LOVELY PENTHOUSE IN 3RD HOUSE FROM THE BEACH. WIFI. PET FRIENDLY.

Ted Walker

Advertiser since 2007
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english, german
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house

Ted Walker

Advertiser since 2007
Speaks english, german
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

LOVELY PENTHOUSE IN 3RD HOUSE FROM THE BEACH. WIFI. PET FRIENDLY.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house

Overview

Overview

Tybee Island House Rental Photos and Description

1 bedroom (2 full beds), 1 bath, sleeps 6

The Peach Penthouse covers the entire top floor of Coral House Triplex --- the 3rd house off the beach. Less than 1 block to the wide white-sand beach. Enjoy ocean breezes and sunrises on the large comfortable balcony (8 feet x 25 feet) where you may glimpse passing ships and shrimp boats.

Within 4 blocks of Coral House are 5 restaurants, 3 clothing/gift shops, a package store, 2 convenience stores, an ATM, and a Post Office.

The Peach Penthouse is located mid-island between south beach (home of the pier and shopping) and north beach ( home of the majestic Tybee Lighthouse and the former Ft. Screven, now a museum).

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Ted Walker (Property Manager)
Advertiser since 2007
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english, german

Guestbook comments from the manager

Thank you so much for your wonderful third floor flat in the"Coral House". It was the perfect spot for the two of us and our dog, Skye. The furniture was comfortable, the light was amazing - beating in everyday through the large and numerous windows, the kitchen was perfect for our needs and the location was quiet and close to everything we could want. Where your place differed is in the details: the colours, the bed clothes, the curtains, blinds, extra toiletries and cleaning supplies, and e
Feb 2012
  • 1 of 3

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.2
based on 29 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Lovely penthouse in 3rd house from the beach. WIFI. Pet Friendly.
average rating of 4.2413793 based on 32 reviews
business
Lovely penthouse in 3rd house from the beach. WIFI. Pet Friendly.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p177637
-+ 912 398 7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
Birmingham, Alabama, USA
5

Peaceful Paradise!!!

  • 5 of 5
We stayed during the month of April. The property was so well kept and peaceful! We were just as excited about the property as we were about all the site seeing! Some days we didn't even want to leave! We stayed a week and never got tired of being there! It felt like home! And the beach is literally just a short walk down the street! The owner also made sure we had everything we needed during our stay. I'm already planning our next trip back!
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2008
  • Stayed: Apr 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: This was a great young couple who also made a reservation for later in the year as an anniversary gift for their parents. We had recently replaced the ceiling fans on the large covered deck with new deco style fans. Also, a wading marsh bird theme was added to the decor (half the island is tidal marsh).
business
Lovely penthouse in 3rd house from the beach. WIFI. Pet Friendly.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p177637
-+ 912 398 7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
5

Better than we hoped!

  • 5 of 5
The Peach Penthouse glows in the sunshine. Clean, bright, comfortable and most convenient. The porch is the best even in the rain and you actually can see the cargo ships in and out of the channel. Have been to Tybee several times and it was nice not to have to drive everywhere and pay to park at the beach.

An easy walk to the beach, several restaurants, a convenience store and of course The Sugar Shack for ice cream, not to be confused with Sundae Cafe which is a restaurant with a very interesting menu. Since we ate out except for snacks the fact that the kitchen is not overly large was not a problem.

It was a good week, Ted was easy to work with and Debbie was very helpful. A beautiful rainbow the last night was a special treat. Will try and go back again.
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Lovely penthouse in 3rd house from the beach. WIFI. Pet Friendly.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p177637
-+ 912 398 7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
1

Terrible Experience

  • 1 of 5
We arrived on 10/4 at approximately 5:30pm and were forced to leave at 10:30 pm after sending the owner photos of several problems including-
A broken living room window
Mildew around the bedroom windows
Veneer peeling off of the kitchen cabinets
Rusty, sharp patio furniture
Etc...

