIEWS

From
$299
Enter dates to see total
Email Owner Email

Owner

Speaks english, spanish
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps35
Bedrooms 8
Bathrooms7
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

LARGE, HUGE, GROUP 3 STORY LOG CABIN,SLEEPS & SEATS 28 FOR MEALS.VIEWS

Burnsville Cabin Rental Photos and Description

8 Bedrooms, 7 Full Baths,Sleeps up to 28,3 master suites,play set for kids

Welcome to our authentic log cabin. Our private road brings you through the gate, to the end and top of our road. From the large covered porches, you can enjoy spectacular views of 4 mountain ranges. You can sometimes hear the creek that flows through the property and down to the Pond.

Enjoy the spaciousness of this 4500 square foot, 8 bedroom, 7 bath cabin that was recently remodeled. The lodge’s interior features huge, vaulted, log beam ceilings. The Lodge was professionally decorated in a 'Mountain Lodge' and 'Americana' theme with antiques and era replica pieces. Relax in an authentic log cabin, that was custom built with timber harvested from this original homestead. The lodge has a rustic atmosphere, but includes all the modern conveniences and amenities you would expect in a new custom home.

Three of the eight bedrooms are Master suites with their own private master baths, complete with jetted Jacuzzi tubs and oversized tile showers. All of the other five bedrooms have a full bathroom with custom tile showers located adjacent to them. All of the bedrooms have authentic log beds including 1 king, 5 queen, 1 double, and 4 twin beds.We also have 6 twin mattresses with linens that can be moved from room to room. Very high quality bed linens and towels are provided and are unique to each room.

The main living room with it’s twenty foot tall log beam ceiling is completely furnished with overstuffed leather sofas and chairs and a rocker. There is also satellite TV with a DVD/VCR player. This level also includes a huge fully furnished kitchen with service to accommodate 26 people. The kitchen is big and roomy, large enough for many cooks to work in at once. A glass top stove, microwave, dishwasher and two refrigerators with ice makers will provide the necessary means to handle your large group. The main dining table, crafted of timbers cut on the property, seats 20 comfortably. A separate dining table in the adjacent room seats an additional six.

The downstairs great room features a 48 inch flat screen TV with CABLE, DVD/VCR player and a surround sound audio system. This spacious room is decorated in a mountain theme and has all leather overstuffed sofas ,chairs and ottomans. You may just want to sit on the raised hearth and enjoy the heat from the stove while watching a movie or reading a book. There is a wet bar with a small refrigerator as well as a custom pool table, and an 7 foot Air Hockey table. This level also includes the bunk house room with a full bathroom and separate laundry room with washer and dryer.

The lodge also includes four additional TV’s with separate cable receivers and a wireless internet network to meet your needs.

Outdoors is the hot tub that easily accommodates eight. The huge covered deck has several rocking chairs, a gas bar-b-cue, and a picnic table for outdoor dining. For those of you that love just sitting around a fire we have an old fashioned wood burning fire pit complete with log rail seating that over looks the mountain ranges. There is also a large wooden play set for the kids entertainment as well as huge boulders for the kids who love to climb and explore. You can walk up the trail to the very top of the mountain (about 1 mile) for a 360 degree view of four states.

Centrally located approx 30 minutes to Asheville, Spruce Pines, or skiing at Mt Mitchell or Wolf Laurel. Horseback riding, rafting, tubing or mountain bike riding,golf,hiking, are all in the area. It is about forty five minutes to Linville Caverns, Little Switzerland, Biltmore Estate, Grandfather Mountain, Blue Ridge Parkway and many other attractions.

Keywords: Huge Log Cabin ,Lodge, Rural Blue Ridge Mountain Property, Family Reunions, Group Retreats, Church groups, Business Meetings River water rafting, Handicap easy with only 2 steps, end of road privacy

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Events Allowed
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2008
Speaks english, spanish
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Cindy and Bill met at their church youth group in 1974. and were married in Long Beach, CA. in 1976. Cindy worked for the school district, and Bill retired from law enforcement in 2003. They raised their family in a very rural area of California until retirement. They moved in 2004 with there 3 married children and their spouses and families to Greeneville, TN. They have 13 grandchildren and 5 adult children all living in the Greeneville area. Several other relative families have made the move to Tennessee in the years that followed.

The Owner purchased this cabin in 2005

We fell in love with this large home on our first visit, and were the owners about 30 days later. The three story Lodge originally was a 10 bedroom home. We had never seen a cabin built with such large timbers all harvested from the previous owners property. We created 3 master suites causing the reduction in the number of bedrooms. With the immediate family hovering at about 35 this cabin was just ideal. There are four large separate gathering areas causing large groups to be able and meet without feeling closed in. After a few years of owning the cabin we decided to try renting it. About 90% of our guests come as part of a family reunion.

Sleeps35
Bedrooms 8
Bathrooms7
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

22 Reviews Write a Review
Large, Huge, Group 3 Story Log Cabin,Sleeps & Seats 28 For Meals.Views
average rating of 4.681818 based on 22 reviews
business
Large, Huge, Group 3 Story Log Cabin,Sleeps & Seats 28 For Meals.Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162925vb
+1 423-620-0212
Burnsville High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Perfect place for weekend retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We had a group retreat at the cabin and it was perfect! We were happy with everything and had a great time, we will be back again! Pictures do not do the house justice. Also owners were so wonderful and easy to work with, they were always available for us to call with any questions. As a local, I am familiar with this area and surrounding areas and this is by far the largest and nicest home I could find.
A couple of notes based on what others said. I was originally worried about the road after reading reviews and once I realized it was going to rain/snow, but we had no problems at all. While most were in SUVS, we did have a couple in cars and many drivers were used to driving in the mountains and we had NO problems whatsoever. Also I had my son there visiting and the house is perfect for kids, as long as you keep an eye on them, which parents know to do anyways! Overall we had a large group, and every single person was impressed, which is saying a lot for this group!
Thanks Bill for such a great stay and working with us so much, this was exactly what our group needed and the girls keep talking about how great everything was, we were very impressed!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Large, Huge, Group 3 Story Log Cabin,Sleeps & Seats 28 For Meals.Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162925vb
+1 423-620-0212
Burnsville High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Texas
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We were at the cabin with our family and had a wonderful time. We had 10 adults, 2 little girls and 2 babies. We had everything we could have asked for. The kitchen is well stocked and large enough to cook family meals. Eating together is important to us and the huge kitchen table was just perfect.

We read reviews about the road and were a little concerned, but none of us had any problem what-so-ever.

The decor is well done and charming. Great linens!!

We hope to return for another vacation and would highly recommend it to any family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/7
business
Large, Huge, Group 3 Story Log Cabin,Sleeps & Seats 28 For Meals.Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162925vb
+1 423-620-0212
Burnsville High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Perfect weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We had 8 couples at the cabin. It was great! Plenty of room for everyone. We all were able to sit down for dinner together. We did not have to eat in shifts. The rec area was fun. The pool table and air hockey in the rec room were a nice treat. The bathrooms had nice huge showers. Everybody said how comfortable their beds were. Our group had a great time. We are already planning next years trip. owner was helpful and accomodating. Highly recommend! 5 stars from all of us.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Large, Huge, Group 3 Story Log Cabin,Sleeps & Seats 28 For Meals.Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162925vb
+1 423-620-0212
Burnsville High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Charlotte, NC
5

Great for an Adult Get-away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We had a group of 13 adults recently visit this cabin for a weekend get-away and we had a blast!! I truly believe that the photos on VRBO of this cabin don't do it enough justice. This was a group of friends from Charlotte, NC and we always plan an annual Fall/Winter trip to the mountains. We truly enjoyed finding this cabin....we'll probably stay here again and we'd definitely recommend it to family or friends looking for a large cabin!! A few thoughts.....

- VERY Cute and "Cabin-like", we loved the country style decorations that filled the home.
- While there was lots of space, it still felt home-y, and we didn't feel cramped.
- There was plenty of seating for our crowd. We could easily fit seated in one room at the same time (main level living room, basement, kitchen, etc)
- The kitchen was large and easily fit all of us. The kitchen is always a gathering place with this group, so there was plenty of space to hang out, cook meals, and to sit down together to eat.
- You'll see other comments about the treacherous road/driveway leading to the cabin, and that's true. Our advice is 4 wheel drive, SUV or Truck type vehicles only. Also, if you have traction control on your vehicle, we suggest to turn it off (that's what worked best for us)....Good Luck.
- We had some people who decided to go shopping in the town of Burnsville. Cute shops, Nice people, etc. We happened to catch the annual Christmas parade....(not a must see, but it was cute!)
- In one of the restrooms, the toilet didn't work, however there was a note that the owners will be fixing it soon (so, if you're planning to book - I'm sure it'll be fixed by then). Even with that, there were still plenty of restrooms.

I hope you enjoy this cabin as much as we did, it's truly perfect for a large group!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: For seven years hundreds of guests have driven every type of car in and out of this driveway with NO PROBLEM. This guest stayed during the winter when there was snow and ice. We advise all of our guests to check road conditions on all mountain roads before leaving their homes. The cleaning company that cleans the cabin has a small two wheel drive car and have NEVER had any problem driving any portion of the road to the cabin!!! It is true the last 100 yards of the driveway are gravel. We intentionally leave it gravel to provide improved traction in the event of ice. Sometimes guests are not accustomed to driving uphill on gravel. Some tend to spin their tires up the hill causing a washboard effect. By the end of the week of this type of driving, the driveway can get rough. We have a tractor service that comes in and regrades the driveway every week as needed. We have guests that pull their trailers, fifth wheels and also drive their motorhomes on the driveway to stay with the group in the cabin. We try our best to keep it in good shape. We have had a sign placed at the beginning of the drive that reminds guests to please not spin their tires when driving in and out during the week.

It is true that sometimes (as in this case) the toilet valve broke. It is very difficult to make some repairs in between a guest checking out and another checking in on the same day. We usually offer to return the following day and make the repair. Most guest tell us not to worry about it until after they leave.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Large, Huge, Group 3 Story Log Cabin,Sleeps & Seats 28 For Meals.Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162925vb
+1 423-620-0212
Burnsville High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
NC
2

Nice place, nice stay, but not recommended for families with kids

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Our group stayed here towards end of September, 2012. Had it not been for a single bad experience at the very end of an otherwise excellent stay, we would have given a rating of good/excellent.

Overall, we had a nice stay, this is a large log cabin with all amenities as described. Nice quiet location though it was a bit difficult to locate on GPS/maps (but the instructions provided were accurate), the last 50-100 yards of the steep dirt road will be a challenge for vehicles without 4-wheel drive (we had to push our smaller cars up by hand, but it was part of a fun stay)

The main issue we had with our stay was that our (fairly large) security deposit was not refunded, instead we were provided a long list of things that were allegedly not done properly or instructions not followed when we cleaned up and left.

In addition to several of these allegations that we do not believe are true, we were charged for minor things like moving some of the chairs/lamps a couple of feet, not unloading the dishwasher etc.

Because of this, we can only recommend this place for groups ages 55+. Familes with kids are likely to touch/move a few things in the house, and you will be charged for all of that.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Owner's Response: We were initially not going to respond to this guest’s review. But since we have been asked several times about it, we feel we need to respond. It is very difficult to write a rebuttal without sounding negative about this guest. We hope the following is done in a respectful manner.This is the first negative review we have received.This is also the ONLY TIME in 8 years we have needed to retain the damage deposit. The guest writes in his review that "OUR GROUP HAD AN EXCELLENT STAY,” and then gets negitive because of the deposit. There were broken pool table items,a broken leg on a coffee table,as well as broken arms on 2 different sofas.There were numerous wires that had been pulled out of the video units. All of this damage was confined to the game/theater room. When I spoke with him he told me right up front, he was not willing in any way to be responsible for any of the damages. He continued to repeat that the 14 children had touched nothing. He said they had brought their own personal karaoke unit, and the kids were happy playing with it only. The children, he told me had stayed on the lower level, and were periodically checked on.He told me the kids did not touch any of the several TV’s, DVD Players, Cable units, gaming station, or surround sound unit in any rooms ,at any time. I explained that most of the wires had been pulled out of the rear of the units. He proposed that there was most likely a break-in and the damages were committed by these intruders. We accept that there is a risk of damage each time we rent the lodge.This renter wants you to believe that he was penalized for moving items a “FEW INCHES”. THIS IS JUST NOT TRUE!! On almost every booking, guests move furniture and the extra mattress around, to better accommodate their needs. After a group leaves…an inspection/cleaning is done by a company. The results are then sent to us on the inspection /invoice.These people that work for this company do not benefit in any way by fabricating damage on the invoice.We understand and accept that there will be normal wear and tear. Writing a bad review, after saying our group had an excellent stay, is just not right. You can see from our reviews that no other guest’s have ever accused us of anything as silly as this. I would estimate that 95% of our bookings include families with children.You will have to judge for yourself what sounds feasible. We are always happy to answer any questions you might have.
Respectfully
Bill & Cindy
owners
Helpful votes: 15/15
Email Owner Email

Map

Centrally located about 30 minutes to Asheville or Spruce Pines, with snow boarding and skiing at Mt Mitchell or Wolf Laurel and Beech Mountain. Horseback riding, rafting, tubing or mountain bike riding are all in the area. The South Toe River is about three miles from the cabin and has great beaches with sandy shoreline. This is a great river for tubing, rafting or just relaxing. It is about 45 minutes to Linville Caverns, Little Switzerland, Biltmore Estate, Grandfather Mountain, Blue Ridge Parkway and many other attractions.

Other Activities: shopping, kayaking, cross-country skiing, snowboarding, snowmobiling, snow tubing, wildlife viewing, rock climbing, horsehsoes

Golf: There are Golf courses in the area. For information go to the Yancey County NC web page.

Ski: There are Ski Resorts at Wolf Laurel and Beech Mountain that many of our guests have skied at.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Burnsville Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Minimum Stay
 
LAST MINUTE OR WEEKDAY SALE
Mar 2 2014 - May 31 2014
$299
$1,695
2 nights
 
 
2014 SUMMER & HOLIDAY RATES
Jun 1 2014 - Aug 31 2014
$540
$3,500
$12,500
3 nights
 
 
2014 NORMAL YEARLY RATE
Sep 1 2014 - Dec 31 2014
$399
$2,600
$9,995
2 nights
 
 
My Standard Rate
$399
$2,600
$9,995
2 nights
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $89.00
Pet Fee $150.00
A $500.00 DEPOSIT IS DUE WHEN RESERVING YOUR DATES. YOUR RENTAL BALANCE WILL THEN BE REDUCED BY THAT $500.00 DEPOSIT. THE REMAINING BALANCE OF YOUR RENT IS DUE IN TWO EQUAL PAYMENTS. ONE PAYMENT IS DUE 90 DAYS PRIOR TO ARRIVAL.THE OTHER PAYMENT IS DUE 60 DAYS BEFORE ARRIVAL. YOU MAY CANCEL UP TO 80 DAYS BEFORE ARRIVAL WITH A FULL REFUND.
Tax Rate 9.75%
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Burnsville Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Catering available
Floor Area:
  • 4500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Mountain
  • Rural
  • River
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Heating
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking
  • Living Room
  • Tiled Stove
  • Internet
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Water Cooler
  • Filtered Water
  • Laundry Soap
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Parking Off Street
  • Broadband Access
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
Kitchen:
  • Stove
  • Pantry Items
  • Blender
  • Lobster Pot
  • Stove
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Oven ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 26 people
Bathrooms:
  • 7 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
    Bathroom 6 -
    Bathroom 7 -
Bedrooms:
  • 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 35
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (5), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (6), Child Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Pool Table
  • Stereo
  • Video Games
  • DVD Player
  • Air Hockey
  • VCR
  • CD Player
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Child's Swing
  • Sand Box
  • Wood Deck
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Events Allowed
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome ...
  • smoking allowed ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub ...
  • Indoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
  • horseshoes
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • sledding
  • scenic drives
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • massage therapist
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • snorkeling
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • freshwater fishing
  • hunting big game
  • jet skiing
  • mountain climbing
  • equestrian events
  • hunting
  • swimming
  • rock climbing
  • mountain biking
  • snowboarding
  • cross country skiing
  • rafting
  • kayaking
  • fishing
  • snowmobiling
  • cycling
  • skiing
  • hiking
Notes:
(1) Two additional cabins available within walking distance (2) Catered meals and day lunch basket available daily (3) Local chef will serve your meals or wine and cheese snacks delivered to our cabin (4) ASK!!! If you have a special request
Email Owner Email