Submitted: August 18, 2012
Stayed: August 2012
I think this cabin might be a good pick for adults, but not so good for families with small children. It has a lot of bric-a-brac throughout the cabin, including all surface spaces. This leaves little room for placement of things that you would normally have out such as phones, ipads, laptops, etc, without moving things around. The WiFi and Netfliks are both good additions. The road to the cabin is narrow and steep, as is the driveway. The lake is pretty, but the yard slopes down at a very steep angle so with rain, it was muddy and slick making the back yard unusable. The severity of the slope of the back yard is not apparent in the photos. Also, I was advised on the Friday before my arrival that the washer and dryer are not working. This was a major inconvenience. Not having the ability to do laundry with kids made me wish I had opted for a more convenient hotel rather than this cabin. Because of the distance to stores, restaurants and attractions, we ended up leaving in the morning and returning only to sleep. I had anticipated eating in more, but the cabin is too far from attractions to return home for eat unless you plan to stay at the cabin for the rest of the day. I will say, however, that if you planned to stay at the cabin and not go out too much, it is a very pretty cabin and a very pretty setting.
Owner's Response: It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your time at Cabin by the Lake. We have had 5 years of reviews and none have stated what you have in your review.
We apologize for the bric-a-brac that you felt was in the cabin. We decorated the cabin to give guests a nice wooded cabin feel mixed in with a cozy live in feeling. It was lovingly decorated to have guests feel they were truly in a mountain cabin. We do have a desk & chair upstairs in the loft area with a sofa for internet, reading etc. The desk simply has a phone placed on one side. One of the rooms has an old style children’s desk that is also for reading and playing. Overall there is plenty of room for laptops and ipads since the wireless signal is very strong.
The backyard is the least steep in the entire area. It has a slope since it is on a mountain and not meant to be flat. We have children and have had several small children stay that actually run and play up and down continuously...sled in the winter and slide down in any thing they can find in the spring and summer. There is a fire pit for marshmallow roasting and chairs that people sit in on the incline and never had a complaint. We do advertise that this is a mountain.
The cabin is located 15 minutes from Boone, less than 10 minutes from tubing and kayaking close to shops and horseback riding. Fast food and full size grocery chains are located less than 15 minutes away. Everything convenient for a mountain retreat.
The washer and dryer broke prior to your arrival and the new ones were late in arriving. We advised you before your stay and offered to have a pick up laundry service due to the inconvenience which you did not state in your review. For 6 guests, we think the cabin was a convenient alternative to a hotel stay. Here your children are in the outdoors and can hike and run around to their hearts content.
We strive in accommodating our guests in our home as much as possible. There are always things that are out of our control. Prior guests, with children of all ages, have made wonderful memories at Cabin by the Lake.
Helpful votes: 6/7
Did you find this review helpful?