We were most disappointed to find no working sofa bed. The listing did include a sofa bed under general amenities but instead there was a laminated note that said "This sofa bed will not open. Please use the air mattress in the closet."

We called the owner to inform him of the problems and to find out if he had any other properties that we could move to. (Particularly one with an actual bed for our son.) The only other property he could over was available for only half of the dates in our original reservation.

An email exchange followed. He said that the sofa bed had been removed from the listing but I sent him a screenshot showing that it had not.

We decided that we would make the best of it after calling several area hotels and finding no comparable vacancies.

THEN, we received a text from the owner with the phone number for a hotel that we had not yet tried. He said that he had arranged a discounted rate for us. While I was on the phone with this hotel, the owner called and left a voicemail stating that we HAD to leave tonight.

So, 9 hours from home with our son at 10:30pm and we were evicted from our fully paid rental.

To his credit, our payment was refunded promptly. The sofa bed has since been removed from the listing but I have photos, screenshots, and audio recording of the phone message that I am happy to forward to Home Away/VRBO Customer Service. At this point , we are hesitant to use this service again.
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Most homeowners try to screen out undesirable guests, but it's difficult. Once in a blue moon someone shows up determined to get a discount. When we gave these people a full refund instead of a discount and found them another place to stay, they became very irate. When they left, we discovered that the laminate from a kitchen cabinet had been peeled up, and the kitchen counter had been damaged. We had to replace the cabinet and the countertop. There is no metal patio furniture on the covered balcony or anywhere else in this apartment. On the grounds are some metal beach chairs, which we provide for the guests. All the balcony furniture is made of wood or outdoor resin. Our cleaning service does an excellent job; there was no mildew anywhere.
business
Lovely penthouse in 3rd house from the beach. WIFI. Pet Friendly.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p177637
-+ 912 398 7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
5

PERFECT VACATION GETAWAY

  • 5 of 5
We stayed during the month of August. Me, my husband and our little Chihuahua, Sandy had a very nice and relaxing vacation here. The property was well-maintained and convenient to restaurants, etc. The penthouse was very well decorated and made you feel like you were at the beach.

Mr. Walker made you feel right at home and had all the accommodations you would find at a hotel. There is a washer and dryer, a iron and ironing board which makes it very convenient. Mr. Walker also supplies toiletries and etc. in case you forgot it at home.

The beds are very comfortable to sleep in and everything was nice and clean. The kitchen is equipped with coffee maker, dishes, cooking utensils, silverware and the basic things you need. The refrigerator and stove was very clean. If you need anything Mr. Walker is just a phone call away and lives just a few minutes from there which makes a difference when you are far from home.

We had a very nice vacation and plan on going back next year. It is within five minutes of the beach and a very quiet place to relax. Enjoyed sitting out on the balcony especially at night time. Would recommend it to anyone.

Karen and John
Manchester, Kentucky
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Lovely penthouse in 3rd house from the beach. WIFI. Pet Friendly.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p177637
-+ 912 398 7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
Marietta, Georgia
1

TOTAL DISAPPOINTMENT!

  • 1 of 5
NOT ELEGANT - only resemblance to indication of a PENHOUSE is that you walk up two flights up stairs to the apt. This place is OKAY - but NOT ELEGANT - not very nice even.

There is NO real view of the water - another misrepresentation of the ad

Outside is smelly and quite NASTY. Needs a lot of work.

THIS PLACE WAS A REAL DISAPPOINTMENT!
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: A bad odor was outside the house. Thinking it might be sewage, we had called a plumber, but he could find no explanation for the odor. Thankfully it was temporary. Unfortunately, this guest got a whiff as soon as she stepped out of the car, and it was all downhill after that. First impressions do matter.

I love this apartment. I stay here a lot myself and completely disagree that it is "not nice". The pictures are accurate and up-to-date. In fact many guests say that the pictures don't do it justice.

I checked the listing and the only part I found that could be interpreted as ocean view was the phrase "large comfortable balcony where you may glimpse passing ships and shrimp boats." I thought the word glimpse implied that it was not a grand view. Many times I have watched ships pass from the balcony and from the kitchen table, and it was a lot more than a brief glimpse. However, we do not promote an ocean view.

You can infer from this review that the apartment was clean and there were no bugs. This is a testament to the abilities of the cleaning service we use and the pest control service that treats the house monthly. I am proud of them both.
business
Lovely penthouse in 3rd house from the beach. WIFI. Pet Friendly.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p177637
-+ 912 398 7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
5

Peachy Perfection

  • 5 of 5
We had a wonderful stay in the penthouse. It was so peaceful. The views out the windows and sliding glass doors were amazing with the trees all around. I felt like I was up in a fancy treehouse. The penthouse was clean, smelled wonderful, and had everything we needed. The staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The porch was paradise. I loved sitting at night out there listening to the ocean waves, which by the way was just a short walk at the end of the street. Will definitely be back.
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Email Manager Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Savannah - Hilton Head International
Car: recommended

Two lighthouses reside on Tybee Island; less than 3 miles apart, but so radically different in character. As you approach Tybee Island, you see the impressive Tybee Light in the distance. Tall, dark, and handsome with a white cumberbund. He was honored a couple of years ago when he got his own US postage stamp. ( In lighthouse circles that is akin to an Oscar.) But then as you cross the Lazaretto bridge onto Tybee Island, you look down to the left and blink. Is that a lighthouse in the water? Indeed it is. That's plucky little Cockspur Lighthouse. Weathered, plain white masonry. Not flashy at all, except ... At every high tide Cockspur stands in the ocean well off-shore. Only at low tide does the stony spur appear that supports the little lighthouse. A firm foundation after all.

So far the quaint shopping district near the pier has pretty much escaped the wrecking ball; it's still lost in the 40's/50's. Witness Arby's --- Tybee Island's only fast food restaurant. This is pretty much what Arby's looked like when they began in the early 60's. As for shopping, no Sak's here. We're talking beach shopping: T-shirts, souvenirs, Sno-Cones, umbrella drinks, seafood. But remember, for culture and serious shopping, there is colorful, historic Savannah, just 20 minutes away. Recommended reading: Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, an amusing look at Savannah's high- and low-life (about 2 years on the NY Times nonfiction best seller list).

Email Manager Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Manager Contact Me

Rates & Availability

Rates & Availability

From $99 Per night

Tybee Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall
Sep 2 - Oct 31
1 night minimum stay
$150
$875
$3,750
 
 
Winter 2
Nov 1 - Nov 21
1 night minimum stay
$99
$595
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 - Nov 30
1 night minimum stay
$150
$875
 
 
Winter 3
Dec 1 - Dec 20
1 night minimum stay
$99
$595
 
 
Christmas
Dec 21 - Dec 31
1 night minimum stay
$150
$875
 
 
Winter 1
Jan 1 - Feb 28
1 night minimum stay
$99
$595
 
 
Spring
Mar 1 - May 2
1 night minimum stay
$150
$875
$3,750
 
 
Summer
May 3 - Sep 1
1 night minimum stay
$175
$1,099
$4,710
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $55 + Tax
Pet Fee $0
Tax Rate 13.0%
Notes Cancellation Policy: With 30 days' notice you may cancel with a full refund. With just a 1-week notice you may re-schedule without penalty.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting manager when booking.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable
Email Manager Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Tybee Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 double
  • A full-size electric air mattress for use in the living room is in the closet.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Full set of Rachel Ray cookware (orange, of course). Also available to guests at no extra charge: Laundry room by the fish pond - washer, dryer, detergent, fabric softener; Bikes - a great way to explore the island; Beach wagon - similar to a Radio Flyer. Load up & pull your beach gear to the beach; TV, cable, DVD & VCR players; Pet Friendly; Outdoor shower. 40+ Movies on DVD
Email Manager Contact Me

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote