Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

FABULOUS COLUMBIA RIVER VIEW RETREAT *NEW LOW RATES*

Char

Advertiser since: 2006
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Char

Advertiser since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
December 3, 2014
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

FABULOUS COLUMBIA RIVER VIEW RETREAT *NEW LOW RATES*

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

Astoria House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7)

****SLEEPS 7*****

* Private setting

* Incredible views of the Columbia & Pacific Ocean

* Upper sitting area offers views of ships passing

* Spectacular night view

* Adjacent to the 'River Walk' along the Columbia

* Top of the line beds- 2 queen, 1 double, 1 futon

* Sleeps 8

* Two baths

* 100% cotton linens and bedding

* DVD/ Cable

* Gas Fireplace

* Fully stocked kitchen

* Washer/ Dryer

* Tastefully decorated

* B & B Set-up

Astoria (the mouth of the Columbia) is absolutely incredible and the views are breathtaking. It is also known for its restaurants, shopping and antiquing.

Golfing is spectacular in Gearhart just a few minutes south. Seaside and Cannon Beach, both within a few miles offer lovely restaurants, shopping and antiquing.

Additional photos provided, by request. This is a NON-SMOKING home.

E-mail for additional information or reservations:

or call 503-830-8915. Prefer a 3 night minimum for summer season.

Cancellation Policy: Full refund if provided two week's notice or if rerented. 30 days in summer season.

Thank you!

Keywords: Astoria, Columbia, River-view, Luxury, Bed & Breakfast, Affordable, Comfortable, Cozy

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Char (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2006
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
December 3, 2014

About Char

I live in the Portland area & love heading to the coast for a weekend to relax. This home provides a quiet peaceful setting to do just that.

Char purchased this house in 2006

Why Char chose Astoria

I absolutely LOVE this area- Astoria is amazing & definitely speaks to my soul.

What makes this house unique

This home provides a lovely setting, warm furnishings & a peaceful energy.

Guestbook comments from the owner

By the way we have decided not to give you your house back, just kidding, we're in love with Astoria and your cute home. We are just going to have to book another week. We went to Seaside and played on the beach today. It was wonderful. Love Fred Meyer, we don't have those in California. Thanks for the great vacation!



Jane
Apr 2009
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.5
based on 15 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Fabulous Columbia River View Retreat *New Low Rates*
average rating of 4.5333333 based on 16 reviews
business
Fabulous Columbia River View Retreat *New Low Rates*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120694vb
-+503 830-8915
Astoria Coastal Oregon
4

Poorly managed

  • 4 of 5
I can't speak to the actual accommodations, because I didn't stay at the house. If my interactions with the owner are any indication, I'm thankful it didn't work out. First off, the owner (Char) increased the rental fee mid-transaction. The cost posted on the website and confirmed in an email she sent indicated the cost was $99 a night. She sent a follow-up email announcing she had "forgotten" that the price was increased to $150. I said I was fine with the increase and sent the check. A couple days later she suddenly "remembered" she had promised the house to someone else. I asked her to return the check and she was unresponsive. Still haven't received that check...
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I work part time, run a business and manage two properties of my own. Occasionally I forget that someone from the prior year books a year in advance and this was the case in this situation. I sincerely apologized to this person. Things happen. People are human. That's all I can really say.
business
Fabulous Columbia River View Retreat *New Low Rates*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120694vb
-+503 830-8915
Astoria Coastal Oregon
5

Comfortable, Roomy and Quiet

  • 5 of 5
Our stay was for 10 days.
It was perfect for the four of us and plenty of room for a couple of guests to be comfortable. We all loved the evenings around the fire place. I like that it’s close enough to everything but away from the traffic noise. We heard more noise from the sea birds and Sea Lions than automobile traffic! Sometime in the future I hope to return to your place and enjoy just relaxing and checking out Astoria a bit more. Anyway, thanks, terrific place!
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Fabulous Columbia River View Retreat *New Low Rates*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120694vb
-+503 830-8915
Astoria Coastal Oregon
Oregon
5

Wonderful place to stay in Astoria

  • 5 of 5
We enjoyed our stay at this wonderful house very much. The kids loved the upstairs sitting area with its view of the river. Seeing the big cargo ships was an added treat. We found the house to be quit comfortable and homey. We felt it was clean, conveniently located, a great value and would definitely consider staying again if in the area.
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
Fabulous Columbia River View Retreat *New Low Rates*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120694vb
-+503 830-8915
Astoria Coastal Oregon
Portland, Ore.
5

Nice stay & bike friendly

Nice stay & bike friendly
  • 5 of 5
We liked our stay in this quiet house. It was nice to be able to see the river (from the upstairs rooms) and everything was neat and clean and in good working order. The best part was that if you turned right out the front door, you could get on the five mile path along the river. We biked into town (two-ish miles) every day. Hope to get back some day.
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
Fabulous Columbia River View Retreat *New Low Rates*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120694vb
-+503 830-8915
Astoria Coastal Oregon
McCall Idaho
5

Lovely home, lovely location

  • 5 of 5
We stayed in this home in February of 2013 for three days and just returned last night from a four day stay. This home is well appointed with a maritime theme. It is sweet, comfortable, clean and quiet. We love the location, as the home is in a wonderful neighborhood and it has close access to the river trail that goes to Pier 39. Along the trail we viewed various species of ducks and several blue herons, as well as the off-shore ships. It's approximately a mile to Pier 39 which houses Coffee Girl, Rogue Brewery and a museum.
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Fabulous Columbia River View Retreat *New Low Rates*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120694vb
-+503 830-8915
Astoria Coastal Oregon
1

Property Poorly maintained and not as described.

  • 1 of 5
This was a special trip planned with my adult children. Upon arrival, my son and I went inside and quickly looked around. I started upstairs to look at the bedrooms and quickly realized that the stairs are steep and steps only 51/2 inches wide and the hand rail stops 5 steps shy from the top, so there is nothing to hold onto. All of the bedrooms are upstairs so no other option. This is not in the description of the property anywhere. This is dangerous and an accident waiting to happen. My son noticed how dirty the house was - the windows are so filthy especially in the living room you can hardly see out. All other windows were dirty and had cobwebs and dead bugs on window sills and on kitchen floor. The stove burners were black with food debris in them. There were crumbs all over kitchen table. There were holes in two of the doors - one bathroom door had a big hole and a large piece (slatted door) was missing. The house is not being cared for. It was disgusting. I left immediately and checked into a hotel and contacted the owner right away and she didn't call until the next day. Her response to my complaints she completely ignored - she said that she has no problem running up the stairs and that I must be handicapped, which I found profoundly out of touch and uncaring. Her response regarding her dirty house was "I just don't understand - a few bugs and crumbs". Clearly her standard of cleanliness has a different definition. I took pictures of the house - non of which I can display or give website to. I also contacted Homeaway and filed a complaint - they helped me secure another place the following day that was very nice. I tried to negotiate to no avail, she decided to keep it all including my deposit. I had been in touch with Homeaway's legal department and they encouraged me to leave a review - which I am now doing now. I am proceeding with legal action.
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Once in 8 years, you receive a guest like this. I get rave reviews about this home. People have told me it was the highlight of their vacation, getting to stay here.

Very simply, this person walked in and deemed it unacceptable, in the heart of my busy season, then demanded a full refund. She stated she had a nerve issue and had trouble with stairs. I explained to her that this home was not advertised as handicap accessable. She seemed offended by that. She said it was not clean, yet her reasoning was that there were crumbs on the kitchen table and bugs in the window sills. Spider webs can occur overnight.

I have a two week cancellation policy, clearly stated on the website, actually 30 day in the summer season. This house is more than acceptable to all that stay there and is warm, cozy, comfortable, and welcoming. This guest stated that they could not stay there, which was not a truth. I sincerely thought this was a scam of some kind. Walk in, deem it unacceptable and get a free stay. Since she had my lockbox code and the dates, my assumption is that she stayed there. Why wouldn't she? Yet she is asking for a full refund. By the way, I did return her deposit, although she says otherwise. Before making a decision, based on this review, please look at the years of fabulous reviews for this home and decide on your own where this woman is coming from. Thank you so much!

Map

Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Portland, Oregon
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Many bars options in downtown Astoria
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Many restaurant options in downtown Astoria
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Coastline of Oregon or Washington

Other Activities: Shopping, Boating,

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $99 Per night

Astoria House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
WINTER
Sep 8 2014 - Apr 30 2015
2 night minimum stay
$99
From
$99
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$600
$2,400
 
 
SPRING
May 1 2015 - Jun 30 2015
3 night minimum stay
$129
From
$129
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$800
$3,200
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$99
From
$99
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$600
$2,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $75 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 9.0%

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Astoria House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • River ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Queen size Beds (2) The queen room has a lovely view of the water. Very spacious rooms.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote